BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Roto Grip => Topic started by: stormed1 on March 13, 2019, 04:31:20 PM

Title: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: stormed1 on March 13, 2019, 04:31:20 PM
Hustle 3TP

COLOR: Purple/Violet/Plum
COVERSTOCK: VTC-P18™ Pearl Reactive
CORE: Hustle™
FINISH: 1500-grit Polished
REACTION: Most Length w/ Backend
LANE CONDITION: Light to Medium Oil
WEIGHTS: 10-16 lbs.
RELEASE DATE: 5/20/19
STREET DATE: 5/24/19
Hustle Au
Hustle HSB

COLOR: Gold/Light Gold
COVERSTOCK: VTC-P18™ Pearl Reactive
CORE: Hustle™
FINISH: 1500-grit Polished
REACTION: Most Length w/ Backend
LANE CONDITION: Light to Medium Oil
WEIGHTS: 10-16 lbs.
RELEASE DATE: 5/20/19
STREET DATE: 5/24/19
 
Hustle HSB

COLOR: Silver Pearl/Black Solid
COVERSTOCK: VTC-H18™ Hybrid Reactive
CORE: Hustle™
FINISH: 1500-grit Polished
REACTION: Medium Length w/ Backend
LANE CONDITION: Light to Medium Oil
WEIGHTS: 10-16 lbs.
RELEASE DATE: 5/20/19
STREET DATE: 5/24/19
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: Bowl_Freak on March 13, 2019, 05:12:35 PM
Yes please. Gold-ie and Silv-ie to go with Ink-ie....
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: DP3 on March 14, 2019, 01:33:03 PM
If you can count on one thing in this life, it's a Black/Silver low end bowling ball coming out in the Spring/Summer from any manufacturer. These will all probably roll really well.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: CoorZero on March 14, 2019, 03:45:57 PM
The silver and black one has the same coverstock as the HYB.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: AlonzoHarris on March 14, 2019, 07:31:38 PM
Weaker core with the same cover as the Winner Pearl. Hmm amplified oil sensitivity?
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: CoorZero on March 14, 2019, 07:47:32 PM
Weaker core with the same cover as the Winner Pearl. Hmm amplified oil sensitivity?

Earlier core too. I have the HYB and to be honest I don't really see the core holding the ball back at all even with the fairly strong coverstock. Roto Grip found something good with that design.

My bet is the Au and 3TP will be better balls than the Winner. I'm interested to see if there's a noticeable difference between the two on the lane.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: suhoney24 on March 14, 2019, 07:54:09 PM
$100 now... Wow... That was hp2 price point
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: CoorZero on March 15, 2019, 10:31:29 AM
Yeah, looks like they went up $10. Wonder what the reasoning is. Maybe it's just "that time" where ball prices go up again.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: AlonzoHarris on March 15, 2019, 10:40:54 AM
Yeah, looks like they went up $10. Wonder what the reasoning is. Maybe it's just "that time" where ball prices go up again.

They should have waited for the price increase. It's not like they didn't get their money back out of the Hustle core from the success of the INK.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: CoorZero on March 15, 2019, 10:53:35 AM
Yeah, looks like they went up $10. Wonder what the reasoning is. Maybe it's just "that time" where ball prices go up again.

They should have waited for the price increase. It's not like they didn't get their money back out of the Hustle core from the success of the INK.

Meh. That's not how it works in a money-making business. Maybe the costs (taxes?) for raw material went up. Maybe it's just a money-grab. Who knows.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: DP3 on March 15, 2019, 12:05:19 PM
My Hustle HYB has paid for itself 10 times over. I would happily purchase all three of these.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: leftybowler70 on March 15, 2019, 06:53:47 PM
My Hustle HYB has paid for itself 10 times over. I would happily purchase all three of these.

I second this.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: billdozer on March 15, 2019, 11:09:03 PM
Yeah $100 or less for low end. At least now they're decent.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: Strike Ball on March 18, 2019, 10:12:53 AM
Thinking the Gold Hustle would be a good ball to have in my bag.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: michael.willis9 on March 18, 2019, 10:15:54 AM
Thinking the Gold Hustle would be a good ball to have in my back.

i don't think it'll fit....
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: jelt2359 on June 01, 2019, 11:22:55 AM
Drilled up the 3tp, had to immediately take the shine off as it wasn’t moving much on a house shot. Much better with surface. That ball is really gorgeous, I’ve had multiple people ask me what ball it is- even the pin is made of glitter!

In comparison the gold kinda looks more yellowish. Not impressive imho.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: Rileybowler on June 08, 2019, 04:43:26 PM
Got my Hustle Au yesterday and the picture does not do this ball justice, mine is much lighter and brighter in color. This is one of those balls that looks just great sitting on the rack but I will be throwing it in the Monday Senior league. I got mine from Buddies Pro Shop drilled with thumb slug and finger inserts delivered for $114.95.
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: hittnhard on July 25, 2019, 12:10:14 PM
Since there is no spot for reviews on the HSB up right now, I will post mine here.  Hopefully it is helpful to some.

Roto Grip Hustle HSB

Coverstock:VTC-H18™

Weight Block: Hustle™ Core

Factory Finish: 1500-grit Polished

Radius of Gyration: 2.53

Differential: 0.030

With the release of 3 new Hustle's, 1 hybrid and 2 pearls, I figured a comparison between these and the Hustle INK would be the best way to review them.

The Hustle HSB hooks a couple boards more than any other Hustle, and once again has packed a lot of performance in a low price point ball. The price point would make a buyer assume it is a light oil piece but if you are looking for that, look towards the Storm Tropical Surge. The Hustle HBS will be as much on a typical house shot as will will be on lighter oil.

The HYB is a very smooth and controllable ball. I drilled mine to move a touch earlier than my hustle ink, AU, and 3TP. I also plan to take it to a 1000 or 2000 sanded finish to help with the slightly earlier read.

My Hustle-only arsenal was built as follows:

HSB early/strongest/smooth

INK long/strong/smooth

AU long/medium/slightly more angle than above

3TP longest/medium/most angle of the group

****AU and 3TP left at box finish, drilled differently****
Title: Re: Introducing the Hustle 3TP, Hustle Au & Hustle HSB!
Post by: hittnhard on July 25, 2019, 01:28:08 PM
Since there is no spot for the Hustle AU in the ball reviews right now, I will post mine here. 
As with the HSB review above, I compared all the current Hustle's.

Roto Grip Hustle AU
Coverstock:VTC-P18™
Weight Block: Hustle™ Core
Factory Finish: 1500-grit Polished
Radius of Gyration: 2.53
Differential: 0.030

With the release of 3 new Hustle's, 1 hybrid and 2 pearls, I figured a comparison between these and the Hustle INK would be the best way to review them.

The Hustle AU is a my favorite color scheme of all of the Hustles. Great looking ball and once again has packed a lot of performance in a low price point ball. The price point would make a buyer assume it is a light oil piece but if you are looking for that, look towards the Storm Tropical Surge. The Hustle AU will be as much on a typical house shot as it will be on lighter oil. If I were using my Hustle-only lineup for a THS league, the AU will fit right between my INK and 3TP.

The 3TP gets length with ease and gives an angular, but predictable, turn when it hits the friction. I drilled mine to move a touch earlier than my 3TP. Since those two balls are so similar, I went with different layouts to see the different shapes this ball can create.

My Hustle-only arsenal was built as follows:
HSB early/strongest/smooth
INK long/strong/smooth
AU long/medium/slightly more angle than above
3TP longest/medium/most angle of the group
****AU and 3TP left at box finish, drilled differently***