BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Fired UP
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
As the initial release of the new Fire Line™ the new Fired Up™ will change the way you think about bowling! The searing combination of the all-new Twin-V™ weight block and a thick Reactor™ coverstock optimizes backend friction that burns through the pins. If you're looking for professional quality, with premium performance at a smokin’ price, then it's time to get Fired Up!  

FIRED UP™  Technical Specifications  

Coverstock Reactor™ Pearl Reactive
Weight Block Modified 2-piece
Ball Color Fire Pearl
Ball Finish 1500-grit Polish
Radius of Gyration 2.54 (Med)
Differential .049 (Med-High)
Durometer 74-76 Rex D-scale
Flare Potential 5-6 (Med-High)
Fragrance Orange
Weights 10 - 16 lbs.
SKU# TFI
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: DynoLess Daddy on May 11, 2005, 02:08:27 PM
Very much of a surprise. This ball actually matche dup well to my Energy. It allow for good transition through the mid-lane with a good set to the pocket. This is definitely a ball for the walled house shot.

I used a label drilling to get a true test of exactly what was going to happen!!
--------------------
My Dt likes to bash Shawn B.

note the truth>>>>>(Dt..1st .... Shawn 2nd)

VISE AMATEUR STAFF
Dynodaddy@earthlink.net
www.dynothane.com
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: 180 bowler on May 11, 2005, 06:51:25 PM
I bowl in a center with walled house shot with quite abit of oil, with its 1500 grit i thought it will skid and won't come back, but was i surprised it came off the dry hard and right at the pocket.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Jr0630 on May 14, 2005, 07:30:59 PM
My fired up is drilled for meduim lanes with backend, and i bowled at Lord Calvert with it (walled up house) and i shot 246 268 278 for a 792.  This is a great ball and hits like a monster.  Good on meduim to dry shot.  Haven't thrown it on dry but on meduim its a killer.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: 180 bowler on May 15, 2005, 03:06:26 AM
Haven't got to try on wet condition yet but had tried on dry. Had to move really deep, started playing 13 at the line out to 10 at the arrows, but when it was dry had to move to 40 at the line to 32 at the arrows. But still came back and hit hard.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: GreatestBowler on May 16, 2005, 01:31:22 AM
got this ball friday the 13th drilled it up, took it to traveling league friday night. and shot 299 my first game ever with the fired up . ball gets thru the heads very clean, looks like its going to go nuts on the backend but makes a smooth turn to the pocket . The lanes were about med oil . o yeah i played 10 to 5 . And yet another great ball from STORM
--------------------
If You Hear THUNDER Be Afraid,
Because The STORM Has Arrived.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: stormed1 on May 25, 2005, 05:38:23 PM
I drilled my Fired-Up 4x4 with the pin above and to the right of my ring finger. This ball  reads the midline great with a smooth but very strong backend reaction. It is a little stronger than i expected with this pattern as i was hoping for it to be a middle of the road benchmark ball. However I am looking forward to drilling a second ball with a more agressive patern for length and backend. i will update my review once i get more games on this ball
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: addik on June 05, 2005, 03:15:26 AM
pin below fingers 1.25" on center grip line. The CG is .75" to the right of the center line and on the midline. Used different surfaces, OOB and took off the shine as well.

Lanes are synthetics
Patterns bowled on: "A","E", and THS top hat...

On THS, this ball is a great ball that reads midlane well and has a good continuous big arc to the pocket. Hits very well keeping the pins low and head pin flying left to right. The roll this ball makes is very smooth and if you are looking for a ball for your leagues, this ball shouldn't be passed up. The pattern is a medium volume semi long top hat pattern with 40 to 50 units in the center.

On the "E", this ball clears the heads nicely. And playing in the twig area, this ball makes a very smooth turn to the pocket. once it touches the dry it starts to make it's move to the pocket without over jumping....on fresh or broken down lanes, this ball is a good fit in my bag.  

On the "A"....first off, don't let the shine scare you. I used this ball with OOB surface. When I first took this out on freshly dressed lanes...I thought I would go past the BP. I was wrong...the overall shape of the ball path was more straighter than the other two conditions and made a smaller turn to the pocket. I could of did some spin work on this ball to get a better read but on this pattern I have other balls I use. But when the lanes break down, this ball does better...

To be honest, I wasn't too impressed with this ball at first. After several times out and playing with the cover to match the conditions I faced, I had a change of heart. This ball is great. Some balls just come out of the box and shines right away for some bowlers. And some times one needs to adjust the surface to fine tune the reaction of the ball...The cover on this ball is not hard to work with btw...

Thus overall, a pretty versatile ball for me. But I can see this ball doing really well on THS conditions and a few sport shots. Those with slower speed maybe able to use this on longer oil. But on medium and broke down patterns, this ball shines..it'll get you "fired up" okay that wasn't that funny....


--------------------
addik
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Chickensoup on June 08, 2005, 05:07:11 PM
This ball is jizzly
When the middle got burnt and my other equipment started revving too early, this ball just went clean through the heads and still had plenty of energy for a great entry angle to the pocket
Hits like a beast, but if u wanna cover boards with it, you cant throw it too fast - it will go right through its break point
But great ball nonetheless
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: BuddiesProShopcom-Chris on July 10, 2005, 11:12:48 PM
Ball specs: pin 3 1/4, top 2.45

My PAP: 4 3/4, up zero

Layout: pin 4 1/4 inches from PAP, cg 4 1/2 from PAP

The new Reactor coverstock by Storm is just great. This ball allows the ball to clears the heads real well like all other Storm pearls but unlike previous pearls this ball reads the dry very smooth instead of the big jerk that was common in other Storm balls. The other thing I really liked is that of you do happen to get this ball in the oil it didn't skid 55 ft and then try and make a move. It actually tried to read the lane. This new cover finally gives Storm the ball motion of the ever popular Brunswick Absolute Inferno but at a lower price point. Even better yet a bowler can have the Screamin' Banshee and the Fired Up and the two balls really compliment each other. When the Screamin' begins to burn up to fast in the fronts the Fired Up with a similar layout allows you to play the same part of the lane and get your backend reaction that was lost back.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: coolkicks on September 13, 2005, 01:26:29 AM
i just moved up t 15 pounds and i was was very mad because i had this ball in 14 pounds and i loved it i shot a 709 with it and i am more tyhat plaesed im only thirteen and have been bowling for about 1 and 1/2 and it was nice to shoot a seven i hade it driled agressive and it was a nice medium oil house shot but it was a very sweet bal i love way it just goes long and snaps back sort of like the rampage if you are thinking of getting thjis ball it is awsome you will be pleased with the resujlts for mew to say that is wiered because i dont like storm.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Nate on February 01, 2006, 10:57:25 PM
Just got this ball today, 15lb with the pin just right of my ring finger with the CG in my palm.  This ball is sweet, wicked back-end and I've never gotten pin action like I did with this ball.  First throw went way left and I left the head pin and 3 pin.  Out of nowhere they both just drop.  This ball is ridiculas.  Definetly worth the money.  All in all I love this ball, hits hard and easy to controll.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Nate on February 12, 2006, 04:56:23 PM
Okay, I feel that I am able to post another review for this ball because today I got to throw on very heavy oil conditions.  The house I went to had just had a birthday party on that lane (and others) so there was still a lot of oil, and a lot of carry down.  I don't know the specifics of the oil pattern, but I don't care either.  Anyway this ball was still very sweet on heavy oil.  I had to play a little bit more inside that I normally do but that's alright.  My first game I was throwing the ball from 25 and hitting 3rd arrow, and it would just hold and look like it was coming in right in between the 3 & 6 pin but it would make a sharp turn to the pocket and simply crush it.  This is easily the hardest hitting ball, I've ever had and I even have the sibling to this ball (the Diablo) but this one just has a lot more carry and a lot more pin action.  

This ball is definetly worth the purchase and can be used on any oil condition if you ask me.  On light oil increase speed, on heavy slow it down.  That's really all you have to do.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: timmyindy on February 16, 2006, 02:06:50 AM
One word describes my Fired Up "AWESOME".  This ball is great it hits harder than a hammer and would carry as many pins as you throw it at.  The pearl coverstock pushes the ball down the lane and makes a strong and sharp move toward the pocket.  The more oily the lanes get the straighter you go but it never seems to go to long.  This ball is very angluar but I don't seem to have a problem getting the 10 that I have had with angluar balls before.

Overall: If storm ever relesed a ball that would make you buy storm for the rest of your life this is the ball.  Strong, Angluar, and it kicks pins across the deck.  What more do you want. Just don't look for a lot of midlane roll, it reads the midlane and then make the move.

good luck on the lanes
Tim Cline
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: gneissy on February 17, 2006, 06:28:43 PM
Well I must say for just your 3 game league hack like myself this ball has turned my ordinary bowling (150 avg) into consistent bowling (176 avg) in just 3 weeks. Took me a week to figure out the line to bowl with it but since I worked that out I have had 9 strikes in a game and every game I am actually threatening to get past 200 and getting close to 600 for the serise.

The ball itself was drilled to give me a little more roll before reaching the breakpoint as the local lanes can give bowlers bigger back ends due to a short oil pattern.  On dry lanes I tend to stand on the left side of the lane my target is the between 2nd 3rd arrow on the right and the ball moves cleanly to the pocket. On wet I bowl from the middle and target the 2nd on the right and again the ball makes a nice clean break towards the pocket.

THe one thing that impresses me about this ball in particular is the pin action. I have seen pins fly back from everywhere to claim stragglers that with most other balls would leave for a spare shot.

Anyways for a mid range ball I know I have spent my money well and who knows maybe I can push to finally bowl like the big guns at the center and ruffle some feathers.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: bowlingpsycotic on February 21, 2006, 01:41:07 PM
man this ball is amazing. The backend on this ball surprised me. Its a versitile ball that i can use on both oil and dry lanes. This ball is now my favorite ball in my arsenal. The power this ball has on the backend just has so much drive and power that most of the time it just a big blast of pins in stead of triping the ten pin. This is exactly why i like storm products because of the backend.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: KR300 on March 14, 2006, 08:56:20 AM
Drilled up w/ pattern #1 on drill sheet. Pin under & to right of ring, cg in center of grip. Got this ball to be a compliment to my Paradigm and it is perfect. When the Paradigm starts picking up too early, this gives me the extra few feet I need to get back to the pocket. Mid lane read is less than Paradigm, which is what I wanted. Backend is strong but not nuts. Really fits nicely in my order of Passion, Paradigm and now Fired up. Another great ball from Storm!
--------------------
If you blame the lane conditions for your bad scores, then you had better thank them for your good ones!!
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Wallshot on April 19, 2006, 02:41:32 AM
I got my Fired Up used on Ebay in immaculate condition (and already plugged) for $57 shipped. I drilled it up exactly as it had been by the previous user with the pin above and slightly to the right of the ring finger and cg stacked below. It's basically stacked leverage with an axis hole. This ball was very smooth through the heads with a decent midlane move that increased in torque as it neared the pocket. I played about 12 to 5 and it had a very predictable reaction shot after shot with excellent carry. It's reaction kind of reminded me of the Super Charge in that it had the same kind of continuation after hitting the break point.

I used this for the first time tonight in practice after league and consistently shot in the 240's. Considering how broken down the heads were the Fired Up sailed through them as if on a fresh shot. Very impressive! I tend to blow through the break point now and then but the Fired Up read the lanes very well and had a nice but controllable flip into the pocket.

I've strayed from Storm this year and have been throwing mostly Brunswick equipment, but the Fired Up and Pyro have a place in my arsenal along side the Vapor Zone, Ambush, etc, etc. Personally, I think Storm and the Big B complement each other and allow for an arsenal that can cover any condition.
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: CHawk15 on May 07, 2006, 12:50:57 AM
Pin to CG Distance 4"
Drill - see below

At first, I had this ball drilled up with the pin above the fingers with a small balance hole on the PAP.  For me, this drill went too long and the breakpoint was difficult to control.  Then I went to my regular pro shop guy and had it drilled with the pin even with the fingers and the mass bias slightly below and to the right of the thumbhole (no weight hole).  This changed my view of this ball entirely. (That and the fact that I started to bowl alot better)    

This ball clears the heads easily no matter unless the they are complete toast.  This ball reads the midlane and then makes a serious turn on the back. This ball has the sharpest backend of any ball I've ever used, when it makes the turn it looks like someone kicked it left. One of the houses I bowl in matches up to this ball perfectly and I've thrown several 700+ series this ball.  The back end recovery on this ball is incredible, I've missed 3-5 boards outside of my target and the ball came back like I hit my mark perfectly.  Carry down can be a problem for this ball, but I have other balls to deal with that.  Wet/dry conditions can also be a problem for this ball since it will tend to make a 90 degree left hand turn when it hits the dry.  But on the right conditions, this ball is a winner and another great ball from a great ball company.  Great job Storm !!!!
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Storm8300 on May 30, 2006, 03:53:38 PM
My Fired Up is drilled to skid /flip let me tell you the ball does deffinitally do it. This ball goes less than 10 feet in fron of the pins and comes back at the pocket at a 90 degree angle. The weight block and coverstock are so perfect to form a ball that goes long and backends. This weight block and the RAD weight blocks are by far the strongest weight blocks to have ever been thrown in my hand and this ball is by far a winnner.
--------------------
STORM JUST HAS DEVASTATING RESULTS!!!
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: the_shocker on July 18, 2006, 05:27:39 PM
Everyone needs atleast one of these in there bag.  I have thrown Probably 100+ games with this ball and the coverstock is still as good as it was out of the box. I haven't found another ball that reacts even remotely close with the driving power of this ball I try to bowl as many tourniments as possible with this ball and I have never changed the cover.  If this ball ever gets burnt up I WILL REPLACE IT ASAP.
--------------------
Hay Hay Hay bo I know the DAM mayor of Clemmons
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Platinum Bowler on August 16, 2006, 10:40:23 PM
I just love this ball. I am currently throwing my second one of this ball. My first FU I usually started with it all the time. On some of the rare occasions where it wasn't giving me the best look at the beginning of the day, I would usually end up throwing it by the day's end.

My second one is drilled with the pin 4.5" from the pap, with the mass bias at 45 degrees. X hole 5" over from the midline. The ball definitely does what it is made to do, and that is "go long, and snap." I love that type of reaction, because it really fits my game. Works well for when I have had to move in really deep. On the THS, I really never have to get too deep though, but on the few sport patterns that I have thrown it on, the ball read great deep inside and made it's usual violent snap to the pocket. I was practicing on some lanes that had open play bowling on it all day and they were beyond fried and spotty, and there was no chance of throwing the FU on this. It definitely needs some oil to get through the midlane, and if you got just enough, it is definitely money. I currently always start with this ball in practice and make my decisions on what I should do with the FU. It has a ver consistent roll and reaction, and I can throw it on many different patterns. Once again, Storm has a winner!
--------------------
I got my Dexters' on, but they look like sneakas...

B-Car
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: Blistershurt on December 05, 2007, 04:02:04 PM
I used to own one of these...I was really dissapointed with it.

I had it drilled up with standard leverage, 3 inch pin, 3 oz top weight. Pin 3 3/8 from PAP, CG mid grip.

Well basically, in order to get the "volatile snap" that someone else talked about, i had to throw this ball extra slow. Really, the ball wasnt even clean through the heads, usually it barely cleared the heads and arced very cleanly into the pocket. Personally, I think this ball is great for dry lanes, I gave it to one of my friends, he let me throw it again, and it still hooks its 10 boards with a controlled breakpoint on the dry.

My biggest beef I have with the ball is that it is highpriced, but not high performance.
--------------------
Nothing hits like a Hammer, baby.
Weapons
Anger, Black Widow, Cherry Vibe

High Game- 290
High Series- 701
Average- dwindling around 185-190
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: titletowncards on February 10, 2008, 10:05:41 PM
...P...
....O..O...

.....cg....

......O.....

I think this ball does exactly was it was intended to do.  Go very long, and snap very hard in the back.  I'm not going to say it has the best carry, but the solid pocket hits are no doubter's.  I kept this ball very polished and I am able to use it on some oilier conditions because of the backend it provides.  Overall it wasn't in the original X-Factor range of great Storm balls, but it does find it's way out of my bag once and a while.  Sometimes on patterns you wouldn't think it would work well on. I only used this ball on THS's, so I can't help you with the Sport shot experience.
--------------------
titletowncards
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: serious loft on May 21, 2008, 06:10:54 PM
...P...
....O..O...
.........cg....

......O.....

I have 2 of these drilled both the same and i havnt been dissapointed it does exactly what it was said to do go long then take a direct left turn my newer one goes about 45 ft down the lane then takes a direct left turn i use this ball and the shark pattern and it gives me all the area in the world where other people on the lanes are struggleing to get the ball back this ball just keep on going when it hits the pocket for me this ball is too strong for my house shot at my center i bowl at overal its a great ball
Title: Re: Fired UP
Post by: CMcCarthy on October 14, 2009, 09:40:53 AM
I bought the Storm Fired Up for Medium conditions where the lanes might have broken down and playing a deep inside shot is the only option. The Fired Up does just that and is crazy strong on the backend. With enough speed this ball can be used on lighter shots but should be preferably used on a medium shot, or a slightly heavier one if you have enough hand.
--------------------
Christopher McCarthy
William Paterson University Bowling Team Member
Storm Bowling Products