BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 13, 2020, 03:24:34 PM

Title: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on November 13, 2020, 03:24:34 PM
The Storm Fast Pitch is another addition to the already successful line of Pitch bowling balls in the Storm line up. The Fast Pitch introduces the Controll XL Solid Urethan coverstock and wraps it around the Tour Block weight block. This ball has a higher RG along with a medium differential that gets the ball to read the lane right where you need it to. This versatile bowling ball is a perfect mix of early read and entry angle when facing those drier and shorter lane conditions.

Color: Navy
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: Controll XL Solid Urethane
Core: Tour Block
Finish: 1000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.61 (for a 15# ball)
Differential: 0.030 (for a 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Light Oil
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: PJ Haggerty on November 15, 2020, 12:16:25 AM
Storm Fast Pitch Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The new Storm Fast pitch is the latest Urethane addition to the Storm line. Obviously, the urethane balls have made a huge impact on the game of bowling the last couple years, and the Fast Pitch has quickly became my favorite. I've had a lot of success with the Pitch Black on multiple patterns and have noticed some differences with the Fast Pitch. I've drilled one Fast Pitch so far and really like it. I mapped it out as 4 x 3 and the surface is currently at 1000.

The easiest ball to compare the Fast Pitch against is the Pitch Black. The Fast Pitch still digs in the front like the Pitch Black, but it's definitely cleaner and more responsive down lane. I've been able to move left, keep my eyes right, and create some shape with the Fast Pitch. Also, the patterns I've been able to use the Fast Pitch on are all patterns with lighter volumes. It tends to blend the lane out front-to-back and the pocket becomes bigger with this ball.

If you need an excellent urethane ball in your bag, the Fast Pitch is what you should drill!

#StormNation
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: TBenner300 on November 19, 2020, 02:27:46 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42'

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:The new Fast Pitch is the latest urethane release from Storm.  The Fast Pitch features the Control XL solid urethane cover wrapped around the Tour Block core previously found in the Fever Pitch.  This core provides tremendous pin action for a urethane bowling ball.  The Fast Pitch comes factory finished at 1000 grit.  For me, this urethane ball fits right in between the Pitch Black and the Pitch Purple.  The Fast Pitch has a similar motion to the Pitch Black, however it does not start up as early as the Pitch Black.  When compared to the Pitch Purple, it has similar length but does not have as strong of a backend reaction as the Pitch Purple.  The Fast Pitch has the traditional urethane ball motion.  The Fast Pitch will be best used on short oil patterns where the Pitch Black is starting up just a few feet earlier than you would like.  The Fast Pitch will also allow you to play with closed angles up the outside of your typical house pattern where there is plenty of friction.  If you are a fan of urethane, this is a ball you need in your bag!

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Fast Pitch by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on November 20, 2020, 11:01:46 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  400 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 ½ over and ½ up

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5 x 4 x 2 1/2
Dual Angle Layout:  50 x 5 x 40

The Fast Pitch is another great urethane option from Storm.  The Fast Pitch is a touch cleaner in the front part of the lane than the Pitch Black and generates more backend.  It’s earlier than the Pitch Purple and slower.  It fits perfectly between.  If you need a urethane between the Pitch Black and Pitch Purple, the Fast Pitch is it!
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: MANCSTORM on November 21, 2020, 07:31:24 PM
Great addition to the Storm urethane lineup. Cleaner and a quicker responce then the Pitch Black. Sooner and not as quick as the Pitch Purple. Definitely has no trouble striking!!!!
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: rotogrip_rick on November 24, 2020, 07:32:35 PM
Storm Fast Pitch - 50 x 3 3/8th x 40 - 2000 grit finish ( box is 1000 grit)
Controll XL Solid with Tour Block core
I LOVE this urethane ball!!! I had problems with the Pitch Black not having and recovery in the backend for me, it would be all "used" up for me when bowling on lighter volume patterns that are less then 40 ft. The Purple was better when getting through the front part of the lane and much better in the reaction in the back end, then comes along the FAST PITCH - I first changed the surface to 2000 grit with a ball spinner and found it very useful on 3 different patterns and closing the angles down to the breakpoints by keep the ball track between 12 to 6 on 37ft, 38ft and 39ft "adjusted" house patterns that we use for practice sessions for junior bowlers and sport shot bowlers. I used it on league 2 weeks ago for the first 2 games and used the Utah pored Hustle INK in the 3rd and it was the second best set I has all year so far. It will be the first ball out of my bag when I sub at another center that has HPL fronts and wood in back end. Very great choice also for some elderly bowlers that reactive covers are WAY too much for. Check your local pro shops to see when the Fast Pitch demo balls are there and give them a chance to impress you.
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: bowlstorm3 on November 29, 2020, 09:38:18 PM
Storm Fast Pitch
Cover: Controll XL Solid Urethane
Core: Tour Block
Layout: 5 x 3 x 2 1/2

The Fast Pitch fills a urethane gap I had in my bag. The Pitch Purple (same layout) acts more like a lower end reactive ball with its response to friction and overall hook. My Pitch Black is super early which is fine when that’s needed. The Fast Pitch is more of a traditional urethane look. It isn’t nearly as early as the Pitch Black and has less down lane motion than the Purple. Storm’s current line of urethane balls should cover most bowler’s needs for the ongoing urethane craze.

Video Review:

https://youtu.be/9oWNR5xSg8o
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: TrevorRoberts on November 30, 2020, 08:47:10 AM
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

COMMENTS
The Fast Pitch is the newest urethane ball from Storm. As you know the Pitch Black and Pitch Purple are already staples in most Storm bowler’s bags, so this Fast Pitch will add another motion in that line.

When I reviewed the Fast Pitch on my YouTube channel, I of course had to compare it to those two other urethanes. The Fast pitch for me fit right in the middle of the two. The Pitch Black picks up in the front part of the lane, where as the Fast Pitch is a little cleaner and more responsive in the middle third of the lane. The Pitch Purple is the cleanest and most angular of the three, so I believe that this Fast Pitch is more similar to the Pitch Black.

YOUTUBE & SOCIAL MEDIA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x78WEAR-7GA&t=40s

Click This Link Below For All Social Media :
https://linktr.ee/TrevorRobertsBowler

BOWLER STATS
Trevor Roberts
2016 PBA Southern Regional Rookie Of The Year
Storm / Roto Grip Professional Staff
Turbo 2N1 Grips Staff Member
Right Handed
Rev Rate: 440
Speed: 17
PAP: 5 1/2 up 13/16
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: EVollmar on December 06, 2020, 12:41:07 PM
Length:42

Volume: High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

Rev Rate: 450

Ball Speed: 17 mph

PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up

Here we have the Storm Fast Pitch, the newest Urethane release in the Thunder line. The Fast Pitch uses the new Tour Block core and has the Controll XL Solid Urethane cover. The layout that I went with was 4 x 4 x 2, this layout puts the pin above and to the right of my fingers. The Fast Pitch is what you would expect from a urethane piece. It gives you a smooth and very controlled look on drier conditions. I compared it to my Pitch Black and the Fast Pitch was similar in overall hook potential for me but was a little cleaner overall. The Fast Pitch will be a great addition to any tournament arsenal or if you are bowling on some very dry conditions and you want a ball to help control them. Stop out to your local pro shop and pick one up!

Earon Vollmar

Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: rodbowler75 on December 07, 2020, 08:58:30 PM
The Storm Fast Pitch is the latest release in the urethane series. The Fast Pitch gives more down lane motion compared to my Pitch Black is super early which is fine when I need it in my bag. It isn't nearly as early as the Pitch Black and has less down lane motion than the Purple.
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: NateGarcia on December 10, 2020, 06:44:43 AM
The latest and greatest urethane coming out of Storm HQ. Storm Bowling presents the new Fast Pitch. The Fast Pitch has the Tour Block Core with an RG of 2.61 and diff of .030 in 15lbs and wrapped with a Control XL Coverstock. Immediately, I fell in love with this ball. Of course the Pitch Black will always be my go to but this fast pitch gives me a cleaner and more angular shape than the Pitch Black. The Fast Pitch is best used when your Pitch Black becomes too early and when you have to move too far left (as a right hander) and its hard to get the corner out, the Fast Pitch is the perfect ball down.
The Fast Pitch allows me to continue to stay right and be able to play the tighter angles to the right that I absolutely love to play. This is the perfect urethane 1-2 punch and I cant wait for you guys to get your hands on this one! Go to your local VIP Pro Shop to pick yours up today!
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: Storm2DaROLL on December 10, 2020, 11:40:36 AM
STORM FAST PITCH

50X4X35

The FAST PITCH is something for the urethane lover wanting to add more urethane for the look!

Patterns used for review are HP modified.

Pattern A: 42Ft, 28.56 Mls, 5:1 ratio

Pattern B: 43Ft, 29.86 Mls, 4:1 ratio

COMMENTS

PLAY

The FAST PITCH played very predictable on both patterns. It played smoother than other urethanes for me in the mid lane.

Pattern A:

The FAST PITCH was used out of box and allowed me to stay a tad straighter than the black urethane but faced up a hair quicker but much more defined roll to the pins.

Pattern B:

The FAST PITCH was used out of box (after taking it back down from play on pattern A) and with oil in surface from previous pattern testing. This ball actually played much better right in the track area.

NOTE A:  I liked this ball much more than the other urethanes as a start and finish ball. On this particular pattern A, I would use the Fast Pitch to hold the first games of play until transition hits.

NOTE B: Here lies the kicker. Many say no urethane during house shot. However, here you can just have fun and wack it all day with minimal moves for first 3 games. Stay inside and keep it tight. 

LOW DOWN: This FAST PITCH will be a keeper but use more so for tournaments and those local houses that have very worn surfaces or patterns that are just put in the machine and what is out there is unknown to them. #StormNation

Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: StoRoto2013 on December 13, 2020, 05:54:09 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  HOUSE


The newest addition to the Storm urethane collection is the Fast Pitch.  Right off the bat I am not found of urethane but…  The fast Pitch may change my mind.  It still rolls like a urethane bowling ball but has a little more bite on the backend even for the lower rev bowlers.  The layout I used was pin under the ring finger with cg directly below.  The coordinates for the layout are roughly 75 X 5 X 75 and that is based off of my PAP at 5 5/8 over and ¾ up.  I came up with this layout to try something different.  No rhyme or reason because my rev rate is well under 450 RPM (300 if a catch it good) and I might use it on a short flat pattern.  The Fast Pitch did surprise me by the backend motion that it did have.  I was able to move more left and it did give me some area to miss.  If you were looking for a urethane ball… The Fast Pitch would be the first words out of my mouth.  The Fast Pitch has made me believe that Urethane does have a place in bowling outside of the past!

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: JoeZibrin on December 29, 2020, 05:36:10 PM
PAP 4 ½ over and 1 up ball speed 15 rev rate 275
Drilling 75x4.5x55
When first looking at the Fast Pitch I was a little tentative to pick a layout, I really like my Pitch Black and didn't want them to overlap. After some thinking I decided to go with the same layout as my Black just a further pin to PAP distance. This giving me a little less flare potential to hopefully show me more length an continuation with the Fast Pitch, that being said I absolutely love the motion. I get about 3 feet more length and around 4 boards more overall hook, which is perfect because my Purple is about 8 boards stronger down lane than my Black so everything fits together like a puzzle! I find the Fast also gives me a great look on the fresh for patterns around 39-43 feet!
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: stormstarSLZ on December 29, 2020, 05:41:49 PM
PAP 3 ¾ over 1” up ball speed 17 rev rate 475
Drilling 65x5x75
So I went with a pin down layout to pair with the Fast Pitch's design intent. When drilling a new ball it is extremely important to follow along with a balls particular attributes. With that said compared to my Pitch Purple the Fast is about 3 ft sooner and 3 boards less overall hook. In comparison to the black they are quite a bit closer the Fast being a little smoother through the fronts and hooks maybe 2 boards more overall. For me the Fast is a Perfect gap filler for the Purple and the Black. If you didnt find success with a fever pitch and are looking for something in between the Fast Pitch is perfect. I find this much more usable on my sport shots than the Black and is quickly seeing the lanes more often.
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: Bigmike on December 29, 2020, 07:54:46 PM
Layout 50 x 4 x 35. I left this one factory which is 1000 abralon.

I have thrown this on mostly house which is around 40 feet with medium volume.

I was able to throw the FAST PITCH by playing very close to the oil line and almost trying to miss left of my target. By doing this, the FAST PITCH would set up close to the pocket and trip the 4 a lot more. The FAST PITCH was jumpy off the dry and would go thru the nose when played into the friction. I threw it besides a PITCH PURPLE. There is no comparison, the FAST PITCH is very much old school urethane reaction. The PITCH PURPLE is almost a lower grade reactive reaction like a TROPICAL SURGE or very stable drilled HUSTLE RAP.

If you were waiting to for a Storm urethane that helped the straighter player get more controllable motion down lane, the FAST PITCH is the ball.
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: hittnhard on December 30, 2020, 08:33:37 PM
Storm Fast Pitch

Weight Block: Tour Block

Coverstock: Controll XL Urethane

The Fast Pitch is the newest addition to Storm's urethane lineup. As I continue working on moving right (outside of my comfort zone), I continue to learn how useful urethane can be when used in the right situation. The Fast Pitch and I like to play from 7 to 3, staying out further than I have had the ability to do before.

If you see short patterns, give this a look. I have already drilled a handful for High School bowlers trying to control the Allen Pattern and it does the Fast Pitch does the job well.

With all urethane, I try to explain to my customers this is not a ball designed for a typical house shot. But when the situation calls for it, the Fast Pitch can keep up with any urethane ball on the market.
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: cmattingly on January 06, 2021, 10:13:42 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Continuation

Dislikes: I don't throw Urethane much


The Fast Pitch is a Urethane that will be going into my tournament bag immediately. I don't throw Urethane much in fact the last urethane ball I was a fan of was the RotoGrip Hot Cell.  What the Fast Pitch does for me is that it reads early, similar to the pitch black BUT it is more continuous than the Pitch Black.  Don't let the continuation comment scare you though, because it’s not like the Pitch Purple.  This ball slots right between the two but I would say that it's closer to the Pitch Black as far as "Urethane Shape."  If you are a tournament player and Urethane is ever in play...this is your ball!


Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: Kyle.Johnson88 on January 06, 2021, 11:21:14 AM
Ball Specs:
Storm Fast Pitch
Cover: 1000 grit Controll XL™ Solid Urethane
Weight bock: Tour Block™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color: Navy

Review:
This ball looked incredibly good in the demo we held at our facility. For us, this ball fits perfectly between the Pitch Black and Pitch Purple.  You will find that the Fast Pitch goes further down lane than the Pitch Black, yet turns off the spot and hits harder than the Pitch Purple. If you are a tournament player that needs versatility in the bag or a high speed and high rev player that sees some short patterns, this is your ball. You continually see the Pitch Black on TV because it has been the staple urethane ball since its release. We fell this ball will live up to that hype and compliment it well as it has predictability and power, two things you really need from a urethane piece.

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Storm Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.stormbowling.com
#StormNation
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: william.tefft on January 31, 2021, 02:27:02 PM
LANE CONDITION

Ball Specs:
Storm Fast Pitch
Cover: 1000 grit Controll XL™ Solid Urethane
Weight bock: Tour Block™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color: Navy

Review
When I first threw the Fast Pitch, it reminded me of one of my favorite bowling balls of all time in the Natural Pearl. The Fast Pitch got a little further down the lane then the Pitch Black but turned up a little sooner then the Pitch Purple. I can see this ball being in my bag for a long time and brought with me to every tournament. For a speed dominate player like myself urethane really makes me focus on my speed, which is another reason I really enjoy throwing this ball. Urethane has made a comeback in the game today and bowling balls like the Fast Pitch will continue to make that happen.

Will Tefft
will@parklanes.net
www.strombowling.com
#Stromnation

Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: tommygn on February 04, 2021, 09:23:16 AM
The Fast Pitch from Storm brings a new urethane coverstock to the Thunderline called Control XL urethane. The Fast Pitch uses the same Tour block weight block that was used in the Fever Pitch and comes from the factory with a 1000 grit abralon finish. The Fast Pitch is Navy with green lettering, which gives a very old school type look. The numbers of the 15lb bowling balls are 2.61 Rg, and 0.030 differential.

I used two different layouts on the Fast Pitch. The first layout is a 4.5” pin with a 2” pin buffer. This ball has a nice amount of total hook for a urethane covered bowling ball. The reaction is as advertised, cleaner through the front of the lane than the Pitch Black, with a little more shape through the backends. When the Pitch Black is a little too rounded downlane or hooks a little too early, the Fast Pitch has a little more change of direction when seeing the friction and is a little easier through the fronts. Comparing the Fast Pitch to an identically drilled Fever Pitch, the Fast Pitch reads the oil better, and has a smoother shape. One drawback of the Fever Pitch was that it would read the pattern well for a few games, and then all of a sudden, miss the head pin because the cover would get lane shine. The Fast Pitch seems to have a more constant read of the lane, even as the ball gets more games on it. Keeping the Fast Pitch clean in between shots with a Shammy gives a reliable motion throughout the block.

The second Fast Pitch I drilled, I still used a 4.5” pin, but put the pin buffer at 4”. This change in pin buffer reduced the overall flare of the Fast Pitch and created a more rounded shape through the back end of the lane. It also reduced the overall hook potential. This is beneficial in keeping my angles straight through the front of the lane when bowling on very light, short oil patterns. I also smoothed the cover down with a 4000 pad on the ball spinner just to reduce any early traction I saw from the 1000 grit factory finish. When encountering many different oil patterns or lanes that have really dry backends, having the two different Fast Pitches is a bonus.

In closing, the Fast Pitch is a good compliment to the original Pitch Black when bowling on short oil patterns in tournaments. Changing the pin buffer and pin from PAP distance will really help get the most out of the ball, for your game. It’s important to find a certified Pro shop that takes the time to know your game, and give the correct layout based on how you throw the ball. Thank you for taking the time to tread my review of the Storm Fast Pitch. Now go bowl up a storm!
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: Sappman069 on February 05, 2021, 11:38:46 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:42ft

Volume:28ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:different urethane shape

Dislikes: has to have oil up front


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

Storm Fast Pitch is a new version of urethane that is designed to fit into a different spot in the bag compared to the Pitch Purple and Pitch Black. I found that the Fast Pitch is earlier and more of a round shape compared to previous urethane balls Storm has made. When I first drilled the Fast Pitch I used it on the typical house shot of 42 feet and felt like the ball started up a little later than I wanted so I decided to hit it with 1000 grit abralon pad. After that the ball seemed to pick up a little earlier but still continued through the pins. The more I throw it the better I feel it gets. The Fast Pitch doesnt do well for me on dry lanes, it definitely needs oil in the front part of the lane. Storm did a great job of making a Urethane to fill the spot the other Urethane balls just wouldn't do.
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: Gil B on February 06, 2021, 10:22:32 AM
Loving the Fast Pitch. If you need a urethane ball but don't like throwing urethane you will enjoy the fast pitch. The fast pitch is a little sooner than other storm urethane bowling ball and has a much stronger and continuous shape. This ball also goes through the pins very well and seems to lose no energy throughout the lane. Grab a fast pitch now
Title: Re: Fast Pitch Solid Urethane
Post by: nord on May 04, 2021, 02:57:45 PM
I just got my own Fast Pitch. I saw all the excellent reviews of it on youtube and it looked like something really special.

My Nationals Team Captain, who is also one of the top PSO's in the nation, recommended a unique Full Roller layout for it that hopefully would provide an old school Full Roller like myself a lot of versatility for my Fast Pitch.

This layout puts the pin 3 3/8" past my PAP. CG stays on the line through my PAP to the center of grip. I got a Fast Pitch with a 5.5" pin so the ball would stay legal.

Wow! This ball is responsive in the back and just drives across the lane! It does not act like urethane. No hook/set stuff here. Instead what I get with this layout is clean through the heads and then a continuous backend reaction.

On House Shots with lower volume I can open up the lane.
On House Shots with higher volume I can play either up the boards, or even get right with it.
Haven't tried on Sport yet but will update this review once I have.

But for now, slow hooking House Shots is what this ball does best for me.
Here is a video showing it in action for me.
You can also see the layout on the ball in this video: https://youtu.be/i6YCS-qBu1E