BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 24, 2020, 08:47:04 AM

Title: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 24, 2020, 08:47:04 AM
Storm Electrify Hybrid
Storm created the Electrify line of bowling balls to offer value performance along with control in motion. This line of balls works well for beginners to pros. The Electrify bowling balls feature the Circuit Core which uses a lower RG and medium differential to offer accuracy. The Hybrid version of this ball utilizes the Reactor Hybrid coverstock which produces mid-lane traction and is great for bowlers looking for more control with a smooth backend reaction on medium to light oil.

Color: Silver/Mulberry/Neon Red
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: Reactor Hybrid Reactive
Core: Circuit Core for 14#-16# (Modified Centripetal Core for 12# & 13#)
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
Recommended Lane Condition: Dry-Medium
RG: 2.51 (15#)
Differential: 0.030 (15#)
Fragrance: Grape
Title: Re: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: MattMusgrave on July 03, 2020, 02:09:40 PM
My Electrify Hybrid is drilled with my normal symmetric layout which is 7/8 pin off center line and CG 2 inch from center line. With this ball having the hybrid cover its earlier than the pearl version, but with the core numbers being 2.51 rg and .30 cg (15lbs) it has some more backend, but eariler than a Surge or Electrify Pearl. The ball works great for me because I like to stand far left and throw up the gutter, but allows me to also move in slighty without giving away the pocket with an earlier motion. Definetly not the first ball out of the bag, but will be good for dry lanes of shorter patterns where the break point is outside.
Title: Re: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: NateGarcia on July 05, 2020, 07:52:13 PM
Introducing Storm’s new low end hybrid, the Electrify Hybrid. The Electrify Hybrid has the new Circuit Core wrapped with the Reactor Hybrid Coverstock. With a RG of 2.51 and a differential of .030, this ball is a great piece for when you need a ball that is very clean and angular downlane. When you find your lower end balls like the hyroad being too early, this ball is a great step down because its still going to give you the length you see from the hyroad but it’ll be smoother and not as violent in the backend. The Electrify Hybrid and Electrify Pearl are an awesome 1-2 punch so make sure you get both in your arsenal!
This ball is best used for very dry lane conditions or older surfaces. This ball strikes a ton and is a steal for the price point that it is at! Get yours at your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
Nate Garcia
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Electrify Hybrid review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on July 18, 2020, 07:47:07 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

COMMENTS

Cover: Reactor Hybrid
Weightblock: Circuit Core
Finish: 1500 polish
RG: 2.51
Differential: 0.030

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
Ball Layout: Pin over Ring 4.5 Pin to PAP 2 Inch Pin Buffer

The new Storm Electrify is the newest "Hot" line release and was designed to be a bit of a power upgrade from the Match and Match Up lines. The Hybrid version is a clean but smooth rolling ball that gives you plenty of hook for your money!

The Circuit core is a lower RG offering that helps the ball get into a roll and maintain a great controllable reaction. The Stinger  2.0 that was featured in the Match Ups had an RG of 2.57 in 15. The Circuit is a noticeable lower 2.51. You see the difference right away on the lane as the Electrify gets rolling earlier.
The polished finish on the reactor cover helps the ball easily clear the front and the combination of the two makes this ball a fantastic benchmark reaction at an entry level price point.

I had a chance to test the Electrify Hybrid where I most hoped to use it, on a broken down lane condition. I was pretty surprised at how quickly it picked its roll up in the friction. I definitely had to be further left with it than I was used to being with the Match Up. It still does a great job of retaining energy so that move left is fine with me. I makes it a pretty seamless move when I'm getting out of the more agressive balls as I can often not have to change much more than the ball.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on July 22, 2020, 04:15:31 PM
This ball is absolutely amazing. I could not wait to get it drilled and throw it. This ball is smooth, goes long, and pop on the backend. I am able to play the lanes straighter on the fresh house shot. When using the Electrify Hybrid for my video, I was on a fresh house shot. I was able to start further right with my feet than I am usually able to on the house shot. Even at one point I have to move my feet another board or two to the right and my eyes one right so I could get the ball out the dry. Most night or even in tournaments when the lanes start to transition, I usually move my feet left and ball up to kick the corners because of my low rev rate and ball speed. The Electrify Hybrid is just what I need in my arsenal when I am looking for a ball to ball down to when the lanes start to dry out. This ball is going to round out my arsenal nicely when I need a ball for lighter oil.

Overall, I cannot wait to throw this ball more and use it during league in the fall. I am also looking for ward to using this ball in tournaments. This will definitely be a ball I take with me to tournaments for when the lanes get dry. The Electrify Hybrid is gonna be a great addition to my arsenal.

Sabrina Groves
Storm Advisory Staff
Title: Re: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on July 27, 2020, 09:56:38 PM
Ball Specs:
Storm Electrify Hybrid
1500 Reactor™ Hybrid Reactive
Weight Block Circuit™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color Silver/Mulberry/Neon Red

Review:
This is one of those staple balls we look forward coming into our shop for many reasons. The color and fragrance are great (yes this matters to a novice bowler looking to step up from a Tropical Storm or a first ball purchase of something a bit more than “entry level”).  This ball also serves many purposes for the traditional league bowler as well as seasoned tournament veteran. The Electrify could be used to fill the gap for a traditional league bowler who either does not have a symmetrical piece of equipment or who wants a less aggressive or snappy reaction to help stay to the right part of the lane on those nights where you may run into some dry conditions. This ball is also a must have for the seasoned tournament veteran who needs a ball to get through the dry conditions late in a block without having to move against the ball return. You can see similarities in the Electrify to that of the Match Up in that it fills the gap between the Tropical and the Thunder lines perfectly and still packs a punch that you need to carry those corners!

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Storm Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.stormbowling.com
#StormNation
Title: Re: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: StormAndrew on August 01, 2020, 10:01:36 AM
For those lighter oil conditions we have 2 options in the Electrify series, Hybrid and Pearl. We see the Reactor cover matched with the new Circuit core which will provide bowlers a go-to option for when the lanes are hooking significantly and cleanliness and control is what’s required.

If you’re looking for something a little bit early go with the Hybrid and the reverse if you’re looking for more angle go with the pearl. This is going to be a great piece in 2 different environments for me. I can see myself using this after a long block of games and a weaker core cover combination is needed and potentially early in blocks in those houses where the fronts hook super early and you need a ball to clear the fronts and still maintain control off the back end.
Title: Re: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: MSUHoss300 on August 03, 2020, 01:08:03 PM
Storm Electrify Hybrid
Layout – 55 x 5 x 25
I drilled both Electrify balls with the same layout and tried to differentiate them using surface.  I had the Electrify a couple of boards stronger out of the box so I decided to add a little texture to this ball using 2000 abralon.  Both balls are super clean through the front of the lane with plenty of back end continuation!  My expectation is to use both of these balls late in blocks, drier lanes, medium oil patterns, and when I am trying to stay “on top of it” without moving left and opening up my angles.  I don’t think this ball will only match up to a specific type of player, I see this ball being incredibly usable for a variety of bowlers and lane conditions.   
Title: Electrify Hybrid
Post by: addynyr on August 03, 2020, 04:53:08 PM
The new Electrify Series covers a gap that the Match Up Series couldn't quite accomplish.  What I love about this ball is the new Circuit Core because it isn't as tall as traditional lower end balls.  The RG of 2.51 (#15) is much lower than the 2.57 in the Match Up series which allows the Electrify Hybrid to read the midlane stronger as well as sooner to give better performance on a little more oil than accustomed in the "Hot" line.  This ball works exactly as I intended it to.  The pin down drilling I put on it allows me to use this ball more on shorter oil or lower volumes of oil without having to make me cover too many boards.  This ball is also a great step up from the Pitch Black/Purple when the traditional urethane shape is too slow off the end of the pattern.  The colors of this ball really have great shelf appeal as well and a great ball for competitive, new bowlers and league bowlers where the amount of oil is lower.

Adam Chase
Storm Staff