BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on January 23, 2019, 12:37:05 PM

Title: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on January 23, 2019, 12:37:05 PM
The Storm Fever Pitch carries on the successful line of Pitch bowling balls in the Storm line up. The Fever Pitch does not react as early as the Pitch Black ball but it corners better than the Pitch Blue bowling ball. Storm is introducing a new weight block and coverstock with the Fever Pitch. The Tour Block core is wrapped with the PWR+CTRL Pearl Urethane coverstock to create a ball that is better on shorter oil patterns and drier lane conditions.

Color: Orange Pearl
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: PWR+CTRL Pearl Urethane
Core: Tour Block
Finish: 2000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.61 (for a 15# ball)
Differential: 0.030 (for a 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Light Oil
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: Eddie on February 03, 2019, 11:44:10 PM
I am very interested in this ball. I need a ball that can go long due to my very slow speed.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: michael.willis9 on February 04, 2019, 12:48:28 AM
Eddie look at the after dark pearl. Itís probably a better option for you
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: StormAndrew on February 25, 2019, 03:57:02 PM
The Fever Pitch was one of the most surprising balls I have thrown to date. I usually have preconceived ideas of if I am going to like or dislike a ball prior to having the opportunity to throw it.

The Fever Pitch being urethane instantly raised a red flag and subjected me to the notion I wasn't going to like it. I, also, wasn't going to even bother drilling it. My history with urethane was I could get to the pocket but couldn't carry. The Pitch Black would get there and I would go flat 10 and the Pitch Blue wasn't early enough.

With that said, my preconceived notion was dead wrong. I absolutely loved the Fever Pitch and what I saw from this ball. The ball read early like urethane but this time it turned the corners better than both original Pitch balls and I could kick out the corner pins. I had some great hitting/carrying power with this ball with messengers scattering all over the place. It's almost like a ball that is in between urethane and reactive. That's the best way I could explain it. It's early yet continuous.

I know most urethane lovers are going to love this ball and I believe the reactive bowlers who are reluctant with urethane may be decently surprised by the abilities and potential of the Fever Pitch.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: jshoe97 on March 03, 2019, 02:03:36 PM
The fever pitch features a brand new urethane esq cover called power plus control and is wrapped around a similar core to the Hyroad, but without the inner ball. This drastically drops the differential and raises the RG which in turn gets the ball a little farther down the lane while providing a strong motion off of friction. I drilled both my fever pitch and pitch black identical, 50x5x50, which for me puts the pin almost right above my bridge center. For this video, I decided to bowl on a very challenging almost completely flat 40í sport shot. The topography on this pair allowed me to stand a little farther left than usual, and gave me a few boards to work with downlane. The fever pitch ignores the front part of the lane much better than typical urethane, while still maintaining a very round and continuous motion downlane. People that love urethane will most likely love the fever pitch, and people that absolutely hate urethane, will most likely not find a use for the fever in their bag. I can see myself using the fever pitch after my pitch black starts seeing the front part of the lane too much, and starts bailing downlane. Be sure to head to your local storm VIP pro shop and preorder your very own Storm Fever pitch today! #TeamStorm

Review Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8-jFs7QZJA
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: TonyMarino on March 06, 2019, 10:38:11 AM
Storm Fever Pitch

As someone who throws urethane from time-to-time and bowls a lot of tournamentsÖ THANK YOU, STORM!!!

This is a shape that was sorely missing for the Storm line. The traditional urethane covers that were on the Pitch Black and Blue are great at blending a pattern and giving a super smooth and predicable shape down lane, but if they are not so great on longer patterns or on carry down.

The Fever Pitch solves for all of this! It is not as early as the Pitch Black but corners way harder than the Pitch Blue. The Fever features the brand-new PWR+CTRL Urethane cover that is very versatile for a urethane. I have thrown mine at box as well as a few different surfaces and my favorite default surface so far seems to be 1,000 grit. Even there it is not as early as the Black and still has more shape the Blue. I am so happy with this ball and see myself having many of these in the future.

I see this being THE urethane ball on the market for many years to come. If you want to incorporate a urethane ball in your arsenal or need something for when the Pitch Black/Blue donít give you enough shape on the back, you NEED THE FEVER.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: fjcallahan on March 06, 2019, 05:24:03 PM
Storm Fever Pitch

The Storm Fever Pitch is the newest addition to the Urethane Pitch line of bowling balls. It features the Power + Control Pearl Urethane Cover with the Tour Block Symmetrical in the center.  I tested on our house shot which is 42 feet in length with a few gallons of conditionerís in the middle. I rolled the Fever after I shot footage for the Super SoniQ and Halo Pearl, figuring I would beat the track up enough to give me a good look from the outside angle I was going to play. I always try to be as honest as possible with my reviews and opinions about new releases so, with that in mind, I have never had any use for urethane bowling balls. That is not because they are not good, the fact is that I am not good. My most common miss is to the right and urethane does not reward bad shots most of the time, especially when you miss wide. Itís funny how quickly your confidence goes away when you roll a ball that doesnít help you out. I was striking with ease using the two other releases and then I grabbed the Fever Pitch and was awoke by my blatant inaccuracies laughing in my face. NiceÖ

Overall the fever was a bit sharper down lane compared to the Pitch Black, given that sharper is not a regular adjective used to describe these types of balls. I used it in a tournament on a shorter sport shot and had a better feel with it. I assume the design intent is for less volume and or shorter pattern designs. When I finally threw it well I did strike a couple times but, my swing was wonky trying to stay tight and those wrap corner pins were letting me know that I was close but, not there yet.

I have and will continue to recommend the Pitch series to players that need control on friction and to those folks that really twist it up at the bottom. Iíll also say that the Fever, by far is my favorite of the Pitch line.

Stop by your local Storm VIP Shop and give it a look.
Title: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on March 07, 2019, 06:51:17 PM
The Fever Pitch is probably the most anticipated ball in some time. I was SHOCKED when I first threw this ball. It was a motion from ďurethaneĒ that weíve been missing in our line. My Pitch Blue was by far the weakest urethane ball I had. The Fever Pitch is much stronger than the Pitch Blue and can be used on more than just the ďdriest of dryĒ oil patterns. It provides a good compliment to the Pitch Black as well. I think when the oil begins to carry down on the shorter patterns, the Fever Pitch be the go to ball because it has more pop than the Pitch Black. In all, the Fever Pitch is similar in strength to the Pitch Black, the difference lies in where they read the lane. The Pitch Black reads the front part of the lane HARD. The Fever Pitch sees the fronts less and offers some more motion down lane.
Players can start out on the lower volume patters/shorter patterns with a Pitch Black. When the oil starts to carry down, youíll be able to switch to the Fever Pitch with no problems.
In my opinion this Fever Pitch will be better suited for the heavy handed guys and the slower ball speed players.

https://youtu.be/i6tYmCPcNOE
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: caseyccg on March 08, 2019, 02:44:46 PM
Storm Fever Pitch Review by Casey Murphy

Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 4 7/8, 70

Disliked the Hot Cell, Pitch Black and Pitch Blue.  I could hit the hole ALLLLLL DAY and never throw more than a double. I donít match up to urethane.   Fever Pitch is different.  First time I threw it I had a 9 bagger.  I still control the pocket without any problem, but the Fever Pitch is strong enough and sharp enough on the back to give me the angle and carry Iím always seeing other people get. 

Urethane Haters = going to love it
Urethane Lovers = going to love it
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: Kevin Duncan on March 09, 2019, 01:46:42 PM
Storm Fever Pitch
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm Fever Pitch utilizes the new Tour Core and the new PWR+CTRL pearl urethane coverstock.   Usually a thick shell means a great ball.  I think that is true with this ball also.   The orange pearl cover has some real shelf appeal.  It is growing on me.  The Fever Pitch is longer than the Pitch Black and corners better than the Pitch Blue. I definitely get more back end motion from it verses my Pitch Black.  I use the Fever Pitch as my spare ball and have to be careful not to cut it short when shooting the 10-pin because it will hook past.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG
Title: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl - Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on March 15, 2019, 08:19:53 AM
Right Handed
Ball weight:  16
Rev Rate:  400
Ball Speed:  17
Axis Tilt:  7
Axis Rotation:  45*
PAP:  3 3/4 horizontal, 7/8 up
Layout:  4Ē pin to pap, 2 Ĺ from VAL

Iím not really a urethane guyÖ  Iíve got a Pitch Black for short patterns and it works well when Iím actually able to use it.  However, itís not often that I can use urethane in league or anything other than a regional.

Yet, with all of the hype around the Fever Pitch, I had to drill one up (hype or not, I would have drilled oneÖ). 

Iíve had a chance to roll it on 2 versions of the PBA Viper pattern and was quite pleased at the reaction I got from it.  While the Pitch Black rolls super early, especially with the 500 or 1000 surface, the Fever Pitch clears the fronts really well, but shapes much better down lane than previous urethane releases.  I was able to play relatively straight, up the lane and move a bit left and bounce it off of the friction outside.  I was surprised that it rolled that well for me.

Cut to the first actual league game Iíve rolled with the FeverÖ The lanes were a bit squirrely and there seemed to be less friction to the right than we normally see in league.  I decided to pull the Fever out towards the end of the 2nd game and proceeded to roll the last 16 to finish the night.  A 300, on a house shot with the Fever Pitch.  I was surprised with every shot, not that the reaction wasnít amazing, but just that I had that much room to miss.  Not to mention, the core design of this ball is really good.  It definitely goes through the pins better than many urethanes.

At this point, I have not altered the surface, but once I have a chance to roll on some more short patterns, I may have to scratch it down to 500 or 1000.  Then again, if it continues to shape the way it does currently, Iím not sure I will.

Being in the PBA South region, I should get plenty of attempts to use the Fever, and I plan to try it every chance I get.  If you are a fan of the new generation of urethane, the Fever Pitch is a great option.
Title: Storm Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: StormRoto on March 18, 2019, 12:57:24 PM
PAP - 3 5 /8 up 1 1/8
Speed - 16
Tilt - 17
RPM - 400


The new urethane from Storm is called the Fever Pitch Pearl.  First off with my roll urethane just doesn't match up with me.  The pitch blue , Pitch Black and Hot Cell were  just okay.  The Fever Pitch has a new PWR+CTRL Pearl Urethane coverstock.  I drilled mine with a stronger pin, 4 x 4 x 2 and added some surface.  The Fever was a little cleaner than the pitch black and a little more shape downlane.  I think the Fever will be get some more play on the shorter patterns and later blocks where I can't get resin down the lane.  It definitely has a different motion and should fill a gap in Storm's urethane line.

Brian Watson
Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Fever Pitch Urethane Pearl
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 18, 2019, 11:40:15 PM
Storm Fever Pitch Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

It seems like urethane can be used on almost any pattern these days.  Several years ago, I donít remember anyone using it, but today, itís everywhere.  Storm products has come out with several urethane balls, but the Fever Pitch is by far the strongest one Iíve thrown.  With a revised Hyroad core and a pearl coverstock, the Fever Pitch is turns the corner extremely well for a urethane ball.

Iíve drilled one so far and really like what I see.  I put a very standard layout on the Fever Pitch: 5 x 4 with no hole.  The pin is above my bridge with a slight shift of the CG.  Iíve noticed I still need to put a good amount of surface on it (500/360) to get it to shape the right way, but it rolls great.

I believe the pearl coverstock helps push the ball through the front part of the lane and creates a bit more angle down lane than a Pitch Black.

If you need a urethane ball or drilled a Pitch Black, the Fever Pitch is much different and is needed in your bag today!

#StormNation