BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 20, 2019, 09:30:17 AM

Title: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 20, 2019, 09:30:17 AM
The Storm !Q Tour Emerald continues in the success of the long line of !Q bowling balls. The !Q Tour Emerald takes the R2S Pearl Reactive coverstock and wraps it around the C³ Centripetal Control Core. This combination assists the bowling ball in easily gliding through many lane conditions in addition to a big backend reaction.

Color: Emerald
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: R2S Pearl Reactive
Core: C³ Centripetal Control Core
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium
RG: 2.49 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.029 (15# ball)
Fragrance: Melon Mint
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: BSumner on June 24, 2019, 02:02:10 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42

Volume: 25mls

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I’m probably the only Storm equipment user who has never thrown a ball in the IQ line. So the !Q Tour Emerald is my first experience.

I went with a 2.5x4.5 x1.5 layout. That brings the pin more toward my positive axis point which gives me an earlier, stable roll down the lane. I’m likely not going to use this ball on a fresh, heavy, 40’ pattern. My options are lower volume league shots, patterns that become over/under or heads that burn.

I put a few games on a freshly oiled pair at Gold Crown Lanes in St. Johnsbury. I threw variety of surfaces and angles to help simulate a chopped up, burned pattern. When I threw the !Q Tour Emerald, I found that I was able to stay a little further right allowing the intricacies of my game to work for me. The symmetrical core allowed it to glide down the lane, but the R2S cover took over at the end of the pattern and allowed the ball to bite. Where stronger surfaces and cores would burn up early and lose carry, the !Q Tour Emerald gave me a dependable and controlled motion all the way through the pins.

Watch my review video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9kssAOmvM4

Brian Sumner
Storm Amateur Staff
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Pbapolizzi on June 28, 2019, 03:50:54 PM
Here it is all we have been waiting for! The IQ tour Emerald is exactly what you would expect.
Clean through the fronts doesn't over read the friction. Clean and easy to control.
Perfect compliment to the IQ tour and idol pearl fits perfect with these 2 balls.
Ball is good for later in blocks on a range of different length patterns and game 2 or 3 in a league setting.
I drilled mine 60x5.5x30
#Stormnation

Chris Polizzi
PBA Regional Champion and PSO
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Juggernaut on June 28, 2019, 07:01:59 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft

Volume: not known (But, it isn’t anywhere near a heavy condition. More mediumish)

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Does what it is supposed to do.

Dislikes:Little squirty OOB (Most Storm pearls are for me )


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

 First of all, NOT A STAFFER.

 As a matter of fact, I tend to not like much Storm stuff. And yes, that means the vaunted Hy-Road too.


 Now, on to my opinions:

 Even though not a big Storm fan, I've been waiting on this one. Ive seen too much success from too many people using one version or another of this ball to simply let another chance to own it slip by me.

 Drilled it pin up, about 4 inches from pap, and stacked it up. Came with a nearly 4 inch pin out, and 2.75 top. With my pap, that made it close to 4 x 3 with just a little top left.

  Like nearly all polished Storm pearls (for me), this one seemed a little squirty right out of the box, especially on the fresh. A small move into the oil line, and the clean length of the fresh polished cover would hit the pocket, but was pinging wrap tens like it was on auto pilot. But, that was ok really, because I really expected that from the fresh OOB finish on the R2S pearl, and I was living in the pocket. Figured it would only get better as the ball surface “broke in”, and the condition transitioned.

 Started out playing with feet on 22, targetting 10 at the arrows. The longer I threw it, the better it seemed to react, so I continued, figuring the surface and the condition were going to match up soon. I was right.

 It took 2 full games, but third game I go strike, 8-1(split), and moved in with a 3-2 move with feet and target. Finish with a 10 bagger for 268 last game on an open frame.

 All in all, a good experience, and a purchase I’m glad I finally made.No, this isn’t a miracle ball, but it does do what they say it will, and what it is designed to do. I can easily see how this and the tour solid could make a really good 1-2 punch on lots of house conditions.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Kevin Duncan on June 29, 2019, 09:16:05 PM
Storm iQ Tour Emerald
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm iQ Tour Emerald utilizes the C3 Centripetal Control Core and the R2S Pearl Reactive Coverstock.  For the bowlers that missed out on the iQ Tour Pearl (Gold), this is your second chance to own one.  As with the Gold version, the ball motion of this symmetrical pearl was predictable and pin carry good.  I had better carry when I was going straighter through the front part of the lane, but that was probably because of my lack of revs.  I feel all styles will enjoy this one though.  I will use the Storm iQ Tour Emerald as a step down ball when the fronts start to burn early for the asymmetrical balls and stronger symmetricals.  It can also be a benchmark ball in your tournament bag.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to purchase yours!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Storm IQ Tour Emerald Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on July 01, 2019, 11:13:12 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5, 4, 1 3/4
Dual Angle:  60, 5, 30

The IQ Tour Emerald is the Gold IQ reborn.  It features the same R2S pearl cover as the Gold ball, but is a super awesome looking Emerald green color.  If you loved the gold ball, then you’ll love the IQ Tour Emerald.   If you’ve never had an IQ Tour Pearl (Gold) then it’s the perfect step down from the OG IQ Tour Solid.  When the IQ Tour Solid burns up a little too much, then the Pearl is the perfect solution.  And it looks amazing.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: jshoe97 on July 03, 2019, 03:30:16 PM
Hey everyone, this is Storm amateur staffer and turbo regional staffer Josh Shoemaker here with another ball review for the brand new Storm IQ tour emerald. Before we begin, I want to thank Storm and Turbo for providing me with all the equipment I use every time I step on the lanes, and the Facebook page Storm and Rotogrip Bowling Balls for Sale for providing me with a platform to promote all of this great equipment. I recently decided to switch to 16lbs, so both balls featured in this video are indeed 16. Anything with the IQ name has been a staple in the storm line for years now. With how popular the IQ tour pearl was, it’s only fitting that storm brought back the same ball with an updated color. The emerald features the same R2S pearl cover as the original, as well as the same centripetal core. For this video, I decided to bowl on a house shot after a couple of league sets had been bowled. These lower friction balls love when the track is beat up a little bit, so you have a little room to throw them to. The emerald breezes through the heads and offers a firm but defined motion off the end of the pattern. I decided to venture off my usual layout for this ball, because of how similar it was to the gold ball. I was not a big fan of the original, so I put a stronger and slower response layout this time around. With the color change and layout tweak, I can pretty visibly see a difference from the original. The emerald fits right in between the original gold ball, and the tour 30. I can see myself using the emerald a ton on house shots, or towards the end of longer tournament blocks once the track area has developed. When compared to the hyroad, the emerald is a zone longer and a few boards less overall. Be sure to stop in to your local storm vip pro shop and preorder your very own today! #StormNation #Turbo

Review Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IU97DIW3do8

Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: iman_300 on July 05, 2019, 11:51:01 AM
!Q Tour Emerald (emmy)

Another home run for Storm. First off this ball looks great. The Emerald Green gives the ball a great look on the pro shop shelf as well as on the lanes.
 
The !Q tour solid has been a staple in my bag for as long as Storm has been pumping them out of Utah. I was very happy when I heard that they were bringing back a pearl version.
 
The !Q line has been great for all styles and skill levels of bowlers for years and this is just the newest member of the !Q family. The !Q tour solid might be the smoothest rolling ball in the Storm line and the Emerald just gives it more length and pop on the back end. When you need to play bigger angles or just need a little extra length this is the ball for you.
 
This ball is great for all styles of bowlers and everyone needs one in their bag.
 
Visit your local Pro Shop today and get one.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: cmattingly on July 10, 2019, 01:47:56 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 21 mL

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Great Complement to the !Q Tour

Dislikes: none yet

It feels so good to have the !Q Tour Pearl BACK! The Emerald is just as good as the Gold! We all know that color dictates a little bit of the ball's reaction, but, as soon as I started throwing this ball it immediately felt like home. It's the same smooth yet strong reaction that we all fell in love with when the Gold ball was around.
I drilled this one pin down which lowers the diff a bit and makes it a little cleaner getting down lane.  The ball off the spot is strong but not jerky.  Our house is wood and It does a great job of controlling the angle off the spot for a pearl.  I am going to load up on these because I didn't realize how much I missed this motion until the gold balls were gone. 

Layout: 60 x 5 x 70 pin down, no hole

What I'm throwing a lot of right now:
Halo Pearl- 60 x 5-1/2 x 35 (pin up)
Idol Pearl- 60 x 5-1/2 x 35 (pin up)
CodeX- 45 x 5 x 35 (pin up)
HyRoadX- 60 x 5 x 70 (pin down)

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: fazzone22 on July 10, 2019, 08:13:12 PM
Storm’s iQ Tour Edition line has been successful since day one with the original iQ Tour Solid, since then they added 3 more amazing releases with the very popular iQ Tour Pearl, iQ Tour 30 Edition & iQ Tour Fusion. Well now we have another huge hit on our hands the iQ Tour Emerald. My first impression throwing this ball is how much it reminds me of the original Gold ball. This version is a touch earlier and softer off the spot, those trickier short-medium length pattern with some friction will match up the best with the new Emerald, this will pack an awesome 1-2 punch with the iQ Tour Solid.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Tknoop1127 on July 12, 2019, 03:08:52 PM
LANE CONDITION

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Any


COMMENTS

Layout: Pin above bridge with CG kicked an inch.
PAP: 5 over.. 3/4 up

The IQ series has been a staple in the Storm line for awhile now. All of the different creations have been big hits in the market, and it's going to continue with the new edition: !Q Tour Emerald.

This ball reminds of the Gold !Q. I can see some of the 30th edition in it as well. If you liked either of those balls, then you'll love this ball. The ball is very clean, but it's not super fast off the spot either. It's a predictable ball in my arsenal. I already this ball as a good transition ball from the OG !Q Tour. I go to this ball when the !Q Tour gets a little to early.

I highly recommend this new gem in the Storm series.




PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on July 17, 2019, 01:28:33 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:med

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):High Friction THS


COMMENTS

Cover: R2S Pearl Reactive
Weightblock: C³ Centripetal Control Core
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Differential: 0.029

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over Bridge 50 X 5 1/2 X 40

The New Storm !Q Tour Emerald is very close to what alot of people were hoping for: Return of the Gold Ball! The Emerald features the Low RG Low Diff C3 Centripetal Control Core and the legendary R2S Pearl cover. The Gold-speckled dark emerald green color is gorgeous and offers a smoother reaction than original !Q Tour Edition. The Pearl cover is still clean through the front but it offers a bit of midlane read and plenty of continuation despite the steady roll off the backend.

I found the Emerald !Q to be a vast improvement over the !Q 30. The 30 was smooth but a bit too clean through the front. While that reaction certainly has it's place it wasn't the motion everyone loved in the original !Q Tour Pearl. The Emerald is between those two releases but a shade closer to "Goldy"

This ball is phenomenal on high friction lane beds, (It's original design was to combat the high friction surface at the South Point Bowling Center lanes previous to the Arena being built". The resulting ball is very versatile and works for a plethora of styles and conditions. In short this ball has something for everyone. It's strong enough for strokers, clean enough for crankers and ultra reliable for tweeners like myself. It may be the most responsive ball to hand position changes ever made.

If the !Q Tour Emerald isn't in your tournament bag, you are missing one of the greatest tools on the market.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: #StormNationSteve on July 28, 2019, 01:52:54 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft

Volume: 24ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Great for when the lanes start to open up, good length with a stronger backend

Dislikes: Not for heavier oil

Drilled 5x5x3, which puts the Emerald !Q pin above the fingers for me. Very good angular addition to the Storm line up. Able to get inside a little with this piece when the lanes start to break down, and get good recovery on the backends. The E!Q for me is a little stronger than the AstroPhysix off of the dry, in part because of being symmetrical. Very clean thru the heads, I was able to play 20 to about 10 and get it back to the pocket and carry with no issue on a slightly used ths pattern. On the fresh, it was a little to skid snappy for my game, but others have like that reaction. Overall, I would transition to this once my Physix or ProMotion became too much ball. another fine addition to the Storm family!

#StormNation



PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on July 28, 2019, 08:03:50 PM
Ball:  Storm !Q Tour Emerald
Layout:  4x2
Surface:  Box
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface:  Brunswick Anvilane

Tester:  Sabrina
Average:  228
Dexterity:  Right

I kept going back and forth with myself on if I wanted to drill the !Q Tour Emerald and I am so glad that I did. I think this ball is going to fit perfectly in my arsenal when the lanes start to dry out. This ball allows me to stay further right with my feet and target once the lanes start to dry out. I am bowling in a league this summer and the lane conditions have been a bit drier so I am actually able to start with this ball and then move my feet left if it start over hooking on me. I am curious to see what this ball will give me during the fall/winter in our Scratch league. I am not sure if I will be able to start with it but I think by game 3 or 4 the lanes will be dry enough to where I can switch to it while keeping my feet and target right. I think this ball will also be good for me when it comes to tournament play and the lanes start to dry out. I am not rev dominant but speed dominant.

Overall, I am very pleased that I decided to get this ball drilled. I am very impressed with what I have seen practicing with it and also using it in the league I bowl in during the summer. It is not jerky down the lane and very smooth. I am looking forward to seeing what this ball will give me during the fall/winter leagues and also when I go to tournaments. I just wasn’t sure how this ball was gonna fit in my arsenal but it fits perfectly.

Sabrina Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Storm Advisory Staff
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on August 05, 2019, 09:03:57 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: HOMERUN!!!!!!!

This ball has quickly become a favorite for me!!! The rebirth of the IQ pearl is a smashing success IMO. The new IQ Emerald is as close to an exact replica to the gold IQ pearl as you can get. I put a 70*5*45 on mine which is my usual, pin up over the ring and the cg straight down. I put it up against the other prl balls in my bag like the Idol pearl, astrophysix, and halo prl. compared to the Idol prl it is alittle sooner but still has great shape down lane. I have mine just alittle less off the spot than the Ido Prl. For me the Idol prl was just alittle too clean on fresher conditions, it gave me alittle move over/under. So the IQ Emerald fits my game alittle better. Compared to the AstroPhysix its cleaner and weaker overall. The Halo Pearl is similar in length but much more change of direction off down lane. Overall the IQ Emerald is a great all around ball, especially on your typical league pattern just like the original IQ Pearl was.

Nick Smith
Bowling Connection Pro Shop
Storm/Rot Grip Amateur Staff

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Gil B on August 05, 2019, 09:22:52 AM
Wow.  First it smells great lol.  This ball is super clean and predictable. I am loving it The shape on this ball lets me read the lane automatically after the first few shots. Def a bench mark piece. There was a lot of anticipation on this release and it def did not disappoint. The IQ line has always been and must have and this fits right in. Def drill this up you will not be disappointed .
Title: Storm IQ Emerald Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 08, 2019, 09:25:29 AM
The IQ Emerald is the rebirth of the insanely popular and successful “gold ball,” the original IQ Tour Pearl, which has been sought after, requested, and demanded since it was discontinued years ago.  The IQ Emerald is extremely close to the original, to the point of splitting hairs on the reaction among the highest level players who can notice even the smallest details.  It has Wes Malott’s seal of approval, and the proof was the MVP trophy at the PBA League using the Emerald exclusively and virtually never missing with it, he has a lot of good history with the IQ Tour Pearl and its return is a sigh of relief for him among thousands of others.  It combines one of the best cover formulas in bowling history, R2S Pearl, with one of the best cores in bowling history, the low RG, low differential Centripetal C3 core, and the result is a ball with an amazing amount of versatility, control, and power.  It pairs very nicely with the Astro PhysiX for a similar feel out of the cover, but for different angles and situations, in addition to the Pro Motion as a familiar shape but a great ball down option for transition. 

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYBSq2YWJnI
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: rodbowler75 on August 13, 2019, 08:58:02 PM
My excitement for this ball when it was announced was really high. I've loved all the balls in the IQ line. This one is no different the Emerald is that pearl I've been missing in my bag since I moved down in weight. Great control off the spot using one of my favorite layouts 5 x 4 x 40 showed me how great this ball is. Just like the solid IQ the Emerald is my benchmark pearl. A choice for anyone looking to add to there bag
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: hittnhard on August 14, 2019, 03:37:35 PM
Storm !Q Tour Emerald

Cover: R2S Pearl Reactive

Weightblock: C³ Centripetal Control Core

Finish: 1500 Polish

RG: 2.49

Differential: 0.029

When I saw the release information on the !Q Tour Emerald, I thought the same as everyone else, a new version of the gold ball----and this ball is as close as can be.

The Emerald is what you would expect from an !Q line ball. Midlane, smooth, controllable, predictable. A great compliment to the !Q Tour Solid, a common benchmark ball for many bowlers. If you are someone, like me, who prefers a pearl as their benchmark ball, then the Emerald is one to give a try.

This one will be seen in many tournament and house shot arsenals for a while!
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Karamangiola on August 15, 2019, 01:43:31 PM
When I found out this ball was coming out, it was a must have in my bag. The !Q line has been a very successful and useful line for me. 30x5 1/4 x50  is the layout I have on mine and I love how smooth this  ball is even with the back end is still gives.The lanes become torched fairly quickly in a lot of the tournaments that I bowl in around here so this ball is perfect for me to use. I’m able to use this ball to get through the front part of the lane and have a nice kick at the end for me. The best part of this ball is really just knowing exactly what it’s going to do. Everyone  should have this in their bag or even have a few.
Great ball and not to mention it’s a great color!
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 16, 2019, 09:30:47 AM
Storm IQ Tour Emerald Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

If you’ve tuned it to watch the PBA Tour over the last several years and paid attention to the most popular bowling balls being used, you’ll recognize one particular logo, the IQ logo from Storm Bowling.  The IQ Tour Emerald is the newest addition to the line and is a home run.  It’s a perfect addition to the existing line and is worth drilling to fill a gap in your bag.

I’ve drilled one IQ Tour Emerald so far and love it.  I drilled through the middle finger and put a weight hole approximately two inches below my PAP.  I’ve had the most success with this ball when the pattern blends out and I need to create more angle through the front part of the lane.  The response time on the IQ Tour Emerald is on the quicker side, so I’d make sure to account for plenty of angle down lane.  I also hit the surface with a 3000 pad to take the initial shine off and create a smoother reaction.

I’ve seen the players with a lower rev rate really like this ball because of how clean and angular it can be.  Likewise, the higher rev players love it as well because of how much they can open up the lane with it and create angle.  If you need a quicker response ball with a great track record, the IQ Tour Emerald is a perfect fit!

#StormNation
Title: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: sportshot on August 18, 2019, 08:51:00 AM
Ball Specs:
Storm IQ Tour Emerald
R2S Pearl Reactive
1500 Grit Polished
C3 Core
Layout 55 x 3-3/8 x 40

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at release 17

Review:
I never rolled the Gold IQ but drilled plenty of them for my customers. I knew that ball was very good, so I had a feeling the Emerald IQ would be another hit for Storm. Man it sure is! The combination of the R2S Pearl Cover and The C3 Core are a perfect match. The ball revs easily, but saves power for backend and a nice hit. The Emerald IQ has a defined move on the back but it is not jumpy. This is one of the best core and cover combinations I have ever bowled with. I have used this ball on 6 different patterns over 4 houses and was able to easily find a line to the pocket with good carry. The Emerald is also forgiving if you make a bad shot. I have drilled the new Emerald for many styles of bowlers and it seems to work for everybody!  As I go bowl and watch tournaments there is already plenty of Emerald IQ’s in use. This speaks to the confidence and success bowlers already have with this ball. I put this ball between my Idol Pearl and Halo Pearl in total hook with a bit smoother roll. I recently switched to rolling all Storm and Roto Grip equipment and am very impressed with the motions I am getting.
This ball will be a great addition to any arsenal.

Summary:
The Emerald IQ is a great ball on many conditions.
The color and shelf appeal is very nice.
The entry angle provides a great carry percent.
The Emerald works for many bowling styles.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff

gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: hammermike2000 on August 20, 2019, 03:10:14 PM
Layout: 60 x 4 5/8 x 40

The IQ Tour 30 is one of my favorite Storm balls of all time, so I was extremely excited when I saw the impending release of the IQ Tour Emerald. Just like the IQ 30, the Emerald has a strong backend but is still quite controllable. The Emerald is best on medium oil patterns, as it is a bit too clean for fresh or heavy oil patterns; when the lanes break down is when this ball shines. It is more responsive to hand position changes than most balls - getting up the back of it allows me to go down-and-in and a bit straighter, and getting around the side of the ball allows it to come off the end of the pattern quite strong and allows me to open the lane up considerably.The Emerald is 3-4 boards weaker overall than the Astro Phsyix, making those two balls a great 1-2 punch that covers most lane conditions, especially house shots.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: TonyMarino on August 22, 2019, 08:56:08 AM
IQ Emerarld
IQ Tour Emerald is essentially the rerelease of one of the most iconic Storm balls of the last 10 years, the gold IQ! From what I remember the gold ball was a little sharper down lane than the emerald.
The Emerald is what you would expect from an IQ line ball. A smooth, controllable, predictable shape with more motion than the original IQ Tour. A great compliment to the IQ Tour Solid, a common benchmark ball for many bowlers.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: EVollmar on August 25, 2019, 05:15:30 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the IQ Tour Emerald, the newest release in the Master line. This is a remake of the IQ Tour Pearl and IQ Tour 30. Still utilizing the R2S Pearl cover and the C3 Centripetal Control Core made famous by those previous releases. The layout I used was 4 1/2 x 5 1/2 x 3 1/2 which put the pin in my ring finger. The IQ Tour Emerald has quickly joined the ranks of the IQ Tour Solid as one of my favorite pieces to date. The smoother core with the pearl cover pair perfectly with each other. The Emerald clears the fronts very well and gives me a very strong and continuous motion down lane. It also pairs really well with the Astro Physix as they both utilize the same cover but the Astro has a stronger core. If you liked the original pearl then this is a must have or if you never had a chance to throw the original, this is your chance to make up for lost time. 

Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staffer
Title: Storm !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: StormRoto on August 28, 2019, 02:56:49 PM
  The new IQ Tour Emerald is newer version of the very popular IQ Tour Pearl aka Gold Ball.   The Gold Ball is probably my favorite ball of all time from Storm.  So to say the least I was pretty pumped to see the Emerald.  I drilled mine with my favorite drilling 5.25 x 5 x 2.5 pin up no hole.  The Emerald has the same great length and roll of the original.  I think the Emerald is just a hair stronger overall with maybe a little stronger motion down lane due to the 2019 R2S coverstock version.  I think the Emerald has that different motion in the Storm line that we have been missing for a little while.  Throughout  our Matchmakers the Emerald has been probably the most popular with all styles of bowlers.  I personally think the Emerald is one the best league balls you can buy especially for the wood lanes or lower volume house patters.  Also this summer we have seen great success on TV with the PBA guys striking a lot with the Emerald. 
Wes Malott being a big supporter.   

Brian Watson
PAP - 5 up 1 1/8
RPM - 400
Speed 16-17
Tilt - 17

Storm Amateur Staff
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: williamsonkm20 on August 30, 2019, 11:22:16 AM
LANE CONDITION

Kassy Shumate
Storm Amateur Staff

As an owner of the original IQ Tour Pearl Gold I was beyond excited for this release. This ball epitomizes what a benchmark ball truly is. So much control and the ability to see what the lanes are really doing. This is always the first ball out of my bag even if I know the shot doesn't call for it because it allows me to read the lanes and make other ball decisions from there. Aside from this ball looking AMAZING it just feels right in your hand. You know even if you throw a "bad shot" that it will most likely not be "max penalty." I do go to the lanes without this ball, bottom line. A remake of one of my all time favorite balls that I still have today!


Length: 42

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes: Control, smooth, predictable.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: tommygn on August 30, 2019, 12:55:47 PM
The !Q Tour Emerald brings current bowlers the chance to relive the !Q 30 and “gold ball”. The Emerald uses the same Centripetal core (2.49 Rg, 0.029 diff in 15lbs)  found in the previous Tour releases as well as the same R2S pearl cover, but this time with an emerald green color. The Emerald is still in the Master line of balls in Storm’s catalog.

I drilled the Emerald with a 4.5” pin and 2.5” pin buffer from PAP, the same layout used on my Idol Pearl. My !Q 30 and my “gold ball” both had the pins at 5” with 2.5” pin buffer from PAP. Compared to a current ball in the Idol Pearl, the !Q Emerald is more responsive to friction at the end of the pattern, and creates more angle. The Idol Pearl starts up sooner, and is smoother overall, while covering more boards. This is almost always the case for me when comparing lower differential to higher differential balls. Other people and their roll may see it differently. Comparing the Emerald to a Son!Q with a 4”  pin and 3” buffer, the Emerald needs to be straighter through the fronts to get the ball to read the right way, and has more angle than the Son!Q. Basically, I can use the Son!Q when seeing fresh backends, and switch to the Emerald when more backend shape (but less overall board coverage) is needed. The overall shape the emerald makes throughout the lane is very similar to that of the !Q 30. It seems to be more continuous through the backend than the “gold ball”, just like the 30.

The !Q Emerald is a welcomed addition to many tournament bowlers who see conditions that straighter trajectory through the fronts is key. The Emerald still has its place on easier conditions, especially those players with very high rev rates, who wants to circle the whole lane when they hook, as well as players who are speed dominate and want to keep their angles very tight. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the !Q Emerald. As always, bowl up a Storm!
Title: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: NateGarcia on September 11, 2019, 04:08:34 PM
The IQ Tour Emerald is a game changer for benchmark pearl bowling balls. The Emerald has the trusty IQ Core with the R2S coverstock making this ball very clean through the front part of the lane and having a responsive change of direction downlane. You’ll find youreself using this ball later in tournament blocks or for very dry house shots. I would say that when you find your lower end balls like a Hyroad Pearl being too responsive to the friction, going to the IQ Emerald would be perfect option. The IQ series is known for predictablility and control. With the addition of the IQ Emerald, it gives the IQ line even more verity than ever.
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: StoRoto2013 on September 17, 2019, 10:21:40 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


The !Q Tour Emerald is the perfect complement to the original !Q Tour.  The smoothness and predictability of the original !Q Tour is legendary.  The Emerald utilizes the C3 Centripetal control core but it is surrounded by the R2S Pearl Reactive Coverstock.  The R2S Pearl will help the !Q Tour Emerald retain more energy and power for the backend.  Me being a low rev player (rev rate approx. 300) and medium ball speed (15 to 16MPH) sometimes the !Q Tour is just too early or just too smooth to get around the corner.  However, the !Q Tour Emerald is the solution to this issue.  The R2S Pearl coverstock helps the Emerald to get through the deteriorating heads and power through the carry down.  I was able to witness this in action when I threw the original !Q Tour and the !Q Tour Emerald on a fresh and a beat up house pattern.  The !Q Tour Emerald was pretty good on the fresh but maybe a little TOO responsive to the friction for me.  I have this issue with every pearlized bowling ball but if I dulled up the cover a little it would have been fine.  The original !Q Tour blended the house pattern and I had some hold and get back area to start.  When the carry down started and the heads started to get dry, the original !Q Tour just had too much too early or not enough down lane.  At this point I switched over to the !Q Tour Emerald and went right back to striking.  The !Q Tour Emerald had enough length to keep my launch angles within my comfort zone while moving left.  I had no issues getting the !Q Tour Emerald to go strong through the pins.   

Likes: Color and overall Ball motion is top shelf

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: msipple on September 19, 2019, 11:23:14 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 - 4 
Starting Top Weight: 3.1 oz
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin buffer 4.5 inches

Drilled pin under the ring
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16” and 1/2" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish: 1500-grit Polished symmetrical
BALL MOTION
The emerald IQ gets through the fronts very easy as with most pearl covers. The one thing for me that is different than other pearl covers is that it reads a little sooner and is more predictable off the spot. The pin down drilling has some to do with that motion also.
 COMMENTS
I drilled this ball up pin down. It rolls great and hooks more than most pearl balls on the market. This ball is a keeper. When my Pro Motion starts rolling too early I can pick this ball up and not miss a beat.

 
Mike Sipple
Storm Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Haley3 on September 23, 2019, 09:35:40 PM
Storm IQ series are known for their predictability and becoming every bowlers benchmark ball. The IQ Emerald will have that same reputation. When first throwing this ball I was very impressed how clean it got down the lane, that is something I have been looking for to add to my arsenal.  I’ve needed something for high friction houses and burned up shots. Even with a burned up shot I could still get the ball through the front part of the lane with a controllable back end. If you need a late block ball this will be it. On fresh I can square up and get that benchmark shape !
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: ct9pinking on October 10, 2019, 01:52:19 PM
IQ Tour Emerald
 The RS2 Pearl Reactive Cover is combined with C3 Centripetal Control Core which is also in the IQ Tour.  This is a pearl ball that isn’t sideways in the back part of the lane.  The IQ Tour Emerald is very responsive in the mid-lane and is continuous on the back part of the lane.  The IQ Tour Emerald is the perfect pearl ball to compliment the IQ Tour.  I never go into league or tournaments without mine.  Another awesome Symmetrical ball and great addition by Storm.  Oh I forgot the amazing scent….melon mint!
Bowler Info: PAP 4 9/16 x 1 3/16 up; Ball Speed 18mph; Rev Rate 620 RPM
#stormnation
Keith DeMaine
Storm Amateur Staff
Connecticut State & County HOF
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
IQ Tour Emerald Ball Review by Keith DeMaine
Title: Re: !Q Tour Emerald
Post by: Joel.Johnson86 on October 14, 2019, 08:05:04 PM
Ball Specs:
Storm !Q Tour Emerald
1500 Polished R2S Pearl Reactive
Weight C3™ Centripetal Control Core (Symmetrical)
Color Emerald

Review:
This ball is an awesome addition to the IQ line that Storm has put out over the years. The R2S pearl reactive cover allows this ball to read the lane very well. You won’t find a lot of unwanted jump out of the gate. The IQ proves to be incredibly smooth down lane and very predictable from front to end of lane. If you are fortunate enough to have an IQ tour solid in your arsenal and you find that the lanes are transitioning in your set, then this is definitely the ball to turn to. Whether you are a tournament player or enjoy bowling in different houses, this ball is a must have!

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Storm Pro Shop Staffers
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.stormbowling.com
#StormNation