BallReviews

Reviews => Storm => Topic started by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 27, 2019, 03:03:27 PM

Title: Super Son!Q
Post by: BallReviews-scodaddy21 on February 27, 2019, 03:03:27 PM
The Storm Super Son!Q features the Centripetal HD Core which is the offspring of the original Centripetal Core. The core family has provided one of the most dominant shapes in the Storm line of bowling balls. The Centripetal HD Core is denser than any other Storm core so far. This density produces an RG of 2.47 which creates a very low center of gravity which allows this ball to hit the pins at just the right spot to maximize pin carry. To top off this core Storm covered this ball with the proven NRG Hybrid Reactive coverstock and is finished with a 3000 grit Abralon sanding.

Color: Black/Orange/Purple
All colors do vary somewhat from the picture shown
Coverstock: NRG Hybrid Reactive
Core: Centripetal HD Core (14#-16#), Centripetal Core (12#-13#)
Finish: 3000-grit Abralon
Recommended Lane Condition: Medium-Heavy Oil
RG: 2.47 (15# ball)
Differential: 0.047 (15# ball)
Fragrance: Sweet Plum
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: jshoe97 on February 27, 2019, 05:38:30 PM
The super SoniQ features the same centripetal HD core found in the original SoniQ, but it now wrapped in an NRG hybrid cover. This allows for the super SoniQ to create a little more traction in the front part of the lane, blending out harder shots a little better. I was a big fan of the original SoniQ, but thought it was a little under powered due to how weak the cover was. I drilled both my Super SoniQ and SoniQ identical, 50x5x50, which for me puts the pin almost right above my bridge center. For this video, I decided to bowl on a very challenging almost completely flat 40í sport shot. The topography on this pair allowed me to stand a little farther left than usual, and gave me a few boards to work with downlane. Since the middle part of this pattern is so flat, I really had to focus on not hitting up on the ball as much as usual. The super SoniQ blends out this fresh condition very well, giving me a few boards downlane to hit while still striking. When compared to the SoniQ, the super is 2-3 birds stronger, and a few feet earlier downlane. Be sure to head to your local storm VIP pro shop and preorder your very own storm super SoniQ today!  #StormNation

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHxO6LfeeEI
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: smcintire78 on February 28, 2019, 01:32:27 PM
Layout: 25 x 5.5 x 40
My PAP: 5Ē straight over
Axis Tilt: Between 3 and 8 degrees
High Track Player

Intent for this ball/layout: Wanted to take advantage of the lower RG and get this ball to rev up quickly yet still make a strong move towards to pocket once it exited the pattern. Ideally to use on higher volume or longer sport shots.

What I got: First let me start by saying WOW. This ball motion is absurd. I can not remember the last time I saw a ball like this make the kind of motion that this one makes. I have thrown it a few times now in league and on longer sport shots.
ē   House Shot: The fresh cover is STRONG. First time I pulled it out I could not use it the first game of league because the backends were too clean. The ball just did not want to layoff. Waited until there was a little carry down in game two to use it. Moved 7 left and just opened the entire lane up. Ended up shooting 279, 299 to end the set. It did not matter how deep into the lane I got the ball just kept coming back for more.
ē   43ft 2018 US Open Pattern: The longer heavier pattern is what I originally wanted this ball for and it did not let me down. I was able to move right into the track area and the balls strong cover and core read the midlane beautifully creating the exact shape that I needed for this pattern.
Get this ball in your bag ASAP. You will not be disappointed. Bowl up a storm! #StormNation
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: StormAndrew on March 01, 2019, 03:43:05 PM
The Super SonIQ will be the perfect transition ball for when the lanes begin to dry up in the fronts and you're looking for a litle bit of float through the front yet control downlane.

I did bowl on the fresh with it when I did the video and it wasnt the best enviornment at that given time for me to throw this ball on. I had a bit of over/under although when a few games went by I jumped back into the Super SonIQ and I found a lot more margin of error with the ball.

I can see this ball being a great game 2 ball to go to when I need a little bit of extra skid to get through the initial part of the lane without the ball burning up. You'll be able to play tighter lines with this ball at that point, which is something I typically like to do.

For those a fan of the IQ series balls this will be another great addition to the bag.

Video:
https://youtu.be/lchW8E7bO6E
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: live2bowlgr8t on March 04, 2019, 09:29:11 AM
LANE CONDITION

Length: 41ft

Volume: medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


COMMENTS

The new Storm SuperSoniq is going to be one of those balls where people either hate it or love it in my opinion, no in between. Using the same core as the original Soniq but with a stronger hybrid cover, Storm has created one of the strongest symmetrical balls to date. Compared to the original Soniq, the SuperSoniq is going to be much sooner and stronger overall. I wasn't a huge fan of the original Soniq simply because of where it made its shape down lane. It was too clean for me for how it wanted to turn the corner down lane. So adding a stronger earlier cover to it matched my game much better. I chose to go with a 45*5.25*75 layout, which has the pin below my fingers on my center line. I did this because I have so many other strong balls with pins above my fingers that I wanted this one to be significantly different and thats what I got!!!! I threw the SuperSoniq up against my original Soniq, Crux Prime, Phaze2, and Physix. The SuperSoniq is earlier and stronger than the Soniq, really really close to the Crux Prime in both where it picks up and how strong it is. Biggest difference I saw was the SuperSoniq continued just alittle more than the Crux Prime. Its earlier than the Physix and not near as much continuation down lane and alittle less overall. Compared to the Phaze2 its overall a stronger ball with a similar shape on the lane.
The SuperSoniq definitely will need some oil for it to be really effective. I threw it on the fresh condition and also after I had beat the lanes up a good bit with all the balls going down the lane, while it was till usable when the lanes really started to hook I could see it start to want o pick up and smooth out just a little bit.

Nick Smith
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Bowling Connection Pro Shop

Likes:

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: Kcbrunner on March 05, 2019, 07:16:12 AM
LOVE LOVE LOVE this ball !!!!!

I drilled it at 60x3 3/4x40 and it is the perfect fit between my Code X and my Crux Prime.  It gives me the versatility of the Code X with the hitting power of the Crux. 

I can't say enough great things about this ball :)
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: TonyMarino on March 06, 2019, 10:44:52 AM
Storm Super SoniQ

The Storm Super SoniQ (SS) is a blend of the Centripetal HD core found in the Soniq, with the NRG Hybrid cover found on the PhysiX. The NRG Hybrid coverstock has been a great addition to the Storm line. It is a strong cover that can handle heavy oil but has just enough pearl in the blend to not read ďSuperĒ earlyÖ see what I did there? haha

The intent of this ball was to be the ball to build a bridge between the Premier and Master lines and also compliment both the Physix and the original SoniQ. I think the Super SoniQ does that, but more importantly, I think it is a strong enough ball to stand on its own. The SS actually reminds me a lot of the Phaze II (P2), which is still a great selling ball and hugely popular on the PBA Tour. The Phaze II is the closest comparison ball for me to the Super SoniQ, and with a similar layout I have the Super SoniQ cleaner through the front with noticeably more shape down lane. They are roughly close in overall strength, but the P2 is definitely earlier and smoother.

The SS is a great fit when you need a shape stronger than your typical benchmark ball but not nearly as early as some of the high-end pieces.
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: hittnhard on March 06, 2019, 01:33:08 PM
Storm Super Son!Q

Centripetal HD Core

NRG Hybrid Cover

The new Master Line ball, the Super Son!Q is will be a benchmark for bowlers that see a medium-heavy oil house shot.

Strength----Closest comparison for my is the Physix . For me the Super Son!Q was a perfect step down from the Physix. I touch weaker, a touch earlier than the Physix, the Super Son!Q is a perfect compliment.

Shape---This one ended up being a later midlane, smooth shape for me. Maybe a foot earlier than the Physix with a smoother roll. The best comparison may be with the IQ tour, with the Super Son!Q being a stronger step up. The smooth roll will make this ball a benchmark for a lot of players.

Perfect fit between the Physix and IQ Tour!
Title: Super Son!Q
Post by: KennonMcFalls300 on March 07, 2019, 05:50:15 PM
When the Super Soniq was announced, I was SUPER excited for it (Pun Intended) because its Centripical HD Core is wrapped in the same cover as the PhysiX. The Physix is always one of the first balls out of my bag due to its versatility and I am excited to have a symmetrical version now.
For me the original Soniq is one of the strongest balls I have ever thrown. Believe it or not he Super Soniq is STRONGER, if that was even possible. It is literally hook in a box.
The orange color really stands up in the midlane and drives hard through the pins. I LOVE to see that. If you can control the midlane, you can control the pocket. This ball will be perfect for the heavier volume lane conditions and the super walled house patterns. The heavy midlane roll will blend the wet/dry lane conditions for league bowlers while providing a good ball down from the Physix on harder conditions. Discretion: Players with high rev rates and or low ball speed should consult with their local Storm VIP PSO before drilling. This ball is STRONG.
In the comparison the original Soniq appears to be ďstrongerĒ but this is only due to its violent response off of the friction downlane. Overall the Super Soniq is about 2-3 more boards overall if there was more oil on the lane.

https://youtu.be/0DcdN4iP5yA
Title: Storm Super Soniq Review by Casey Murphy
Post by: caseyccg on March 08, 2019, 02:46:47 PM
Orientation:  Right Handed
Rev Rate:  375 RPM
Speed:  16-17 MPH
PAP:  4 5/8 straight across

Location:  Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern:  High Volume THS
Layout:  50, 4 7/8, 70

The Super SONIQ is a SONIQ on steroids.  If you loved the SONIQ motion but needed a stronger cover, thatís EXACTLY what the Super SONIQ provides.  Itís going that same quick revíving motion with the controlled continuous backend.  But it features the NRG Hybrid covers so itís much much earlier than the original.  The Super SONIQ is the perfect step up from the SONIQ.
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: Kevin Duncan on March 08, 2019, 09:52:49 PM
Storm Super SoniQ
Layout: 4 x 4 x 1 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 300 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine Ė Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm Super SoniQ utilizes the Centripetal HD Core and the NRG Hybrid Coverstock used originally on the PhysiX.  The aim here was to fill the reaction slot between the Storm Phase II and Storm Tour IQ.  We have success!  The Super SoniQ is a little longer than the Phase II and more continuous off the end of the pattern.  The Super SoniQ is definitely a step up in strength from the Tour IQ.  It gives bowlers a good blend of midlane and backend.
Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG
Title: Super Son!Q
Post by: EVollmar on March 10, 2019, 12:47:45 PM
Length:42
Volume: High
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS
Rev Rate: 450
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 5 1/16 x 3/4 up

Introducing the Super Soniq, the newest release in the Master line. Here we have the Centripetal HD Core, first introduced in the Soniq, but now with the NRG Hybrid cover. For me this ball fits perfectly between the Physix and Soniq. It's cleaner then the Physix but picks up earlier and smoother then the Soniq. I used one of my favorites layouts, 5 1/2 x 4 x 2, which puts the pin above my middle finger. This has quickly become the first ball out of my bag because of how controlled and predictable it is. It also earned a spot in my bag for sport patterns along side my trusty IQ Tour Solid. Stop into your local VIP pro shop and pick one of these bad boys up.


Earon Vollmar
Roto Grip Amateur Staff






Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: RyanPatterson30 on March 18, 2019, 06:27:28 PM
The original Son!q was a personal favorite when it was released so I was excited when this ball was announced. I decided to go with the drilling which my PAP makes the pin under my middle finger. The cover on the ball is STRONG and the continuation is even STRONGER. From the videos I watched and the specs on this ball I knew this was going to be a success. I wanted this to replace my Haywire as a strong symmetrical solid that reads the lanes earlier than most symmetrical balls but still continue down lane. This ball will be good on higher volume medium patterns and longer patterns that still hook in the front. I cannot wait to get more games on this ball.

Layout: 55 x 4.5 x 70

Ryan Patterson
Title: Storm Super Son!Q
Post by: StormRoto on March 19, 2019, 11:57:34 AM
 The new ball in the Storm Master line is the Super Son!Q.  The Super uses the strong
NRG Hybird Reactive Coverstock, same cover used on the Physix, along with the Centripetal HD core.  With the low RG and strong cover the SS digs in early in the midlane but still has good continuation through the pins.  I have the SS below my Physix's and above the IQ tour and original Soniq.  The motion is similar to a Phase II with a smoother backend reaction. The cover is very versatile as I have used it with surface and with step 2 with great results.  I drilled mine 4.5 x 4.5 x 4.5 pin down.
A great ball to the Master line!

Brian Watson
 PAP - 3 5/8 up 1 1/8
 Speed - 16
 RPM - 400
 Tilt  - 17
Pro Shop Staff
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: PJ Haggerty on March 19, 2019, 01:22:38 PM
Storm Super Soniq Ball Review by PJ Haggerty

The latest addition to the Storm IQ series comes the Super Soniq, and for good reason.  With the Centripetal HD core and the NRG hybrid coverstock (same as the Physix), the Super Soniq fits perfectly underneath the Physix, but above the original Soniq.  This ball gives us a symmetrical, low RG option and is a very strong addition to the line. 

Iíve drilled two of them so far and found success with both.  The first one is a pretty strong layout for me being: 5 x 3 with a 15/16 hole two inches under my axis.  I feel this is the strongest symmetrical ball in my bag.  The response time is very quick, even being a low RG ball.  There must be a good amount of volume on the lane for me to throw this ball, but it rolls great when I can use it.

The second Super Soniq I drilled has gotten more use.  I mapped it out as 5.5 x 5 with no weight hole and a surface of 2000.  Iím able to create more angle with this ball and is more responsive than my Physix, when needed.  The response time is quicker than the Physix, but is not as clean as a Hyroad-X or Idol Pearl.

Overall, the Super Soniq is very low RG and wants to read the lane early, but the NRG, hybrid cover allows the ball to still have a quicker response time down lane.  Itís a must have in tournament and league bags today.

#StormNation
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: Bigmike on March 23, 2019, 08:36:03 PM
My stats are in my profile.

I drilled my SUPER SON!Q up 4.75 x 55 which puts the pin in my ring finger. This is a layout I like to use when I'm going from a strong asym ball and a strong asym pearl is too over/under to use yet. This payout on a strong ball gives me some time until the lane lets me get to my HALO PEARL or even further down to my SON!Q.

I may drill a second one to be like my SON!Q which has a layout of 5 x 40 and is more versatile for me on house. The SUPER would give me a ball to start a little more into the oil line until we blow a hole in the track and need to ball down to the SON!Q.

Drill this one up for control and early smooth read.
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: BSumner on March 26, 2019, 08:28:05 AM
Just got back from the Open Championships and I can tell you, this ball was THE go-to for me this year. If youíve bowled the OCís, you know what a FLAT pattern looks like. For most, (even pros) these patterns are head-scratchers to say the least. So for me, I needed something to keep me in play. Something that didnít over-read the short pattern and something that wouldnít blow through the long.

I laid this out with a 4 ľ x 5 ĺ x 3 Ĺ. This is the same layout I have on my original Son!Q and I love the way the position of this core shapes. Like my Physix, the cover helps me out by slowing it down toward the end of the pattern. Like my Son!Q, the core position helps the ball curve and roll more forward. At the OCís where speed kills and grabbing it will having it wave at the headpin as it goes by, this ball kept me in the game on both patterns. I used it more toward the end of teams (shorter pattern) and more in the middle of Singles and Doubles (longer pattern).

I only have a handful of games with it on a house shot. In the house I bowl in the most, there simply isnít enough oil to use this ball very long. Like any new dull surface ball, early friction just kills the reaction. So, if you bowl on a lighter volume house pattern, be mindful of that.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=930oVEbc5OQ
Title: Super Son!Q by Luke Rosdahl
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on March 27, 2019, 09:21:43 PM
For the first time since the IQ Tour Fusion, we have a new hybrid in the Master line with the Super Son!Q.  The Centripetal HD core from the Son!Q is back, but this time with a much stronger cover formula in NRG Hybrid.  The result is an earlier and smoother ball but with the very distinct roll from the Son!Q.  While the Super will cover heavier volumes due to the stronger cover, given the difference in shape, I found the Super and the original to cover a similar amount of boards overall, they just do it in different ways.  When confronted with volumes in excess of 25ml, youíll begin to see more separation between the two reactions, but on a house shot, theyíll play similar lines.  The Son!Q will be longer and stronger, while the Super will be earlier and blend the backend reaction much more, so they are great compliments for each other. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENngwyhBfTU
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: rodbowler75 on March 29, 2019, 06:26:23 PM
The Storm Super Soniq is a great addition to the master line. The first hybrid we've had since the IQ Fusion. I drilled mine 45 x 5.5 x 30 gives me length and control down lane I need. Compared to my Soniq this ball reads much faster and more controllable off the spot. This is a great ball to add to your lineup and is one of the first balls out of my ball.
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: hammermike2000 on April 09, 2019, 01:12:46 PM
Storm Super Son!q
Layout: 60 x 4 Ĺ x 35

The Storm Super Son!q is a midlane-heavy beast that needs oil in the front part of the lane, but is great when the lanes are heavily oiled or the pattern is long.  The amount of midlane roll that this ball possesses rivals other heavy oil balls in the Storm lineup, such as the Crux Prime, but the Super Son!q has a smoother reaction off the end of the pattern. It is a great ball to start on fresh heavier league patterns, and then transition to other balls, such as the original Son!q, when the lanes start to dry up a bit.

Compared the the Storm Crux Prime, the overall amount of hook is similar, but I was more comfortable throwing the Crux Prime once I got further left, due to the directional change of the asymmetric core. The rolly nature of the symmetric core in the Super Son!q allows it to be smoother at the break point.

Mike LeViner
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: williamsonkm20 on May 09, 2019, 10:33:20 AM
I was looking for a ball that I could go to when my Physix was too much and my IQ Tour just wasnít quite enough. (All 3 of these balls are drilled pin up) The Super Son!Q has fit the bill and more than exceeded my already high expectations. The Physix is one of my all-time favorite balls so when I heard the Super SON!Q was going to utilize the same cover stock I wanted to jump all over it!

Just in throwing it on a THS (Typical House Shot) in league I have loved how clean the ball is through the first part of the lane.  It rolls really heavy for me through the midlane and since our house pattern is soiled with a little more oil than most, the ball really blended the wet/dry very well through the end of the first game and beginning of the second. This ball LOVES oil! Although the Super Son!Q is really ďstrongĒ for me, I never felt it was uncontrollable. I never felt it ďjumpĒ at the end of the pattern when it hit friction. This allowed me to make calculated moves very quickly and not miss the transition.  This is the strongest symmetrical ball I have in my bag and it is filling a huge hole that I have needed to fill for a while.

All in all, even though I have had success with the SON!Q in league on a THS, it will also have a spot in my tournament bag as well for a long time to come.
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: Pbapolizzi on May 21, 2019, 01:06:28 PM
Storm Super Son!q

Layout 65x5.5x70

The Super Son!q is quite strong front to back despite being a hybrid cover. This ball like to dig in the oil without sacrificing angle at all.
I like to use it on 38 to 43 feet sport patterns. Fresh House shot just starting a little right of where i would with a crux prime. this ball compliments the crux prime perfectly
If you loved the original son!q this is a must have. This ball is so versatile ive put polish on it and sanded it to 500 and fits every environment.
#stormnation
Title: Super Son!Q
Post by: Tknoop1127 on May 23, 2019, 01:33:44 PM
LANE CONDITION



Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Various Patterns


COMMENTS

Layout: Pin Thru the Ring Finger
PAP: 5 over, 3/4 up

I loved my original Soniq, so I figured I would like the new Super Soniq with the NRG Hybrid Coverstock. I had my Soniq drilled pin thru as well, so I wanted to do the same with this. I love this ball. Between the Crux Prime, Super Soniq, and the Soniq you can't go wrong from the transition of those balls. I get fantastic midlane reaction from the Super Soniq, and it finishes with authority going thru the pins. I really can't ask much more from this ball. I can use this ball on any lane condition. I'll use it at on our THS at home, and I'll use it on the PBA for medium-long patterns. Must have in your bag


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: rotogrip_rick on May 25, 2019, 10:30:52 AM
NRG Hybrid coverstock - 3000 grit - 5" flare
LANE INFORMATION: 44FT THS ON HPL INSTALLED IN EARLY 2000'S
This ball is the third one I drilled since my return to bowling, was trying to have a nice 3 ball arsenal for my comeback, selected this ball for the NRG cover which I loved on the current Hyroad with NRG solid cover. I found the Super roll very comparable in the front part of the lane and seen a smidgen difference in the "wobble" in the mid point of the lane, it remained unstable for a split second longer and which in turn allow more energy to be stored and causing a strong angle off of the breakpoint and into the pocket, making the carry better. I had to change the surface of the Hyroad too much for it to move too early for my liking on HPL. I love the SUPER SON!Q for my current heavier volume and longer pattern lengths.
Title: Storm Super Son!Q
Post by: fazzone22 on May 25, 2019, 02:31:25 PM
Super SONiQ Ė 6 x 5 x 2.5

Storm really out did themselves with this one, they took the original core in the SONiQ and wrapped it around the cover stock used on the PhysiX. The Super SONiQ my first few shots in throwing this ball, I was amazed on how clean the ball was for being such a low RG. This ball will defiantly always be in my bag for any patterns under 42 ft because of how versatile it is, I have used it on the fresh and I have used it on the double burn at tournaments. This is a must for tournament bowlers !
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: StoRoto2013 on June 02, 2019, 09:08:32 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length: Medium

Volume: Medium

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS


The new addition to Stormís master Line is the Super Son!Q.  The Super Son!Q has a super dense centripetal HD core which is surrounded by the NRG Hybrid Reactive coverstock.  This combo will make the Super Son!Q stronger in the mid lane and more predictable on the backend compared to the original Son!Q.  What I noticed besides the shelf appeal is that the Super Son!Q is a beast.  The layout I used was the classic 4X4X2 with no hole this was based off my PAP of 5 5/8 over and ĺ up with a relative low rev rate of around 300.  I was able to use the Super Son!Q on a fresh house pattern and a pretty beat up house pattern (Cosmic and open play for two days).  What I noticed is how strong the Super Son!Q was compared to the Son!QÖ A good 5 five boards left with my feet and eyes!  Even with me opening my angles up the strength displayed on the backend was impressive.  The NRG Hybrid coverstock help retain enough energy to get around the corner on the burn / carry down but strong enough to handle the fresh.  Overall, the Super Son!Q would be a good investment for the casual league player looking for a little more pop or the tournament player looking for a work horse. 

Likes: Versatile bowling ball

Dislikes:


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Storm Super Son!Q review by Lonnie Pemberton
Post by: k1ngsizepapa on June 03, 2019, 07:17:56 PM
LANE CONDITION

Length:40

Volume:Med-High

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS



COMMENTS

Cover:NRG Hybrid Reactive
Weightblock:  Centripetal HD Core
Finish: 3000
RG: 2.47
Differential: 0.047

Me:
Right-Handed Tweener
Speed: 12-13 mph
Rev Rate: 315
PAP: 4 7/8 Right 3/8 Up

Ball Layout: Pin in Ring 55 X 4 3/8 X 50

The Storm Super Son!q continues the excellence of the !Q line with a new, dull finish version of the Son!q that gives you a massive amount of footprint in oil. This smoother ball is fantastic on high volume patterns where you want to go a little straighter through the fronts.

The Low RG low Diff cores that have made the !Q balls unique matches up very well with the NRG Hybrid Reactive cover. This ball so consistant in the midlane that I think it's a huge asset on sport patterns and high volume house shots. I went with a pretty aggressive layout on mine with the idea that I might be pidgeon-holing this ball for tournaments and I've been very happy with my results throwing it in league. I'm not a high speed player but I love being able to largely ignore what my hand is doing because this ball never misses the mid-lane for me.

Sometimes I can find the high diff balls can put me in jail after a game or sometimes even after practice because when they open the front up I have to increase angle. This ball lets me make parallel moves which I find much more conducive to breaking a tough pattern down. It's smooth move off the back-end keeps so much of the over/under feeling from killing me in the transition that I've found this to be my new favorite ball the first few games of a block.


PICTURES AND/OR VIDEOS
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: fjcallahan on June 18, 2019, 10:37:21 AM

This is my review of the Super SoniQ. We have the NRG Hybrid, a very popular cover and the Centripetal weight block, also quite popular. Letís put them together and see how it goes. I can personally say, so far so good. Iíve been rolling this ball for two weeks in league and once in a tournament and Iím pretty happy with how itís performing. I drilled it 4x3x4 which puts the pin low under my ring finger and the CG kicked hard to the right.

Normally Iím not a huge fan of pin under layouts but, I drilled two Crux Primes last month and shockingly the pin under variant has been my favorite. A possible change of heart for me I guess.

The Super SoniQ does not have a brand new shape on the lane, it doesnít have more hook then other releases or do anything that we havenít seen yet. But, It carries really wellÖIím not sure if that is a product of the core/cover combination or something more sciencey that I could never  wrap my head aroundÖit just does. My strike percentage in the last two weeks is ridiculous and just for context, I am NOT a great bowler by any means. I have a saying in the shop, If I can strike with it, anyone can. That saying applies hereÖ

This ball is very strong out of the box and it took a couple of games to get a bit of lane shine on it and since that happened, it seems to be more angular than before. Maybe something to keep in mind if you drill one up. I plan on releasing an update video on this ball and the CruxPrime in a few weeks. Iím curious to see how the SPEC cover holds up compared to the NRG

Iím not totally sure where I have the Super SoniQ stacked in my own arsenal yet. It reminds of the Drive and obviously the Hyroad Nano but, with a considerable difference in core strength between the Hyroad Nano and Super SoniQ you could get away with having both in your bag. The Phaze II also comes to mind but, I love that ball and itíll take something incredible to dethrone the king of symmetricsÖin my opinion. So, thatís what I got. A bit more time on the lanes should clear things up for me.

Why should you drill a Super SoniQ? One good reason is, if you need to replace your current big motor, solid symmetrical ball with a ton of games on it or maybe you have faster ball speed and need something to dig in and slow you down or you have a bunch money burning a hole in your pocket and you love Storm and you want spend it. Those are all good reasons, you pick the one that makes sense.
Title: Re: Super Son!Q
Post by: bowlstorm3 on July 04, 2019, 01:27:14 PM
Storm Super Soniq
Layout:  60 x 4 1/4 x 60

The Super Soniq has the NRG Hybrid cover found on the Physix wrapped around the Centripetal HD core from the Soniq. I find the Super Soniq with surface to be noticeably earlier than about anything else in my bag (other than maybe the Crux Prime). So understandably, this ball needs a fair amount of oil to play at box. It fits in the bag below the Physix and is quite a bit stronger than the IQ Tour.

I think this ball will fit perfectly for most lower rev players that need hook throughout much of the lane or high speed players that need the ball to really slow down.
Title: Storm Super Soniq by Matthew Kemper
Post by: bowlerman147 on July 05, 2019, 08:50:56 AM
The Storm Super Soniq is Stormís newest Master Line release.  The Super Soniq contains the Centripetal HD Core and is covered with he NRG Hyrbrid Reactive cover that is factory fanished at 3000 grit.

I drilled my Super Soniq with a 5 in. Pin to pap which puts the pin above my middle finger and the CG kicked to the right a bit.  This is an old but favorite layout that I used 7 years ago and Iím starting to find some success again with it.  This layout gives me some length and while also giving me a lot of overall hook from the ball.  The NRG Cover is also found on the Storm Physix which I think is a good choice for the Super Soniq.  When throwing the Super Soniq I get more overall hook compared to the Physix as well as an earlier roll.  I like my Storm Physix which has the same layout but I always thought it was too smooth in the mid lane on heavier oil and now the Super Soniq gives me that stronger mid lane roll that I was looking for.  I have also found that the Super also gives me the best look Iíve ever had on super walled up house conditions.  Iíve struggled with these in my career and again with the strength and solid roll through the mid part of the lane, it really blends the pattern and Iím able to get back into the pocket with a good amount of energy left to help carry. 
I recommend this ball for anyone looking for a ball that can handle oil and who is not afraid to get left and loop the lane.  This ball will cover may different types of oil patterns except maybe short patterns but its very versatile.