BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: Ballreviews on August 14, 2013, 10:01:11 AM

Title: Byte
Post by: Ballreviews on August 14, 2013, 10:01:11 AM
Storm Byte Ball Specs:
- Color: Silver/Blue/Purple All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown.
- Reaction: Medium
- Coverstock: ERG™ Pearl Reactive
- Core Type: G2+™
- Factory Finish: 1500-grit Polished
- Radius of Gyration (RG): 2.52**
- Differential (Diff): .43**
- ** RG and Diff are based off of 15 lb. balls
- Hook Potential: High
- Length: Very Long
- Recommended Lane Condition: Dry-Medium Oil
- Fragrance: Mulberry

Description: This ball Bytes hard. The G2+™ Core helps bowlers create more ball motion and total hook. With this core you will see a strong directional change through the breakpoint giving you larger pin carry. This ball being a pearl will help your ball go longer down the lanes gripping the drier lane conditions with ease!
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: StormN3rik on August 27, 2013, 08:21:03 AM
I just drilled the new Storm Byte, and all I can say is what a great idea it was to come out with a lil lower differential asym ball.  This ball still revs up hard like a normal asym, but is definitely a lot cleaner through the front part of the lane.  I drilled mine 55x4 1/4x35 (Axis is 3 3/4 over 7/8 up.  The lane condition I threw it on was a typical house pattern (40 ft), and I was able to throw it for about 5 games with minimal movement as far a adjustments were concerned.  I highly recommend this ball for all lovers of asym balls, since it gives you a completely different look then youre used to.  For those who haven't been fans of them in the past, give it a shot, you will be pleasantly surprised on the roll of this high performance piece.  Another home run from Utah:)

Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: nibrocmc on August 30, 2013, 07:34:43 PM
I just had the privilege to drill the Storm Byte and got to throw it in league and I was blown away. I'm left handed and placed the pin over my middle finger and put the mass about 1.5 inches from my thumb. This ball gave me the extra length that the Sync was missing, and the pearl cover makes it is cleaner threw the fronts. When it comes off the pattern it is very controllable and very continuous through the pins. So if you have a Sync in your bag you should count down the days till the Byte is released.
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: Eoff on September 10, 2013, 03:14:11 AM
Byte review –
I used my favorite layout on the Byte.  Pin above my middle finger and the cg kicked out at a 45 degree angle with a small hole on my axis. 

I have had the opportunity to use the Byte, on the following patterns:
House, Abbey Road, Broadway, US Open, Badger and Wolf.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to get when I first threw the Byte.  My Sync rolls really heavy and I have not matched up with the Sync, so I wasn’t sure I would match up with the Byte either. 

From what I have seen, the new G2+ core makes a big difference.  The Byte does exactly as it should.  It provides more length and more angle down lane.  It reminds me of the original Paradigm with the angle it can create down lane.  It easily cleared the front of the lane, and provided a powerful angle through the pins.

My Byte is more angular down lane than my Lucid and Marvel Pearl.  If you are looking for a strong pearl, the Byte is your answer.  The byte will be great on medium to longer patterns and is a great compliment to the Sync.   

Derek Eoff
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: dewbowler2 on October 11, 2013, 01:46:31 PM
Storm Byte
Layout via VLS (Vector Layout System):
3-3/8” x 4-5/8” x 2-1/4” (pin ended up above the ring finger)
PAP:
4-1/2” -> ½” ^
Speed: 15 to 16 mph depending on lane play
Revs: 300 rpm range
Conditions:
A. Center A- 38’ house pattern*, Route 66 pattern from Kegel.  Kegel Kustodian Lane Walker, 7+ year old Qubica/AMF HPL lane surface and used the new Kegel Ice lane conditioner.
B. Center B- both 36’ and 39’ house patterns, newest generation Brunswick Anvil Lane surface, Kegel ION machine, type of oil unknown.
First impressions are very important in life.  Whether it be trying a new local restaurant or test driving a new car, our first taste or hands on experience can dictate or perceived notion of something worth doing again or if we had better look elsewhere.
First shot off my hand with the new Byte was what all us muscle car enthusiast call heart-pounding.  To watch this ball skid through the front part of a houses standard shot told me right away, this was something special!   The ERG coverstock lives up to its promotion, very smooth through the front with a very assertive read off the end of the pattern.  Skid and flip no, major change of direction, YES!
The G2 modified core reminded me of a 455 Buick engine I slipped into my 1970 Chevelle years ago, all business and serious horsepower!  Having thrown the IQ and, IQ tour and IQ Pearl, I really didn’t fore see this motion?  The Sync for all its glory left me somewhat sad as often, when later in the sets I found it lacking backend punch.  Much of this was due to what I call my ‘old man’ roll.   The Marvel S filled this void, offering both early and mid-set diversity, but it was not comfortable for me to go past 3 to 5 games without  experiencing an over/under type of reaction.
I have thrown it in two different houses and on several patterns with very minimal complaints.  Shorter oil and lighter volumes require more speed and less hand than I can offer, but on the two longer house patterns, both fresh and seasoned it performed beyond my expectations!  At a recent tournament, Kegel pattern Route 66, I partnered it with my Marvel S and they helped launch me to several high game pots and a 4-way tie at 7th, worth a few $$$.
If you liked the Lucid, I can tell you without any reservation that you will love this ball more.   Same coverstock, and in my opinion, twice the core!
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: Seanbaker on October 14, 2013, 11:51:06 AM
Storm Byte
PAP – 5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed:  15-17 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 5x5x2.5
Surface Preparation:  OTB

What I wanted from this Ball:  Being a huge fan of the Storm Sync, I wanted a pearl version of it.  Sometimes my Sync starts too early and I wanted to be able to stay on the same line and switch to something exactly like it but Pearl.

Result:  One of the best compliments to a ball I have ever thrown!  I am able to simply switch when my Byte starts to roll too early and stay right where I have been on the lanes with the same awesome backend reaction.


I tested this ball on our at home house condition on our wood lanes.  The house pattern is heavy oil 16-18 ft. and buffed down to 32 ft.  Our typical house pattern is not an easy pattern and usually creates carry down on the outsides of the lane and a massive snap in the middle.  An out of bounds typically forms quickly and the mid-lane becomes very dry.  I bowled 5 games on our pattern and found this ball to be clean through the heads and keep the strong backend reaction.  The ball continued to stay very clean through the heads for all five games which is exactly what I wanted.  Over the course of the next 5 games, I moved deep inside.  I was able to create a hard arcing reaction with this ball on our shot while still clearing our dry head area and have the same hitting power I had earlier.  I tried to use this ball up the outer portion of our lanes, but as expected, the out of bounds wasn’t complimentary to this ball for me and I got over under as expected. 

The Storm Byte is a great compliment to the Sync.  I rely on this ball for conditions when I don’t quite want to switch to a pearl ball yet, but my solid is starting to move too much.

I highly recommend this ball to all bowlers with many different styles.  I have sold several of these balls with no complaints from any customer and even better feedback than most balls.  Most customers report that this ball is much bigger than they even expected.

Sean Baker
Storm/Roto Grip Pro Shop Staff
Bowl Like A Pro Shop
Paducah Ky 42001
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: Bigmike on October 14, 2013, 08:06:38 PM
Lay Out: 4.5" from PAP at 55* PAP angle and 25* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 55/4.5/25. The pin ended up about 2" above my ring finger with the CG very slightly swung out from the ring finger. The 55* angle put the Bolt even or slightly higher than my thumb. No weight hole.

Surface: I am box finish which is 1500 Reacta-Shine.

Purpose: I wanted to drill up this up to try to fill a "long and strong" type reaction my arsenal is badly missing on league shots.

Lane Condition Observations: I have thrown this on a couple of different house patterns: 2 different volume/length house shots on Pro Anvilane. The Byte was only out of it's element on the lower volume shot; It just labored thru the front and didn't have much pop on the back. On the more puddled shot, the Byte is very strong and I need to keep it online thru the oil to keep it from leaving rope tens and nines.

Response to Friction: The Byte in box condition is a medium to faster response ball. This one can respond fast down the lane with a stronger layout or slow down to medium with a pin under layout if needed.
 
Other Ball Comparisons: I threw it with my Deranged, Lucid, & Lights Out. Compared to my Deranged, the Byte is stronger off the spot and needs more oil or it will labor at the spot. The Deranged gets more length than the Byte. My Lucid is still 4000 box and it gets up earlier in the midlane than the Byte. I could probably dull the Byte to 4000 but then it would be a carbon copy of the Lucid reaction wise. The Byte makes a good ball to go down from and keep the same motion on the lane. My Lights Out is a lot longer than the Byte. I have to get into the friction zone more to get the Lights Out to move up sharp like the Byte.

Final Thoughts: The Byte seems to remind me of the Gravity Shift a lot more than anything else. The Gravity was pretty versatile and the specs for the Byte suggest there is a lot of room to tweak with. I would say if you want something to get longer than the Sync, Defiant Soul, or Lucid, then the Byte should fill that void in your line up.
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: SWidmer on October 21, 2013, 04:42:30 PM


My Byte Layout (#1): 55 degrees x 4 3/8" X 2" (or 30 degrees)

October 22, 2013 will be a day for Anarchy fans to rejoice. The Storm Byte will be released that day. The Byte, to me, is similar to the Anarchy in terms of ball reaction with possibly more continuation. The core numbers are different with a lower differential (.043 vs .054) but still my Anarchy was the first ball to come to mind after throwing some shots with the new Byte. The Anarchy was one of a few balls I have had in recent years that could provide enough power through the pins even if I pinched it in a bit and still get the 10-pin out. The Byte appears to be that next ball that really helps open up the back part of the lane with its ability to recover and continue through the pins.

The polished ERG cover provides excellent response to friction without giving away the midlane. The ERG cover first appeared on the Lucid with a matte finish at 4000. On the Byte it comes with the proven Storm 1500-grit polished finish you see on most Storm pearls.

The G2+ core has the same shape as the G2 core found in the Sync but has a lower density resulting in a lower differential (.043 vs. .058) and a slightly higher RG (2.52 vs 2.47).

I really didn't know what to expect before throwing it, all I knew was Chris Forry at Buddies Pro Shop told me he was really impressed with the one he had drilled. Once I threw a few shots with it before shooting the demo video I knew this ball would be special, the way it rolled and went through the pins was different than anything I had in my bag.

I have not shot 700 every night since drilling the Byte but darn near close to it. I have had a couple high 700s and quite a few sets over 720 since the end of August and almost exclusively throwing the Byte in both leagues.

Because I liked the ball so much I drilled two more, layouts:

Byte layout #2: 45 degrees x 4 1/8" x 65 degrees

This layout is probably my favorite, the pin is below my ring finger, no extra hole. This layout gets rolling a touch sooner with a little more arc than the 55 degree layout.

Byte layout #3: 65 degrees x 3 1/2" x 30 degrees

This layout provides great length and a very continuous arc. It is the layout I used the least just because I need quite a bit of friction for this layout to become useful to me.

The one characteristic all three layouts share is they are all very continuous.

Conditions I have used the Byte on: Most of my experience with the Byte has come on various house shots or modified house shots but I don't think that should take away anything from what the ball does. I have used them on 40' to 43' house shots on both AMF and Brunswick surfaces with a sharper downlane reaction on the softer AMF lane surfaces.

Where the Byte fits in my bag:  This is the first ball I go to since drilling it. If I have to ball up it will be a Reign On, Reign of Power, Marvel-S or Sync depending on what I have with me or how much more surface I might need. The next ball out of my bag if I need to ball down is the IQ Tour Pearl which is a little less angular for me.

When I use the Byte: As I mentioned above, I use it whenever, wherever and as long as possible. It is possilby my favorite ball Storm has released since I signed my contract with them two years ago, no lower than top 3. That's saying something because they have released a number of great pearl balls in the last two years.
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: StoRoto2013 on October 24, 2013, 08:54:16 AM

Length:Various

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):Various


Storm’s October Premier release is the Byte which is the 3rd bowling ball in the Premier Line. The Byte compliments the Sync, which was released in February, by clearing the front part of the lane with ease and has a dynamic backend motion. The reason why the Byte has effortless length and tremendous backend motion is from the ERG Pearl Coverstock and G2+ Core. The Byte will be in play when the pattern starts to dry out. This is where the Sync lost energy and could not make the turn… The Byte will be able to make the turn.

The layout that I used on the Byte was 75 X 6 X 55 for the dual angle people or pin over the middle finger with no extra hole and mass bias slightly kicked out. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up with my rev rate is around 300 and ball speed around 15MPH. I am right handed. I went with a slightly “weaker layout” was to emphasize the Byte’s length and backend motion especially when I have to move in and go more left to right.

The first pattern I threw the Byte on was a typical house pattern. Early on the Byte was over / under but as the session continued and pattern became more blended the Byte was a striking machine! The Byte really allowed me to open up the lane and gave me recovery that I am not accustomed to. I compared the Byte to two bowling balls in Storm’s arsenal the Sync and HyRoad Pearl. The first comparison was with the Sync. The Sync rolled about 10 feet earlier than the Byte. The Byte also had a stronger backend motion than the Sync. The next ball I compared to the Byte was the HyRoad Pearl. They both gave me about the same length. The difference was in the backend motion… The Byte was about 3 to 4 boards stronger than the HyRoad Pearl.

I also threw the Byte on several sport patterns. The Byte was in play on the short to medium patterns where there was some friction down the lane. I had a lot success on the USBC Open Team pattern when the pattern started to dry out and had to move left and get the ball going to right. The Byte is just effortless through the front part of the lane. I also threw the Byte on a version of the Viper pattern on a hard surface and the Byte’s length was an issue until the pattern broke down some and the friction spot was more evident. The surface on the Byte was out of the box with no modification

The Byte will help you take a Byte out of your competition!


Likes: Length and Backend Motion

Dislikes: Sometimes too much length and too backend motion


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Byte
Post by: Mr Straight Ball on October 27, 2013, 09:01:26 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4”
Top Weight: 3.1
Ball Weight: 16

DRILL PATTERN
5 x 4 ¾ x 3 (pin to PAP, CG to PAP, pin buffer)

BOWLER  STYLE
Rev Rate: High
Ball Speed: 18

SURFACE PREP
OOB

BALL REVIEW
The Byte is one of the most highly anticapted balls hitting the shelves as it is the follow up release to the Sync™. Many have asked the same question, “Is this ball going to get me further down the lane than my Sync?” You’ll see that the Byte carries a new Core name G2+™, yet it has the same shape as the G2 core found in the Sync. Storm made this change to the core as to avoid having the ball starting early and then not giving that back-end motion you need for the ball to recover. With a higher RG (aka length) and a lower differential (aka flare) I did not notice any loss in the mid lane response.

My first game out of the box I threw the front 8 before ringing a 10 and punching out playing the 4th arrow out to 5. The pearl cover helps propel the ball down the lane and bounce off of the dry to increase your angle of entry. And we all know that without the right entry angle, you can forget about carrying 10 pins to the pit. Where this ball is paying big dividends for me is that it blends out the over-wall found when league first starts. I can really lean against the oil line and trust the ball to drive through the 1-3-5 and split the 8-9 pins over and over. This core continues to provide that good heavy roll and a consistent reaction.

COMMENTS
ERG cover is clean in the heads and really recovers down the lane.
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: PJ Haggerty on October 31, 2013, 11:51:29 AM
Storm Byte Ball Review

A pearl version of the Sync? Yes please! I thought the Sync was fantastic for heavier oil and some shorter patterns.  The Sync is a pearl version of it and it definitely shows.  This is a high performance ball that will provide length and plenty of pop down lane.  I find this ball to be really good on many types of lane conditions.  In oil, you can scratch the surface with an abralon pad or to put some teeth in it to read the lane.  When the lanes start to break down, the pearl in the cover stock will provide length and angle down lane. 

I have drilled two Byte’s thus far.  The first one is approximately 4 ½ x 4 ½ x 70 putting the mass bias just to the right of my thumb.   Out of the box, I saw the Byte a bit too clean for me.  I took the shine off by hand with a used 2000 pad and this ball came alive.  It read the mid-lane much harder and still provided a strong, angular motion at the break point.   The second one I drilled is 5 ½ x 4 ½ x 50 with a small hole approximately 2’ under my PAP.  This was drilled for the purpose of when the lanes start to break down and I can get deep.  When a Hyroad Pearl, Deranged, and Lights out are still a bit too clean, the Byte will still see the mid-lane and provide that solid change of direction down lane.

This is a ball that will fill that asymmetrical, pearl, high performance gap in anyone’s game.  It’s a crucial part of everyone’s arsenal that should be filled.  If your high performance balls are too strong and mid range balls are too clean, the Byte will fill that gap!

If you have any questions at all, feel free to email me at PJ.Haggerty@yahoo.com

Visit StormBowling.com for more information!

#StormNation
Title: Storm Byte
Post by: StormRoto on November 02, 2013, 07:44:09 PM
Right handed
  PAP- 4 up 1 1/4
  Rev Rate - 380-400
  Ball Speed - 16-17
  Axis Tilt - 15


 The Storm Byte is the pearl version of the Sync.  It uses the newly-designed G2+™ Core yields a strong change of direction at the breakpoint, giving you more angle to the pocket and better pin carry. With The proven pearl Evolution Reactive Genesis, or ERG™, coverstock.

I drilled mine 5 3/4 x 1 5/8 x 1 1/2.  My intent was to drill this ball for our short and dry league patterns lately. Which this drilling fit the reaction that I was looking for my dry house shots. 
The Byte is very clean and has angular motion at breakpoint.
I also threw the Byte from Matchmaker balls which is drilled stacked above fingers.
This Asymmetrical Pearl had a good skip/flip ball motion to it.  A lot of the bowlers out there loved the Sync and wanted a pearl to complement it when the Sync started to labor down lane.  Well this Byte is it, good length and plenty of pop on back. The Byte can be sanded with a pad to be able to help it pick up a little sooner.  As I was pleasantly surprised how the Byte gets through the fronts, especially for a asymmetrical ball.
 This ball is going to be very popular ball for all styles.
#stormnation
Title: Staffer review by Garrett Richardson
Post by: GRstorm on November 10, 2013, 10:23:15 PM
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 ½ x 4 ½ x 4 ¼

The Byte is going to be the next great strong pearl ball behind the Anarchy and Virtual Gravity Nano pearl. Storm is always generating new and innovative balls with different motions besides skid-flip, which is what they are known for, but now they went back to the Storm roots and brought out another great skid flip pearl ball! My favorite strong pearl skid-flip was the Anarchy and did not find anything else that was similar to that for a while bu when the Byte came out I believed this was going to be one to replace my old faithful Anarchy.

I drilled the Byte the same as the Anarchy which is pin down, cg out with a hole 1 ½ inches down from my PAP. Only thing I was sceptic about was the weight block which is the G2 core from the Sync which is the solid version of the Byte. After reading the specs on it the weight block is now G2+ which means it is the same block shape BUT the density in the block is lighter which means it is still strong but does not give you the early roll but a longer yet stronger move between the tweaked weight block and the NRG cover stock which is from the Lucid or as me and my friends call it “Lucy”. I drilled the Byte pin down for when I am in the oil and don't want it to get down too long due to my higher ball speed. I still get a clean read through the heads with a strong yet consistent read in the mid lane with a power punch turn on the back end. For a strong pearl it is versatile even for me, because usually strong pearls would give me an inconsistent read on anything less than a high oil volume lane, I am able to use it on most medium conditions.

Storm fans another great high end pearl ball is out and a lot of people who I drilled one up for love it and you will too! Go to your local pro shop and pick up one!

If you have any questions about the Byte email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com
Title: Storm Byte review by Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on November 14, 2013, 08:06:53 AM
Byte

Right Handed
Ball weight:  14
Rev Rate:  378
Ball Speed:  18.2
Axis Tilt:  6.67
Axis Rotation:  45*
PAP:  3 7/8 horizontal, 1 up
Layout:  4 ½ x 3 ¾ x 2 ¾

I drilled this ball for medium-long and longer patterns.  I wanted this ball to be a go-to when I need a ball to makes its move after the end of the pattern, instead of making a left turn at the end of the pattern.  This is my first attempt to really try to drill a ball in this manner.

Having just recently drilled it, I have only had the opportunity to use it on a THS. 

While the shot was fresh, this ball was absolutely amazing.  I was able to open up the lane like no other ball I’ve rolled in quite a while.  With my feet, I had roughly 10-12 boards and about 5 boards at the arrow, just by changing my wrist positions.  It was not speed sensitive.  If I was a little soft, it was still smooth through the break point.  If I had too much speed, the ball made up the difference with no loss of carry.

I started with my feet at 22; rolling at the arrows at 14 (I tend to walk about 7 boards left).   If the ball didn’t get room, it held pocket quite well, if I bumped it right, it had no issue coming back.  I had to begin moving about 7 frames into the first game.  After about 2 games, and chasing the shot about 8 boards with my feet and 4 boards at the arrows, I had to put it away. 

I will stress that I know that any ball would have looked great on this version of our THS, but I really liked the way the Byte moved down the lane, read the break point, and rolled over the 8 (not every time…).  By not using a skid/flip drill, the ball was very smooth and even through the heads and at the break point.  I’m considering drilling a second just to see what I can get out of a skid/flip, but I’m not sure when I’d be able to use it. 

This ball will be in my tournament bags, but I doubt that I’ll be using it on our THS, barring a volume increase.  I will post an update once I have an opportunity to use the Byte on a sport/animal pattern.

Thus far, I’m confident in calling this ball an amazing release from Storm.  Definitely looking forward to seeing if it lives up to its potential…
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: tommygn on November 15, 2013, 12:05:54 PM
The new Storm Byte is the latest addition to the asymmetrical family of bowling balls from Storm, the Bowlers Company. The Byte has a new twist on the G2 core called G2+. The changes give the ball a higher Rg, Lower differential, and lower intermediate differential than the Sync. The numbers are 2.52 Rg, .043 diff, and .020 interm diff in the 15 lb balls. The combination of the core and the use of the 1500 grit polished E.R.G. cover allows the Byte to clear the front of the lane, and save energy for the back part of the lane much easier than the Sync. The Byte is a beautiful blend of silver blue and purple, and is sure to catch many a customer’s eye.
I drilled my Byte pin over ring with the PSA just left of my thumb, and a larger than normal balance hole about 2” down my VAL from my PAP. The comparison Sync is pin under ring with the PSA about 2” left of the thumb, and balance hole about 3” down the VAL from my PAP. Both balls are at the box finish. I drilled my Sync to use on shorter patterns and some league conditions that have a lot of oil in the front and middle of the lane, with drier outsides. It has worked great for the fresh, but I would struggle when I need to chase the break down in on the lane and would find myself playing steeper angles. This is where the new Byte fits in PERFECTLY! With the smoother shell and slightly weaker core, I can get the Byte to save more energy than the Sync, and “byte” the dry boards at the end of the pattern to create a better shape through the pins, from those steeper angles. As the Sync starts to bog down some because it is doing all it can to not skid to the spot and create hook, the Byte just effortlessly glides around the corner and allows me to see the lane the correct way to continue striking.
The nice thing about the Byte is the versatility on medium conditions with the backend shape of the ball. The more I stay behind it, I can really stay left, and bump the drier boards (late that is, I can’t get to the dry boards too quick though) and move in deeper, and allow my hand to get around the ball, and create that big backend move. This is a big benefit that is seen in asymmetrical balls.
Storm has created a lot of great bowling balls over the past few years and is currently the industry leader in innovative core designs that allow for a wider area of different drillings, without sacrifice of performance. The Byte is no exception. From shelf appeal to performance, the Byte is a winner in all categories. Steering clear of the extreme dry, and the extreme oily conditions, the Byte, with minor surface alterations, will be a great addition to your arsenal, and the perfect complement to your Sync.
Title: Byte update by Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on November 18, 2013, 01:59:21 PM
Update:

I used the Byte this weekend in the PBA Southern Regional in Gloucester, VA.  Bowling on fresh viper in an old wood house, A squad, with possibly a bit of ‘oil-memory’ from the Friday practice session/pro-am, this ball was absolutely amazing!

I started with my feet on 20, rolling 10 out to about 4-5 and had plenty of room.  Out of the gate, using plenty of speed and a flat wrist position, I threw the front 7 before stoning a 10 in the 8th.  I finished the first game with a 256.  I immediately began to wonder when I would have to put the Byte away.  I was thinking I would be lucky to be able to complete 3 full games.  Cut to game 8 (of 8 ) and I’m still using the Byte!  I made small moves left for the first 4 games and had to begin moving right again for games 5 & 6.  Games 7 & 8 required more moving left as the lanes had opened up, but I was in the pocket all day.

After A squad, I was leading with +297 and had a good look for the entire block with the Byte.  After B squad, I was still leading heading in to match play on Sunday.

This ball rolled fantastic all day Saturday and for half of the games on Sunday.  I ended up using it for 16 of 20 games total and it was magnificent!  I can’t say enough about the way this ball read the midlanes and made the move towards the pocket.  It was very smooth and ‘rolly’.  It made up for miss right and tug left.  It gave me more room than any ball I’ve ever rolled on ANY sport pattern.  I finished in 8th after an up-and-down match play (5-7), but this was definitely operator, not equipment.

I will be drilling another Byte with a touch weaker drill to have as a small step down from my current Byte.  This ball has earned a place in my bag for any tournament I’ll be bowling in the future.

I can honestly say that this ball is a MUST have from Storm. 
Title: Storm Byte Review
Post by: Bruns2010 on November 18, 2013, 07:29:32 PM
Benjamin Goede (Storm/Rotogrip Amateur Staffer)
Ball Weight: 14LBS
PAP: 4 inches over X 1/2 up
Layout: Pin above bridge, mass bias to right of the thumb (1 inch), NO hole

I was the most excited when I heard about the release of the BYTE.  I really like the SYNC and I felt storm had been missing a strong pearl asymmetrical for quite some time. Storm didn't disappoint.  This ball is flat out awesome.  Might be one of the more versatile asymmetrical pearl balls ever made.  Super clean, super predictable, with a big back end motion.  You can definitely play all parts of the lane with this ball.  It's a ball for everyone and all styles of bowlers.  I have used it on both the Kegel Route 66 pattern (45 ft) and the Kegel Boardwalk Pattern (35 ft) and it works extremely well on both.  It takes to surface changes easily and I have found that I can change my hand position and get it to work on most anything.  A really really nice ball from storm.  As far as high end asymmetrical balls go made by storm it ranks up there with X-Factor and Paradigm.  I would highly recommend you purchasing one today!
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: bowlingshopchad on November 20, 2013, 03:24:41 PM
After using the Storm Byte for over two months now.  I have nothing but great things to say about it.  The lower differential adjustment to the G2+ core from the original G2 core it the sync, as well as the addition of the ERG Pearl Reactive coverstock have made all the difference in the world for me.  I typically do not use very many asymmetrical bowling balls as they read the lane to early for me.  The Storm Byte has been a very big exception for me.  I have used this ball almost exclusively in my Monday night house shot league.  It is very clean through the front with smooth midland read and a continuous back end.

I highly recommend this ball for medium to longer sport shots or anyone looking for a ball to be clean through the front with a strong backend reaction on a typical house shot.

Storm Staff Member
Chad Newman
Ballard's Bowling Solutions
Watauga, TX 
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: rev14me on November 25, 2013, 04:06:00 PM
I recently drilled up the Byte from Storm Bowling Products.  My layout was 5 X 4 X 3, my pap is 4-1/2" over and 1/4" up.  I threw the ball on our house pattern (40ft) after they were freshly dressed.  The Byte was very clean through the heads and had a strong continuous move to the pocket.  When the ball reached the pocket, the pins did not stand a chance.  With the slightly higher RG, lower Diff and the ERG Pearl Reactive cover, the Byte is a perfect compliment to the Sync.  If you are looking for a strong asymmetrical pearlized ball that is really clean through the front part of the lane, the BYTE is your answer.  Drill one up today and take a BYTE out of the competition.

Cecil Scarboro
Storm Staff Member
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: riggs on December 01, 2013, 12:37:58 PM
BYTE review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels

DRILLED November 2013
      The BYTE specs are here:
      http://www.stormbowling.com/products/balls/byte



You can see a picture of it in my blog here:
http://www.11thframe.com/reviews/27


While the SYNC may have been too strong for some bowlers, I loved it from the start and ended up drilling three — one VLS for control on wet/dry conditions or tight tough patterns, one high pin one for softer/open conditions with plenty of oil, and a pin-in-the-palm I keep shiny that is great for circling the lane. (I still have all three.)

That being said, I often thought how great it would be to have a pearl coverstock on the SYNC core with the core tweaked so it could get down the lane easier while retaining the hard rolling characteristics of the SYNC.

And then Storm announced the BYTE and it was like they were reading my mind.

You can hear Storm technical wizard Victor Marion on Above180.com discussing how the BYTE is designed to not need so much oil with a higher RG and lower differential but the same weight block shape, and a different cover.

I got one BYTE and drilled it with a weak pin to help me keep my angles straighter through the front of the lane — the last thing I wanted/needed was another stand left/throw right shiny ball.

The numbers ended up 6 1/4  pin to PAP, 3 3/8 Key to PAP, and 5 pin buffer. (My PAP is 5 1/4 over by 3/8 up.) The pin is above and left of my middle finger with the CG and key back down through my grip with a strong drilling angle.

The pearl ERG coverstock —- similar to the NRG but without the Nano additive, making it closer to a pure reactive — and G2+ core aim to yield “a strong change of direction at the breakpoint, giving you more angle to the pocket and better pin carry,” according to Storm.

Compared to the SYNC, that most definitely is true. But with my weak pin, I am able to use fairly square angles with great control.

I’ve found the BYTE to be good on soft and hard conditions and very usable on fresh conditions so long as they aren’t too oily and there’s a spot to generate some roll.

The motion is definitely a strong roll that keeps the pins low — it isn’t a ball my old bones and 3-operation wrist can generate messengers with.

Another good thing is that (like the SYNC) when the BYTE is done working (or doesn’t work) it lets you know with less than optimal reaction to the pocket and/or weak hits at the pocket. The perfect example was in our recent MBA Senior Masters, where I started spare, 8-bagger and then completely lost reaction with the BYTE and had it out of my hands by the middle of the second game.

I consider this to be a good characteristic of balls because one of the worst things is to have a ball that is close to good so that you choose wrongly to use it or use it too long, costing you valuable pins.
I have not changed the cover on the BYTE,  leaving it box shiny since it works so well that way.

I already have ordered a second BYTE and will drill it stronger. That order is the best endorsement I can provide.

I think the BYTE will be good for all styles, especially those with less power who will enjoy the strong roll.

If you were someone who couldn’t use the SYNC, I would be cautious with the BYTE but wouldn’t rule out trying it as it definitely is different. The key will be whether the SYNC was simply too early or whether you didn’t like the motion. If it was too early, the BYTE might be great for you. If you didn’t like the SYNC motion, I’d probably avoided the BYTE.
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: im4pats54 on December 10, 2013, 04:12:23 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41'

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Layout 3 1/8 x 5 1/8 x 2 3/8 using Storm VLS. This ball slid smoothly through the front and gave me strong continuation off the spot. It was not as jerky as I was expecting it to be. I found it to be a 3/2 left move over the Sync (I am a lefty). This piece did not seem to throw pins around like the Sync but more straight back resulting in more taps. On a fresh house shot, it was a monster but later in the set or 2nd shift, it just went too far and did not like oil.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Byte Ball Review
Post by: sk8shorty01 on December 29, 2013, 01:31:48 PM
After getting to throw the Storm BYTE (Release date: October 1st) for a couple days now I can definitely say without a doubt that Storm has another huge hit on their hands with this one! I laid mine out 55x4.25x35 (PAP is 5.25x1) and my overall goal was to get the ball to utilize its strengths, clear the heads and let it respond quickly to friction.

First day out with it I wanted to see how long the ball would be usable under standard league conditions, whether it would possible for your standard league bowler to go out and use this aggressive asymmetrical pearl for an entire set, well let's just say I was pleasantly surprised! I bowled 15 games on a fresh THS and in total I ended up moving about an arrow left at my target from the start of my set until the end.

This piece did exactly what I expected it too, it acted like the heads didn't exist and once it got to the break point it made a very strong and angular move to the pocket. The thing I was the most excited about with the BYTE was the fact that it took very well to release changes. After about 8-10 games I decided I was going to move outside the track area to see what I could make the ball do and it responded well. Taking my axis of rotation down to about 15 degrees I was able to play outside of 5 and have the ball just lay there at the pocket and it still hit quite hard. There are very few aggressive pearls that I have ever been able to say that about but this one held up quite well outside the oil line.

If you are looking to find something that can give you a little more angle into the pocket I think you might be in luck on October first because the BYTE is definitely what you are looking for.

You can watch my video review of the Byte here:

Title: Byte
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on January 10, 2014, 01:55:19 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:42ft

Volume:Medium Volume

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Sport Shot


COMMENTS

Likes: This ball is very clean!!!! its got a similar motion to my Marvel Prl just alot more off the spot. I went with a 5in pin with the mass bias in a strong spot, its strong enough to use on higher volume patterns and clean enough to still use when they start to really hook. Really good compliment to my higher solid stuff like my Lucid and Sync.

Dislikes: The only thing I had to tweak was the surface. The box finish made the ball too skid flippy. I hit it with a pinch of surface just to break it up alittle and it made a huge difference and made the ball alot better for me.

Nick Smith Storm Amateur Staff


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Byte Review by Staffer Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on January 16, 2014, 03:43:06 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50,5”,40

If you loved the Sync, you will really love the Byte.  The Byte features the first factory polished reactive cover from Storm for quite some time.  The polished ERG cover compliments the modified G2+ Core, resulting in a clean reaction in the front part of the lane.  Then on the back you get a very heavy roll that you’d expect from an offshoot of the Sync.  I found the most success with this ball both on fresh and in transition because the core isn’t too snappy and the cover is clean enough to retain energy in burned up heads.  The Byte is the newest generation of high performance asymmetricals that feature the best of both worlds in reaction.  Controllable length with predictable yet angular backend.  This is a must have for those looking for an asymmetrical to conquer the transition. 
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: CHardee on January 29, 2014, 11:37:04 AM
 


Storm Byte
 PAP – 4-13/16th over and 5/8 up
 Ball Speed:  15-16 mph
 Rev Rate 225
 Right Handed
 Layout  60x4-1/4 x30
 Surface Preparation:  OTB


 The Byte is really one of my favorite heavy oil balls and gets a ton of use on sport patterns. For me it gets all the length of a pearl but the heavier roll of a solid. I can grab this ball when the IQ tour starts to burn and get a little slow of the spot and a lot of the time keep a very similar line with the Byte.


 On fresh house patterns the ball really is as much fun to watch as it is to throw. Once it gets into it's roll it is like a run away train that crushes the pins in it's path.  I can also bring this ball out on surfaces that have had open play with a lot of carry down. It is strong enough to still read the lane and give me a look at the pocket when others are pushing past the breakpoint.


 I have to say this might be my favorite asymmetrical ball that I have ever had in my bag to date, the ERG cover stock and G2 core make for a home run in my book! If you are in the market for a strong pearl that doesn't mind playing in the oil,then you have found your next ball!

Here is a link to my video
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrQYyMhGSR4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JrQYyMhGSR4)


 

 
 


Title: Re: Byte
Post by: strmbwling300 on February 04, 2014, 06:59:33 PM
Last year Storm released the Sync which I really liked.  The Sync was a strong ball for me in most centers around the St. Louis area.  Well Strom made a pearl version called the Byte late in 2013.  I was excited for this release because of the fact that there was a good chance it would see more action on the house patterns for me than the Sync.   I drilled mine with the pin above the fingers and the mass bias to the right of my thumb.  This layout is not typically recommended for left handed bowlers because of the lack of reaction.  I drilled the ball this way to help give me a little more length and a more controlled backend reaction.  This ball was what I was looking for, a stronger ball that I could play closer to the friction.  This ball does pack a punch when it goes through the pins.  I wouldn’t consider this ball the go really long ball with a ton of backend, I see it as a ball that gets decent length that picks up in the midlane with a strong continuous arcing backend. 
http://s1297.photobucket.com/user/Storm-Dustin/media/018F8510-09B6-4BAA-AB94-5CA2C071023E_zpsjpxwqhoh.jpg.html?sort=3&o=1#/user/Storm-Dustin/media/018F8510-09B6-4BAA-AB94-5CA2C071023E_zpsjpxwqhoh.jpg.html?sort=3&o=1&_suid=139156160993704423615546116563
Title: Byte
Post by: Jroshandtap on February 05, 2014, 06:51:51 PM
Storm Byte ball review by Storm Staffer Josh Conner

Length: 41'

Volume:26ML

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

Likes: Storm has released another great asymmetrical pearl, with the Byte. The ball is so clean, but so controllable. To be a high performance ball and yet, still be this clean and this versatile for any lane condition and bowling style, is truly a rare but beautiful thing.

I drilled my Byte with a Rico layout to give me a certain shape, on certain lane conditions I encounter. I wanted the ball to be strong, but have more of an ark ball motion, compared to a skid-flip ball motion. I wanted to compliment a Marvel Pearl I drilled with this same layout, in hopes that my Byte would be stronger off the spot when the Marvel Pearl wasn't, and that is exactly what I got. I bowl on a lot of different conditions and a lot of times I've found I like controllable ball motion. I like to feel confident that my ball will do what I drilled it for, based on what I am bowling on. I can honestly say, The Byte has given me that much more confidence. If you are looking for a ball that can fill the gap of any arsenal, look no further then the Storm Byte. Ask your local pro shop driller to watch you bowl and drill this ball to fit and maximize your game. You will not be disappointed!!

Check out all the other great Storm balls and equipment at Stormbowling.com

Title: STORM BYTE Review By STORM staff: Dan Higgins
Post by: DhiggyJr on February 07, 2014, 07:37:44 PM
By STORM staff: Dan Higgins
Right Handed
PAP 5 1/8 up 3/8
Rev rate 380-415

STORM BYTE link:
http://stormbowling.com/products/balls/byte#sectTech


I have drilled 2 BYTE’s

Pin down 5x4x4 ½ or dual angle 37 x 5 x72

With the pin down I drilled to try and copy the motion and replace the Anarchy I have used forever.
The motion was real close the cover of the BYTE compared to worn down Anarchy was a lot cleaner through the heads and midlane which made the desired reaction on the back a little later than desired.  I have tuned the BYTE cover with 4000 and 3000 abralon pads and now have mirrored the reaction of the Anarchy.
I generally use when I need the ball to set up early and be predictable on medium heavier patterns or longer flatter type patterns.  Also works great on house patterns for players with medium speed that like to open more of the lane up.  I use a Marvel S with the same out if the BYTE is not picking up fast enough.  Both Marvel S and BYTE make a great 1 -2 punch for me.

Pin up 5 ¼ x 3 ¼ x 3 or dual angle 40 x 5 ¼ x 42

With the pin up version, I use typically on house patterns or something 39-42 foot.  I like using this layout for more down and in play.  I have this layout numerous bowling balls, EX: Marvel S, IQ Tour, Freak N Frantic and now added IQ Tour Fusion. I usually use my IQ Tour as a benchmark and decide if I have to ball up or down based on desire reaction/carry.

The BYTE is a must have Asymmetrical Pearl!
Title: Re: Byte
Post by: Tony Reynaud on February 19, 2014, 02:20:56 PM
COVERSTOCK:ERG™ Pearl Reactive
WEIGHT BLOCK:G2+™ Core
FACTORY FINISH:1500-grit Polished
BALL COLOR:Silver/Blue/Purple
DUROMETER:73-75 Rex D-scale
FLARE POTENTIAL:6” Plus (High)
FRAGRANCE:Mulberry
WEIGHTS:12-16 lbs.
SKU:TYB


My layout: 4” x 4” x 2”
My PAP: 4 5/8" over 1 5/8 up


The Byte from Storm is a pearl ball that comes out of the box 1500 polished. This ball did not make my tournament bag until just recently, even though I had moderate success in league with the Byte. If you read some of my past reviews you would know that I throw the ball fairly straight, and I heavily favor solid balls. I have never been a skid flip type of guy, and most pearl balls tend to skid flip for me. Even though I can’t rant and rave about the Byte, I must say the ball does have a unique roll, which is why it makes a good edition to my tournament bag. It rolls early for me, but at the same it gets through the heads and mid lane quite easily, therefore it stores plenty of energy for the back end. This gives the ball very good power when attacking the pins.  I want different balls motions in my tournament bag and the Byte definitely gives fits this bill. I drilled my second Byte pin down, and this ball rolled sooner, and flipped less for me, which is to my liking.  In short if you only buy a few balls a year and you like solids balls then like me I would go a different direction.  However if you are unlike me, and pearl balls are the first balls out of your bag, then you should give the Byte a stronger consideration. If you are like me and want to build a tournament bag with a lot of variety then I can strongly recommend the Byte because of the unique ball motion it offers. I give the Byte a 3 on a scale to 5, only because it isn’t an every day ball for me.