BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 20, 2019, 09:28:46 AM

Title: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on June 20, 2019, 09:28:46 AM
The Storm AstroPhysiX high performance bowling ball was carefully designed to meet the need of bowlers. This ball offers awesome power and angle through the Atomic core and R2S Pearl Reactive coverstock. This ball delays reaction inorder to explode on the backend. This ball matches well with bowlers that have a big swing and want extra backend.

Color: Cyan/Indigo/Charcoal
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: R2S Pearl Reactive
Core: Atomic
Finish: 1500-grit Polished
RG: 2.48 (based on 15# ball)
Differential: 0.053 (based on 15# ball)
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium to Heavy Oil
Fragrance: Plum Nectar
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: BSumner on June 24, 2019, 02:03:59 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 42'

Volume: 25mls

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS


Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS

After throwing the original Physix for a few games I told my teammates that my dream ball would be the R2S cover stock coupled with the new Atomic Core. Well, who has 2 thumbs and some fantastic ideas? THIS GUYÖ and the Storm R&D teamÖ I suppose.

So, I put a 2.5x6.25x1.5 layout on it. That did stand the core up a little bit more than I had intended when planning the layout, but after throwing it for a couple of sessions, the shape is what I was hoping for. The Atomic Core still revs up quick but the core position held a rounder shape on the back end. It responded quickly to back end friction. Misses right (on a house shot) sparked off quick. But quality shots held line and the ball stored energy to continue toward the 8-pin.

Nothing new about the R2S. Itís tried and true. Itís by far my favorite cover in all the Storm equipment Iíve thrown over the years. The Atomic Core does not disappoint inside the Astro Physix either. This ball should be the benchmark ball in your bag as you plan for fall leagues.

Watch Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcFPorOU8SA

Brian Sumner
Storm Amateur Staff
Title: Storm Astro Physix Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on July 01, 2019, 11:13:53 AM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
VLS Layout:  4 7/8, 3 ĺ, 4 ľ
Dual Angle:  45, 4 7/8, 70

The Astro Physix is a very clean and angular version of the Physix.  The Astro Physix is wrapped in the R2S pearl cover (HyRoad Pearl), which gets it down the lane a ton and helps create a lot of backend.  If the Physix is too strong, the Astro is the perfect step down with that same familiar Physix motion.   I can see using this in the transition or playing straighter on the fresh. 
Title: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: nibrocmc on July 01, 2019, 08:14:43 PM

As a huge fan of the original Physix I was definitely excited for the Astro Physix. Featuring the same atomic core but wrapped in the proven R2S pearl cover stock this ball is clean which provides me great length and some of the strongest backend motion I've had.
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: jshoe97 on July 03, 2019, 12:37:23 PM
Hey everyone, this is Storm amateur staffer and turbo regional staffer Josh Shoemaker here with another ball review for the brand-new Storm Astro PhysiX. Before we begin, I want to thank Storm and Turbo for providing me with all the equipment I use every time I step on the lanes, and the Facebook page Storm and Rotogrip Bowling Balls for Sale for providing me with a platform to promote all of this great equipment. I recently decided to switch to 16lbs, so both balls featured in this video are indeed 16. The Astro features the same atomic core as the original physiX, but is now wrapped in R2S pearl. This produces a cleaner and faster response ball than the original physiX, while still retaining the great midlane control the original offered. For anyone that was a fan of the code black, you will fall in love with the Astro. The Astro produces a very unique motion that offers the best of both worlds. By using such a low friction cover, you get a ball that almost ignores the front part of the lane while still providing the asym torque needed to produce a consistent reaction downlane. I see myself using the Astro as a first ball out of my bag for league, or touching the surface and using it as 3rd out of the bag during longer tournament blocks. When compared to the Hyroad, the Astro is a zone earlier and a few more boards overall. With the Astro being asymmetric, it has a more defined hook zone and is slightly more continuous than the Hyroad. R2S is known for adapting to surface changes very well, so donít be afraid to scuff the surface if you donít like the reaction of the astro out of the box. Be sure to stop into your local storm VIP pro shop and pre order your very own Astro physiX today! #StormNation #Turbo

Review Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qslqAsDz0QY
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: iman_300 on July 05, 2019, 11:19:29 AM
Out of this World!!

Where do I start? Storm has done it again. The Astro Physix is just another great piece in Storms line up of bowling balls.

It looks great, smells great and it strikes a lot.

The Astro Physix combines the cutting edge Atomic Core found in the original Physix and it is wrapped in the ever popular R2S pearl cover stock. If you are a fan of the Physix this is a must have for your bag. These two balls complement each other so well. I found that when the Physix starts to read too early or starts to get a bit lazy down lane, I am able to grab the Astro and move my left and play bigger angles. The Astro has a very similar shape as the Physix in the first 2/3 of the lane but it goes a bit longer and is more angular on the back end.
 
Visit your local Pro Shop today and get one in your bag.
Title: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: fazzone22 on July 10, 2019, 08:33:26 PM
Stormís new premier line ball comes with Stormís best cover stock, the R2S Pearl. The last time Storm used the R2S Pearl on a premier line ball was a Code Black. Compared to the original Physix, you will notice that the AstroPhyix is a little cleaner and more off the spot but a lot less of a ball because of the weaker cover. This ball will be great for later in tournaments when you need something to change direction a lot or for those typical league patterns. 
Title: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: RavensTransAm on July 11, 2019, 10:51:02 AM
The New Storm Astro Physix is a nice complement to the Physix. The Physix having a NANO Hybrid cover stock wants to read the lane earlier when the lanes are oilier, the Astro will handle the lanes better later in the block when they are starting to break down. The R2S coverstock is standing the test of time and being used on many different cores to creat many different shapes.
To me both the physix have a skid flip mentality to them with the Astro resembling the code black shape off the end of the patter. I do feel like for bowlers who are love the look and roll of the original physix that the Astro is a good second option when the lanes are starting to transition and the physix is wanting to start over reacting thus allowing the bowler to stand in their sweet spot longer.
For me this ball will be better on shorter or lighter volume sport patters as I have limited revs. For me it also shines on those hot and humid summer days when the oil is a little thinner due to the elements.
Layout Pin in the Ring 68X4-1/4x56 which is my favorite layout
Stephen Foley
Storm Pro Shop Staff
#stormnation
#wrightproshop
Title: Storm AstroPhysiX review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on July 29, 2019, 09:57:07 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:41

Volume:Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS


COMMENTS

Cover: R2S Pearl Reactive
Weightblock: Atomic
Finish: 1500 Polish
RG: 2.48
Differential: 0.053

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin Way Up over ring 55 X 5 X 20

Following the Success of the Physix, Storm wrapped the Atomic Weightblock in the legendary R2S cover and released the AstroPhysix. This combination is a great one. Where the Physix had an unbelievably continuous motion that started in the mid-lane, the Astro will push that reaction further downlane.

Probably my favorite part of this ball, is how it performs differently on different conditions. I went with a pretty strong layout on mine. What I've found is that on volume the Astro is clean and smooth. However when you get it on a higher friction surface it is more of a midlane and quick reaction off the dry. The reason both of these reactions are so useful that the ball seems to retain energy well in both instances.

This reaction is a not only a great complement to the original Physix but to the last High Performance Pearl Storm released, the Intense Fire. Compared to my Intense Fire on the Higher volume pattern my AstroPhysix is a couple feet cleaner and more controlled at the breakpoint. This allows me to play straighter angles with a ball that won't wear out the head-oil too fast. On the lower volume pattern the Astro Physix is actually a a couple feet earlier and even quicker than my intense fire. Now I believe this is largely due to the layouts I chose for the two balls but none the less it lets me get in early and overpower the lane. The lower volume house tends to trap alot of people in the track area, the lower rev players can cause the lanes to transition very quickly because they throw more surface on the fresh. Rather than try to keep up with the constant transition, the Astro Physix lets me go around the lane on the fresh.

This ball is a powerhouse and I think will be particularly popular with bowlers who get more hand in the ball.

PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: DCNetBoy on August 01, 2019, 04:44:13 PM
AstroPhysix for the win!   :D 8)

The Storm AstroPhysix is one of my new favorite bowling balls! 

The AstroPhysix gets down the lane with the greatest of ease and it hits like something out of this world!  LOL.  When it hits the back of the lane, it releases its energy on the pins with some force.  This thing hits hard and goes through the pins the right way.
 
I drilled mine with a pin down drilling which placed the pin about an inch under my ring finger with the PSA swung out to my V.A.L.  The layout gives me good length with a defined move on the back end.  I prefer this pin down layout because it tends to be a bit smoother on the end of the pattern.  I get fewer balls through the face of the pocket, or in other words, less splits.  This in turn means higher scores with less open frames.  The AstroPhysix just seems to highlight this fact because it is controllable off of the spot and it has a defined asymmetric move that I really like in terms of the perfect shape down lane.  The Atomic core really is the perfect match for the ball.  I never have to worry about this ball turning the corner.  I can play up the lane with the ball or just swing it.  Whatever I play, I know itís coming back!  LOL.
   
Although I did not buy a Physix, I know this ball will complement the Physix very well.  I do own a Super Son!Q that has the same outer cover as the Physix.  Both balls will complement each other well.  When the stronger cover is giving me some trouble with starting up too early, I can confidently pick up the AstroPhysix and continue striking.

The Astro is great ball. I look forward to seeing if Storm will put the Atomic core in a solid cover.  If so, I will probably buy that ball without even hesitating.

AstroPhysix for the win! 

Peace!    8)
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on August 05, 2019, 08:51:25 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40 ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes: WOW!!!!!
That's the best way to describe this ball!! The AstroPhysix is absolutely amazing. The perfect compliment to the regular Physix and any other solid cover ball. I went with a 70*4.5*45, which puts the pin just to the right and above my ring finger with the mass bias beside my thumb. I'm not normally a fan of the strong asym pearl balls due to my ball roll but this one is very very good. I compared it to my Halo prl and it is sooner and smoother with overall about the same amount of hook. This ball has great continuation through the pins even with it being alittle smoother than most prl balls. I love the shape it gives me. Its been my go to for when a pattern starts to transition and get alittle over/under. I just move in with it and watch it read the middle part of the lane. The way this ball rolls through the pins is amazing. This is absolutely a must have for any tournament bowler as it provides a very unique and dynamic ball motion to your bag.

Nick Smith
Bowling Connection Pro Shop

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: PJ Haggerty on August 05, 2019, 11:51:14 PM
Storm Astro Physix Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

After I had a lot of success with the Physix, I was excited to see a pearl version, the Astro Physix, become available to us.  With the new Atomic core as the engine under the hood, wrapped with the R2S coverstock, the Astro Physix is a perfect compliment to both Storm and Roto Gripsí high performance line.  Iíve found the shape to be earlier and more responsive than the Idol Pro, but not as strong as the Crux Prime.

Iíve drilled one and mapped it out as: 5 x 5 x 75 with the mass bias directly to the right of my thumb.  Iíve had the most success after the lane pattern has blended out and some of the stronger balls have started to run out of gas.  The Astro Physix stores enough energy through the front and gives a strong, round motion down lane without being as quick as an IQ Emerald.   From a surface standpoint, I lightly grazed it with a 3000 pad and it rolls great.

If you need a ball to compliment your strong, solid asymmetrical balls, the Astro Physix will fill that gap nicely.  Go drill one!

#StormNation
Title: Storm Astro PhysiX Review by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on August 08, 2019, 09:24:24 AM
The Astro PhysiX is the latest release in the Premiere line, and the biggest thing to say is that itís very similar to the popular Code Black.  Atomic core from the PhysiX but with the R2S Pearl cover from the Code Black among many others.  This makes it very similar to the CB but with a familiar overall motion to the PhysiX that is a very good compliment to it as well.  It also pairs nicely with the IQ Emerald for an early option on heavier volumes than the Emerald can handle, or a later option when youíre forced deeper and need the length out of the cover but the torque of the core on the backend. 

Video Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tc-w6Y7EyYU
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: rodbowler75 on August 13, 2019, 08:31:58 PM


The New Storm Astro Physix has been a great addition to my lineup since putting holes in it. This ball is a great compliment to the original Physix! When you need that little extra down lane this ball doesn't disappoint! I used the layout of 5.5 x 4 x 30 a little weaker than my Physix but I can really get deeper on the lane and play different angles.
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: TonyMarino on August 22, 2019, 08:51:18 AM
Astro Physix
The Storm AstroPhysix utilizes the new Atomic core and the R2S Pearl Reactive coverstock. I drilled mine 45x4.75x35. I am a big fan of putting weaker covers on strong cores and thatís exactly what the Astro is. The new Atomic core is a very big engine in this ball but the R2S pearl allows you to use it when the lanes hook in the front.
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: williamsonkm20 on August 30, 2019, 12:21:53 PM
LANE CONDITION

Astro Physix

Kassy Shumate's Review


First off, the ball is gorgeous.. Smells amazing too. Now that we got that out of the way we can get to the good stuff. I knew I was going to like this ball before I even got it. The original Physix is my favorite ball at this moment and I love anything with the R2S cover on it. Arguably the best cover ever made. I've never been one who has liked the look of a ball with an earlier roll but the combination of the early roll and the cover which helps it get further down the lane is amazing. Of all of the balls in my arsenal this one goes through the pins the best. It hits really hard and continues whether I miss in or get it out to the spot where the friction is. This ball shines the most on fresh oil, it needs the oil to do its job or it starts getting jumpy off the spot.


Length: 42


Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: tommygn on August 30, 2019, 01:39:16 PM
The Astro Physix is the second ball released in the premier line of balls from Storm featuring the  Atomic core. The Astro has a Rg of 2.48, 0.053 diff, and an intermediate diff of 0.017 in 15lb weights. The beautiful color combination of cyan/indigo/charcoal looks great! This version uses the R2S pearl cover, compared to the hybrid NRG cover of the Physix. The Astro has a factory finish of 1500.

I drilled the Astro Physix 4.5 x 5 x 2.5. Using the Astro in the box finish on a 42 foot house condition, the Astro was very flippy off the spot with this layout. I touched the surface lightly with a well used 2000 abralon pad just to crack some of the shine. This helped the Astro read the lane much better, making it less squirty, but not losing too much of the dowlane reaction. Comparing the Astro to a Physix drilled 4 x 4 x 2.5, the Astro has a few feet more length, and more of a continuous motion through the backends, where the Physix stands up harder and rolls more direct. They compliment each other well. I originally wanted to compliment my first Physix (4 x 5 x 3, polished), but found that with the touch of surface, the Astro is best suited to compliment the 4 x 4 x 2.5 Physix. The Astro is also a nice reaction to go to from my Idol pearl when it becomes too rounded to carry consistently. The Astro is an asymmetrical ball that allows me to get a little deeper on the lane than what most asymmetrical balls have allowed me to do in the past. The only other asymmetrical ball that I can remember with this much downlane move was a Hyper Cell Skid.

I wouldnít call the Astro Physix a benchmark ball because of its strong nature, but more as a fill ball when I need downlane hook. This is a good ball for opening up conditions without using too much head belly. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Storm Astro Physix. As always, bowl up a Storm!
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: Haley3 on October 17, 2019, 03:58:19 PM
Bowler Bio
Gender : Female
Rev Rate : 315
Ball Speed: 16.5 mph
P.A.P : 4 1/2 & 1-1/8 up

Right out of the box this ball really surprised me. Could not believe how hard it came of the spot once it hit the dry !! If you love getting left and swinging the lane look no further. I could keep moving left and this ball would keep finishing. As I moved left with the original Physix it would start to roll out and not give me the pop that the Astro would. The big core and cover stock helps bowlers generate revs and producing that big back end shape.I compared the  Astro to the original and had to move 2-3 boards right with the Astro on the fresh to get the ball to strike mainly because the original started up a bit earlier for me. Once lanes started to break down I could just keep moving left with the Astro, when using the original Physix I find myself having to stay more right to prevent the ball from rolling out.
Title: Re: Storm AstroPhysiX
Post by: dcutler on October 19, 2019, 11:33:19 PM
My name is Doug Cutler and I am a Storm Staffer and I am left handed. I throw the ball between 15-16mph and I am considered to be a stroker.  This review is for the Astrophysix and man this ball is a beast.  I have drilled the Astrophysix 70 x 5 x 35 and the surface I used a 3000 pad on it.  This ball I have used on our house shots and also on Heavy oil pattern like the PBA Bear.  This ball is really clean in the mid lane and it saves its energy for the back and has a lot of back end reaction.  This is the strongest Asymmetrical ball I have ever had.  I really like the R2S Coverstock and the ball is special.  I really liked the Physix and the Astrophysix is a great compliment. I have used both of these a lot and I usually start on our House shot with the Astrophysix and then when the Astrophysix is going to far then I will go to the Physix.  With the Astrophysix I am able to play way outside like around 5th or out and I can also play 4th arrow and I just change hand positions.  This ball is great for THS, and medium to Heavy Oil Patterns.  If you are looking for a good House shot ball or a strong ball that is clean in the mid lane, then you need this ball in your bag.  Another Fantastic ball from Storm.  Go to your local Pro Shop and purchase your Storm Astrophysix today.  #stormnation #astrophysix

Doug Cutler
Storm Staffer
PBA Regional Champion