BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on October 19, 2018, 10:21:05 AM

Title: PhysiX
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on October 19, 2018, 10:21:05 AM
Storm PhysiX
The Storm PhysiX high performance bowling ball was carefully designed over a long period of time to give bowlers a ball that offers awesome power and dynamics. Your competition might think you are cheating!

Color: Red/Blue/Purple
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: NRG Hybrid Reactive
Core: Atomic
Finish: 3000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.48 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.053 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Apple Berry Crisp
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: wburr835 on October 19, 2018, 11:06:23 PM
COMMENTS
RH Bowler-55 years old
PAP 4" over, 1/8" down
Avg speed-15.8 mph
Rev rate-approx. 325

With all the talk and anticipation for the new Storm PhysiX, I must confess some childlike impatience to drill one.  I liked the reactions of several recent Hybrid Asymmetrics (Crux, Code Red and Hyper Cell Fused) so it was automatic that I would drill one.  Unlike my normal behavior of drilling a ball to replace one which was dead or crappy, I wasn't filling a need or hole in my arsenal.  I decided to go with a similar layout, 5" x 4" x 2.5", to what I have in my Fused, 5" x 4" x 3".  This layout gives me a "long and strong" shape.  I was hoping for a stronger overall read than the Fused but not a solid type reaction.

The PhysiX performed just as I anticipated.  The .053 differential and .017 Intermediate Differential provided a strong move downlane and exceptional continuation.  At box finish (3000 abralon), it provided a cleaner path through the heads and mids, picking up a heavy, late midlane read and strong, low pin action.  I could back off a little bit and go more directly or open my angles and come around it more, with both methods carrying well.  Compared to the Fused, the PhysiX was a 3 and 2 move left.  For a further comparison, the Sure Lock was earlier and 2 boards more overall than the PhysiX.

I see the PhysiX fitting in nicely between the biggest ball on the market, the Sure Lock, and the strong, hard arc provided by the Code X.  I never got a good reaction from the Intense or Intense Fire however this Asymmetric Hybrid, the PhysiX, makes a great addition to the Premier line.

Warren G Burr
PBA50
#StormNation
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: StormAndrew on October 20, 2018, 10:44:28 AM
When I threw my first couple shots with this ball I could not believe how much overall hook I saw. I used it on a fresh house shot and the ball read early and was significantly continuous down lane.

We placed a pin down layout at 70x4x80 which is intended for fresh house and sport patterns. I got very far left, for myself, standing around 32/33 on the approach targeting 9 down lane. To give a reference on how I normally play the lanes on fresh THS (Typical House Shots) my feet are normally 19/20 on the approach so you could see the significant move this ball had me make.

Once I matched up in the right part of the lane all I did was chased the line left, threw the ball right and the PHYSIX continued to drive through the pins. The ball was very controllable in the mid-lane and produced a very smooth reaction.

I did not alter the surface as I kept it out of box finish at 3000 grit. This will be a great ball to have in your arsenal for fresh patterns and/or when you need something strong with continuation down lane.
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: jshoe97 on October 20, 2018, 11:36:59 AM
The physiX has the never used before stateside NRG hybrid coverstock, and boasts the all new atomic core with an RG of 2.48 and diff of 053. This core will really help the ball see the lane sooner and blend those wet dry conditions you often run into during league and tournament play. I decided to structure this video a little differently, and used a 41í challenge pattern to really highlight the misses (or lack thereof) for this ball. When compared to the Code X, the physiX is visibly 2-3í earlier and a few more boards more overall. I can see the physiX as being the first ball out of my bag for many medium to longer patterns when the sure lock is a little too much ball and the Code x is too quick off of friction. Be sure to preorder your own for the October 19th release! #StormNation

Review Video: https://youtu.be/xnUcpYft3aI

Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: BSumner on October 22, 2018, 11:08:33 AM
Storm PhysiX

Brian Sumner
Storm Amateur Staff

This ball impressed me right off the press. Thatís not something that happens for me very often. A few things I look for in any new ball are; when does it rev, where does it hook, and how does it drive through the rack? I generally get an unexpected reaction in one of those areas. Not with the PhysiX. I got exactly what I was looking for in all 3 phases.
 
I went with the pin buffer layout method for this ball. 3.5x6.25x2.5 (80x3.5x50 for you Dual Angle folks). Looking to take full advantage of the huge Atomic Core and the 3000 grit NRG hybrid cover, I wanted to see the ball rev early and hold a strong continuous hook phase. No reason to dummy this thing down. When youíve got a big engine, you donít cruise through a neighborhood, you race down the highway! Seriously though, I didnít want to see this thing push 45 feet and bounce left nor did I want something stable and safe. Iím looking for muscle and versatility from fresh house patterns to those flatter, high volume challenge patterns.

I initially tested this thing out on a broken-down house pattern from a previous night. With that said, I assumed I would probably see very early read and a lazy backend reaction. Again, I was very happy to see the reaction I intended to get when I laid this out. Now, on the fresh the shape got a little more angular, but only slightly. Not that I would suggest throwing this ball late in your league night or beyond the transition in a tournament, but it is nice to know that if youíre lined up and throwing well, this ball could very well go the distance if you needed it to. 
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: Kevin Duncan on October 24, 2018, 04:32:33 PM
Storm Physix
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm Physix utilizes the new Atomic Core and the NRG Hybrid Coverstock.  The aim here was to fill the reaction slot between the Storm Sure Lock and Storm Code X.  We have success!  We saw that exact intended motion - not as early as the Sure Lock but a little earlier breakpoint than the Code X.  The Storm Physix had good continuation at the pocket, which was the case with the Storm HyRoad X as well.  The Storm Physix will be a good option on medium to longer patterns for us rev challenged seniors and the speed dominant bowlers.
Check out Liz Johnson throwing the Storm Physix for a 300-game and tournament title at the 2018 Sam Ho Korea International Cup held this month.  The ball looked really impressive.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: TonyMarino on October 25, 2018, 09:34:26 AM
The Physix is the latest release in Stormís Premier line. It features the brand new Atomic core which by the numbers is a medium RG and a higher DIFF and the NRG Hybrid cover which is an earlier and stronger than average formula in Stormís line.

I have thrown the Physix on a 42í house shot as well as a 40í 2.5:1 pattern and what I see is that the Physix gets down lane better than the surface finish lead me to believe and the shape on the back is what I consider to be ďslightly aggressiveĒ. I donít think the shape is skid snap or super roll-y, but somewhere in the middle.

To me, the Physix fits right between the Intense Fire(IF) and the Sure Lock(SL). For me it read the patterns quicker than the IF, but not nearly as strong as the SL. The Nano technology in the cover gives the Physix a more rounded shape down lane than most hybrids I am used to seeing. Because of that, the roll of the Physix feels a little more like a solid to me than a pearl but definitely has more length than a traditional NRG cover.

I think the Physix is great if you are looking for a high end asymmetrical piece that is just a little cleaner than traditional high end asyms.
Title: Storm Physix Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on October 29, 2018, 03:15:53 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 5 1/4, 70

The Storm Physix is a strong nano hybrid asymmetrical from Storm.  Theyíre using a new core, the Atomic Core and a new cover never before seen in the US.  The result is a heavy rolling but still snappy ball.  The Nano cover makes the ball rev up quickly, but since itís a hybrid with a lot of differential in the core it still flips off the breakpoint and continues.  Itís a TON stronger than the previous release, the Intense Fire.  The Physix is the strongest combination of roll, with strong flip Storm has made to date.
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: cmattingly on October 31, 2018, 12:19:41 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: 20mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Reads the mids well

Dislikes: mine could be a little stronger down lane

The Storm PhysiX introduces brand new technology stateside.  The New Core (Atomic) and New Cover (NRG Hybrid).  This ball was an immediate winner.  Liz Johnson won the SamHo Cup in Korea after drilling hers and just a couple weeks later nearly all of the Storm/Roto Staffers included this ball in their arsenal for attacking the US Open.

I decided (against my better judgement) to drill this one pin down.  60x5x70 with a P3 hole.
I wanted to drill this one pin up to give me a little sharper motion...and I will my next one.

This ball reads the middle of the lane so well.  I could use a little more shape down lane though.
I do bowl on wood so I think the ball is just too strong, with too strong of a lay out, to get the ball down lane and for it to make a big change of direction.  My PhysiX is still pretty fresh but looks like it will be very good with higher volume patterns, sport patterns where you don't want the ball to make a drastic change of direction, or when the lanes get wet/dry and you have that over/under reaction.

Balls that are stuck on replay for me at the moment are:

CodeX (pin down)-60x5x70 with a P3 hole
CodeX (pin up)- 60x5x35
HyroadX (pin down)-60x5x70 no hole
HyperCell Fused (pin down)-60x5x70 P3 hole
RotoGrip RED Poly Spare ball  ;)


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on November 01, 2018, 01:15:54 PM
The new Physix has become a staple in my bag from the beginning. My first impression out of the box was twofold; one, WOW this ball looks great, the Blue/Purple/Red combo looks so good sitting on the shelf and the light blue color helps me read the ball motion. Secondly, it smells great. The Apple Berry Crisp smells good yet it is not overbearing. The Physix for me is the ball the Code X was not. By this I mean, I always wanted a motion stronger than the Code X, but something weaker than my Sure Lock. The Physix accomplishes this. The Physix has an overall round shape that the Code X does not. The Physix allows me to control the pocket better than the Code X because it sees the midlane better. Personally, the Code X was too sharp off the spot and the Sure Lock is really early. The PhysiX is right in the middle and I can manipulate the surface to control the lane. Everyone should have a Physix in their bag!!
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on November 01, 2018, 01:18:04 PM
The new Physix has become a staple in my bag from the beginning. My first impression out of the box was twofold; one, WOW this ball looks great, the Blue/Purple/Red combo looks so good sitting on the shelf and the light blue color helps me read the ball motion. Secondly, it smells great. The Apple Berry Crisp smells good yet it is not overbearing. The Physix for me is the ball the Code X was not. By this I mean, I always wanted a motion stronger than the Code X, but something weaker than my Sure Lock. The Physix accomplishes this. The Physix has an overall round shape that the Code X does not. The Physix allows me to control the pocket better than the Code X because it sees the midlane better. Personally, the Code X was too sharp off the spot and the Sure Lock is really early. The PhysiX is right in the middle and I can manipulate the surface to control the lane. Everyone should have a Physix in their bag!!
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: Onefrombills on November 01, 2018, 05:06:37 PM
Storm PhysIX
Color: Red/Blue/Purple
Coverstock: NRG Hybrid Reactive
Core: Atomic
Finish: 3000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.48 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.053 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Apple Berry Crisp

The PhysiX is the is the newest ball in the permire line. The Storm PhysiX introduces brand new technology stateside. The New Core Atomic and New Cover NRG Hybrid. This piece comes at 3000-grit Abralon and the new NRG Hybrid reactive cover stock.
First thing you will see whit this ball is how SEXY it is!!!!
Next you will have that wonderful Apple Berry Crisp.
After all of that and you get the ball punched up you will see some motion from this piece. When I needed a little pop after the CodeX was bleading out, this is that go-to- piece. It will get down the lane very well and have stored power to blast the pins.
Looking for a ball to give a diffrent shape and still need a good med-to-heavy oil ball, well this is that ball.
Go get the new Storm PhysiX and #BowlaSTORM!
BOWLER STYLE: RH - Stroker Rev Rate: 320 - 350 Ball Speed: 15-16 PAP: 4 7/8 right 5/8 up.
Storm - Roto Grip - VISE - Logo Infusion Staff Member
Brian Hirsch
Title: Storm Physix by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on November 15, 2018, 10:20:39 AM
The PhysiX is a pairing of the new Atomic Core and NRG Hybrid, which has been used on international balls before, but not seen stateside.  Nano covers have very dominant and recognizable features, namely being continuous, and blending wet/dry well, and the PhysiX definitely does both of these things.  The best way I can describe it is that itís comfortable to throw, I never feel like I have to chuck it to get it down the lane, or really hit it to get it to finish, I feel like I can just line up and execute a nice relaxed shot.  It has plenty of traction, so it can dig through wetter or longer conditions, but because it blends wet/dry so well, I find that adjusting to transition is easy, I get subtle indications that the lane is changing, like a 4 pin rather than a big 4.  Itís also continuous enough that as Iím forced deeper on the lane, I can keep using it rather than having to go to the bag for something else, which is often very helpful.  Iím a really big fan of this one and it goes everywhere with me!

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rlYQNj2fjz4
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: StoRoto2013 on November 15, 2018, 10:57:36 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):  THS Pattern

The Storm PhysiX is the newest release by Storm in its Premier line of bowling balls.  The PhysiX is a low RG (2.48) and high differential (.053) bowling ball that is a monster in the oil but responsive when it hits the dry boards.  This dynamic reaction is due to the NRG Hybrid Reactive Cover and the new Atomic Core.  The layout I used was the 4 X 4 X 2 Storm layout and roughly the dual angle numbers are 60 X 4 X 30.  My axis point is 5 5/8 over and ĺ up, medium ball speed, rev rate approx. 300 RPM and I bowl right handed.  I was able to throw the PhysiX on a house shot I was expecting the PhysiX to start up and burn up before getting to the backendÖ  I WAS WRONG!  COMPLETELY WRONG! The Physix did not quit and even with my Rev Rate throwing pins around as I move left with the transition.  During the practice session I compared the PhysiX with Hyper Cell Fused and the Code X. The PhysiX combined the best parts of each of them but just overall stronger.  The PhysiX read the lane like a Code X but just with more overall reaction.  The PhysiXís backend reaction is very similar to the Hyper Cell Fused without the over skid in the front part of the lane. The PhysiX impressed me so much during the practice session.  That I used it the following night in league and boy did it open up the lane for me to score. The NRG hybrid shell gives the PhysiX enough push and the Atomic Core motors it around the corner.   

The Premier Line is now truly Premier with the addition of the PhysiX.



Likes: Versatile

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: Chad Hauser - Storm Staff on November 15, 2018, 12:12:58 PM
Storm PHYSIX - defines reaction!

The PHYSIX is a ball that is truly legit when it comes to motion. With the amazing core and hybrid cover stock this ball has multiple options and entry angles, and yes you have to ask yourself if its legal. That's what you think when you throw it and see the reaction along with the pins exploding.  My specs are 300 rpm, PAP - 6 x 1up, 70 deg axis rotation, 10 tilt. For me with my specs I have a very high track which will cause the ball to read earlier, however my axis rotation being at 70 deg helps push balls down lane, sometimes further than I would like. I drilled mine 50 x 4 1/4 x 35. The PHYSIX is a ball that depending on what surface you use, can do whatever you like and still hit hard. I have thrown on PBA and house shots and can find a line on both that gives me forgiveness.  Compared to the Code X, this ball will grab the friction a bit sooner and has a stronger motion on the backend. It does like oil, but even with less oil and a tighter line you can see a consistent reaction. You can adjust the surface without fear of losing its reaction like some balls. It truly is a great ball and can fit all styles of bowling. Drill the ball for the shape you want and then adjust the surface to what fits your style of play or lane condition and you wont be disappointed. Its a strong ball that you can trust on those tough conditions.
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: ct9pinking on November 20, 2018, 02:50:48 PM
PhysiX
A Brand New Core to go along with a NRG Hybrid Reactive Cover canít get any more exciting than that! To me another thing I love about the Storm/Roto Grip brand-a company that actually comes out with new things instead of just making the same ball with a different name.
To me the PhysiX is a blend of Sure Lock in the front part of the lane and Stronger than the Code X on the backend.  The PysiX is perfect for heavier volume patterns that are longer in length.  Right off the press, the PhysiX is ready for competition.
Storm has created another Asymmetrical ball that I wonít leave home without. 
Smells Awesome Too- Mmm Apple Berry Crisp!
Bowler Info: PAP 4 9/16 x 1 3/16 up; Ball Speed 18mph; Rev Rate 620 RPM
#rotogrip
#squadrg
Keith DeMaine
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Connecticut State & County HOF
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
Storm PhysiX Ball Review by Keith DeMaine
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: Bigmike on November 24, 2018, 05:08:37 PM
My specs are 16.5 mph ball speed with about 285-315 RPM rev rate. New axis pts are 4 1/2 > 1/2 ^. I need my tilt and rotation checked but it used to be around 15* tilt with 35* rotation. Tweener with softer speed is my style.

I drilled my first PHYSIX - I up with a slight variation from my benchmark layout for me of 75/4.75/30. This puts the pin just above my bridge with the cg just slightly right of my grip middle. No weight hole, but left the cover at box which is 3000. I liked the reaction of PHYSIX - I so much I went ahead and drilled a second one at 45/4/30 which puts me close to the Storm layout of 4 x 4 x 2. PHYSIX II was also left box.

Make no mistake, both balls are strong! PHYSIX I was right at home on my Challenge League pattern as I put up 725 right out of the box with it on a pattern that only 12 of the 48 players are averaging above 200 on. I got good strong recovery off the spot but the 3000 surface didn't burn too early and let me blend across the lane with adjustments. I was also able to take my hand out of it and stay right and pick up my speed and it was gold throwing it that way also. PHYSIX II was more of a gamble for a 45' PBA Dragon pattern that I bowled a NON-CHAMPS Regional on. On practice day, I couldn't miss with the P2. I probably got lulled to sleep not realizing that I needed to take it down to 2000 to have any reaction the next day crossing the house. Live and learn.

Compared to other pieces in my bag, PI is still about 4 and 2 stronger than my HYROAD X. P2 is about 3 and 2 more than PI. I also have a SURE LOCK with a newer cover and the PHYSIX II was very close and would probably be right there with a 2000 surface on it.

Drill the PHYSIX if you are looking for something versatile as the PI has some lane shine on it and still rolls on the back very well. Also keep in mind, that surface adjustments put it up there with STORM's big hitters like the SURE LOCK and Roto's HALO.
Title: Storm PhysiX
Post by: StormRoto on November 25, 2018, 08:46:01 PM
The Storm ball in the premier line is the Physix.  The Physix has a brand new core called the Atomic Core.  Which actually has a the Storm logo built in the weight block.
The Physix uses the NRG Hybrid Reactive which is a very strong cover.  I drilled mine 5 x 4 x 4.5 pin down.  I polished it with Storm Reacta Shine.  As with big asymmetrical cores and strong covers I have a hard time getting them down lane.  With the polish it did the trick as I was presently surprised with how much down lane reaction I got with the Physix.  The Physix is earlier than my Code x but not as early as my Halo, but has similar shape down lane as the Code X.  So it fills a hole when the Code X isn't early enough but still gives me great continuous motion down lane. Great new addition to the Storm Premier line!

Brian Watson - Pro Shop Staff
PAP - 3 5/8 up 1  1/4
Tilt - 17
Speed - 16-17
RPM - 400
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: fazzone22 on November 28, 2018, 09:08:56 PM
Recently Storm has been missing a stronger asymmetrical hybrid ball and with the new Storm Physix you are not going to be disappointed. I drilled my 5.5 x 5.5 x .5, this ball is super clean and stores all itís energy on the back. Now with it being a hybrid it will not always be the best on the long/heavy patterns but when compared to the Roto Grip Halo, it will be your next ball choice. I can see the Physix being a  great ball on any pattern 40 feet and above.
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: PJ Haggerty on November 29, 2018, 11:51:10 PM
Storm PhysiX Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The new Storm PhysiX is something special.  The research driven Atomic core wrapped with a hybrid cover presents a very dynamic ball with lots of possibilities.  The PhysiX is the latest addition to the Premier Line and does not disappoint.  After drilling two of them thus far, Iím confident this ball will get a lot of use.

The first one I drilled is my usual first layout on a ball:  5.5 x 5 x 70.  This puts the mass bias just to the right of my thumb.  Iíve been able to use this one on the fresh and when I need more of a forward motion down lane.  I left the surface at box and it creates a very smooth, predictable motion. 

The second one I drilled is mapped out as 5 x 3 x 30.  I wanted to experiment with the new side weight rules.  I see more length and continuation out of this PhysiX.  The surface is box with some lane shine, but when I need to create more angle, this is the one I go to. 

If you need an upgrade in the high end of your arsenal, drill a PhysiX.   Itís a ball you can manipulate the surface with and have the ability to use on multiple patterns.   Experiment with the new specifications, too!  You might be able to create a shape you havenít seen before.

#StormNation
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: fjcallahan on December 03, 2018, 04:47:35 PM
The PhysiX is the newest Premier releases from the team at Storm. First off, this weight block looks awesome, the crew spent a lot of time and effort to dial this one in. The numbers are 2.48 RG, 053 Total Diff and 017 Intermediate diff. That and the NRG Hybrid cover at 3000Ö..This ball just looked unique going down the lane, it is not often that a company gets a core/cover to match up this well. The overall shape of the PhysiX on the lane for me was a rounded but powerful arc. It was almost like a stronger Phaze II, if thatís possible. The pins stayed low on the deck and mixed well with my bad shots. I drilled one for my nephew who really twists it up and he could throw it anywhere and get it to recover very well. Keep an eye out for my review video on Fred Jís Pro-Shop channel on YouTube soon. Compared to the CodeX , the PhysiX is a few boards stronger overall with the CodeX a few more angular due to the R2S cover. Iíve written about how much I love the RAD series stuff and now with this new tech inside the PhysiXÖI got my popcorn ready. #stormnation
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: hittnhard on December 06, 2018, 03:22:56 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: JasonHollingsworth on December 17, 2018, 12:39:53 PM
Versatility.

That is the best way so sum up the new Storm Physix. One of the most versatile high performance balls I have had the pleasure of throwing in a long time.

I have been able to throw this ball now on a few different surfaces and conditions and all this ball does is strike.

On a THS at my home center, with old wood lanes and high friction, I am able to move left and create some serious down lane area. This ball gets though the middle of the lane without sacrificing losing energy. The ball does not overreact off the dry boards, but also hooks in the oil when missed in. The ball when entering the pcoket keeps the pins nice and low, which means improved striking percentage.

I also was able to throw this ball on a very flat, 1.5-1, US Open type pattern on Pro Anvil lane. I was able to blend the pattern on the fresh, my ball could make the corner from right of the track but never over hooked when it was slightly left of target. Once the lanes opened up some, I was able to move in pretty far left, around 5th arrow and was able to open my angles and create area that not many people had. The ball conserves so much energy into the pins, its not often you get a ball that allows so many angles of entry while not sacrificing carry.

If you are in the market for a high end ball that will make its way onto the lanes almost everytime you shoe, up, the new Storm Physix is the ball for you.

#stormnation

Jason Hollingsworth
Storm Amateur Staff

Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: rodbowler75 on December 20, 2018, 07:43:12 PM
I've always been a fan of the Storm hybrid covers some of my biggest success has been with them. So when the Physix was announced i was really excited to get this ball in my hands. Using the new NRG coverstock gave this ball a different look in my bag than the other high end balls i have. I drilled the Physix 40 x 5.5 x 35 very clean in the front part of the lane and even with surface this ball still pops on the back for me. This ball has become a benchmark ball in my lineup and a great choice for someone looking to add to there bag.

Title: Storm PhysiX review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on December 27, 2018, 08:29:30 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Cover: NRG Hybrid Reactive
Weightblock: Atomic
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.48
Diff: 0.053

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Far Over Ring 45 X 5 1/4 X 20

The Storm PhysiX is the newest Premier release and adds another level of hook to anyone's arsenal. The NRG covers have equated to one thing across the board; mid-lane DIG. The Hybrid formulation of the NRG used on the Physix allows for much improved continuation compared to the Sure Lock, but this ball doesn't miss the spot.

The teamed up the outstanding cover with an equally powerful new weightblock called the ATOMIC Core. First glance will tell you that his core shape is completely unique, right down to the iconic storm Bolt. It's the first thing that grabs your eye but R&D will be happy to let you know that part of the design isn't there just for looks. As the company itself writes, " Its prodigious oomph accepts credit from the strategically placed inlets surrounding the oval bolt and greater mass displacement along the z-axis creating an enhanced intermediate differential."

So you're getting power and drive from both the core and the cover. I don't often mention this as a selling point because I'm much more for the technical side of things but this ball also smells amazing. As with all higher performance balls, I chose to test the PhysiX on a high volume, somewhat unforgiving house pattern that I bowl league on once per week. This pattern will weed out strong balls from pretenders in a hurry when you float one right. I love how steep I can get on a fresh pattern with the Physix. 


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: RGisKing on December 27, 2018, 09:04:04 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:

Volume:

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Physix by Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on December 27, 2018, 10:05:15 PM
The Storm Physix is Stormís newest Premier line release.  The Physix is covered with the NRG Hybrid Reactive  and is finished at 3000 grit matte finish.  The Physix contains the Atomic Core and is scented with a nice Apple Berry Crisp scent.  I drilled mine with the Pin above the Middle finger and the CG kicked right of my mid grip.  This is an older layout that I used to use all the time which used to give me a lot of length with a pretty strong but controlled backend reaction.  I wanted to try something different to add a different element to my arsenal.  Most of my solids roll early and I wanted to create more length.  With this layout, the Physix really gets down lane and has a rounded shape at the roll phase.  This ball reminds me very much of the old Storm Dimension which was one of my all time favorites.  At 3000 grit Iím seeing more length and not as much grab in the oil that I would normally like in a matte finished ball.  But I think itís a good finish for medium volume patterns that are longer length like 37-40 ft.  If I want something that grabs sooner for heavier oil Iíd sand it down to 1000 or 2000 grit.  I would recommend the Physix for anyone looking for a medium reactive dull ball.  I believe the Physix is a good all around ball that you can make changes like grit or adding polish.
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: tommygn on December 28, 2018, 08:57:39 AM
The PhysiX is the new release in the premier line of balls from Storm. This high end bowling ball features a new weight block design called Atomic core which has an Rg of 2.48, a diff of 0.053, and an intermediate diff of 0.017, in 15lb bowling balls. The NRG hybrid cover is making its debut here the states. The PhisiX comes from the factory with a 3000 grit abralon finish.

 The layout I used on the PhysiX is a 4x5x3,  using Stormís pin buffer layout method. I will be comparing the PhysiX to a Code X with a layout of 4x6x3. Both balls have their respective factory finish of 3000. The PhysiX reads the front part of the lane more, compared to the solid cover Code X, which will be more suited for higher volumes of oil, or slicker lane surfaces. Once the PhysiX gets into the hook phase and starts to turn towards the pocket, the shape is more defined than the Code X. It is also noteworthy that the PhysiX does have the MB placed 1Ē closer to the PAP than the Code X. The PhysiX flare rings are closer together than the Code X, which can be explained by the overall drop in differential and intermediate diff. This tighter flare migration helps the ball shape a little sharper downlane for my style of play. I have been using the PhysiX  when a strong arch hook shape is needed. The PhysiX is versatile enough that I can move left, take hand out of the ball, and go more firm and direct, with excellent carry, as well as move right, and slow hook the ball with great continuation.

The hybrid NRG cover does take a little maintenance to keep it performing as close to box as can be. A little touch up with a fresh abralon pad, or a light pressure cleaning with some Reacta Scuff will help the PhysiX regain the strong traction that the NRG cover is known for. I have let the PhysiX lane shine a good amount, and have found it very useful as I have been bowling the most on medium to medium heavy volume conditions as of late. Dropping the surface texture down to 1000 or 500, will give any bowler all the traction they may need for heavy volume lane conditions. The PhysiX will be usable on anything from medium to heavy oil, depending on surface finish. Thank you for taking a moment to read my review of the PhysiX. Remember to always bowl up a Storm!
Title: PhysiX review - Mark Tarkington
Post by: GutterLine on January 07, 2019, 09:39:58 AM
Right Handed
Ball weight:  16
Rev Rate:  400
Ball Speed:  17
Axis Tilt:  7
Axis Rotation:  45*
PAP:  3 3/4 horizontal, 7/8 up
Layout:  50 x 4 Ĺ x 50

I drilled up the Physix with one of my go-to layouts for big asymmetricals.  Wanted to be able to have a good comparison to the other asyms that I tend to lean on for most patterns.

Out of the box, I was uber impressed with the Physix.  Iíve only had a chance to use it on THS, but itís pretty amazing with a puddle and room right.  The box finish acquired lane shine quickly, so it gained additional length rather quickly, which was not an issue, since the patterns were breaking down kind of quickly.

This ball fit right into my comfort zoneÖstand left, spin right, strike.  As the lanes transitioned, I was able to continue moving left, until I ran out of space.  Then it was time to put it away.  Thus far, the Physix has only made it through two games before I have to put it back in the bag, but for those two games, itís really good.

The Physix is a great ball up from the Code X and a couple balls up from the Code Black.  It fits into my arsenal quite well.
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on January 09, 2019, 12:33:00 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40ft and 42ft

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: WHAT AN AMAZING BALL!!!!!!! This is the perfect ball motion for me!! Not too early like some of the other asymetricals with the perfect amount of midlane read. This ball hooks a lot so I need a good bit of oil if I want to use it for an extended amount of time but this ball doesn't it at all when I circled the lane with it. I never got too deep to the point that it started to slow down. I went with the 65*5*75 layout and threw it up against my Code X and SureLock. It was cleaner than both and stronger than both through the midlane. I left it at the box surface and really like it there. The closest thing Ive ever thrown to this ball is the original Lock with the only difference being the Physix is much stronger, I have the same layout on my Lock as my Physix. Anyone needing something for a heavier condition will love this ball. They can start with it and never have to put it down when the lanes change.

Nick Smith
Storm Amateur Staff



Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PhysiX
Post by: bowlstorm3 on January 12, 2019, 01:27:24 AM
The Storm PhysiX has the NRG hybrid cover with the Atomic core. Unless Iím on a ton of volume, asymmetric bowling balls donít always match up too well for me. The Sure Lock is often too early and I couldnít find a place for the Code X after loving the Code Black and Code Red. The Intense Fire was quite different. I drilled my Fire 50 x 4.5 x 30. Due to my roll, I still see that ďasym stand upĒ in the mid lane, but I can use it deeper into a set if I have a decent amount of oil.

With all of that said, my home center went back to a tighter 46 foot pattern recently so I decided to punch a PhysiX. I wanted to avoid overlap with the Fire so I went with a 50 x 5.5 x 30 layout. With similar 3000 grit surfaces, I find the PhysiX a couple feet longer than my Fire, but the shape is also quite different. I never have to force the PhysiX down the lane, which makes it feel kind of like itís not an asym core for me (not because it doesnít hook a lot). Itís quite amazing. This ball will be in my bag for every tournament and league night for quite some time to come!

I think this ball will fit a variety of styles. I have witnessed a 500 plus rev rate guy fall in love with it just the same as a 300 rev rate, speed dominant player. Give one a try - you wonít be disappointed.