BallReviews

Equipment Boards => Storm => Topic started by: n00dlejester on August 26, 2019, 04:10:18 PM

Title: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: n00dlejester on August 26, 2019, 04:10:18 PM
Hey BR Fam,

I got my hands on a Timeless, and I'm looking to give it a bit of a trick drilling. But before I do anything, what's everyone's experience with this ball? The reviews I read were all glowing and all said similar stuff, so I'm curious what folks think about the ball now that it's been out a while.
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on August 26, 2019, 05:12:43 PM
To quote someone much more knowledgeable than me (see below).  I think on the right conditions its amazing but being more pearl than solid (opposite of Hy-Road) it was a bit unpredictable and uncontrollable for most people was the verdict.  Bit of a case of a mid level ball over-hyped and priced like a top shelf piece.  Who knows maybe you match up though.  Never know.

The great thing I'm seeing about this ball, is whenever my team is bowling against 1 or more players throwing one, it's an automatic win every time. The window that this ball makes it's move in is way too small for the average league bowler to control. We bowl on a 2nd shift league with a re-oil of the heads so right away the lanes are too wet in the front, too choppy in the mids, and depending on what zone you're in you either get too much motion off the spot, or too much push from inside.

When I'm bowling against someone throwing a Timeless, I can always count on them going  Light pocket strike-> washout-> Trip 4 strike-> Big 4.

I could actually see them making a "Tour" version that's a little more predictable for many different styles and them touting it as the greatest ball ever made. .....wait, they already have a Hyroad.

...Too many balls. Sheesh
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: n00dlejester on August 26, 2019, 09:09:15 PM
Thanks, Donuts. I've heard very similar stuff at the local centers. The ball pushes so far!
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: notclay on August 26, 2019, 09:41:56 PM

The guys who didn't like it were playing way too deep.  After they tried straighter lines through the front the ball did well for them.

I am not a fan of "trick" drillings for most people.  A tried-and-true layout will help you know what the ball really does.  Otherwise, you might keep asking yourself, "was that the ball, or was that the bowler?" 

Norm Duke (one of the greatest, in my opinion) used to keep nearly everything with a similar layout.  The pin would always be within a 1" box, so to speak. 
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: BowlingForDonuts on August 26, 2019, 09:53:09 PM
Yeah honestly if would have been released without a lot of fanfare in Thunder line I think it would have been liked more.  It was hyped far too much (to get Belmo paid) and priced wrong so developed a bad reputation.  But probably more a marketing fail than a bad ball I am guessing.  At least third time was the charm sounds like in signature line.
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: n00dlejester on August 27, 2019, 07:59:06 AM

The guys who didn't like it were playing way too deep.  After they tried straighter lines through the front the ball did well for them.

I am not a fan of "trick" drillings for most people.  A tried-and-true layout will help you know what the ball really does.  Otherwise, you might keep asking yourself, "was that the ball, or was that the bowler?" 

Norm Duke (one of the greatest, in my opinion) used to keep nearly everything with a similar layout.  The pin would always be within a 1" box, so to speak. 


Normally, I'm not a fan of trick drillings myself. I have 4 layouts I mainly use (two for asym cores; two for sym cores). There are two drillings that I use specifically for sport patterns only -

For symmetric cores: 45* x 6.5 x 60*. This normally puts the pin down, and under my middle finger. I use this for short patterns only, basically. It gives me easy length, and a very sweeping motion to the pocket. Because this drill kills the flare, I have to use a high diff core to get it going.

For asymmetric cores: I don't even know the numbers - it's something like 70* x 5.5 x 20*. For me, this layout gets the ball down the lane and it stands up pretty quickly, but it still tumbles more than snaps. It's a useful layout for longer patterns after they're beat up a bit. This one is a bit more versatile, and can be used on THS.

I'm hopeful I can use the symmetric layout on the Timeless, and get it to do what I want with surface. And if it doesn't work, oh well. The ball was free, so I'm okay with a failed experiment.
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: skfboiler on August 27, 2019, 05:54:43 PM
Hey BR Fam,

I got my hands on a Timeless, and I'm looking to give it a bit of a trick drilling. But before I do anything, what's everyone's experience with this ball? The reviews I read were all glowing and all said similar stuff, so I'm curious what folks think about the ball now that it's been out a while.
When you finally get the Timeless out on the lanes, please give us some feedback. As a fellow Timeless owner I like to the hear how you like it. Mine is drilled pin up, above my middle finger.

My Timeless performs as advertised by its RG and Diff numbers; goes long and makes a sharp turn. This past Sunday was my first league outing this season. I used the Timeless the third game after my pin down Soniq started to read too early.  I used the same line and the Timeless, as well as my Punch Out performed well in this spot.
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: 2handedrook12 on August 28, 2019, 02:20:45 AM
I personally like my Timeless a lot. Just got it towards the end of the summer. It reminds me a lot of the Lights Out. It's best for me when I keep it in front of me. If I want/need to go left with it, I have to reduce my speed and increase axis rotation to get the ball to respond properly. It never wants to try on a cliff when using too much speed or too little rotation .
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: Dakota on August 31, 2019, 02:06:58 PM
Hi Fellow Bowlers - Good question!  I have enjoyed the posts concerning the Timeless.  Personally I like the ball. I have two.  Each drilled with a different Dual Angle Drill Pattern. The key point with any ball and its location in the Arsenal is to know the RG value and how it will fit into your arsenal.   Than you determine the Dual Angle and what you want the ball to do. The Timeless has a somewhat higher RG value, 2.57,  thus it will not perform very well on a fresh THS or Sport Pattern.  But wait for the lanes to transition and you have a great ball to go to.  Coach Denny O'Neill. Gold Level Coach Fall 2019.
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: BeerLeague on September 10, 2019, 02:31:04 PM
2 words .... NOT MUCH
Title: Re: Timeless - What to Expect?
Post by: Jesse James on September 10, 2019, 04:31:23 PM
The Timeless, much like the original Phaze are you LOVE it or HATE it!!

I once saw a young lady bowl with one and she got three different arc shapes out of the ball!! I'm sure it was because of changes in her release, but it had me totally confused!

My teammate last year had one and swore that he loved it! Except it pushed on him when he least expected it to!!

Good luck!