BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 04, 2021, 03:22:09 PM

Title: Proton Physix
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 04, 2021, 03:22:09 PM
The Storm Proton PhysiX high-performance bowling ball was designed to offer traction and hook on just about any heavy oil condition you might come across. This bowling ball is the third in the popular PhysiX line and continues the success of the Atomic core. The low RG of the core assists in producing spin on the ball and when combined with the NeX Solid Reactive coverstock this ball is unstoppable on heavy oil conditions. The Proton PhysiX offers a good midlane read while generating a strong entry angle that will maximize pin carry.

Color: Magenta/Black/Violet
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: NeX Solid Reactive
Core: Atomic
Finish: 2000-grit Abralon
RG: 2.48 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.053 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Frosted Cupcake
Title: Re: Proton Physix by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on February 05, 2021, 08:43:00 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41
Volume:Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Cover: NeX (Nano Extreme) Solid
Core: Atomic Core
Finish: 2000
RG: 2.48
Differential: 0.053

ME:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin in Middle Finger 60 X 5 1/2 X 50

The new Proton Physix takes two powerhouse performers; the Atomic core featured in the Physix and Astro Physix combined with the NEX solid cover featured on the original Axiom. The result is... you guessed it, HOOK! The NEX coverstock's Nano formulation will dominate high volume patterns while the Atomic core provides the hook and hit.

I tested the Proton Physix (or attempted to) on my normal house shot. My league house is notorious for friction in the front of the lane. It didn't take many shots to figure out that even on a freshly oiled lane, the cover of the Proton Physix would not ignore the front of the lane enough to be useful for me in league. Rather than trying to make it work, I opted to wait until I was on a condition where it would be right. I got my opportunity when the pattern league in our house put out the PBA Dragon pattern. I managed to get some practice in on a freshly dressed lane and boy oh boy did the Proton look great.

I usually try to get a feel for what a ball will do in multiple parts of the lane. On 45 feet of oil I often don't feel like I have the flexibility to play different parts of the lane. I first tried playing straighter with the Proton, using the friction in the track but not really trying to be under the ball. The Proton was exceptional here, probably due partly to the weaker layout I had opted for. This by far was the area where I felt like i had the most miss room. The cover corrected shots where I was a bit too clean out of the ball and the pattern length gave me plenty of hold. I then figured I'd move in and play where I would normally play when looking at the graph, a slight left to right fade but keeping the ball fairly tight to the headpin. This also gave me a good look, somewhat better than i was expecting as I usually opt for ball that are a little quicker to create the angle in a smaller window down-lane. The ball would save shots that leaked a bit into the track but I could still overthrow the ball and take three off the right if missed it with this angle. This again may have been due to the layout I chose. I didn't spend alot of time deeper and trying to roll it as I felt with the slower transition layout I had less miss room as I got left.

My takeaway from the testing was that I wouldn't recommend the Proton Physix in any house where you don't have oil in the front of the lane. It should look best on house shots for Rev Challenged/Speed Dominant players. However this is a ball that any bowler who bowls on tournament patterns should own.

[ftp [/ftp]

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: peterdohanjr on February 08, 2021, 11:41:28 AM
Proton Physix Ball Review

Ball Specs:
Coverstock: NeX Solid Reactive
Weight Block: Atomic Core
Rg: 2.48   Diff: .053    Mass Bias: .017

Rev Rate: 325 rpm
Speed: 15.5 mph
Layout: 45 X 4 Ĺ X 30 Dual Angle

By far my favorite Storm ball is the original Physix and I was upset when it came time to see it on the discontinued list. Itís ok I still have one NIB.  But with the release of the Proton Physix I was excited to see the updated version of my favorite piece in my arsenal. Now with the new NeX Solid coverstock this ball is stronger which makes it read the lane earlier and has a more rounder shape off the dry down the lane compared to the original Physix.

This is not a ball to use all the time. I bowl in a league with an older surface where the house uses a higher volume to have the shot hold up during our league. Topography issues at its best from week to week. Last year I was able to use the Physix and Phaze II throughout the year because they used Fire oil. This year they changed to Ice oil and the original Physix was not early enough on the fresh house pattern. I drilled the Proton specifically to help me with the higher volume and oil until they begin to transition.

On sport patterns for my game I will be using this ball on longer lengths of 43í and longer. Also with the solid cover keep the abralons handy to give yourself the optimal reaction on the higher volumes of oil. I primarily use 1000 on the solid covers because 500 make the balls read the lane too early for my rev rate and speed.

Pete Dohan
Storm Bowling Amateur Staff
#StormNation

Check out my video on my channel and please Like and Subscribe for future reviews.
https://youtu.be/cIA9RpQyBjg
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: rcgilmore on February 09, 2021, 10:28:28 AM
Cover: N2X Cover 2000 finish
RG: 2.53
Dif:0.053
PSA: 0.016

Asymmetrical balls and I have a hard time matching up, it has taken me a while to see what the Proton would really do. This ball hits like a TANK!! The more I throw it the better it got. Now I really like the ball motion and how strong it is. I drilled this OOB 45 x 4 x 30. Which puts the pin above my ring finger a little taller. I left the cover OOB.  I am not sure I like the layout I have on it I am thinking I will drill another a little different. But it is working. For me, the Proton is smooth and predictable with a strong backend motion. It picks up well and does not seem to lose energy for me as some Asymmetrical balls do.  A I have a hard time getting Asymmetrical to get through the pins without burning up and getting the right shape. I can move in and trust the ball will turn the corner which is very difficulty for me since I am a speed dominant lower rev player. I can see myself using this right out to the bag on the fresh. This ball has a lot of versatility a home run for Storm in the Physix lineup.


Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: PJ Haggerty on February 10, 2021, 12:04:35 PM
Storm Proton Physix Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

After having a bunch of success with the original Physix and Astro Physix, the Proton is the newest addition to the Premier Line.  After drilling two Protonís so far, itís earned the spot as the strongest ball in my bag.  Iíve had a bunch of success on multiple patterns with the Proton and it goes everywhere with me.  With an RG of 2.48 and differential of .053, the Proton is best used for heavier volume patterns and tighter lane surfaces. 

The first one I drilled is mapped out as 5.5 x 5 x 75 and I tweaked the surface to 4000 and water.  This still left the teeth in the coverstock because I didnít want to use polish, and the Proton flies through the front and provides a quicker, but forward motion down-lane.  This has been a perfect ball to use after a pattern blends and I need to open up my angles. 

The second one I drilled is mapped out as 4 x 4 x 50 and Iíve since hit the surface with a 1000 pad.  This has been a perfect ball for the longer patterns with more volume.  Iíve had success keeping this Proton in front of me without opening up my angles too much.  Overall, the two Iíve drilled compliment each other nicely and can be used on multiple patterns.

If you need a ďbiggerĒ ball in your bag that can be used on multiple patterns, drill a Proton Physix!

#StormNation
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: Bigmike on February 16, 2021, 04:50:28 PM
I drilled my PROTON PHYSIX up 65 x 4.5 x 30. I have thrown it at box finish which is 2000.

The intent was to have a big hitter in my bag for long patterns and also ones with more volume that blended down lane. I found out some unique things throwing this and it has more utility than I ever imagined.

I threw this on a 47 ft. sport pattern called Statue of Liberty. The PROTON is at home on this kind of pattern. Good motion and enough cover out of the box to grab the lane and strike pretty frequently. I put it side by side with the RST-X1 and IDOL SYNERGY. The X-1 was about 4 and 2 back to the right and also slightly softer speed. The IDOL SYNERGY was another 4 and 2 right of the X-1 and much slower down the lane compared to both balls.

I also got to throw this in a 50 and over tournament club that used a house pattern. This was one of the most over walled house patterns I have played on in awhile. While my RST-X1 was the look to start, by game 3 that was starting to go away and forcing me left. Now I was in wet/dry zone. On a hunch, I balled up to the PROTON PHYSIX and had enough grab to get on the wetter part of the cliff but enough control that slight misses right just rolled up and stopped. That is refreshing because now another potential use for the ball and to get in the puddle on wet/dry and control the edge of the cliff.
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: jshoe97 on February 18, 2021, 10:20:08 AM
Hey everyone, this is Storm staff member Josh Shoemaker here again with another ball review for the Proton Physix. As always, I would like to thank Storm for providing the equipment I use every time I step out onto the lanes and Logo Infusion for making sure I always look good no matter what! Today I will be bowling on a standard medium volume 42' house shot. The Proton Physix features the NEX solid nano based cover found on the Axiom, but is now wrapped around the atomic core. This core boasts an RG of 2.48, Diff of 0.054 and intermediate of 0.017 in #16 lbs respectively. This is the same core that was found in the original Physix and Astro Physix. The Proton comes out of the box with a 3000 matte finish. I fell in love with the original Physix right after drilling it. It was one of my favorite mild asymmetric balls with a medium strength cover that seems like it was always in play. When the Proton was announced to our staff team, I immediately got excited. I was hoping that the stronger NEX cover would retain the amount of shape I saw out of the original Physix on heavier volumes of oil. So far, the Proton hasn't disappointed. Balls like the Sure Lock and No Rules were staples in my bag for when I needed to open up the lane on heavier house shots or higher volume sport patterns. The Proton allows me to open up my angles when the pattern starts to develop and give away the pocket without sacrificing optimal deflection through the pins. I can see myself hitting the Proton with a fresh 1000 pad and using it on higher volume fresh patterns or letting it lane shine and using it during league to blend the high ratio pattern. When compared to the Omega Crux, the Proton Physix slows down faster and is more continuous downlane as opposed to the Omega Crux being straighter off the end of the pattern. Be sure to support your local Storm VIP pro shop and preorder your very own for the December 4th release!

Review Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBTsh0NuXsQ
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: bowlstorm3 on February 21, 2021, 09:28:25 AM
Storm Proton Physix
Cover: NeX Solid Reactive
Core: Atomic
Layout: 50 x 5.5 x 30

The Proton has everything a bowler wants in a ball. Sharp color, strong cover and shape downlane. The original Physix was an all time classic ball for me but it wasnít always able to handle longer/heavier patterns. The Protonís NeX cover resolves that small issue and still provides shape downlane that you donít always get from the strongest of bowling balls.

The Proton is an easy ball to recommend. From lower rev rate, high speed players to rev rate dominant players, everyone seems to like the Proton!

Video Review:
In our ball reaction video for the Proton, we compare it to the Roto Grip Rubicon. The Proton is the perfect ball for more heavily oiled fresh patterns and the Rubicon is a perfect transitional ball that clears the front better and pops a bit more downlane as the lane breaks down.

https://youtu.be/sz1VHJO53cI
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: RoundHolesNoGripsProshop on February 22, 2021, 12:37:11 AM
I had the PhysiX and have the AstroPhysiX, so I just knew I had to get the Proton PhysiX. This ball is definitely a ball that is going to be great on heavy oil conditions. It is clean through the fronts and pops on the backend. We are bowling on a longer pattern in the sport shot league I bowl in and this ball is great for that. I can play inside Read more about review stating Proton PhysiX Reviewwith this ball or even stay a little further right before moving my feet left. With my rev rate this is exactly the ball I need when it comes to heavy oil conditions and longer patterns.

I am so happy with this ball and that it rounds out my arsenal nicely. I am planning to bowl some PWBA events in 2021 and the USBC Womenís Open and this ball will definitely be one that I take with me to those events. This ball will be one I take with me to pretty much all tournaments. I cannot wait to see what it gives me on different patterns.

Sabrina Groves
Storm Amateur Staffer
Title: Re: Proton Physix
Post by: Kevin Duncan on February 24, 2021, 07:35:46 PM
Storm Proton Physix
Layout: 4.5 x 4 x 2 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 42 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm Proton Physix utilizes the new Atomic Core and the NRG Hybrid Coverstock.  The aim here was to fill the reaction slot between the Storm Sure Lock and Storm Code X.  We have success!  We saw that exact intended motion - not as early as the Sure Lock but a little earlier breakpoint than the Code X.  The Storm Proton PhysiX had good continuation at the pocket, which was the case with the Storm HyRoad X as well.  The Storm Proton PhysiX will be a good option on medium to longer patterns for us rev challenged seniors and the speed dominant bowlers.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation