BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on May 31, 2018, 10:15:55 AM

Title: Intense Fire
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on May 31, 2018, 10:15:55 AM
Add some intensity and fire to your bowling game with the Storm Intense Fire bowling ball. This ball uses the RAD-E core. RAD stands for Radial Accelerating Disk which has been featured in several popular Storm balls but this ball brings energy which is where the E comes from. This unique core design is paired with the R3S Hybrid Reactive coverstock and finished with a 1500 grit pad and polished. This ball will be known for its strong mid-lane reaction.

Color: Ultramarine/Persimmon/Black
Coverstock: R3S Hybrid Coverstock
Core: RAD-E (14#-16#)
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.49 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.050 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Lava Spice
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: StormAndrew on June 01, 2018, 10:46:56 AM
Coming June 15th the Intense Fire from Storm Bowling

Video:
https://youtu.be/xS4nNoQkQp4

Ball Review:
Unfortunately, I did not get to try this ball on a pattern that I would typically use it on although here are my thoughts on the upcoming release.
I tested this ball on pretty beat up conditions. There seemed to be a substantial amount of open play before I did this video. I was essentially on significantly dry conditions. It was pretty difficult to find the hold in the middle part of the lane no matter how far left I went on the approach.

I ranged between 25-32 on the approach and threw it to about 7 down lane as my break point. The ball had to be at 7 for my breakpoint otherwise I would see an over/under reaction. This was not the balls fault. It was just not the right environment to be throwing it in.

This is a very strong ball and you can see how continuous it was off the spot. I believe this will be a good ball to blend out those medium to heavier fresh oil conditions when the night begins and the original Intense is too angular and not early enough.
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: jshoe97 on June 05, 2018, 10:34:58 AM
The Intense Fire is storms newest release in the premier line. The Intense Fire uses the same RAD-E core found in the original intense, but is now wrapped around R3S hybrid. This produces a ball that is much sharper off of friction, but still utilizes the core to help read the midlane. I was not a huge fan of the original Intense, but Iím already in love with this ball. When compared to the code red, the Intense Fire is weaker overall but is faster off of friction. The code red is earlier and slower off of friction, therefore producing a rounder shape. I can see myself using the Intense Fire first out of the bag during league, and the transition games during a tournament. Be sure to preorder your own for the June 15th release date! #StormNation

Review Video: https://youtu.be/jJA5wuIB1yE
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: StoRoto2013 on June 22, 2018, 09:53:42 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

The Intense Fire is the newest release in Stormís Premier Line of Bowling Balls.  The Intense Fire features the sixth generation RAD-E Core.  Rad-E Core is surrounded by the R3S Hybrid coverstock.  The combination of Core and Coverstock generates generous length with a powerful backend motion.  I was able to throw the Intense and the Intense Fire on a Typical House Shot.  I was surprised by the overall reaction of the Intense Fire.  The Intense Fire picked up earlier in the mid lane because of the R3S Hybrid coverstock and the aggressive (not flippy) backend motion was more than expected. I had a little room when I moved in and kept my angles tight with the Intense Fire.  I could never do that with the Intense because it would squirt to the Friction or would not turn the corner.  As I continued to bowl and conditioner started to move around and break down the Intense Fire really showed its true power.  I could just chase the oil left and keep the friction to the right.  However, the dryer the fronts became the earlier the Intense Fire would start up.  I went to the Intense and moved a little right and right back into my comfort zone.  The layouts that were used on both bowling balls were pin over the fingers with the mass bias kicked out with an extra hole on the mid line.  The measurements are approximate for dual angle people 70 X 5.5 X 45.  My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up, Rev Rate was 300 and my ball speed is around 15 mph.  If you liked the Intense, the Intense Fire will Light Up Your World!
The Intense Fire is a very good compliment to the Premier Line.  Power and Versatility at your fingertips with the Intense Fire!



Likes: Versatility

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: drpepper on June 24, 2018, 01:55:00 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40'

Volume:23uL

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes:More backend then original

Dislikes:needs more flare


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: Kevin Duncan on June 25, 2018, 09:25:36 PM
Storm Intense Fire
Layout: 5 inch, no weight hole
Rev Rate: 300 rpm
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Intense Fire, the sequel to the Intense, one of my favorites, is finally here.  I am already hearing about good results out of this ball from other Storm Staffers at the USBC Open Championship in Syracuse and other bowling venues.  The Intense Fire features the RAD-E core and R3S hybrid coverstock.  The colors in the Intense Fire are aesthetically pleasing and Storm hit a home run on the lava spice fragrance.  The thing we noticed most about the Intense Fire was the strong but controllable motion at the backend of the lane. 
We compared the Intense Fire to the original Intense.  The pin distances were not the same and the Intense had a lot of mileage on it (no re-surfacing) since it was one of my favorite balls.  In addition, there was a 9-Pin  league just before I practiced so not a controlled test session.   The Intense was more angular so it had better recovery down lane.  The Intense Fire allowed me to challenge the dry area to the right without overreacting.   The two balls had different ball motions so they will compliment each other.  The Intense Fire will be a good second ball out of the bag when that hook spot starts to develop down lane.  I look forward to getting some more lane time with it in tournament action.


Title: Storm Intense Fire review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on July 06, 2018, 09:00:34 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 Ft

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Cover: R3S Hybrid
Core: RAD-E
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.49
Diff: 0.050

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Over Bridge 75 X 5 1/4 X 35

The new Intense Fire from Storm takes a good ball reaction and improves the downlane motion and hitting power. Teaming up the RAD-E core with a polished hybrid version of the R3S cover gives you improved change of direction and better continuation.

I tested the Intense Fire on a Higher Volume House Pattern. This pattern is not always kind to shiny surfaces because the volume can create OB right of the track. The Intense fire however gives you plenty of midlane move and continuation. Where the original intense can push through the spot and labor downlane, The Intense fire grabs and gives you alot of "get-back". The versatility to play any part of the lane on this shot makes it a favorite of mine.

I really enjoyed throwing the Intense Fire in my challenge league on the shark pattern. The shorter back-end demands a ball that can really move and create angle when it comes off the pattern and the Intense Fire was perfect. Not having to hammer on the ball to get it to recover was ideal and I was able to use the clean cover and strong move combination in this ball to have a great angle to the pocket while minimizing the transition in the front of the lane.

If there's one great selling point for me it's that this ball gives you length and angle without having to wait for the hook spot to open up downlane and then move left. You can go to the Intense Fire right away and stay with it through the transition.
PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: Onefrombills on July 22, 2018, 06:57:03 PM
Storm Intense Fire
During the initial testing of the Intense Fire we tried many different coverstocks that all performed admirably, but R3S Hybrid shined above all else. Radial Accelerating Diskô (RAD) technology is now in its sixth generation with the RAD-E and earns some of the highest marks on the Professional Bowlers Tour. The ďEĒ stands for ENERGY as the elongated ellipses near the pin increase the separation of mass as well as the potential energy of this dynamic beast.
The Intense Fire is the is the newest ball in the premier line and the second ball in the Intense line. This piece comes at 1500 grit polished and the R3S Hybrid cover stock is easy and responds to different surfaces meaning that this ball can be used by players with a lot of hand and like to hook it to guys that may not have as much. This was a fun ball to test and with the box finish I was able to stay right on top of the track on a ďTHBĒ typical house shot, but the ball was still responsive when I took the shine off and was able to get left and play the middle of the lane.
Do not miss out on getting this one as this ball has much more bang for the price point.
Go get the new Storm Intense Fire and #BowlupaSTORM!
BOWLER STYLE: RH - Stroker Rev Rate: 320 - 350 Ball Speed: 15-16 PAP: 4 7/8 right 5/8 up.
Storm - Roto Grip - VISE - Logo Infusion Staff Member
Brian Hirsch
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: fjcallahan on July 25, 2018, 11:02:10 AM
The IntenseFire is the latest high performance release from team Utah. It features the RAD E core found in the OG Intense and it is wrapped in the R3S Hybrid cover. I really wanted to love the original Intense right out of the box, It looked awesome and smelled great. For the most part, I did really enjoy throwing it but, it was so strong and my lower axis rotation did not help the cover down the lane which resulted in a bunch of poorly timed corner pins. The Intense Fire is a very different look for me than the OG, it is very clean where the OG was not and it is more round on the back of the lane, where the OG was absolutely not. The hybrid cover blended the oil line a lot better and allowed me to stay in my wheel house. For those that have not read a review of mine yetÖI have lower tilt, lower axis rotation, high-ish ball speed and a moderate rev rate. With that in mind I donít have a bunch of success with stronger bowling balls moving into the pattern. The Intense Fire was one of the only ďStrongĒ releases that Iíve rolled that gave me the freedom to use some dry boards. Is it worth picking up? I feel that if you own the HyperCell Fused or the CodeRed this might be a ball to skipÖI did get a comment on my ball review video on YouTube from a gentlemen that replaced his highly used CodeRed with the Fire and he really liked it. So, there you goÖThanks for reading, please go check out my channel for the Video and weíll see you all on the lanes #stormnation https://youtu.be/ry_ViEv4clU
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on July 27, 2018, 01:53:25 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 44ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Modified


COMMENTS

Likes: The Intense Fire for me is just acouple feet cleaner through the front part of the lane than the Hyper Cell Fused and at the same time alittle smoother but still continues. I put the same layout on both balls and the Fused seemed to pick up alittle quicker and hit the spot harder than the Fire. Compared to the regular Intense, the Fire has a quicker response on the lane but still good continuation. I went with my normal 65*5*45 layout (pin over my ring finger with the mass bias just to the right of my thumb with no weight hole) and saw 3 different shapes from the balls. For my game the Intense Fire is a better fit than the other 2. I felt the Fused came off the spot alittle too hard at times and never laid off and the Intense liked to go past the breakpoint. The Intense Fire is that happy medium between those 2. Very good ball for multiple pattern lengths. I have used it on a 44ft modified pattern and a 41ft pattern and it reacts very well on both.

Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Bowling Connection Pro Shop

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: TamerBowling on July 27, 2018, 04:48:06 PM
For full review:
http://tamerbowling.com/storm-intense-fire-bowling-ball-review/

Excerpt:
The Intense Fire offers something interesting. While Iím not gushing straight away, I like it and the feeling grows. Itís more like a fine acquired taste. I gushed about the Code Red initially, only to find that while I absolutely loved the motion, I did struggle to find the right pattern to carry with it. Turned out to be the ďsafeĒ ball to keep me close to the pocket. The Intense Fire is similar but a bit more punchy. So Iím tempered but certainly never felt like I couldnít carry with this ball.
One thing I will say. The Intense Fire has an understandable and reliable motion. So while it might sound like itís not the biggest hooking ball, once youíre in the right zone, the ball makes you feel confident with it. You donít feel like it will cheat you. Itís deceptively consistent and keeps you in play. Thereís something to be said for a ball that makes you feel like you can just throw it and youíll be OK rather than having to split boards to get a reaction you want. The Intense Fire is a ball where you feel like it can hide your mistakes. You can get on it or miss but itís smoothness will blend it out. Just get it close.
Title: Intense Fire Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 12, 2018, 05:03:06 PM
The Intense Fire is a hybrid companion to the Intense, but I donít find the two have much in common.  Where the original was very early and aggressive throughout the lane, the Fire is much easier through the fronts, getting even an extra foot or two further down the lane than you expect, before delivering an above average backend move and covering nearly all the boards itís going to at the end of the lane.  The RAD-E core keeps the ball very continuous, thereís no burning of energy or standing up with the Fire, even when the lanes start to dry up, it doesnít get weak, it just hooks more.  For a full and detailed review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCNCEitMJqM 
Title: Storm Intense Fire Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 15, 2018, 11:02:31 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  45, 4 ĺ   , 70

The Intense Fire is a strong smooth asym from Storm.  The first Intense for me was SOOO snappy that at times it was hard for me to control the backends.  The Intense Fire is still very clean, but is a hybrid, so itís smooth enough on the back to control the wet/dry.  The Intense Fire is great right out the gate for most house shots and some transition on heavier/flatter shots.  I took mine to 2000 sanded and it handles oil very well.  Itís a great benchmark ball out of the bag for me.
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: Bigmike on August 28, 2018, 09:31:19 AM
My stats: 16.5 mph ball speed, 285-315 rev rate, up the back type release with a high track. To summarize, medium speed - forward roll type of release with moderate revs.

I put the INTENSE FIRE at 55 x 4.5 x 35. This layout ended up with close to 2 oz of side weight which now doesn't require a weight hole as of August 1, 2018. I may still add one as I doubt that I will have this come 2020 when weight holes are eradicated from the game. I may add one to get this one to slow down some on the back.

I have used my INTENSE FIRE on many house and some on longer sport conditions. On the longer sport, it was squirty in box finish. A quick hit with a 2000 pad took a lot of that right out of play. The pad helped blend the heavy push in the front down to where the back end wasn't so jumpy when the INTENSE FIRE seen the friction of the end of the pattern. On house, the INTENSE FIRE is mucho ball. It really comes off the friction at the end of the pattern hard almost uncontrollably. The 2000 pad really helped to get it to slow down some but if I just use it in league play, I may need to smooth that up to 2000/4000 to get the ball to lane shine.

Compared to other piece in my bag and progression: I have been also using the new RG HALO. I am positioning the INTENSE FIRE as the ball down from the HALO when I am moving left away from the pocket. I have the original INTENSE also. I see the FIRE with the 2000 as much earlier and the INTENSE is a good ball down for my game when the FIRE is starting to dig in too hard and I want to keep a strong shape downlane.

I think that straigher/tweener players will like this one. Get the shine knocked down to suit your game if this one plays squirty out of the box. Power players may not like the hard backend of this one and may want to tone down their layouts on this one. All in all looks like a great compliment to the original and to someone wanting a ball down option from their big hitters in the bag.
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: StormRoto on September 04, 2018, 12:13:36 PM
The new release in the Premier line is the Intense Fire. I drilled mine with favorite pin up drilling, 4 x 6 x 2 no hole. For me the original Intense seemed to roll early and really strong in midlane. With the Intense Fire and the R3S Hybird coverstock I actually get a cleaner reaction early and more backend. But I also can throw the Intense Fire on the longer slicker patterns as well, with help of the RAD-E asymmetrical core. The Fire is very continuous for me compared to the original Intense. The other good thing I have noticed with the Fire it is very driller friendly and lots of bowling styles match up with the Fire. Its been a big success at our Storm Matchmakers. Brian Watson Storm Pro Shop Staff PAP 3 5/8 up 1 1/4 RPM - 400 Tilt - 17 Speed - 16-17
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: msipple on September 05, 2018, 11:22:45 AM
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3- 4 
Starting Top Weight: 3.1 oz
Ball Weight: 15
 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin buffer 4 inches

4 x 4.5 x 4
 
BOWLER STYLE:  RH - Stroker
Rev Rate:  380-420
Ball Speed: 15-16
PAP/Track:  PAP:  5 13/16Ē and 1/2" up
 
SURFACE PREP
Box Finish:  factory 1500 polished
BALL MOTION
The intense Fire with R3S Hybrid has one of the strongest back end motions for a hybrid cover that I have ever seen. This ball really  comes out of the pattern.
 COMMENTS
I bought this ball to fit in on the lower end of my arsenal. To the contrary the intense fire is clean through the heads with a very strong predictable motion. I pull it out when my Code X starts burning up and losing energy and I never lose a beat. I really like this ball.

 
Mike Sipple
Storm/Roto Grip/Amateur Staff
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: #StormNationSteve on September 14, 2018, 12:45:53 AM
This ball is HOT!

Lane pattern 43ft THS

Layout 4x4x2

Box condition

2 1/8 oz side weight, no extra hole

On the fresh,  I saw good length and continuation from the Fire. Was playing 18 @ the arrows, around 7 at the break point. Ball was strong in the midlane, but didn't have the over reaction like some other balls do on the back end. Compared to the OG Intense, the Fire is about 4 boards less angular with the same layout on the ball, with both balls at box condition. These 2 for me are all I need to get thru my league night.
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: bowlstorm3 on September 16, 2018, 08:17:26 PM
The Intense Fire is Stormís new Premier line ball. It has a R3S hybrid cover with the RAD-E core. I had some success with the original Intense on longer, higher volume patterns. Even with the shiny pearl R3S, if I didnít have oil it was too early. So, I took some time with the new Fire before drilling. Based on the Fires I saw going down the lane, it looked easier through the front part of the lane with more pop downlane. So, I went with a 50 x 4.5 x 30 layout (identical to my Intense). After throwing the Fire on a variety of patterns, I think this is a more useful version of the Intense for me. It has easier length which allows it to retain more energy downlane increasing pin carry. I have also altered the surface to 2000 for test purposes and looks just as good. Donít be afraid to put your favorite layout on this one and see what it can do for you!
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: rodbowler75 on September 27, 2018, 08:33:20 PM


After getting a chance to use my Intense Fire for awhile i really like what i've seen form this ball. It's a nice fit between my Code X and mt Intense when i need that extra pop i don't see from my Code X this ball picks right up and keeps going. The Intense Fire is really clean in the fronts for me and i drilled mine stronger than my Intense to give me a different shape on the lane. This is a great choice for anyone looking to add a high end ball to there bag.
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: hittnhard on October 07, 2018, 09:53:13 PM
Storm Intense Fire
***Rad-3 Core***
***1500-grit polished R3S Hybrid Coverstock***

The Storm Intense Fire was the second ball added to my arsenal since going exclusively Storm/Roto Grip. The first was the Storm Match Up Black Pearl.

Set up with one of my go to layouts, 65x5x40.

The plan for this piece is to be one of the stronger hybrid's in my arsenal. I wanted it to be a big step up from the Match Up Black Pearl, basically setting up the higher and lower ends of my lineup (reaction wise).

The Intense Fire, through one practice session, definitely fits the bill. Strong but not overly angular, I can see this piece being heavily relied when I need some downlane power.
I will say that it is a bit less angular that I expected. Could be the fact that it my head a compare it to the original Intense, which from my experience was very angular.

With the Intense Fire and Match Up Black Pearl, I now have two drastically different slots in my arsenal covered. I will be filling the benchmark part of my arsenal next, most likely with the Hy-Road.

#StormNation

About Me:
Cooper Mathewson, Storm Amateur Staff
Right handed, I'd call myself a weak cranker. Average speed about 16mph.
PAP 5 3/8>, 7/8^
8* axis tilt, 66* axis rotation, rev rate is right about 400
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: tommygn on October 11, 2018, 01:27:52 PM
The Intense Fire is the second ball in the premier line to use the RAD E core shape, only this time with a polished hybrid R3S cover. The core numbers of the RAD E core in a 15lb ball is 2.49 Rg, 0.050 diff, and 0.017 PSA diff. The ultramarine, persimmon, black color combination is a new look for Storm.

I drilled my Intense Fire 4 x 5.5 x 3. This is the same layout I used on my Hyper Cell Fused. The Intense and the Fused are both strong asymmetrical pieces, so I will be comparing the two. The Intense Fire in the box finish gets through the heads nicely. The Fire produces a very strong midlane read, with a hard change of direction at the breakpoint. Comparing to the Fused which has a strong continuous hard arch, the Intense Fire is a more defined and earlier shape, with more roll toward the pins. The overall hook potential of the Intense Fire is a few boards more than that of the Fused, mainly because of the stronger change of direction and earlier read of the lane. The hybrid cover in box finish of the Intense Fire reads oil a little better than that of the Fused also at box finish. These are a great one/two combination for bowlers who bowl a lot of tournaments and see lots of variety in lane patterns and lane surfaces. If you already have a Fused, and primarily only bowl league on a house shot, the two could overlap a bit. The differences in roll shapes is more noticeable on flatter patterns in my opinion.

Comparing the Intense Fire to the original Intense (R3S pearl), the Fire is earlier and stronger overall by a few boards. Bigger differences can be achieved by adjusting the cover to the Fire, as the cover is very tunable, and holds surface better than on the original Intense.
I like the Intense Fire for times when I need a defined hook shape. I would suggest the Intense Fire for anyone looking for a little angularity off the spot. There are better options than the Intense Fire if you are looking for that benchmark type reaction, unless the only thing you bowl on is a condition that you need a stronger breakpoint ball, then by all means, this IS the one ball for you.Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Storm Intense Fire bowling ball. As always, bowl up a Storm!
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: StormN3rik on October 11, 2018, 04:33:45 PM
The New Storm Intense Fire is the perfect compliment to the original Storm Intense. The Fire reads the midlane better with the Hybrid R3S Cover wrapped over the RAD E Core. I layed mine out with my favorite pin down drilling (60X4X70) and I wasnt dissapointed. This ball will work for all types of games, ball speeds, and rev rates. Go get your hands on one of the most predictable Asym balls on the market, the Storm Intense Fire. Bowl Up A storm.

Erik Ramos

Storm/Roto Grip Pro Staff
Title: Re: Intense Fire by Chris P
Post by: vampep on October 13, 2018, 02:28:51 AM
LANE CONDITION


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

First expectation was that the ball was going to be very strong, early like the snap lock but that was not the case. The ball went very long with the factory polish on it so i took that off and polished by hand(spinner). After that the ball reacted much better but still less then i had hoped for. This ball now is a better late 2nd game 3rd game ball since it's more rolly than skid snap and i'm able to control the dry part of the lane better than some other equipment.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: RGisKing on December 27, 2018, 08:28:10 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:Good

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):House Shot


COMMENTS

Likes:Very pleased

Dislikes:None so far

Intense Fire

39í House Shot

The Intense Fire is the newest release in Stormís Premier Line. The Intense Fire features the sixth generation RAD-E core and has the R3S Hybrid coverstock. The combination of core and coverstock generates generous length with a powerful backend motion.

I really havenít had time to really throw my Intense Fire. So I took it out with another bowler yesterday. We bowled about 16 games on the pair testing other balls before I got it out. The track area was burnt up so it forced me in to about 20, for my game thatís pretty deep. I bowled several games playing in there and had strings of strikes every game. As the area kept drying up I kept moving left, ended up in around 30 before we stopped. When I can generate a big hook spot from in there, it means this Intense Fire has plenty of recovery. From deep inside I had tug room and miss room out. This ball was super strong off of the spot. A strong but controllable asymmetrical. Great job Storm, this and the Intense are a very good complement to each other.



Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on January 08, 2019, 09:13:00 PM


Round Holes No Grips Proshop Ė Ball Review

Ball:  Storm Intense Fire
Layout:  30x4.75x60
Surface:  2000A
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface:  AMF HPL

Tester:  Sabrina
Average:  218
Dexterity:  Right
PAP:  4 3/4R, 3/4U
Rev Rate:  Medium

This ball has become the first ball out of my bag no matter which center I bowl in.

When I first got it drilled, we left it in OOB finish. I was playing around 10 out to 6 and it had a strong motion on the back end. We are trying to dial in my layouts for upcoming women's scratch tournaments including the National Queens this coming May. I decided we should leave it polished for the first night I threw it in our scratch league to see how it would react to more people on the lanes playing the same line as I do. During the first game before the lanes started to transition it got through the front part of the lanes and with a strong move off the friction. Once I had to move my feet left with this ball I started to leave weak 10 pins as it would not bounce hard enough off the friction. We decided to take it to 500/1000/2000 Abralon.  This took away most of the over under I see when the lanes begin to transition.  The surface change gave me a much more usable ball across a wider variety of conditions.

Overall, this ball had been one of my favorite bowling ball thus far in the Storm line. I have shot some of my highest sets this season so far with this bowling ball including a 299 game. This ball gives me just what I am looking for when the lanes are a bit oily and then when they dry out I can move my feet left and still kick out the ten pin. I am currently testing out the Storm Physix and will have a review on that one soon.
Title: Re: Intense Fire
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on February 18, 2019, 01:51:12 PM
Round Holes No Grips Proshop Ė Ball Review

Ball:  Storm Intense Fire
Layout:  30x4.75x60
Surface:  2000A
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface:  Brunswick Avilane

Tester:  Sabrina
Average:  218
Dexterity:  Right
PAP:  4 3/4R, 3/4U
Style:  Speed Dominant, High Tilt

This ball has become the first ball out of my bag when I bowl league. I tried it with OOB finish(polished) but found it to be a bit squirty. I was playing around 10 out to 6 and it had a strong motion on the back end. I decided we should leave it polished for the first night I threw it in our scratch league to see how it would react to more people on the lanes playing the same line as I do. During the first game before the lanes started to transition it got through the front part of the lanes and bounced off the friction. Once I had to move my feet left with this ball I started to leave weak 10 pins as it would not bounce hard enough off the friction. We decided that a surface change was need to open up the window downlane once the pattern transitioned into the puddle.  We ended up at 2000. Since taking this ball to 2000 I have no problems starting with this ball during league and ending my set with it. It gets through the front part of the lanes and allows me to make incremental moves all night.

Overall, this ball had been one of my favorite bowling ball thus far in the Storm line. I have shot some of my highest sets this season so far with this bowling ball and also had a 299 game. This ball gives me just what I am looking for when the lanes are a bit oily and then when they dry out I can move my feet left and still kick out the ten pin. I am currently testing out the Storm Physix and will have a review on that one soon.

Sabrina Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Storm Advisory Staff