BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Storm => Topic started by: 3835 on January 03, 2021, 10:33:19 AM

Title: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: 3835 on January 03, 2021, 10:33:19 AM
Sorta shocked.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: CoorZero on January 03, 2021, 10:51:57 AM
I watched the video too. He was emphatic that it wasn't about the money, and even referenced how much he made on tour last year (yikes!). Was more about how Kyle believes this gives him the best chance to win titles.

Which basically means he thinks the equipment is just better. Can't fault him too much for that since it is Storm (and Roto Grip, and maybe 900 Global) Sherman is going to. Their breadth of ball motion is hard to beat.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: northface28 on January 03, 2021, 11:17:37 AM
Everyone knows what I would normally say. Since itís a new year Iím going to try and be nice. I will say this is hardly surprising.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: Jesse James on January 03, 2021, 11:33:02 AM
To me, it's not about what equipment is better, it's more about what equipment matches the bowlers' style!

Much to do about nothing really!
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: keegan.mier on January 05, 2021, 08:36:26 AM
To me, it's not about what equipment is better, it's more about what equipment matches the bowlers' style!

Much to do about nothing really!

Exactly, even if you donít match up with it, every company is making quality equipment right now, itís about what fits your game and your eye. This situation seems to have more to it as social media presence of the brand seemed part of his decision, as a content creator. But he said no bad things about Brunswick which was good to see.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: lilpossum1 on January 05, 2021, 09:02:14 AM
Iím hoping to see him and brad do real time reviews of equipment since they can throw the same stuff now. Something where they bowl alternate throwing in the same lanes and give their input after each shot from the point of someone throwing the ball and somebody watching. Maybe on two different patterns on each lane. The two of them seem to work well enough together that they could potentially be one of the best ball review channels, right up there with Luke.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: leftybowler70 on January 05, 2021, 09:12:43 PM
Iím hoping to see him and brad do real time reviews of equipment since they can throw the same stuff now. Something where they bowl alternate throwing in the same lanes and give their input after each shot from the point of someone throwing the ball and somebody watching. Maybe on two different patterns on each lane. The two of them seem to work well enough together that they could potentially be one of the best ball review channels, right up there with Luke.

And Tamer....
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: Matt C on January 06, 2021, 09:09:03 AM
Was shocked to see this..

I met Kyle when i took my son to Jr. Gold in Detroit.  What an awesome young man, he took 10-15 minutes to talk to my son about anything he wanted to ask about

Along with giving him tips to practice better ( i tell him the same things but yah know.. pro bowler vs Dad)

Hope this works out well for him this year.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: northface28 on January 06, 2021, 12:08:45 PM
There is a lot credence to Storm building/growing bowling whereas the other company does not appear to be all that interested in doing so.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: Luke Rosdahl on January 06, 2021, 01:21:56 PM
I'm biased of course . . but I don't BS people either.  Storm is doing a lot for the game right now, and especially with the youth.  The Storm Youth Championships are funded by and ran by the company, and they travel all over the country.  They just started a youth staff/development program, and behind the scenes, they're very committed to it, it's not just posturing or marketing.  With the addition of 900 Global, and with the increased versatility of our catalog over the last few years, (we aren't just the skid/snap company anymore), I truly and honestly believe our collective catalog is the best and most well rounded in the industry right now.  Brunswick brands are putting out some solid stuff, a lot of it is getting lost with as many brands as they have and as fast as they're shuffling stuff through.  Motiv is amazingly solid, the fact that they've been able to hang and thrive actually as a single brand company is mind boggling.  SPI is just the dominant force in the industry right now, and the moves they've made recently are pretty aggressive, plus the point that Kyle made in that video about what they're doing for bowling is fair and accurate. 

Our regular staffers could use a ridiculous amount of work . . but that's already more than I should probably say lol . . but honestly, the best place to be right now, especially as a national staffer, is with Storm, just point blank. 
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: lilpossum1 on January 06, 2021, 04:03:41 PM
I honestly forgot about Tamer, but his videos are top notch! The commentary I feel is as equally important as the footage. You cannot have a quality review while missing either in my opinion.
Iím hoping to see him and brad do real time reviews of equipment since they can throw the same stuff now. Something where they bowl alternate throwing in the same lanes and give their input after each shot from the point of someone throwing the ball and somebody watching. Maybe on two different patterns on each lane. The two of them seem to work well enough together that they could potentially be one of the best ball review channels, right up there with Luke.

And Tamer....
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: ignitebowling on January 06, 2021, 09:09:14 PM
If Brunswick utilizes BASF for their coverstocks going forward along with continuing to use Bayer I think it will play out well in the long run.

The new Columbia Command gives me hope that they are using BASF based on the reaction I've seen. 

I can slow my roll on hoarding old stock EBI for a little bit.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: ignitebowling on January 07, 2021, 09:49:24 AM
Marshall Kent to Big Bowling was a missed opportunity in my opinion for Brunswick to sign more young and up coming talent. They make Kyle the face of Brunswick but do little to no promotion of it or him.

Brunswicks social media presence is garbage. Most of their ball reactions videos under utilize available talent. Legends are great but aren't appealing to the younger audience. When I search ball reactions videos for newer Brunswick stuff it is very disappointing on what is available.

Whoever manages their social media side of things and promotions needs some help or some new blood. You've really blown some opportunities and Im thinking we will see more of that in the following year.   
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: Bowler19525 on January 07, 2021, 10:19:43 AM
I think Brunswick relies on the bowlers themselves to create and post content, whereas Storm puts more corporate backed resources in to their social media presence.  Radical stated they brought Andrew Anderson on board to grow social media content, however Radical really hasn't done much outside of their Throbot videos. 

Most of the Brunswick staffers have Facebook pages where they post pictures and videos of the latest equipment, them using the equipment, etc.  Some of the Brunswick staffers also have YouTube channels where they do some decent reviews.  Laneside Reviews comes to mind.  Rob Johnson does a good job reviewing and commenting about the latest Brunswick equipment.

Brunswick "corporate" videos are nothing more than 2 minute clips of people throwing balls and then saying "it is a must have!  get to your local pro shop."  Storm, on the other hand, produces much more in depth and expansive varieties of corporate produced content.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: themagician on January 07, 2021, 11:43:16 AM
I think Brunswick relies on the bowlers themselves to create and post content, whereas Storm puts more corporate backed resources in to their social media presence.  Radical stated they brought Andrew Anderson on board to grow social media content, however Radical really hasn't done much outside of their Throbot videos. 

Most of the Brunswick staffers have Facebook pages where they post pictures and videos of the latest equipment, them using the equipment, etc.  Some of the Brunswick staffers also have YouTube channels where they do some decent reviews.  Laneside Reviews comes to mind.  Rob Johnson does a good job reviewing and commenting about the latest Brunswick equipment.

Brunswick "corporate" videos are nothing more than 2 minute clips of people throwing balls and then saying "it is a must have!  get to your local pro shop."  Storm, on the other hand, produces much more in depth and expansive varieties of corporate produced content.

Well when the whole Brunswick/Mag 7 attitude is to dump 8 new releases every month who cares about the reviews, ball is replaced by something magically better in no time. There's room for a lot of companies in industry, and I love that you can buy 4 month old mexican made balls for 60 bucks NIB, but damn, as someone that works in a pro shop we cannot stock any of their releases, which then in turns to customers turning to the Motiv and Utah brand balls we have in stock when they are impulse buying.

Sorry for off topicness.

Still think the Sherman move was a lot about the backing Storm is giving to help them grow the youtube channel and the additional revenue and opportunities that will come from that.
Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: Bowler19525 on January 07, 2021, 12:58:17 PM

Well when the whole Brunswick/Mag 7 attitude is to dump 8 new releases every month who cares about the reviews, ball is replaced by something magically better in no time. There's room for a lot of companies in industry, and I love that you can buy 4 month old mexican made balls for 60 bucks NIB, but damn, as someone that works in a pro shop we cannot stock any of their releases, which then in turns to customers turning to the Motiv and Utah brand balls we have in stock when they are impulse buying.

Sorry for off topicness.

Still think the Sherman move was a lot about the backing Storm is giving to help them grow the youtube channel and the additional revenue and opportunities that will come from that.

I agree that Brunswick needs to consolidate their brands.  I would like to see them keep Brunswick, Radical, Hammer, and Ebonite.  DV8, Columbia, and Track could probably go away and no one would really notice.  I love the $60 NIBs as well, and that is when I usually buy.  I have never paid full price for a Brunswick branded ball, and probably wouldn't knowing they go on closeout after a few months.

Title: Re: Sherman leaves Brunswick and signs with Storm!
Post by: Metal_rules on January 07, 2021, 04:31:06 PM
I am not on staff. But in my opinion, Roto Grip and Storm have been the best match up for me. Been using them since 2010. Will not switch to any other brand.  I think the switch will help Sherman make the cut more often, and eventually win.