win a ball from Bowling.com

Author Topic: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis  (Read 6970 times)

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« on: December 19, 2012, 03:56:11 PM »
Hi All,
We had a chance to review the new Defiant Soul.
We tested with 4 bowlers: stroker, tweener, power tweener, and cranker on House and Sport condition.

Don't want to give away too much before you read the complete review, but suffice it to say we loved this ball.  Simply put, excellent midlane control with strong continuous backends.  All bowlers could open up the lanes with this beast.

For the complete review, videos, and Digitrax analysis go to:

http://tamerbowling.com/index.php/roto-grip-defiant-soul-bowling-ball-review-digitrax/
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com

 

Metal_rules

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 12:14:46 PM »
Ball looks very strong and continuous. I will have one in my bag in January!
There's two kinds of music METAL and bullshit!

Bowl_Freak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2012, 01:02:54 PM »
When's the release date?

tloy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 861
  • Roto Grip-Own It and Bowl up a Storm
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2012, 09:01:07 PM »
Jan 8th. Cant Wait!!!!!!

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2012, 12:31:38 PM »
Ball looks very strong and continuous. I will have one in my bag in January!
It really is.  Everyone really liked this ball, except for our cranker who would need an absolute flood to use this.  He liked the motion but can't see himself finding a pattern he could use it on.  He still throws a Blue and Red Pearl Hammer... :-)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com

billdozer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4436
  • Goin' Global!
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2012, 03:42:11 PM »
Great review, this is one of my favorites from u guys
In the bag ['15 Respect, Teal HB, Gold HB, WH Badger]
*Now Testing* MBTour, Bubble Gum Boost
Coming soon....Dream On, Infrared, HB Claw, Lochness monster, Boogeyman

Metal_rules

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1169
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2013, 10:35:36 AM »
Can you compare the Soul to the Critical Theory? I was told the reactions are similar?
There's two kinds of music METAL and bullshit!

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2013, 12:47:24 PM »
Great review, this is one of my favorites from u guys
Thanks, much appreciated!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2013, 12:52:10 PM »
Can you compare the Soul to the Critical Theory? I was told the reactions are similar?

We didn't have a direct comparison but we are extremely familiar with both ball reactions. 
My guess would be they cover similar ground with the Soul being a tad stronger.
The Soul I would suggest is a bit smoother in the midlane.  I find the Critical has strong midlane, but a very defined move.  I wouldn't call it skid/flip, but it is a bit sharper when it makes its transition.  The Soul starts to read and just keeps coming.  Both have great continuation, but I would guess due to the less "sharp" transition, the Soul would be a bit more continuous.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com

vkowalski1970

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1431
  • "It is what it is"
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2013, 01:27:58 PM »
I have the Soul, I found it very long on the fresh. Strong continuous hard arc backed. I actually took a 4000 pad dry and scuffed it up lightly to get it to read a bit earlier. The ball is a beast. It finishes well, about the same strength over all as my deep purple but a good 4-5 feet longer. I like it a lot, love my deep purple and can see this ball being a bit more versatile because of the length. So far very happy with it, for this strong of a ball, it is probably the longest ball I've ever had with that kind of movement on fresh oil. I just need to know when to put it away. I'd say it a 1-3 boards weaker than my Nano on the fresh, but much more pop at the pin deck.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2013, 01:29:41 PM by vkowalski1970 »
Scandal
Daredevil Trick
IQ Tour Solid
Lights Out
Hustle Ink
Viral Hybrid

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2013, 03:00:42 PM »
I have the Soul, I found it very long on the fresh. Strong continuous hard arc backed. I actually took a 4000 pad dry and scuffed it up lightly to get it to read a bit earlier. The ball is a beast. It finishes well, about the same strength over all as my deep purple but a good 4-5 feet longer. I like it a lot, love my deep purple and can see this ball being a bit more versatile because of the length. So far very happy with it, for this strong of a ball, it is probably the longest ball I've ever had with that kind of movement on fresh oil. I just need to know when to put it away. I'd say it a 1-3 boards weaker than my Nano on the fresh, but much more pop at the pin deck.
Interesting, how do you have it drilled and what do you bowl on?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com

vkowalski1970

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1431
  • "It is what it is"
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2013, 03:31:17 PM »
Drilled 65x4.5x35.  Deep purple drilled 50x4.5x45. Heavier 40 ft THS. Outside of 8 is very dry. Most of the league plays up 10. I try to stay left of everyone. If I try and play outside the ball would be way too strong. I'm standing 30. 18 at arrows to 12 at breakpoint.
Also for 4000ob mine was pretty shiny. By just lightly hitting it with the 4000 pad it made it read the lane a cpl feet earlier and is just a beast.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2013, 03:35:02 PM by vkowalski1970 »
Scandal
Daredevil Trick
IQ Tour Solid
Lights Out
Hustle Ink
Viral Hybrid

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2013, 03:37:26 PM »
Makes sense. 
The ball does shine up very quickly.  Our stroker tweener of course saw the easiest length of our testers while our power tweener and cranker didn't see quite that easy length.  It's a strong ball and if you'e got the revs, it's not going to push.

I think hitting it with fresh pad every now and then will help considering how quickly Storm/Roto covers shine.  My Berserk looks like factory polish after maybe 10 games.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com

vkowalski1970

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1431
  • "It is what it is"
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2013, 04:02:55 PM »
I actually have revs. 375. 15 mph. I think just the part of lane I was playing. I was shocked my deep purple was that much earlier. I only have three games on fresh lanes.
Scandal
Daredevil Trick
IQ Tour Solid
Lights Out
Hustle Ink
Viral Hybrid

TamerBowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
Re: Roto Grip Defiant Soul review, video, and Digitrax analysis
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2013, 06:43:43 PM »
Right, it could be a number of factors for getting more length.  If you're playing deeper like you said, wider drilling angle which will delay roll, how much tilt you have, etc.
As long as you like what you see, that's all that matters ;)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.TamerBowling.com
Everything Bowling, coaching tips, ball reviews, USBC Certified Level I
For all your bowling needs, check out www.PerfectAimBowling.com