BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 10, 2019, 10:47:37 AM

Title: PRO-Motion
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on July 10, 2019, 10:47:37 AM
Storm continues their Belmo Signature series of bowling balls with the Storm PRO-Motion. For this ball Storm and Jason Belmonte teamed up to create a ball with a unique weight block, the Piston core, that works with all styles of bowlers. This core is wrapped with the SPEC Solid Reactive coverstock which is not affected by heavy oil and keeps a powerful motion through the backend of the lane.

Color: Steel Blue
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Core: Piston Core
Coverstock: SPEC Solid Reactive
Finish: 2000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.52 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.049 (15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Vanilla Snap
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: StormAndrew on July 22, 2019, 01:44:43 PM
Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJNvZtI7AbM&feature=youtu.be

Ball Review:
I had the opportunity to drill 2 Pro-Motions and experiment with some new layouts as I been looking to expand upon my arsenal. Both layouts have lower flaring pin distances then I am used to. I wanted to see cleaner more angular motions especially when it comes to confronting transition.

The first layout I used was 45 x 4 1/4 x 35. The first and last angle is something I liked on my Hy-Road Nano as it is one of my favorite benchmark balls. The pin distance on the Nano was a more aggressive 3 1/2 pin. Lately I have felt handcuffed in the wrong ball later in blocks as it would flare too early thus burning up and not having the right shape down lane. This layout, and in particular the next layout which we will discuss shortly, will allow me to stay in the ball longer on the fresh and possibly jump into it as a first transition ball. I noticed I was able to start in my comfort zone then slowly start to chase it in. I had to make sure I threw it to the dry as if I missed inside the ball wouldn't recover in time to make it back to the pocket. I would have probably seen that recovery in one of my other stronger layouts. As long as my angles were open to the dry the ball matched up real well.

The second Pro-Motion has a layout of 60 x 4 3/4 x 30. This will get the ball even cleaner through the front and provide even more angle down lane. What I found interesting with this particular layout I was able to play 2 different lines and shapes at different houses. In the video I was able to jump inside and swing the lane a bit creating good shape down lane. I bowled in a different center the following day and was able to pike it up the track area and found a whole bunch of room. The latter is something I am looking more for; keeping me right for a longer period of time as that will help create maximum carry. It is nice knowing that if the lane develops where I have to jump left this ball may still be an option as well.

All Storm Bowling enthusiasts will love this ball. The Pro-Motion is a great benchmark ball that provides a lot of options in terms of layouts and in creating different shapes which is what is needed when bowling in different environments.
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Pbapolizzi on July 26, 2019, 03:55:36 PM
ProMotion by Belmo
Drill Angles at 70x5x40

To start this is a completely different shape then any Storm/roto ball I have ever thrown. The Spec cover
allows for the ball to start digging in heavy volumes, but the new core shape with an RG of 2.52 and diff of .049
creates a smooth, round continuous shape. You have heard it from alot of places so far, and benchmark is the correct word.
This has been the first ball out of my bag since i drilled it. I am going to drill another one as well! Fits well inbetween
the Crux prime and IQ tour!

Chris Polizzi
Regional Champion, Bowlersmart Proshop Operator
Title: PRO-Motion
Post by: #StormNationSteve on July 28, 2019, 01:45:27 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft

Volume: 24ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Continuation thru the pindeck

Dislikes: nothing yet


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

The Storm Pro Motion is the middle ball in the Belmo line of Storm bowling balls. This ball is a great benchmark piece. Compared to the Crux Prime, for me, it is about I was about 4 board right on the lane with the Pro Motion. The Pro Motion is a much cleaner ball thru thru the fronts than the Crux Prime, which creates more area, and pin action at the pocket.

My Pro Motion is drilled 5x5x3, which puts the pin above the fingers. I tested it in bow condition.

#StormNation
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on July 28, 2019, 07:53:17 PM
Ball:  Storm Pro Motion
Layout: 4 1/2 x 2
Surface:  Box
Lane Condition:  THS mediumvolume
Lane Surface:  Brunswick Anvilane

Tester:  Sabrina
Average:  228
Dexterity:  Right

I am very impressed with this ball by Jason Belmonte. I never threw the Timeless or Drive so I can not compare this to those two balls. This ball will be one that will always be taken to tournaments. It is a ball that I am going to have to use when they are oily. I will definitely be able to use it in our scratch league in the fall to start the night and move my feet left as the night goes on or it might be one that I bring out towards the third game when I have to start moving my feet left in order to kick out the 10 pin. I do not have a high rev rate so balling up instead of down is something I have to do.

I also like that this ball has the SPEC cover stock. I have 2 Crux Primes and this cover stock has been amazing. We de-oiled the one I use the most and hardly any oil came out of the ball which was amazing. I am looking forward to seeing what this ball gives me during our fall league and also what it will give me when I go to tournaments.

Sabrina Groves
Round Holes No Grips Proshop
Storm Advisory Staff
www.stormbowling.com
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on August 05, 2019, 09:19:04 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42ft

Volume: medium to high

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): modified House shot


COMMENTS

Likes: The newest edition of the Belmo series balls is proving to be the best of the 3 so far. For me core that was in the Timless was too big and too strong for that weaker cover causing it to be very unpredictable. Then the Drive put a stronger cover around that big strong core and the ball just became too soon and too strong for more bowlers.
The new ProMotion has new core technology wrapped with the new SPECTO cover, same cover that is on the Crux Prime.

Layout - 65*5*45 at box finish

So far the closest thing I would compare the Pro Motion to would be a cross between a Phase2 and an IQ tour solid. The Pro Motion provides great early midlane read with a smooth controllable continuous motion through the back part of the lane. It needs a pretty good amount of oil in the front part of the lane to keep it from picking up too quick and slowing down too fast as the ball is pretty strong, for me its stronger than the Phase2 and IQ tour. My Pro Motion is a step down from my big asym solid balls like the Crux Prime and Code X. Ive thrown against the SuperSoniq, Phase2, and the new Idol Pro(review coming later). Its sooner than the SuperSoniq and alittle less overall just because its smoother, and also the Idol Pro due to the light sheen that comes with the Idol Pro and almost the same overall hook as the Idol Pro. The Phase2 is sooner for me than the Pro Motion and less over all. The Phase2 for me is still my best benchmark ball as it doesn't force me too far left from the beginning but the Pro MOtion could easily be a substitute for it if I decided to for some reason not to have a Phase2 with me. Overall I can see a lot of ppl liking the new Pro Motion a lot of the longer, heavier patterns whether it be a house shot or sport pattern.

Nick Smith
Bowling Connection Pro Shop
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: BSumner on August 05, 2019, 09:39:55 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42

Volume: 27mls

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): 7:1 Challenge Pattern


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

I put my new Storm ProMotion to the test right out of the gate. I bowled in a tournament on a 7:1, 42’ challenge pattern. Having not thrown a single frame with it on a house shot, I kept my options open. To be completely honest, this ball wasn’t the benchmark ball for this pattern. I used it in 5-8 frame chunks in 2 different squads.

Like the Crux Prime, the Spec solid cover allows the ball to slow down and stand up in the mid-lane. As the shot tightened up forcing me to keep my angles tight, I found it easier to control the pocket.

The amount of flare I saw from the Piston core was unexpected. Even though I did go with a higher flaring layout (2x4x4), I didn’t expect to see the full 6” of flare on a symmetrical ball. With my higher ball speed and low axis tilt angle, getting as much fresh ball surface on the mid-lane as I can helps me recover and carry. The symmetrical core helped keep the shape of the ball predictable while playing tight, inside angles.

This ball would fit nicely in a bag with the Crux Prime, Astro Physix and the !Q Tour Emerald.

Brian Sumner
Storm Amateur Staff

Title: PRO-Motion
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on August 09, 2019, 03:08:31 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Weightblock: Piston Core
Cover: SPEC
Finish: 2000
RG: 2.52
Differential: 0.049

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin over bridge 60 X 5 3/4 X 25

The New Belmo Ball is here, and it's the best one yet. The Pro Motion is true to it's name, this ball MOVES. This ball marks the second release to feature the Spec Cover. Spec was featured on the Crux Prime and was the single biggest component of making that ball what all other High Performance Balls strive to be.

If there is a down-side to the Crux Prime it is that you don't always find enough volume for it. The Piston Core keeps the Pro Motion in play on more conditions. It has a lower differential than the Crux Prime and the Spec cover just seems to work on everything. I decided to go with a "Long and Strong" layout in hopes that if the Pro Motion was too smooth the layout would keep it in play. Boy do I love the move this ball makes. I've been struggling playing in on my summer league because of the early friction and out of bounds when the ball pushed to far right down-lane. I threw the first ball dead into that hang spot and watched it left turn and put ten in the pit. I tugged the next one into the friction and watched it lay in the pocket and push ten back again.

Despite seeing this ball go down the lane at bowl expo I have to admit I was skeptical that a ball that looked so strong for guys with more ball speed. This ball is the definition of continuous and I was happily proven wrong. I'm really looking forward to seeing the way this ball goes through the pins on higher volume. The prospect of being able to play any straighter with this ball is exciting as there is no way I can see it not reading any pattern well.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: RavensTransAm on August 09, 2019, 11:57:56 AM
The New Pro-Motion by Storm in collaboration with Jason Belmonte is amazing. The same SPEC coverstock that is on the Crux Prime is the only similarity the Pro-Motion shares with the Prime. The Pro-Motion has an all new Piston core that creates a lot more shape than the Prime while also not burning up in the front part of the lane. The deeper I move with this ball the more it responds off the break point. To be a Solid it has a very defined breakpoint that the Crux Prime does not have.
With this ball I wanted something that would get down lane and still turn the corner and it did not disappoint. Usually a Pin-in-ring layout is what I would have used for this ball but instead I went with a pin above the bridge which gives me a layout of 49 x 5-1/8 x 44. It still allows me to stay left when the lanes are fresh, if there is another lefty this ball allows me to continue moving right and it will continue to make the turn into the pocket.
For me I believe this ball will handle the heavier volume sport shots like a champ allowing me to move into my sweet spot and trusting the ball to read the lane properly.
Stephen Foley
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Kevin Duncan on August 11, 2019, 09:40:12 PM
Storm PRO-Motion
Layout: 5 x 4 x 3 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm PRO-Motion utilizes the new Piston Core and the SPEC Solid Coverstock.  This is the best Belmo designed ball to date.  The SPEC coverstock is the same used in the Crux Prime.  The difference is the PRO-Motion is cleaner through the front than the Crux Prime but has a defined break point move from the Piston Core that the Crux Prime doesn't have.  We tested the PRO-Motion on lanes that had a weekend's worth of carry down from open play and the ball still performed well once we moved into around fourth arrow to get away from the hang area.  I typically don't get that reaction out of a solid from that deep inside.  Without question, I was very impressed.  I feel the results match the hype.  When compared to the Phase II, the PRO-Motion was a little cleaner through the front but still controlled the mid-lane very well and good continuation though the pocket.  The PRO-Motion is going to be a great benchmark ball with great durability thanks to the low absorption rate of the SPEC coverstock.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop to pick your up!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: hittnhard on August 13, 2019, 02:19:44 PM
Storm Pro Motion

Core: Piston

Cover: Spec Solid

The newest Signature line Storm bowling ball, the Pro Motion.

This ball was designed to give the Storm fan a ball motion that was not currently available within the company lineup. It is a much smoother reaction that anything I have thrown from either the Storm or Roto Grip brands.

Early, smooth, and continuous...all the makings of a popular benchmark ball.

For me the Pro Motion was earlier and stronger then the IQ Tour, earlier with about the same strength as the phaze II.

After just a few games of practice it is obvious that the Pro Motion will be on a lot of ball racks when league season begins.
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: rodbowler75 on August 13, 2019, 09:24:10 PM
Do you like the IQ solid but sometimes looking for something stronger? The New Storm Promotion is the perfect choice a very smooth ball that blends wet dry when I've seen it. Using the layout of 5 x 3.5 x 45 has really played well in my bag. Most nights this is the first ball out. I highly recommend this for anyone looking for that benchmark ball
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 19, 2019, 05:46:41 PM
Storm Pro-Motion Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The newest addition to the Signature line from Storm is the Pro-Motion created by Storm’s R&D team as well as the worlds #1 bowler, Jason Belmonte.  After spending several seasons on tour, I’m confident the tour players look for different motions than the normal league player.  The Pro-Motion is designed with a tour mentality meaning it’s a ball that can be used on multiple lane conditions along with multiple patterns. 

With an RG of 2.52, differential of .049 and a symmetrical core, the Pro-Motion is a perfect compliment to all other pieces in the Storm lineup.  The RG is higher than the Astro Physix and Crux Prime, but lower than the Hyroad X and Match Up pearl.  I’ve drilled two so far and they go with me to most tournaments.  My favorite is mapped out as 4.5 x 4.x5 and a 3000 lane-shined surface.  I’m able to play a bit straighter with some speed if needed or move left, open my angles, and the Pro-Motion still has enough kick to run over the 8 pin. 

If you’re looking for something in between the Crux Prime and a Hyroad or Match Up, the Pro-Motion could be a nice upgrade for your bag!  Go drill one!

#StormNation
Title: Storm Pro Motion Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 22, 2019, 10:03:45 AM
The Signature line has been resurrected for a third collaboration with Jason Belmonte, the Pro Motion.  The Pro Motion has zero in common with the previous two “Belmo balls,” which is good for those that disliked them, but ultimately inconsequential for those that did, because this is still a ball that crowd will like too.  It has all the best features from balls like the Phaze 2, IQ Tour, and Idol, notably control for days, great continuation, and a very consistent reaction across the lane.  The Pro Motion features the incredibly durable SPEC coverstock which doesn’t absorb oil and requires very little maintenance to retain its reaction over time, and the new “chemical adhesion” feature of the cover also contributes to it reading the lane through the oil more strongly to give you a truer reaction from lane to lane that makes this ball less sensitive to transition than traditional resin.  This all combines to make the Pro Motion a very valuable tool for the serious tournament bowler. 

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfUWn9bScIs&t=211s
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: TonyMarino on August 22, 2019, 10:53:50 AM
Pro Motion
The Storm Pro Motion utilizes the new Piston Core and the SPEC Solid Coverstock. This is the latest of the balls that Storm has developed along with Jason Belmonte. The SPEC coverstock is the same used in the Crux Prime and is the strongest cover that Storm uses to date. Because of the taller Piston core, the Pro Motion is cleaner than the Crux Prime but has a more defined break point.

Before drilling up the Pro Motion I thought it was going to be the strongest symmetrical ball in either the Storm or Roto Grip line, but for me I now think it sits between the Super SoniQ and the Phaze 2.

The strength and versatility of the SPEC cover is really what allows the Pro Motion to shine. This is a piece to have in your bag as a stronger option to your benchmark ball (IQ Tour).
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: hammermike2000 on August 24, 2019, 07:42:20 PM
Layout: 60 x 4 5/8 x 40

The reaction of the Pro Motion actually surprised me. I expected it to be early and very smooth, but there was a lot more down lane motion than I had anticipated. It is a great ball for fresh patterns or medium to heavy conditions, due to the massive amount of mid lane roll that this ball has. The surprising element about the Pro Motion is the amount of continuation that the ball has in the back part of the lane. It was even a couple boards stronger than a Halo Vision, when I compared them head to head. The only downside to the massive amount of ball motion that the Pro Motion has is that I would not recommend it for lower speed bowlers, unless there was quite a large amount of oil.

Mike LeViner
BowlersMart
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: EVollmar on August 25, 2019, 04:50:34 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up


Introducing the Pro Motion, the newest collaboration between Storm and Jason Belmonte. This ball uses the Spec Solid cover along side the brand new Piston Core. The layout I used was 4 1/2 x 5 x 2, which put the pin above my ring finger. I was initially a little worried because it had the same cover as the Crux Prime and because of how strong that ball is I very rarely get to use it. Quickly those worries were washed away. The new Piston core wrapped with the Spec Cover is a fantastic combo. The Pro Motion gave me a very strong and controlled motion and reminded me a lot of my IQ Tour Solid just a good amount stronger. This piece is a must have if you're looking for great control on those tougher patterns or for those heavier volume house shots.

Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staffer
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: dmonroe814 on August 28, 2019, 11:43:20 AM
Storm Pro-Motion
THS Light-Medium
I have been looking for a good ball, that would give me some flexibility and would last more than 5-10 frames on our house shot.  I love my HyRoad, but it works best when I swing the ball around the 3rd arrow.  When I get deeper, it doesn't carry well and has a tendency to overreact in the dry.  With the strong cover on the Pro-Motion, I fully expected to not be able to use it more than a couple of frames in our house conditions.  We have serious over/under reactions on our houses, but I thought I would give it a try anyway.  I thought I would only be able to use it in large tournaments.  Using Storm's layout, I drilled it 5 x 5 x 3.  My first time of practice was on Thursday afternoon special.  Special price, because you get whatever is leftover from Wednesday night's leagues.  I was very happy to see that the ball did not overreact when it got to the dry.  Instead of jumping like someone kicked it, the Pro-Motion made a controlled turn toward the pocket.  I was able to move left to the 4th arrow and instead of leaving a lot of corner pins, it had the continuation to hit like flush pockets.  I was able to use it for all 3 games in the following league night.  moving left and the ball still had great carry.  For the time being, it will be my first and usually the only strike ball out of my bag.  For me, this is the most consistent reacting ball I have ever thrown.  It does not overreact on the dry and has great continuation through the pins, no matter what angle I throw it.
Title: Storm Pro Motion Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on August 29, 2019, 02:51:08 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  5 ½, 4, 4

“This is the best ball I’ve ever thrown” – Jason Belmonte

After throwing this ball, I can tell you that he’s telling the truth.  This might be Storm’s best ball ever.  It makes a really unique shape.  You’ll have to throw it to see what I’m talking about.  For me it was a nice benchmark ball.  Strong enough to use right out of the gate, but it never misses the breakpoint.  AND the backend motion and continuation is unreal.  It’s truly a “PRO MOTION”!

I was not a fan of the Timeless or Drive, but this is NOTHING like either one of those.  The Pro Motion is a special ball. 
Title: Storm PRO-Motion Review
Post by: sportshot on September 02, 2019, 09:57:21 PM
Ball Specs:
Storm Pro Motion
Spec Solid Reactive
2000 Grit 
Ball Specs: Symmetric Core
Layout 65 x 4 x 30

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at release 17

Review:
The New Storm Pro Motion is the third ball in the “Belmo” series of balls. I did not care for the Timeless, but I really like my Drive even though it was not a popular ball. The Blue sanded reactive finish looks good to me even though I have had a few ask if it was a traditional urethane ball. I like the mint smell also. The Pro Motion has the same Spec cover as the Crux Prime wrapped around a brand new core.  Storm set out to make this ball react well for many different bowler styles. I know the Belmo fans where excited for this release and I heard varying accounts, so I was eager to drill one up. My first impression was though the Pro motion had the Spec cover it was not a hook monster like the Prime. I first used it on a medium house pattern and it was too early and strong. My next test was done on an oily, modified house pattern and it didn’t see the lane soon enough. I then put it on a long flat shot and there was where it really worked well for me. I was able to play outside and let the Pro Motion roll up and hit. I was never worried about over and under reaction.  In all the patterns the ball was very predictable and continuous. I think this ball will best suit the no thumb bowlers and high rev players. The ones I have drilled have been well received by the no thumb crowd or bowlers who want a smooth motion. The Pro Motion will fit between my Crux Prime and Drive. 

Summary:
The Pro Motion has a very smooth roll.
The Pro Motion is very predictable.
When you match up with this ball it lives in the pocket.
A good choice for the rev dominate bowler.

Glenn Wendel
PBA Member
Storm Pro Shop Staff

gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com

Title: PRO-Motion
Post by: NateGarcia on September 12, 2019, 02:08:38 PM
Ladies and Gentlemen, may I be one of the first to introduce you to a ball that has redefined the definition of a bench mark bowling ball. Jason Belmonte and Storm bring you the Pro Motion. The Pro Motion has the Spec Coverstock featured first on the Crux Prime and an all new core design called the Piston Core. In 15lbs, the RG is 2.52 and the differential is 0.49.

The motion I see out of this ball is a very controllable motion, but a controllable motion like I’ve never seen before. The ball gets through the fronts with ease, see’s the middle part of the lane and keeps continuing through the back end and the pins. There gets to a point where your bench mark ball has reached it’s limit as you migrate more towards the center part of the lane, but with this pro motion, it doesn’t stop continuing no matter how far left (being a right hander) you get with it.

This ball is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I like to stay in benchmark bowling balls as long as possible because I really like that shape, and with this pro motion, it’s allowed me to play from very far right, to lofting the ball return and still maintaining great carry. You won’t want to miss out on this bowling ball! It has revolutionized what a benchmark ball needs to be!

Nate Garcia
PBA Regional Champion
Title: Storm PRO-Motion
Post by: fazzone22 on September 12, 2019, 02:09:04 PM
Storm’s new collaboration with Jason Belmonte is an absolute MUST for tournament bowlers.  I have thrown this ball on multiple patterns with different volumes and this ball just NEVER quits and always continues through the pins. It is as smooth as an iQ Tour but as clean through the front part of the lane as a Phaze II.
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: StoRoto2013 on September 17, 2019, 10:53:11 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):House Pattern


The third installment into Storm’s Signature series is the PRO-Motion.  The PRO-Motion features the Piston Core and SPEC Solid Reactive Shell.  This combination of core and shell allows the PRO-Motion to rev quickly in the oil and still maintain enough energy for the backend.  I was surprised by how much the PRO-Motion actually hooks on the backend.  I compared the PRO-Motion to the Drive and the Timeless and the PRO-Motion was far more forgiving and more versatile then those two other nuggets.  The layout I used was 5X5X2.5 or simply pin above my ring finger and cg not too kicked out.  Off the drill press on to lane the PRO-Motion reminds me a lot of a Phase2 upfront with the backend motion of a HyRoad.  On a fresh House Pattern I had unlimited room as long as I kept my angles close to the oil line.  The PRO-Motion does need a little help to get down the lane but it is consistent off the dry.  I was waiting for the PRO-Motion to lose energy as I moved left…  It really did not happen as long as I did not throw it directly into the dry too quickly.  My rev rate is on the lower side (around 300) and ball speed is medium (15mph to 16mph) so usually moving left and following oil line will result with over under.  The PRO-Motion blended out the pattern nicely and I just had to keep the ball on line.  The PRO-Motion went through the pins the same way whether I was playing 5 or playing 15.  The Signature line was UPGRADED with the addition of the PRO-Motion.  Power and Performance that smells like Vanilla Snap!

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Haley3 on September 23, 2019, 05:39:17 PM
Pro Motion for me gives me a predicable smooth reaction down lane.  I was able to move left out of my comfort zone and still have confidence that it will still recover and go through the pins. This ball will  give you that benchmark reaction on higher volume and long patterns.
Compared it to my phaze 2 and I seen that the phaze  2 got down the lane a lot cleaner. I had to move about 4 and 2 right compared to the Pro Motion. 
Video link Below.
https://youtu.be/4emNYeQsILg
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: cmattingly on September 24, 2019, 01:50:48 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 43'

Volume: about 20 mLs

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: Amazing benchmark Shape

Dislikes: haven't really found any

I am angry at myself for sitting on this one for so long!  The Pro Motion is the 3rd ball in the Signature Line featuring Jason Belmonte's Logo and suggestions in the R&D process.  Knowing what balls Belmo has been throwing a lot of on tour over the last year, it was no surprise that it was very Phaze2-ish. I knew that this was supposed to be the newest "benchmark" ball and that Belmo even said that it's the "best ball I have ever thrown."  Well that's A LOT of hype.
After the Crux Prime, I wasn't totally sold on the SPEC cover.  I really did my homework with this ball, asking lots of questions and watching every video out.  It took a conversation with a pro staffer for the curiosity to finally get the best of me...The verdict is, I can't believe it took me this long to drill such an amazing ball.  The Hype is real. 

On the fresh, this ball is clean through the fronts, provides ample mid lane read, and has AMAZING continuation through the pins.  Layout is 50x5x35

I will be shooting a comparison video soon, look for it on my youtube channel! 
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQGnqqbw86syZ0hwIDtQ8sA?view_as=subscriber

Balls that are in heavy rotation:
Idol-60x5x70 (p3 hole)
IdolPro-60x5x35
Idol Pearl-60x5-1/2x35
CodeX-45x5x35
CodeX-60x5x70 (p3 hole)


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: John Struckman on September 24, 2019, 05:57:14 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40ft

Volume: 20ml

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS Typical House Shot


COMMENTS

Likes: Smooth. Continuous. Angular. This ball puts all of these into 1 package!

Dislikes: Carry an abralon pad with you to touch up surface


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS



Storm Pro Motion Review

Excited for this ball would be an understatement. This bowling ball is in Storm’s Signature line developed by Storm’s Research and Development Department Hank Boomershine and Storm’s Professional Bowler… the #1 Bowler in the World Jason Belmonte. Combining the thoughts of Storms R&D team and Jason Belmonte produces a ball with a unique shape, one that is smooth and controls the break point. At 15lbs the bowling ball has an RG: 2.52 and DIFF: .049 which creates a motion bowler’s need in their bag! I drilled (2) different Pro Motions. One with a 5-inch Pin to PAP and 50-degree Val Angle and the other with a 4-inch pin to PAP and a 35-degree Val angle. I was able to create a smoother rounded shape with ball 1 and a stronger down lane motion with ball 2. The Pro Motion uses the solid SPEC coverstock also found on the CRUX Prime. A strong and versatile coverstock combined with the new Piston Cores creates a ball shape I was missing in my bag. Sanding the ball to different surfaces from 1000 to 4000 and even adding polish to the bowling ball allowed me to play different parts of the lane and create the ball shape I was looking for at different bowling centers and at local tournaments. Get yours today! #StormNation
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Joel.Johnson86 on October 14, 2019, 08:49:45 PM
Ball Specs:
Storm Pro Motion
2000 SPEC™ Solid Reactive
Weight Piston™ Core (Symmetrical)
Color Steel Blue

Review:
WOW! We feel this is by far the best of the Belmo signature line balls. This ball is comparable in wow factor to the legendary and original Hy-Road. You can compare the ball reaction to that of the Phaze II. Storm did an incredible job on R&D for this product. This ball is incredibly smooth and predictable. The cover and core work very well together to showcase what many call a “benchmark” bowling ball. Versatile on many different parts of the lane on very different conditions, this ball can virtually be thrown by any type of bowler. Those of you who may think you need to use 2 hands to throw the Belmo signature line, please think again… you may be missing out on something SPECtacular!

Kyle & Joel Johnson
Storm Pro Shop Staff Members
joel@parklanes.net
kyle@parklanes.net
www.stormbowling.com
#StormNation
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: bowlstorm3 on October 19, 2019, 07:36:52 AM
Storm PRO-Motion
Cover: SPEC solid
Core: Piston
Layout: 3 X 4 7/8 X 1/2

With the Storm PRO-Motion, we have the 3rd collaboration between Jason Belmonte and Storm. I drilled two Crux Primes which share the SPEC solid cover with the PRO-Motion. I love how slow the SPEC cover is and how it seems to almost simplify moves. But, as we all know, a slow cover with a big asymmetric core sometimes has a short use window. So, bring on Belmo and the PRO-Motion. We now have a symmetric option that is naturally more continuous and a bit more poppy off the spot. I still find the PRO-Motion slow, but it has a longer use window and matches up very well on medium length/volume house patterns and a variety of sport patterns. I drilled my PRO-Motion with a little shorter pin to complement my IQ Tour with the same layout and it does just that on the lanes. I think my IQ Tour is overall a bit stronger thru the lane in hook, but the PRO-Motion feels more archy and smooth. I will definitely drill another very soon with a more conventional layout.

If you were not a fan of the Timeless and/or Drive, don’t be afraid to give this one a try - it is a completely different ball!
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Bigmike on October 27, 2019, 07:47:04 PM
I drilled my Pro Motion up 4 3/4" x 30*. I have been putting 2000 or 3000 depending on what pattern I am using this on. I get a type of strong benchmark motion out of this ball. I have been able to use it on league using the strong cover to blend out the puddle in the middle. I also get good traction on longer patterns and use this as a ball down option when my Halo is too much. The cover is very needy as i do have to clean or scuff it after any real usage.
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Scooter38 on October 31, 2019, 07:55:44 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42’

Volume:25.9ML

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS. Scott street 42


COMMENTS

Likes: This ball will store up all its energy and release it all at once on the pins. It gets through the heads easily and reads the mids great. Once it finds the friction it's like watch pac man eating ghosts. It destroys the pins. You can literally watch it load up and release the energy. This is a great benchmark ball.

Dislikes: some surface adjustments out of box may be necessary to get the desired motion.


Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: jshoe97 on November 03, 2019, 10:23:28 PM
I really wanted to wait a while to release this video to give myself adequate time with the promotion. Since drilling, I’ve put about 100 games on it and still continue to throw it all the time. SPEC is truly an amazing cover. With its ultra slow absorption rate, I find myself able to stay in the same piece for a longer duration of time. This combined with the lower RG and higher Diff core provide a very smooth and predictable motion without sacrificing continuation. Throwing it all three games of league or the middle chunk of a tournament block is never a problem. What really sets this ball apart from anything else on the currently market is it’s continuation through the pins. I honestly surprise myself with how continuous the ball is from every part of the lane. It somehow manages to strike a ton with steeper angles as well while still remaining very controllable. As you can see, we both decided to compare it to the Phaze ll. The phaze ll provides a slightly cleaner and faster look compared to the promotion.

Review Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bT16LRo2E9I


Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: DCNetBoy on November 06, 2019, 09:45:18 AM
The best way that I can describe the Storm Pro Motion ball is that it is super smooth down lane.  The Pro Motion is the definitive ball for blending wet/dry conditions on heavy to medium heavy lane conditions.  It is not jumpy on the back end and on most conditions it will not over react when facing up to the pocket.
 
My ball is drilled with a pin down layout where the pin is about 3 / 4 of an inch below my ring finger.  The dual angle layout is 70 x 5 x 75.  Wow, this thing is smooth and strong.  If you are used to something that is quick off the dry in the back end, this ball is not it.  However, if you are looking for a strong, continuous ball that blends wet / dry conditions, this is the one ball for you.  It is very consistent because of the SPEC coverstock and it hits the pocket pretty hard.  I don’t leave many splits or ten pins with this thing.  If I get it to the pocket, it carries well.  Out of the box, the 2000 grit finish was a bit too strong for me on lane conditions in the DMV.  I personally like the ball with a little polish on it or with a 3000 grit finish.

The Storm Pro Motion is a good ball and I believe most bowlers should have this type of ball shape in their bag.  Trust me, you will really like the motion on this ball.  Storm got this one right.  Peace! 
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: Gil B on November 11, 2019, 08:29:42 AM
One of the most versatile balls I have ever drilled. Love the motion this ball gives me down lane. Very predictable smooth and continuous. This ball hooks a ton but its gradual down lane and doesn't lose anything going through the pins. Originally didn't think that this ball would fit my game so I was hesitate to drill it ..but since I have I cant get it out of my hands . The pro motion seems to blend out every condition I use it on .. loving the promotion 
Title: ProMotion = Versatile!
Post by: williamsonkm20 on November 13, 2019, 11:10:23 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 50

Volume: 50uL

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Sport - River of Oil


COMMENTS

Likes: Smooth, controllable, digs in the oil.

Dislikes: none to report about

Review by Kassy Shumate - Storm Amateur Staff:

This is by far the most versatile ball I have ever had the pleasure of throwing. It is so buttery smooth and predictable that I can use it on almost any shot thrown my way. On top of that the continuation is so strong I almost never leave ten pins with it. Yes, SPEC loves oil as does this ball in particular but I also have thrown this ball on a house shot many times with amazing results because of how controllable and predictable it is. I do not have to make big moves with my feet as this ball blends the pattern so well, it's almost as if it gives me subtle warning signs that transition is happening without completely washing out or going through the nose. I will be buying another one if not two of these balls at least for tournaments. Do not hesitate to buy this ball, it lives up to the hype and then some!


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: iman_300 on November 13, 2019, 09:09:14 PM
The ProMotion features the SPEC (Storm Performance Enhanced Cover) and the new Piston Core. The ProMotion in my opinion is an IQ Tour Solid on steroids. The IQ tour solid is one of my all time favorite balls and the ProMotion gives me a similar ball motion when bowling on heavier volume and longer oil patterns. The ProMotion is a very versatile ball and allows you to play multiple angles on the lanes.
Title: Re: PRO-Motion
Post by: fjcallahan on November 15, 2019, 10:42:18 AM
So, where do I start? The ProMotion is really good…thanks for reading. Ok, maybe it’s not that simple but, it is a great ball. This is the third signature ball from Storm and Jason Belomnte following the Drive and Timeless. They stayed with a symmetric design once again with the Piston core shape, this block produces an RG of 2.52 and a diff of .049. Pairing Storm’s SPEC cover and the Piston core creates, by far, the most continuous motion that I can remember seeing on the lane. We released a ball review on our channel, Callahan’s Performance Bowling, with three testers, one traditional and two two handers and it is impressive watching ProMotion go down the lane and through the pins. It reminds me of a Phaze II as far as the shape with more roll on the back end. I think this  release could find a home in anyone’s bag, I wouldn’t call it a bench mark due to the strength but, it has the predictable look that you want on a fresh block or league condition. Team Utah and Belmo at it again! Great ball, go get one. Thanks for reading
Title: Storm PRO-Motion
Post by: StormRoto on November 17, 2019, 06:51:13 PM
The Promotion is the 3rd ball in the Jason Belmonte signature line.  For me the Timeless was decent and had its place for certain lane conditions.  But it was a little
squirty at times.  The Storm Drive was really early and smooth down lane.  Which also for me it ended up being a conditional ball.  Now with the Promotion it is a different story.  With the new Piston Core and wrapped with the Spec coverstock the Pro-motion can be used for multiple conditions.   I drilled mine with a 5 inch pin up with cg stacked.  I added step 2 compound to the surface.  While the Pro-motion needs some oil up front, but the down lane motion is very controllable.  It's hard to explain but the motion is just different than anything we have in the line today very unique motion.  I think it fits just below the  Phase 2 in overall ball motion but stronger than the IQ series.  Or maybe a stronger beefed up version of the IQ tour. 

Brian Watson
Pro Shop Staff

PAP 5 up 1 1/8
RPM- 400
Speed - 16
Tilt - 17
Title: Storm PRO-Motion
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on November 22, 2019, 09:52:25 PM
Pro Motion
- RG 2.52
- DIFF 0.049
- If you are looking or a benchmark ball this is for you. This ball features the SPEC cover that has quickly became one of my favorites. The Pro Motion with the new Piston core gives you a different motion than the previous two collaborations with Jason Belmonte. This ball is going to get lots of lane time on all kinds of conditions. This ball has allowed me to have success on house pattens as the ball doesn’t over react to fiction but the cover is strong enough to hook in the oil in the middle of the lane. Also this ball has been huge on sport patterns as it is my go to with the smooth motion and the predictably it offers. I put this one next to my Phaze II in my must haves.