BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Storm => Topic started by: keegan.mier on January 03, 2019, 11:37:20 PM

Title: Fever Pitch
Post by: keegan.mier on January 03, 2019, 11:37:20 PM
Showed up on the approved list, and Jesper was seen throwing something of a similar colour, which means it's a domestic release. Anybody have anymore information?
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: 2handedrook12 on January 04, 2019, 12:16:48 AM
A urethane that is much stronger than the Pitch Blue. More motion down the lane while still reading earlier like urethane tends to do.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Bowl_Freak on January 07, 2019, 09:21:23 AM
Ball looks like a remake of the Pitch Blue honestly. Wonder what the intent was for another one. Was at the PBA show this past weekend watching Jesper throw. Looked pretty good honestly. Plus idk why they don't have it on the website already since Jesper made TV yesterday.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: 2handedrook12 on January 07, 2019, 07:35:45 PM
On the website now! The intent was to have a urethane like ball that is more comparable to the Purple Hammer. It has a stronger cover and stronger core, creating more motion for the harder patterns in spite of the modern thick oils that often take the Pitch Black and Blue out of play. If you watch the competitive scene, you know the Purple Hammer has been everywhere and almost undeniably the best urethane on the market due to its unique cover. Storm is looking to match at the worst or even one-up it.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: keegan.mier on January 07, 2019, 07:55:18 PM
An interesting note, it seems to be the shape of the Hy-Road core without the Fe2 ball in it, as well as being two piece.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: mtliu on January 08, 2019, 11:18:40 AM
The Pitch Fever is essentially a Purple Hammer. It's a pearl coverstock, "urethane", and a 2 piece design. It will be interesting to see how the 2 compare. Should be close.

I guess this is Storms action against Hammer for copying the IQ Tour with the Web Tour
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: DP3 on January 08, 2019, 03:13:16 PM
The Storm Too-Hot was the best dry lane ball ever and was a very weak shell reactive (Curelyon) on this same core .030 diff. Should be good for the yammers out there.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Steven on January 08, 2019, 07:01:32 PM
The Pitch Fever is essentially a Purple Hammer. It's a pearl coverstock, "urethane", and a 2 piece design. It will be interesting to see how the 2 compare. Should be close.

I guess this is Storms action against Hammer for copying the IQ Tour with the Web Tour

 
Just an FYI on what I bolded above. The Web Tour really isn't a "copy" of the IQ Tour (beyond "Tour" in the name). I own both. The Web Tour is a much stronger ball. Within the EBI family, the original Ebonite GB/GB2 releases are far more comparable to the IQ Tour. If you have any doubts, please reference BTM reviews of all the above balls.   
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: psycaz on January 08, 2019, 07:27:55 PM
Thanks for posting the info about the ball. Searched while watching Jesper and found nothing.

Love the look of the ball.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: dougb on January 08, 2019, 11:16:04 PM
I looked all over for it during the telecast and assumed it was an overseas ball.  I am so glad it's being released.  It will be mine!
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: 2handedrook12 on January 09, 2019, 01:42:44 AM
The Pitch Fever is essentially a Purple Hammer. It's a pearl coverstock, "urethane", and a 2 piece design. It will be interesting to see how the 2 compare. Should be close.

I guess this is Storms action against Hammer for copying the IQ Tour with the Web Tour

 
Just an FYI on what I bolded above. The Web Tour really isn't a "copy" of the IQ Tour (beyond "Tour" in the name). I own both. The Web Tour is a much stronger ball. Within the EBI family, the original Ebonite GB/GB2 releases are far more comparable to the IQ Tour. If you have any doubts, please reference BTM reviews of all the above balls.
Actually, BTM has the IQ Tour and Web Tour nearly identical with the Web Tour having 2 more points in hook.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Steven on January 09, 2019, 10:31:30 AM
The Pitch Fever is essentially a Purple Hammer. It's a pearl coverstock, "urethane", and a 2 piece design. It will be interesting to see how the 2 compare. Should be close.

I guess this is Storms action against Hammer for copying the IQ Tour with the Web Tour

 
Just an FYI on what I bolded above. The Web Tour really isn't a "copy" of the IQ Tour (beyond "Tour" in the name). I own both. The Web Tour is a much stronger ball. Within the EBI family, the original Ebonite GB/GB2 releases are far more comparable to the IQ Tour. If you have any doubts, please reference BTM reviews of all the above balls.
Actually, BTM has the IQ Tour and Web Tour nearly identical with the Web Tour having 2 more points in hook.

 
I made a mistake and referenced BTM instead of BJI. The BJI rating of 60.5 for the Web Tour is actually higher than the 58.5 rating they gave to the Phaze II, which is a measurably more aggressive ball than the IQ Tour. 
 
You're correct on the BTM ratings. I usually think BTM is very accurate in their reviews, but they're not perfect and they missed the mark on this one.
 
I really like control type equipment, especially since I bowl PBA and other high challenge events. I own the Storm IQ Tour, Ebonite GB2/GB3, and the Hammer Web/Web Tour. The Web Tour handles more oil, even when the two balls are prepped the same. I wouldn't hesitate to take both the IQ Tour and Web Tour to a tournament because they're different and compliment each other. The BTM review doesn't reflect that level of separation.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 09, 2019, 10:49:36 AM
Good to see its in the Thunder line so will have a decent price.  Still say majority of people (THS warriors) who buy it would score better with a Hy-Road instead (same who had to learn hard way about Hot Cell).  Still going to be a condition specific ball unless you are revzilla or have a style that needs urethane.  Urethane is a blast to throw in practice though admittedly.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: dougb on January 09, 2019, 10:52:44 AM
Good to see its in the Thunder line so will have a decent price.  Still say majority of people (THS warriors) who buy it would score better with a Hy-Road instead.  Still going to be a condition specific ball unless you are revzilla.

I'm going to pick up a HyRoad X and one of these.  For house conditions I think they will be all I need.  I've always done well with the Thunder series and after a several year hiatus from bowling and Storm products these two balls are sucking me back in.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 09, 2019, 11:15:34 AM
Good to see its in the Thunder line so will have a decent price.  Still say majority of people (THS warriors) who buy it would score better with a Hy-Road instead.  Still going to be a condition specific ball unless you are revzilla.

I'm going to pick up a HyRoad X and one of these.  For house conditions I think they will be all I need.  I've always done well with the Thunder series and after a several year hiatus from bowling and Storm products these two balls are sucking me back in.

+1 on Thunder line.  Love the price point and tend to do well with higher RG stuff as well.  This ball is going to be a great urethane piece don't get me wrong.  Win on Sunday buy on Monday is not always a great idea for bowlers who aren't lefties with 500 rev rate though.  Still I imagine this ball will be excellent for covering the urethane option in a Storm arsenal.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: northface28 on January 09, 2019, 10:17:26 PM
This is so annoying, 95% of population has too much “swing” (left to right or right to left) in their games and/or doesn’t have 550+ rpms needed to use urethane with any semblance of  success, yet jerk their cocks anytime a “new” urethane is released.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: bowler100 on January 09, 2019, 11:41:39 PM
For the vast majority of bowlers, urethane will look like a pile of dog $hit on almost anything because they want to read in the front part of the lane (even polished) and skid on the back end. Oh damn, don't talk about carrydown or longer oil patterns! Urethane becomes an utterly useless sack of $hit on those type of shots. Okay, I will admit, urethane can potentially work if you are on a short pattern playing the ditch with a lot of grit on the cover and have 400+ revs.

Honestly, extremely weak reactive covers equivalent to early-mid 90's reactive resins are a much better proposition for most house bowlers if they are looking for less hook than the modern reactive covers because they clear the heads AND still respond to friction on the backend. Ball companies should stop flooding the market with urethane. Just one dull urethane in the line-up should be good enough.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: 2handedrook12 on January 09, 2019, 11:49:48 PM
I understand why the hate for urethane exists, but this isn't your typical urethane motion. This is much more viable than a Hot Cell. It would be nice though if bowlers understood when they should be throwing a mild reactive instead.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: bowling_rebel on January 10, 2019, 03:45:35 AM
Companies are not flooding the market with urethane. In fact, going to Buddies, and searching for how many urethane balls are out right now (excluding the spare ball Mix), there are 8. Yeah, there are few recently discontinued, but I don't think there is an epidemic people using urethane for wrong reasons.

Of these 8, the Fever Pitch is the second pearl urethane. Storm's other urethane was released in 2014. Pitch Blue discontinued a while ago and the Purple Hammer has been seen so much on TV. Storm was due for another urethane release, and considering the purple hammer's success, this seems to be way to go for what is needed on today's conditions from a urethane.

Obviously, the for the typical league bowler, with a rev rate in the mid 200's on their THS, they don't need a urethane for league night.

Last  year I switched to bowling thumbless, so I have a 400 rev rate, 4 degrees of axis tilt and avg. speed. This makes me rev dominant and with trouble getting ball down the lane (which is a problem compounded by urethane).

I was considering Purple Hammer, but Fever Pitch has a much higher diff. so think will go with this one. I also loved the Supernatural a few years ago as a urethane that got down the lane with great shape at the end. I'm glad Storm is bringing out a another pearl urethane with similar specs.

I do bowl a sport shot league and there are some tournaments I like to use. With my rev rate, ave speed and low tilt I needed to use Track Spare+ on short oil, so I do need a pearl urethane.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 10, 2019, 10:32:00 AM
This is so annoying, 95% of population has too much “swing” (left to right or right to left) in their games and/or doesn’t have 550+ rpms needed to use urethane with any semblance of  success, yet jerk their cocks anytime a “new” urethane is released.

+1 but trying to be PC on a Storm board. 

>and the Purple Hammer has been seen so much on TV. Storm was due for another urethane release, and considering the purple hammer's success

They always forget the when thrown by Buttruff part.  Actually not worth complaining as many on here probably make good money off dumb house hacks throwing urethane when they shouldn't and also have the revs and knowledge to properly use urethane themselves.  I can understand Storm releasing it if nothing else for their staffers though to be fair.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: JazlarVonSteich on January 10, 2019, 11:03:21 AM
What is this nonsense about flooding the market with urethane? Absolute nonsense! Look at all the resin balls on the market. A good portion of these are absolute hook monsters that few need in league, yet that is what sells (Phil confirmed that to me on these very boards).

I'm glad for these urethane options. My best look has been with urethane balls for the past year or so. Resin has been really inconsistent. And most of that time was bowling one handed with only a decent rev rate. But I also realize I'm the exception because I play the lanes front to back - not side to side. This year, our house shot has forced me in and there isn't hold usually if you miss left.

I decided last month to give 2 handed bowling a go again. I first did so about 7-8 years ago. Bowled pretty well but it started to bother my hip (2+ years in). I welcome these urethane options. Right now, my best look is with the two BW Spare balls I have, even though I've been still seeing what I can do with resin. This league season hasn't gone so well, so might as well experiment. I have my eye more on some tournaments.

Anyway, I had already given my son my Purple Hammer (and Black - regretting both, but oh well), so I'm looking forward to this release. I have my Hot Cell in getting my thumb and balance hole plugged. Might pick up a Pitch Black as well.

Enjoy your mass selection of resin balls. Let those of us who want urethane, have at least some options to choose from.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Juggernaut on January 10, 2019, 12:48:44 PM
You know, it’s really funny, this “human perception” thing. Depending on whatever the “popular” belief is, the perception totally changes.

 I remember when urethane first hit the market. People complained almost vehemently that they hooked way too much, and “ruined” the shot. Yet, many “weaker” players now had an option that let many of them now “keep up” with people who formerly had run over them.

 More people found them beneficial than not, and they soon dominated the game. People even began to think of rubber and polyester balls as being troublesome, and little more than a spare ball.

 Then, along came resin, and the process started all over again, and soon, the vaunted great urethane ball soon became the “ shot wrecking and oil smearing” spare ball with little, if any, value in the eyes of most bowlers.

NEWSFLASH!

 The laws of physics never changed, and rubber, polyester, and urethane bowling balls still do what they always did. It was lane conditions, and people’s perceptions that changed.

 I can average (or at least have for many years) over 200 on league conditions throwing nothing but urethane. A few years back, I actually bowled an entire summer league with a white dot, and finished at 204.

 Granted, I choose to throw a resin ball, not because I have to, but mainly so I don’t get branded as “that” guy. You know, the one considered an ignorant, shot wrecking, neanderthalistic luddite that simply refuses to move into the modern era, and is so self absorbed that he ruins it for everybody else. THAT guy.

 I really wish that people could understand that not everyone needs, or wants, a reactive resin ball. And, on most THS shots, you don’t have to be a mega-rev, double jointed, two handed wonderboy to use urethane.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 10, 2019, 06:07:01 PM
You two are more the exception than the rule but urethane has its place even for us lower rev guys.  For example at the lanes next to the college that are a desert and whose equipment tends to eat my reactives.  Though I probably wouldn't go there if I didn't have so much urethane.  Still good to have options.  Agree the shot wrecking argument is a lot of bull for most part as well.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: bowler100 on January 11, 2019, 12:34:50 AM
You know, it’s really funny, this “human perception” thing. Depending on whatever the “popular” belief is, the perception totally changes.

 I remember when urethane first hit the market. People complained almost vehemently that they hooked way too much, and “ruined” the shot. Yet, many “weaker” players now had an option that let many of them now “keep up” with people who formerly had run over them.

 More people found them beneficial than not, and they soon dominated the game. People even began to think of rubber and polyester balls as being troublesome, and little more than a spare ball.

 Then, along came resin, and the process started all over again, and soon, the vaunted great urethane ball soon became the “ shot wrecking and oil smearing” spare ball with little, if any, value in the eyes of most bowlers.

NEWSFLASH!

 The laws of physics never changed, and rubber, polyester, and urethane bowling balls still do what they always did. It was lane conditions, and people’s perceptions that changed.

 I can average (or at least have for many years) over 200 on league conditions throwing nothing but urethane. A few years back, I actually bowled an entire summer league with a white dot, and finished at 204.

 Granted, I choose to throw a resin ball, not because I have to, but mainly so I don’t get branded as “that” guy. You know, the one considered an ignorant, shot wrecking, neanderthalistic luddite that simply refuses to move into the modern era, and is so self absorbed that he ruins it for everybody else. THAT guy.

 I really wish that people could understand that not everyone needs, or wants, a reactive resin ball. And, on most THS shots, you don’t have to be a mega-rev, double jointed, two handed wonderboy to use urethane.
I have seen some lower rev bowlers have success with urethane but they almost always play up the boards and/or have very low ball speed. In the modern bowling game, most people would struggle to match up with urethane unless they really go out and practice and the get a feel of urethane ball motion. I say f**k what other people think if urethane or polyester works for me on a particular shot. I find the idea of urethane ruining a shot a bullshit excuse. There are many ways where a bowler can work around excessive carrydown created by urethane. You are absolutely right about the "human perception" thing, Jugg.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: dougb on January 11, 2019, 12:58:34 AM
I have seen some lower rev bowlers have success with urethane but they almost always play up the boards and/or have very low ball speed.

That’s me, and that’s why I will get one these balls. I love to go down the outside and urethane allows me to do that on all but the longest and wettest oil patterns, which honesty I never see. Weak reactives also work well too.

I remember about 5 years ago playing on a pair in a tournament with all of these guys who had big reactive balls they were struggling to keep  in the pocket. I went down the twig with a Faball Blue Hammer and cleaned up. One guy got furious and walked around bitching about how I burned up the shot. Oh well.

I’ve also thrown new urethane but right  now I have a Faball Blue Pearl Hammer. I missed out on a Pitch Blue and feared the Pitch Black would hook too early with my slow speed. The Fever Pitch is going to replace the Faball.

Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: bowler100 on January 11, 2019, 01:10:32 AM
What is this nonsense about flooding the market with urethane? Absolute nonsense! Look at all the resin balls on the market. A good portion of these are absolute hook monsters that few need in league, yet that is what sells (Phil confirmed that to me on these very boards).

I'm glad for these urethane options. My best look has been with urethane balls for the past year or so. Resin has been really inconsistent. And most of that time was bowling one handed with only a decent rev rate. But I also realize I'm the exception because I play the lanes front to back - not side to side. This year, our house shot has forced me in and there isn't hold usually if you miss left.

I decided last month to give 2 handed bowling a go again. I first did so about 7-8 years ago. Bowled pretty well but it started to bother my hip (2+ years in). I welcome these urethane options. Right now, my best look is with the two BW Spare balls I have, even though I've been still seeing what I can do with resin. This league season hasn't gone so well, so might as well experiment. I have my eye more on some tournaments.

Anyway, I had already given my son my Purple Hammer (and Black - regretting both, but oh well), so I'm looking forward to this release. I have my Hot Cell in getting my thumb and balance hole plugged. Might pick up a Pitch Black as well.

Enjoy your mass selection of resin balls. Let those of us who want urethane, have at least some options to choose from.
Ok, the statement of urethane flooding the market isn't accurate but the word I was looking for was "redundant". We will agree to disagree on that point. Reactive resins provide a much more varied reaction than urethane and have much more use for most bowlers on your THS. I find an old slow response reactive like a Track Nrg more effective on dry lane than just about every urethane I have thrown (even the Blue Hammer which is a lot better ball than the Nrg overall).

It is all about personal preference. When the heads are torched, I move way inside and play a fallback shot with a weak old resin. On the other hand, if I have fresh, short oil with FLYING backends, I would definitely pull out dull urethane and play up the ditch (at least as close as possible to the ditch).

I know a few older guys in one of my leagues who swear by urethane because they have very slow ball speed and just about every resin they throw wants to grab the dry backends too hard and roll out for them.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: JamminJD on January 11, 2019, 11:55:21 AM
Showed up on the approved list, and Jesper was seen throwing something of a similar colour, which means it's a domestic release. Anybody have anymore information?

Can't help but think this ball was made for Jesper exclusively..
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Steven on January 11, 2019, 09:15:34 PM
Showed up on the approved list, and Jesper was seen throwing something of a similar colour, which means it's a domestic release. Anybody have anymore information?

Can't help but think this ball was made for Jesper exclusively..

 
Probably, but I'm not sure the Fever is hitting the mark.
 
I wasn't impressed watching Jesper throw it in the Hall of Fame Classic. Even though Jesper won his first game, the ball didn't look consistently great. In Jesper's second game when the oil started to push, his carry began tanking. The Urethane wasn't driving the way he needed at the time.
 
That doesn't translate well to the 99% of bowlers who don't throw 500-600 RPMs.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Bowl_Freak on January 11, 2019, 09:25:58 PM
Jesper has made the first 2 shows of the year throwing the Fever Pitch, avg over 240 for both tourneys so its working for him. Jakob avg 245+ the last 2 tourneys leading throwing Purple Urethane go figure. I dont think they would just come out with a ball if they didnt think there was a slot for it. I like throwing urethane occasionally and like the variety that comes out.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 11, 2019, 10:07:06 PM
I wonder if some Asian spinner starts winning on tour with a 12lb plastic ball if the polyester hype train will leave the station.  Love my Purple Sumo so I'll ride.  Be funny watching people bid up yellow dot bleeders again.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Steven on January 11, 2019, 10:08:39 PM
Jesper has made the first 2 shows of the year throwing the Fever Pitch, avg over 240 for both tourneys so its working for him. Jakob avg 245+ the last 2 tourneys leading throwing Purple Urethane go figure. I dont think they would just come out with a ball if they didnt think there was a slot for it. I like throwing urethane occasionally and like the variety that comes out.

 
All the above is largely true, but doesn't change what happened in the finals to both Jesper and Jacob. If you remember, Jacob switched to a resin in a failed attempt to salvage the final match.
 
Urethane is fools gold for most except for the highest rev players. Participate in most PBA events and you'll barely be able to buy a hot dog and a drink if you have a dollar for every bowler throwing Urethane. The exception is really short patterns, but even there, resin dominates.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on January 11, 2019, 11:55:33 PM
Best be a lefty as well or else going to have a heck of a time moving in deep with urethane due to transition and still carrying.  Thus why Belmo rocks it with his Hy-Road even with the revs.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Steven on January 12, 2019, 09:31:52 AM
Best be a lefty as well or else going to have a heck of a time moving in deep with urethane due to transition and still carrying.  Thus why Belmo rocks it with his Hy-Road even with the revs.

 
Excellent point. I hate getting into the right/left stuff but the reality is that the left side keeps it's head/mid oil much longer than the right. No matter your revs, you have to stay fairly squared up to use Urethane effectively.
 
Belmo is also an excellent case study. If there is a righty who can take advantage of Urethane, Belmo is the guy. He does use Urethane occasionally, but resin is his go-to choice on most patterns.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: nord on January 16, 2019, 10:26:26 AM
Here is the actual Design Intent sheet from Storm's Website on the Fever Pitch:

MAKE EVERY PITCH COUNT
This is a very exciting time in Storm’s lifetime. We are seeing the highest demand
of Storm balls ever and that’s not without merit. Recent breakthroughs in
coverstock and core technology has kept us at the forefront of the industry -but
it’s not just our job to put Storm at the vanguard, it’s our responsibility to usher
this sport into a new era. The Fever Pitch wholly embodies this doctrine.

 HIT IT OUT OF THE PARK
Many look to Storm to cut through oil and create supreme entry angle,
but not every situation requires maximum ball motion. In fact, shorter oil
patterns and drier conditions can be as equally as challenging as a lane with oil backed up to
the head pin.

Enter Fever Pitch. We’ve listened to Storm Nation’s demands and have developed not only a new internal Tour Block shape, but a never-before-seen urethane-esque coverstock in PWR+CTRL. But what makes this different from the other Pitches?

Balls in the urethane classification can be sensitive to the weight block that’s put inside them.
The perfect position of the RG, the proper amount of differential, symmetric vs asymmetric – these all play a vital role in the motion in this type of ball. Dialing in the precise measure of each was no easy feat, but we were up to the challenge.

The Fever Pitch is not as early as the Pitch Black™, but corners better than the Pitch Blue™ ever dreamt. We found the gap we needed to fill and we filled it. Hard. After extensive and thorough testing, we found the precise core dynamics that matched up flawlessly to this new and exciting cover. We have a fever, and the only prescription is more strikes.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: nord on January 22, 2019, 03:02:31 AM
I read all of the posts on this thread.
There seems to be a feeling that only if you have very high revs can urethane work for you and that urethane is not great for house shots.
I would have to strongly disagree.
I don't have high revs or high ball speed or a heavy hand.
I have about 150 rpms on a good day, 13-14 mph launch speed, zero tilt and I am a Full Roller. Yet, urethane hits very hard for me.
I have pretty much used every modern urethane release in the last 5 years as well as some older ones as well.
Of all the urethane balls I have used, there are three stand outs:


-Black Widow Urethane
-Purple Hammer
-Midnight Scorcher

These three balls are totally unique and give unique looks on the lane and are complementary to each other.

I also have many resin balls, but my experience with resin is always up and down.
Resin, unlike what most say, is for me, very environmentally condition specific.
If the lane is even a little different it can make a huge impact on a resin ball's behavior, while a urethane ball and especially the three I pointed out above, can blend that difference out and keep the ball in the pocket for consistent carry.

Also, a urethane ball can keep going for a long time requiring only minor adjustments of the target line, while a resin ball can eat too much oil off the lane too fast and get you into trouble just as fast if you are not a very aware bowler.
For myself, I am at my most consistent and most clean when using urethane.

Of course I am very curious about the Fever Pitch and how it compares to the Purple Hammer.
It looks on paper to have more flare potential than the Purple, which could be good or bad.
Both the Purple and the Fever have a very high RG to help get the ball up the lane with good conservation of energy. In 15 lbs, Fever RG 2.61 and Purple RG 2.65.
The diff on the Purple is .015 while the Fever is .030.
So on paper the Fever seems to have a higher flaring, slightly earlier core than the Purple.
We will have to see what the reviews look like in February when the Fever is released.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: tberk35 on February 03, 2019, 02:02:43 PM
The Hammer Purple Pearl “urethane” cover is a blend
like the Fever Pitch cover also... I’d like to see them
side by side to see the difference...
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: Bowl_Freak on February 05, 2019, 08:43:39 AM
So will this ball be like the SuperNatural if everyone saying its a blend? I loved the SuperNatural.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: themagician on February 05, 2019, 08:45:10 AM
The Hammer Purple Pearl “urethane” cover is a blend
like the Fever Pitch cover also... I’d like to see them
side by side to see the difference...

Definitely agree with you there, it's obvious that the Fever is Storm's response to the Purple Hammer.

I still look at these balls as fairly niche, but when you are in the right niche, they are incredibly valuable.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: hammajangs on February 07, 2019, 02:40:44 PM
As soon as I heard about this ball, my head was screaming SUPERNATURAL!  I have and love my SN on the right conditions, so much control, pushes down and doesn't over react, but I notice I leave quite a few corner pins.   

I pulled mine out yesterday to practice (after not using it for about a year or so) and averaged 200+. 
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on February 07, 2019, 07:19:46 PM
Recent got an x-out light 16# Purple Hammer ($80 shipped for NIB woot) for league in the dirt house and it is already my favorite urethane ball (out of dozen old and new school balls).  So predictable and fairly strong even for those of us with more normal rev rates and the carry is nearly reactive good.  Fever pitch may be great we will see but right now if someone was only going to own one urethane I would tell them to get a Purple Hammer.  Bar is high for Storm.
Title: Re: Fever Pitch
Post by: JazlarVonSteich on February 08, 2019, 10:31:15 AM
I got my Fever Pitch last night (just in time for match play in our big annual season tournament). I used it for about a game and a half in league before one lane got really wet dry. The reaction was exactly what I was looking for. Cleaner than my Hot Cell and Combat Tank, and more hook on the back end. Gives me a good 1-2-3 punch with urethane. I also still have the Shadow Ops, but I left that drilled for one handed (recently switched back to two handed).

I gave my Black and Purple Hammers to my son, but I would say that this ball is definitely closer to the Purple Hammer than any other urethane I've thrown. I want to say the Purple Hammer may be a tad cleaner with more back end, but I have not done any direct testing.