BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Roto Grip => Topic started by: KennonMcFalls300 on November 20, 2020, 11:56:23 AM

Title: RST X-1
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on November 20, 2020, 11:56:23 AM
The X-1 is the newest addition to the HP4 line. It features the MicroTrax Hybrid coverstock. This ball doesn't do anything flashy; it simply gets the job done. In the past, Roto Grip has been known to make some of the best Asymmetrical balls in the industry. The X-1 proudly carries that torch. I found the X-1 to be similar in overall strength compared to the UFO and the X-1 is about a zone stronger than the Nuclear Cell. The UFO and X-1 differ because they read the lane at different points. The UFO will be slightly earlier because of the Solid MicroTrax cover whereas the X-1 will be slightly cleaner and retain more shape downlane because it has the Hybrid Cover. In all, you'll be able to throw the X-1 on heavy conditions when you need slightly more length than the UFO is giving you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W50DPeKfxnQ&t=108s
Title: RST X-1 (SICK)
Post by: cmattingly on November 20, 2020, 07:47:35 PM
This ball is SICK!  I am so happy with this release! This ball is super versatile.  Whatever I do with my hand, this ball responds to.  I can get right and get up the back of it or I can get in and get around it and it will boom down lane.  My first 6 games with this ball was 804 and 802.
247, 257, 300, 289, 256, 257.

Along with the versatility there is also its hitting power.  This ball goes through the pins SO well, destroying racks.

The only downfall of this ball is the color.  I personally like the darker colored balls, but some may think that this ball doesn’t have the shelf appeal as the other Asymetrical ball with the same release date, Proton Physix.

Pick yours up on Black Friday!!

Layouts: Pin Buffer- 5x4.5x1
Dual Angle- 60x4.5x15

Other balls in the league bag:
Rubicon-5x4.5x1
AstroPhysix-4x5x2
Hyroad Pearl-5x4.25x4.5
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: Jesse James on November 21, 2020, 09:21:01 AM
What condition were you bowling on, to put up such lofty scores?
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 23, 2020, 10:16:29 AM
The RST X-1 features the nano based MicroTrax hybrid cover formula and new dynamic and high torque asymmetric RST or Roto Star Tour core.  MicroTrax is very similar to Storm’s NRG coverstock, though is a little stronger to my knowledge, and the 3000 grit hybrid version instantly reminds me of the PhysiX.  The RST core comes in at a 2.53 RG which is medium and fairly high for an asymmetric ball, an .053 differential and an .016 split or intermediate differential.  The medium RG is going to help the ball scoot through the fronts a little easier while the diff and split create plenty of torque and motion down lane.  The overall package reads like a slightly smoother PhysiX or more usable Halo Vision to me, all of which is good news.  The PhysiX could offer a little too much boom down lane sometimes and the Vision was strong enough to take it out of play on all but the heaviest of conditions, while the RST still provides plenty of hook to tackle heavier stuff but also play more comfortably than I expected on a house shot.  With 1 being the lowest and 10 being the highest, I rate the RST a 9 for hook, a 5 for length, and a 5 for backend strength. 
Title: RST X-1
Post by: addynyr on November 23, 2020, 02:32:04 PM
When I first saw this ball was going to be released, I knew it was going to be an instant winner for me.  I really love the Storm Physix and knew this RST-X1 would be a great compliment to it.  The RST-X1 brings the all new Roto Star Tour with the MicroTrax Hybrid Coverstock.  This combination is not only predictable but allows for great continuation to be used on a wide variety of oil patterns.  This ball reminds me of an asymmetrical IQ Tour. It is a ball that most people will love because of its roll versatility and drilling versatility.  This ball also handles surface changes well and don't be afraid to polish this one either.  A cleaner and faster response will allow for better use on drier lanes and older lane surfaces.  For those who only drill 1 or 2 balls a year, this is a sure winner to be one of those balls.  This ball would be a great piece for any arsenal from the average league bowlers to the competitive tournament bowlers.

Adam Chase
Storm Staff
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: ShimWreckerEnterprises on November 23, 2020, 03:59:37 PM
Roto Grip's RST X-1 brings a brand-new Roto Star Tour core design plus an updated and familiar cover... and results in what might be the surprise of 2020 for me. The 3000-grit MicroTrax Hybrid coverstock is not at all hurting for traction, but that new medium-RG asymmetric core provides a ton of midlane punch while also continuing downlane and through the pins better than any other asym core that I've ever thrown. I find it hard to put this ball down... and I'm guessing you will too!
Title: Roto Grip RST X-1
Post by: fazzone22 on December 04, 2020, 10:10:00 PM
The newest HP4 line ball from Roto Grip features the MicroTrax Hybrid cover with the all-new RST Core. The RST Core comes with an RG of 2.53, Differential of 0.053 and a PSA Differential of 0.016.  I drilled mine 5.5 x 5.5 x 1 and after throwing this ball for sometime I was quite amazed on how this ball actually rolled. For an asymmetrical ball this angled more down lane than I could image but it also responds well with slight hand changes to at release. This is a shape that I have never seen on the Roto Grip, this ball actually reminds me of a Storm Physix. This is a ball I will be able to use just after the bigger balls on the fresh when I need more shape down lane.
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: Onefrombills on December 08, 2020, 11:28:29 AM
The Stats ….
Color   Black / Dark Forest / Forest Pearl
Coverstock   MicroTrax™ Hybrid Reactive
Core   RST™ Core = Roto Star Tour™ (Asymmetrical)
RG   2.53
Differential   0.053
Intermediate Diff   0.016
Factory finish   3000 grit Abralon
BOWLER STYLE: RH - Power Stroker Rev Rate: 320 Ball Speed: 15-16 PAP: 4 7/8 right 3/8 up.
PAP : 4 ⅞ - ⅜ UP

My Thoughts…. The RST-X1 is the newest asymmetric ball in the Roto Grip line. When bigger balls like a UFO, Nuclear Cell, or Proton Phisix on the Storm side is too much but balls like the IDOL’s are not enough the RST X-1 checks that box. When the RST X-1 runs out of room on the approach the Rubicon is the ideal go-to ball to pick up when the RST X-1 is burning up too much energy.

#Storm #RotoGrip #VISE
#Logo Infusion Staff Member (coupon code HIRSCH 20% off)
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: MANCSTORM on December 08, 2020, 06:51:33 PM
“The hybrid cover on the RST will make it a mega hit for anyone with a little slower speed. It has all the characteristics of the top shelf monster balls for me but it's just a little cleaner. That will let the bowlers who speed takes the super strong balls out of play use this one. For the rest this ball will bridge the gap perfectly when the lanes start to make you transition from the top shelf stuff. The RST will be in play all the way until it's time for your weaker pearls/shiny covers.
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: rotogrip_rick on December 13, 2020, 08:54:05 PM
Roto Grip RST-X1 –layout: 70 x 1 ½ x 30
Tech specs: Microtrax hybrid – RST core – 3000ab finish
Ball review: When layout out this ball I took into account how much more rev dominate I have become in the past 2 years. So with that we drilled a shorter pin to pap for me to help calm the ball down overall. Anything 3 ½ to 5 ½ pin to pap is way too strong for me for asymmetric cores since my accident over 2 years ago. During first night of league I found it to be really super smooth even with the 30 degree back angle. So I then practiced with it and did some videotaping of the reaction. I found the ball to be a tick strong then my Idol and Rubicon but not as strong as the UFO that has a little bit stronger pin to pap – 2in pin to pap compare to the RST-X1 with the 1 ½ in pin to pap. The new RST core is going to be a BIG hit because of the weight of the block is at the north and south points of the core, where other AYSs have a majority of their mass in more to the middle of the core, the RST will tumble more and provide even more length down lane. So for me, I will start on the fresh with the RST-X1, then when the back ends get tighter, I will set up to the UFO or Proton Physix.
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: MSUHoss300 on December 14, 2020, 12:53:15 PM
Roto Grip RST-X1
Layout - 65 x 5 x 30

This ball is going to be the most usable big dull asym on the market.  Proton Physix and UFO are excellent but they start up so quick their window is so short in times you can use them, you might get a game out of them.  This ball is clean enough and continues enough to use it throughout the entire block.  Also, don't be afraid to alter the surface to get you the shape you're looking for.   This ball is similar to the original Physix and the Alpha Crux, I truly believe this one is really special.  Great job to the team in Utah with this one! 
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: wdye89 on December 21, 2020, 08:20:17 PM
Bowler Name: Wes Dye
Style: RH Thumb-in bowler
Rev Rate: 425-450 RPM
Ball Speed: 18mph off the hand, 16.5 mph @ camera (where most speed data in centers come from. 
Axis Rotation: 40-60 degrees on average
Axis Tilt: 10 degrees

Ball: Roto-Grip RST X1
Layout: 4.5x4x2.25
Surface Prep: Box

I am always cautiously excited about new technology in bowling equipment.  The cover on this one is a hybrid microtrax, which we’ve seen variations of before. What impresses me most about this cover formula is not only the separation of flare rings, but how wide each flare ring is.  This cover seems to make more contact with the lanes than any cover I’ve thrown to date. The core, however, is the brand-new roto star tour.  The RG in a 15lb is a bit higher than most big asyms, and the intermediate diff or PSA is a bit lower than most. I was thrilled to see this, as my speed to rev ratio coupled with lower tilt usually makes bigger asyms harder to throw on house shots.  I usually see them burn way too much energy in the front and midlane, but that was NOT the case with the RST X1.  While I did have to move a zone left of where I normally play our house shot, this ball let me do that with ease and most importantly it had CONTINUATION. With the strength of this ball, I was able to open my angles earlier in the night and take advantage of the easier shot sooner.
 
The shape this ball creates is unique because it is moderately strong, but in all 3 major parts of the lane. Often, we have strong balls in either the fronts (first 20 feet), mids (second 20 feet) or back (third 20 feet).  Take the UFO for example; for me the UFO is INCREDIBLY strong in the fronts and mids but doesn’t create a lot of back end shape.  This is great for heavier/flatter conditions where control is needed.  The UFO slows down and hooks so fast, it almost makes the lane feel slightly uphill. It is a true HEAVY oil ball.  The RST X1 on the other hand is just a wonderful blend throughout the lane.  It doesn’t glide through the fronts, nor does it slow way down.  In the middle part of the lane, you can see the white logos doing some work and rolling over, but the ball isn’t done working when it gets to 40 feet. The backend is a strong bending motion, not sudden.  I have fallen in LOVE with this ball.
 
I would call it an asymmetrical benchmark reaction, great for heavier lane conditions or those with a slightly speed dominant game. This ball isn’t going to handle the floods out there like the Proton PhysiX or UFO, but anything slightly less and I think the RST X1 will impress. 
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: dstewart16 on December 23, 2020, 12:36:53 AM
Introducing the brand newest addition to the HP4 line the Roto Grip RST X-1! This ball features the Micro Trax Hybrid Reactive Coverstock wrapped around the RST core which stands for ( Roto Star Tour Core )! This ball fits right between my UFO and, my Rubicon. The RST X-1 is a strong hybrid that reads the midlane very well and has a very continuous back end. I absolutely love this ball motion and, can use it on a variety of Lane conditions. This ball has earned a place in my bag since day #1! If you haven't yet do yourself a favor and go get one of these! You won't regret it!
Title: Roto Grip RST-X1 review by Trevor Roberts
Post by: TrevorRoberts on December 25, 2020, 11:08:09 AM
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

COMMENTS
The RST-X1 is the newest asymmetric ball in the Roto Grip line. For me it is very similar to the Rubicon that came out just a few months ago. When using both balls on the same line at a tournament a couple weeks ago, they complimented each other well and gave me a slightly different look going through the pins. The RST is slightly earlier and slower then the Rubicon. I immediately switched to the Rubicon when the RST was burning up too much energy, and it was the perfect 1-2 combo to start the tournament. I am also very excited to try the RST-X1 with polish, because I think that will make this ball more versatile and allow me to move further left and have the ball store more energy!

SOCIAL MEDIA
Click This Link Below For All Social Media :
https://linktr.ee/TrevorRobertsBowler

BOWLER STATS
Trevor Roberts
2016 PBA Southern Regional Rookie Of The Year
Storm / Roto Grip Professional Staff
Turbo 2N1 Grips Staff Member
Right Handed
Rev Rate: 440
Speed: 17
PAP: 5 1/2 up 13/16
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: rodbowler75 on December 29, 2020, 07:43:56 AM


The newest addition to the HP4 line the Roto Grip RST X-1! This ball features the Micro Trax Hybrid Reactive Coverstock wrapped around the RST core which stands for ( Roto Star Tour Core )! This ball fits right between my UFO and, my Rubicon. The RST X-1 is a strong hybrid that reads the midlane very well and has a very continuous back end. I absolutely love this ball motion and, can use it on a variety of Lane conditions. This ball is one of my first choices out of my bag. If you haven't yet do yourself a favor and go get one of these! You won't regret it!
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: TonyMarino on December 30, 2020, 06:35:09 AM
RST X1
The RST X1 features the MicroTrax™ Hybrid cover along with the all new RST™ core (RG=2.53, Diff=.053 int diff=.016).

I drilled my X1 5x4x3 because I wanted to be able to use it when the front part of the lanes were hooking a bit but they weren’t quite ready for a skid snap shape yet. For me the X1 fits this spot perfectly! When balls like the UFO or Proton Physix ready too quickly, the X1 rolls great. What I really love about the X1 is the float through the front without sacrificing the quick revving asymmetrical shape that I love.

If you are looking for a ball for medium to heavy oil but don’t want something that hooks in our backswing, the RST X1 is it!
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: Bigmike on December 30, 2020, 10:05:48 AM
Layout 45 x 5 x 40. I left this one box finish which is 3000 abr and have been touching this up with the 3000 pad.

My intent was to drill this and see what it looked like before adding a 2nd or 3rd one to the bag. So far it has been hard to describe where it fits and not in a bad way. It is not a PROTON PHYSIX, but is has more motion than my RUBICON. It is very readable and predictable and I have been using it on mostly medium/long-long patterns in the 40-44 foot range. If I am on the slicker side of the spectrum, I touch it with the 3000 pad and close my angles down. It also works for me when I need to open up my angles slightly more. If I have to really open them up, then I work in my NUCLEAR CELL and ball down from that to a AXIOM PEARL.

The RST X-1 looks like a great shape that anyone who isn't afraid to drill a 2nd or 3rd companion ball would want to do it with this release. The cover looks like it might be more on the solid side vs pearl and that may be what is dictating the motion which is a strong arc type reaction without over snap.
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: Moneymarriott300 on January 04, 2021, 06:06:05 PM
The RST X-1 features the new Roto Star Core wrapped in MicroTrax Hybrid. For me, I am able to use this ball on a variety of patterns. I am able to use this in league and not have to worry about what it will do. It is a great benchmark shape for an asymmetrical ball. I can see myself bringing this ball everywhere I go whether that be tournaments or league. I also see this ball as a stronger and more versatile PhysiX. If you liked that ball you will not be disappointed with the RST X-1!!
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: BEger on January 06, 2021, 09:39:01 AM
PAP 5 7/8 over and 3/8 up
Layout 5x4x1.5

Did not really know what to expect from the X1 when I ordered it. I had heard Schlem talk about the ball and the intent to create more core torque with the design. But man, I was super impressed with what I saw.  Typically, stronger asymmetrical pieces tend to roll out for me with my slower ball speed and ball roll. The X1 is quite different.
Where the stronger balls tend to get forward for me off the spot the X1 ball roll is very continuous and shows no signs of rolling out for me. The ball takes to different lines and hand positions very well. I can see all different styles of bowlers having success with this piece if you have some oil up front. It is possible that shining the ball would allow for use on some lighter patterns. However, I’ve made no surface adjustments as the ball fits exactly where I wanted it to.
I would highly recommend this ball.
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: StormMan300 on January 19, 2021, 12:02:27 PM
RST X-1 Powerfully Strong and Predictable

The Roto Grip RST X-1 is very strong HP4 ball. I drilled it with a favorite layout of mine 5.5x4x2  It reads the lane very well and just continues on the backend.  No quit in this ball.  You better have oil if you keep the 3000 grit factory finish.  I personally shined mine for the house shot and it is my go to ball from the start.  This ball is so good, it stores so much energy and drives through the pin, strong controllable finish on the backend Hitting Power is as great as every Roto Grip Ball I’ve thrown. I can play pretty much any line left of 3rd arrow and the ball will recover from anywhere. My PAP is 5-1/8 and 1/8 up. Usually around 15-16mph, I’d probably be classified between a tweener and a cranker.
See my ball review video on YouTube here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IV7JQj0VdYo
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: stormstarSLZ on January 26, 2021, 03:58:19 PM
PAP 4 ½ over and 1 up ball speed 15 rev rate 275
Drilling-75x5 ½x25
So at first I didn't think I was going to drill this one, with all the asymmetrical releases and friction I bowl on, I just kinda overlooked it. Then, after drilling a couple for my customers I was intrigued and decided to go with a recommendation from my husband. I see a unique motion we haven't seen much lately, the RST-X1 is strong but not like other balls. Usually when a strong ball comes out we see a lot of hook up front which on high friction surfaces can be just to much and calls for a weaker ball to see the lanes the right way. But, with this gem, you don't have to worry about this, if you have a slower ball speed and have trouble using stronger stuff. Go out and get the RST-x1 you will not be disappointed!!
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: JoeZibrin on January 26, 2021, 04:10:22 PM
PAP 3 ¾ over 1” up ball speed 17 rev rate 475
Drilling-45x5 1/2x35
Immediately after throwing I knew this ball and I were going to be friends, right off my hand I see complete control and predictability. We don't see a lot of big cores that bring both strength and predictability, this one takes the cake for me. I can play left in the oil or move right and keep it in front of me around the track. I never feel like I'm lost with this one in my hands. Will for sure be going with me to all tournaments, 100% my arsenal building piece.
Title: Re: RST X-1
Post by: rcgilmore on February 02, 2021, 09:25:52 AM
Ball Review RST-X1
Cover: New MicroTrax
Hybrid Cover Stock
3000 unpolished

RG: 2.53
Dif:0.053
PSA: 0.016

What can I say but WOW! Asymmetrical balls and I have a hard time matching up, but I can stay this one is a winner for me. I drilled this OOB 45 x 3 ½ x 40. I left the cover OOB. The RST is smooth through the front for me and reads the mid lane very well and is continuous with a strong backend. I have a hard time getting Asymmetrical to get through the pins without burning up and getting the right shape. I have experimented with different layouts on several balls. This one is dead on. I shot 723 with my first series right out of the box. I found that I can move and trust the ball will turn the corner which is very difficulty for me since I am a speed dominant lower rev player. I can see myself using this right out to the bag on the fresh. This ball has a lot of versatility another home run for Roto Grip!!


Title: Re: RST X-1 review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on February 04, 2021, 12:06:26 AM
Cover: MicroTrax (Micro Nanoparticle Traction) Hybrid
Core: Roto Star Tour Core (RST™ Core)
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.53
Differential: 0.053

ME:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over bridge/ring 55 X 5 1/4 X 35

The New RST X-1 is a throw back motion ball updated for todays conditions. Compared to other HP4 releases it is cleaner than the solid versions you've seen released in recent years. Compared to the Pearl HP 4 line balls it is much smoother. Compared to the other hybrid releases, it is both. It's a ball that accentuates the best characteristics of strong balls with Hybrid covers. It's mid-lane read is great, down-lane motions super predictable, and is incredibly continuous without a drastic change of direction.

My favorite thing about the RST-X1 is how many different conditions it is useful on. Even the extreme ends of the spectrum are in play. The RST X-1 is smooth enough that with hand positions you can control downlane reaction on both short and long oil. In league it has been exceptional for me on conditions that are a little more blended. The adaptability of this ball to every condition makes it a good match up for most everyone.