win a ball from Bowling.com

Author Topic: [OT] USBC Rule?  (Read 2447 times)

Billy Ray

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
[OT] USBC Rule?
« on: September 04, 2008, 03:01:30 AM »
I had a League bowler tell me the other night that a new USBC rule allows for " If shooting a Spare when dead wood is in the channel and if the ball contacts the Dead wood that the spare can be reset and attempted again?

Now this seems a litle ridiculous to me... IF you make a bad shot and hit the deadwood you get a 2nd chance at it? Does this seem fair?

AND is it true that this got passed?
--------------------
Billy Ray
Track Pro Staff
www.raysproshop.com
"Let Us Help You Become More Competitive"
Billy Ray
Track Pro Staff
Owner Rays Pro Shop
Inside Sparetime Lanes-East Greenbush
"Let Us Help You Become More Competitive"

 

abrown

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1030
Re: [OT] USBC Rule?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2008, 11:04:51 AM »
thats sucks isnt that what pinchasers are for

nutsforbowling

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 965
Re: [OT] USBC Rule?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2008, 11:07:17 AM »
If this were so, we should change the name of the game to candlepins.
--------------------
Me stupid. Me believe anything. Please tell me what to do.

Phoneman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1433
Re: [OT] USBC Rule?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2008, 11:08:35 AM »
here is the rule right from the rule book.  He does not get to try again it is a gutter ball and the pinfall does not count

6b. Illegal Pinfall
 

When any of the following occur, the delivery counts but the resulting pinfall does not:

1.    A ball leaves the lane before reaching the pins.

2.    A ball rebounds from the rear cushion.

3.    A pin rebounds after coming in contact with the body, arms or legs of a human pinsetter.

4.    A pin is touched by mechanical pinsetting equipment.

5.    Any pin knocked down when dead wood is being removed.

6.    Any pin knocked down by a human pinsetter.

7.    The player commits a foul.

8.    A delivery is made with dead wood on the lane or in the gutter and the ball contacts such dead wood before leaving the lane surface.

9.    A delivery is made with dead wood on the lane or in the gutter, and a pin, after coming into contact with the dead wood, knocks down one or more pins.

 

If an illegal pinfall occurs and the player is entitled to additional deliveries in the frame, the pin(s) illegally knocked down must be respotted where it (they) originally stood before delivery of the ball.

RSalas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4058
Re: [OT] USBC Rule?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2008, 11:09:28 AM »
The online rule book on bowl.com shows the following entry for Rule 6b:

quote:
When any of the following occur, the delivery counts but the resulting pinfall does not:

1.    A ball leaves the lane before reaching the pins.

2.    A ball rebounds from the rear cushion.

3.    A pin rebounds after coming in contact with the body, arms or legs of a human pinsetter.

4.    A pin is touched by mechanical pinsetting equipment.

5.    Any pin knocked down when dead wood is being removed.

6.    Any pin knocked down by a human pinsetter.

7.    The player commits a foul.

8.    A delivery is made with dead wood on the lane or in the gutter and the ball contacts such dead wood before leaving the lane surface.

9.    A delivery is made with dead wood on the lane or in the gutter, and a pin, after coming into contact with the dead wood, knocks down one or more pins.

If an illegal pinfall occurs and the player is entitled to additional deliveries in the frame, the pin(s) illegally knocked down must be respotted where it (they) originally stood before delivery of the ball.


--------------------
...formerly "The Curse of Dusty," and "Po÷ter Bo÷f" before that...

"Powered by Brunswick since 2002"
#TweetYourScores

mainzer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4387
Re: [OT] USBC Rule?
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2008, 11:14:11 AM »
Why was he allowed to throw at the pin with dead wood out anyway? Dead wood must be clear before the next shot was throwen.

Or at least that was my understanding. In any case the shot he throw counted and he shouldn't be allowed to reset the pin and try again
--------------------
MainzerPower
"No one runs...from the conquerer "

MainzerPower

Billy Ray

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 984
Re: [OT] USBC Rule?
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2008, 08:02:10 AM »
Seemed a little to hard to believe for me as well but I will rectify it this week at the league and make everyone aware of the rule.

Thanks for the input.
--------------------
Billy Ray
Track Pro Staff
www.raysproshop.com
"Let Us Help You Become More Competitive"
Billy Ray
Track Pro Staff
Owner Rays Pro Shop
Inside Sparetime Lanes-East Greenbush
"Let Us Help You Become More Competitive"