BallReviews

Reviews => Visionary => Topic started by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM

Title: Gargoyle
Post by: admin on December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM
The ball is equipped with the NPT weight block with a spherical wrap around it and a new reactive coverstock. The shell and core combination used in this ball provide good length (similar to the Orange Warlock) but with an even more explosive backend reaction. The color of the ball is Green Pearl. Low RG = 2.58". RG Differential = 0.038".
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Paul Meyer on June 23, 2000, 02:00:00 AM
I was finally able to get my hands on one of these balls...and let me tell you that I will be going back to get a few more. I drilled mine 4 1/2 X 3 1/2, no extra was needed. Finished with 3/4 pos. side and no finger weight. This ball cleared the heads with easy but made such an impressive backend flip. I can honestly say that I have never seen carry quite like this ball. The pins were all over the place, even poor hits that could have left a 2-10, were becoming strikes. Another strong point of this ball was that if I missed my target inside in the oil, it was still able to finish and carry. This ball didn't have the squirt like the Matrix Trimax. Overall you will not see a ball with this much performance for the dollar. This is a must have ball.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: SKIP on October 08, 2000, 02:00:00 AM
OK, here is the first of a few posts of Visionary equipment I will have. I had never thrown anything from this company before, and took advantage of their test staff program. I had this ball drilled with the pin 6" from my pap and the cg is 5" from my pap.  This ball goes very long while storing up a ton of energy for the left hand turn, and turn it does.  Not a hard flip, but a hard heavy arching move.  The pins don't stand a chance with this monster. It keeps them very low and carrying the corner pins extremly well.  I have only tested this ball on light condition and it excells.  This ball is by far superior to my Eraser
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: BuddiesProShopcom - Bill on January 17, 2001, 09:11:21 AM
After the success we have had with the Granite Gargoyle, we decided to bring in the Green Gargoyle, and the customers love it.  One of the pro shop staff wanted a new ball, so we punched this ball out for him.  This bowler doesn't hook the ball a lot, just a couple of boards bell.  



I drilled it with a stacked drilling with the pin and cg 1 1/4" for the grip line, which with this bowler gave him a 3 3/4" by 3 3/4" layout from his PAP.



This ball is smooth through the head, begins to roll in the midlane and then turns over in the backend, with great punch on the deck.



The hitting power is one of the things that stands out about this ball.  On the off pocket hits, this ball throws pins all over.  I watched this ball begin thrown on 2 completely different shots, and the ball reacted great.  One shot was a complete wall, and the ball just ripped the whole with no mercy.  The second shot was 2nd shift with some carry down and dry gutters.  The ball didn't over/under, just read the ball, and didn't jerk to the pocket, on the spray shots.



On a Scale of 1-10, I would give this ball a solid 9.  If you are looking for a pearl reactive, then don't past on this ball.  Visionary is a smaller company but making big balls.



If you have any questions, please email me at Bill@buddiesproshop.com



Thanks

Bill
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: rob clark on March 07, 2001, 07:54:17 AM
I've had my green gargoyle for about 2 weeks now. It's drilled with the pin above the ring finger and the cg under the middle finger. the pin's about 3˝" from the cg. so I have about a 1:45 drilling. It scaled out with about 5/8 ounce NEGATIVE side weight. This ball HOOKS on the dry like nobody's business! But I can open up the lane well with it and don't worry much about recovery. It carries very well and throws messengers harder and faster than my pearl messenger. It's a terrific ball.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: rob clark on March 07, 2001, 07:55:00 AM
I've had my green gargoyle for about 2 weeks now. It's drilled with the pin above the ring finger and the cg under the middle finger. the pin's about 3˝" from the cg. so I have about a 1:45 drilling. It scaled out with about 5/8 ounce NEGATIVE side weight. This ball HOOKS on the dry like nobody's business! But I can open up the lane well with it and don't worry much about recovery. It carries very well and throws messengers harder and faster than my pearl messenger. It's a terrific ball.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: sullymatt on April 11, 2001, 01:41:39 PM
I picked the Green Gargoyle up as part of my Platinum Membership and let me tell you this thing goes long and hits like a freight train in the pocket.  I had it drilled with a 10:30 drilling, no leverage hole.  I used the ball on a medium-light oil pattern in a handicap men's league.  The ball went through the heads very nice, once it cleared, the ball really let loose and exploded into the pocket, shot 668 and cannot wait to have my other three balls punched.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Doug Sterner on June 02, 2001, 09:26:39 AM
I received this ball second hand and simply plugged and redrilled the thumbhole so I think this is a good read of the ball.

Layout:
Pin at 1:30, shifted for 1/2 side and 1/2 finger, no weight hole, 1 oz top weight after drilling

The shot:
I bowl in a 2nd shift scratch league where they oil before the first shift and again after they are finished so we have some decent oil to play with but there is always a bump area between 5 and 10 where the ball will fly if you get it there. Oiled to 32, buffed to 38 with 3 day old backends.

I will admit I was impressed with the Green Gargoyle. I have heard others brag about this ball but was skeptical. Now I am a believer. This is one strong ball. Gave better length than my 4" Eraser (reviewed elsewhere) and turn off the corner similar to my Trauma.

I sell these balls out of my shop for $145 and I must say they perform much better than their price tag. Good length and explosive backend make this a winner if it can gain more exposure.

A solid 9+ out of 10.
--------------------
Doug Sterner
Doug's Pro Shop
Owego, NY
www.dougsproshop.com
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: strike12 on August 09, 2001, 02:02:00 PM


Since becoming part of the Visionary test staff I have had the pleasure to finally through their bowling balls.  I now know that I should not have waited.  These are perhaps the best I have used.  Before I go in the the review I should note to you that I was throwing AMF NightHawk SPT and Revenge; I also use a Lane#1 Buzzsaw and recently moved to a new house to bowl where the lanes have a little more oil.  I was down for the league on average but; I have drilled and been playing with the Granite (check that review also) and Green Gargoyle  for the past few weeks.  

These two are perfect for eachother.  I am right handed and have medium speed and rotation.  I usually stand 22-25 and through 9-10.  This ball is perhaps my new favorite ball and is first out of the bag.  It goes long and has absolutly awesome backend and as with the Granite it hit the pins hard and they fly; even light hits carry more then they have in the past for me.  This ball has a great look too.  It is much more important for me to get a ball that performs rather then for looks, but when it looks as good as this one and plays better then I imagined it would I am set.  What I have been doing is throwing the Granite the first game and half and then I have to switch to the Green becuase of the lane condition changes but I can play the same line almost all night long and never have to move.  This makes my game even stonger.  Since throwing these two as a pair the past 3 weeks I have upped my average about 10 pins or more.  In one league alone I bowled a 678, 694 the past few weeks.

Make sure and check the Granite Gargoyle review also.

Great work and great products.  If you are looking for something different and want something that wont break the bank this is it.

Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: twolf226 on August 19, 2001, 12:51:34 AM
My green Gargoyle is drilled 12:00 stacked. 1/2 oz top weight
this ball has factory finish on the shell.
I had this ball drilled for dry lanes with hard backends.I must
say this ball hits like a truck keeps pins low and flying. This ball
seems to hold up well. I use this ball late in tournaments or in later shift leagues. My rating on this ball for what I use it for is a solid 9 out of 10 its the best dry lane ball ever...... :
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Thumbless on August 22, 2001, 04:03:39 PM
Layout: 2" pin in the ring finger, cg in the palm pretty much under the ring finger, label leverage

As the moniker states, I'm a thumbless bowler, so high revs, high track with medium speed.

This is my first Visionary ball. I've had it for a couple of months. It works extremely well on light mediums to heavy mediums. It's appropriately long for that condition and has a hard arcing motion at the back. I don't find it flippy at all, but it definitely drives thru the backend and hits very hard. Overall, it's a very predictable ball.

It does go too long on heavy oil, heavy carrydown or out-of-bounds shots, and hooks too hard on toast, but that's not what it's made for. I think it's an exceptional ball, especially for $145, and I give it 9/10.

Stay tuned for a review of the Executioner with the same drilling.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: slumpp on October 14, 2001, 05:26:07 PM
Ball:  15 lbs, 21/2-3" pin, drilled with the pin above the ring finger and the cg in line with it below the ring finger.  Ball ended up with 7/8 oz finger weight, 1/8 positive side weight, 1 oz top weight.  I am a tweener, with some speed (18-20 mph).  Bowled with this ball in three different houses, two synthetics, one wood.  If there is oil in the synthetics, and no back end, this ball will skid out (wasn't designed for that anyway).  However, if there is any backend, or a wet dry shot, this ball smokes!!!!!!  Lots of messengers, when I bowled straight up boards, or when I went deep.  In a house that was dry left some 9s but the shot was there.  In a recent tourney, house was wood, wet fronts, fresh stripped backs, left turn  as soon as it hit the dry.  Great ball, better price.  Match it against any of the big boys balls.  Give it a 9.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: CraigL on October 26, 2001, 01:49:22 PM
I've had my Green Gargoyle for about eight months now, and have had a chance to throw it on a wide variety of conditions.

First, the stats & layout:

- 15lbs
- Pin 3 1/2" from CG
- Pin 3 3/8" from axis
- 12:00 stacked leverage drill
- 3/4" weight hole
- Factory finish

About me:

- Right handed
- Medium speed
- Medium revs
- Low-200 average bowler

The Green Gargoyle is advertised as a medium -> dry shot ball, and that is exactly what it is. The following are some pros and cons:

Pros:

- No problem clearing medium -> oily heads
- Very predictable and consistant reaction
- Hooks *HARD*
- Hits very hard & keeps the pins low
- Fairly versatile
- Probably the best "bang-for-the-buck" out there

Cons:

- If the heads are smoked, the ball will hook up too early and roll out
- If carrydown occurs, the Green Gargoyle tends to skid too long

Other notes:

The Green Gargoyle is my #1 go-to ball due to its consistancy. The only time I would recommend against using this ball would be on more extreme conditions -- very dry or very oily. For extremely oily shots, Visionary has released the Granite Gargoyle, which I will be reviewing shortly.

I threw 258-239-215 (712) my first set with the Green Gargoyle, and have been a Visionary believer ever since.

Hope this helps someone out there!

Craig
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: lander0 on February 07, 2002, 01:22:21 PM
Great go long power,with a hard snap on the back end.great for medium oil and dry conditions. This ball can hit any condition in the right hands.pin placement,drill pattern,etc,I just tell Tim what I want it to do.

                                                     Brent Couch
                                                      test staff
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: audize2 on February 24, 2002, 06:05:42 PM
another 13# ball for my 11 yr. old. top wt. 2.36. we decided to drill this one stacked per visionary instructions. the ball has decidedly more hook than his scorcher or his crimson executioner. we again took the coverstock down to 600 polish. as long as he puts hand in the ball and hits slightly high, he doesnt have a problem, but if he comes in lite, he can leave some 5, or 5/7 5/10 combos. could be the brunswick lanes, or the fact that he is only throwing 13#.still rates a solid 9 out of 10.also we have jus picked up a alley gripper off of ebay, we will see if it changes anything.he also uses this ball for spares with the scorcher as the first ball.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Ball_Tester on June 15, 2002, 04:15:54 PM
Likes: Good length, great hit. Turns corner well.

Dislikes: Does not like carrydown at all.

OK, here is the first of a few posts of Visionary equipment I will have. I had never thrown anything from this company before, and took advantage of their test staff program. All I have to say is what took me so long. The Green Pearl Gargoyle is an outstanding bowling ball that everyone should have in their bag. I have only thrown this ball for 3 games now, but it handled a lane condition with fried heads better than any ball I had in my bag. It also gave me a ball reaction on this condition that I have been looking for, for a long time. It got down the lane great with a nice hard arc, and great hit. While a lot of stuff for medium/dry condtions today like to leave a lot of corners this is not the case with this ball. This thing drives threw the pocket like a convoy of mack trucks. On the first night out this Gargoyle put the balls from the big companies to shame. So far I give this one a 9 out of 10. I will keep you posted as I throw it on different conditions in a few different houses.

UPDATE
OK...I have had the opportunity to throw this ball on a number of conditions now. I agree with my orginal review in that this ball is excellent on drier head, but clean back-ends are also needed for this ball to perform to its maximum. Visionary has done an exceptional job with this ball, but it is important one remembers the purpose of this ball. If the backs are not clean it will leave a lot of 10 pins. It also does not seem to like longer oil, but can be used on a flat/short pattern well. If the lanes are scorched this one plays a little strong. It can still be used, but you must be willing to increase ball speed and open up the lane. I'm still a big fan of this one.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Jerry Weller on June 25, 2002, 03:22:39 AM
Just traded a Columbia Rock On for this ball with a friend who is an up the back player so my impressions are of the initial variety here...

This ball's coverstock is box finish conditon but has some track on it now -- the drilling is a stacked leverage drill.

First impression and I can't stress this enough. The hardest hitting bowling ball have ever thrown in my life. Surpasses the Titanium Messenger -- congratulations Visionary.

Second major impression -- covers a lot of boards -- comparable look and hook to the Super Power solid on it's condition. The Gargoyle I would say is a medium-light oil ball btw...

Amazing strength, but surprisingly controllable for this much raw power. I normally hate balls that hook too violently, but the control of this one redeems it.

I threw the ball the first time on dry heads with carrydown. I tried throwing inside where I had some oil and got great length, but the ball didn't quite have enough roll to get the 10 pin out with all the carrydown.

I tried throwing out to the track and discovered it was quite burnt and the ball wanted to turn left pronto so I decided to target the reflection of the 10 pin and see what it could do if I could get it to the breakpoint. It took me a few shots to get lined up, but once I did the Gargoyle just crushed the rack and I could not throw it far enough right to miss the head pin. The back end reaction was a very hard but controllable arch and I managed to throw a nice string to end the session.

The ball might be downright scary on a fresh wet dry even with a tamer drilling if you are a person who turns the ball. I am guessing this one may have an uncontrollable snap for me on a fresh shot.

The next day with more oil I found the Gargoyle still pings occasional 10 pins in the oil once there is a bit of the carrydown and eventually became squirty in the oil.

When I threw the Gargoyle up the dirt it was turning left way early again so I tried targeting further down the lane this time about 5 feet past the splice and once again got a very nice pin crushing hit with a very hard arching backend. I can't imagine a conditon dry enough to get this one to roll out for a person who turns the ball.

I bowled with a friend who likes to swing the ball and the carrydown inside was giving him fits between the over under reaction and the lack of carry.
He averages about 15 pins higher than me, but I beat him 3 out of 4 games and should have beat him the 4th game (lost by 2 pins by blowing a single pin spare)
The Gargoyle carried some amazing hits and again had considerable room to the right and a bit of hold when I mildly tugged the shot in the oil.

I would love nothing better than to be able to throw a ball that hits like this all the time. I will definitely be considering more Visionary equipment for my arsenal. I just wish I could use this one on more conditions. If I can find a way to use this one on a shot, my other balls will be staying in the bag.

If this were a full priced ball it would be worth every penny -- at mid price this one is a must have.

Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: leftyjimbo on July 15, 2002, 10:08:53 AM
15#
Pin:3-4
T.W. 3 oz.
Drilling: 5x3.5   extra hole on pap, 1/4 finger and 3/4 side
Lefthanded stroker w/ low to med revs and med speed
Typical house shot: 38 feet with dry backends

This ball gets down the lane very easily to a  very strong arching move at the breakpoint. The carry has been above average and this is usually my first ball out of the bag. I would recommend this ball to anyone looking for a strong ball for med/ dry lane conditions...it's a great price too.

Good Job Visionary



Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: HskrPwr on July 27, 2002, 10:22:36 PM
I really like this ball.  I have a standard drilling and can play this ball right up the 5 or 10 boards and have a great snap on the backend.  I currently used a white-dot as my #1 ball on most house shots, but this ball may replace it.  If you're a cranker who likes to stand around the center or off to the left center of the approach and throw it out wide, this ball will work great on very dry conditions, but will need to have it drilled with a higher flair for all other conditions.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: omegabowler on November 12, 2002, 08:56:29 AM
My Specs:
   Right handed
   Med. Speed/Med revs
   10-30 deg tilt/ 10-30 deg rotation

Ball:
   Green Gargoyle
   4” pin
   15#
   3oz top
Drill:
   Stacked label. Pin over ring finger
   1- 3” of track flare

Lane conditions:
   House #1: 38’ med oil, OB 25’. Anywhere from 3 game to 30 games. League house.
   House #2 32’ heavy oil fresh to well used. Practice house.


   With this drilling the ball has a late breakpoint. On a lighter wall shot( League) this ball is devastating. If the oil if fresh, but not heavy, you can play down and in. if it is burnt up you can swing away.  The only time I put it away is when the oil has carried down into the breakpoint area. The ball keeps the pins low and carries great.  

   The overall reaction of the ball is long with a hard arc to the pocket. It doesn’t over react at the breakpoint. It has a nice consistent read on the lanes. This is the fist ball I have used from Visionary and it is the first ball I have every used where I didn’t have to move 5 boards left every game. it's a keeper.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: bowlinggodbink on November 14, 2002, 09:59:46 PM
This is one fine ball from Visionary. I was a member of the Test Staff and need to rejoin! So far all of their products have done well on various lane conditions. This particular ball does well in light oil situations. Carries long and snaps into the pocket further down than the Crimsion executioner.
The Visionary Staff are also very nice people to work with. They like when I give them reviews on their products. I am waiting to get back on the staff to try out the Gryphon and the Purple Ice executioner.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Gene J Kanak on January 17, 2003, 04:57:21 PM
Hey everyone,

  I got this ball used from a fellow ballreviews member and must say that thus far it has been exactly what I want it to be. You can check my profile for specifics about me, but I will tell you that I mostly try to stroke through this ball, though I could see it working well for crankers as well.
  I had this ball kept in the box finish, pin above and between fingers, cg in grip center kicked out very slightly to the right. I wanted this ball to be very smooth throughout the lane and to give me a strong arc on the backend.
  So far I have only tried to use this one on lighter conditions, as that is what it was designed for. The pearl coverstock and this drilling allow the ball to bet through the heads very cleanly, it revs up in the midlane and makes a strong, continuous arc through the deck. The change of direction is very noticeable when it hits dry, but with this drilling it does not overreact in the least. Plus, the hit, as with my Granite Gargoyle, is phenomenal. Light hits send pins flying everywhere, and the ball seems to be forgiving when it comes to poor releases.
  Overall I would rate this ball a solid 9 out of 10 thus far. It is very versatile, hits like a tank and performs exactly how Visionary says it will. This is only my second ball from Visionary, but the quality of their equipment is really making me take notice. I would recommend this ball to anyone who knows their game or who has a driller that knows it for them. Great job Visionary. Keep the good ones coming.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Sir_rev-a-lot on February 14, 2003, 02:56:07 AM
AS for mine, I drilled it with cg in the center, pin high above the bridge (The pin Out on it was 4-4.5 inches).  Everything else is in my profile.

I have thrown it in a few different houses around here, and one thing I noticed its how much this ball stores energy, but how controllable it is.  The one center that I could have at least a favorable matchup between me and the lanes, it worked like a charm.  The main need for it though is the fresh backends.  Most balls labeled on fresh backends, I have enough hand to use them with little to moderate carrydown on lighter oil patterns.  This one because too squirty, and despite strong, its a very predictable, thus not forgiving on the back end.  If your in a house that runs a lighter pattern, I would give this ball the scared "two thumbs up".  When played to its strength, there is nothing better for the money then this one.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: L7H2N on March 10, 2003, 09:45:41 AM
Left handed bowler
Lots of hand
Pin 1/4 diagonal down from ring finger (45 degrees)
Cg 1/8" inside axis

This has been one of my most consistant balls. I can move from straight up to swing out, whatever the lanes give me. On a typical house shot, this ball is best throwing from the left just pushing out 3-4 boards and riding back into the pocket. This one and my crimson executioner are the 2 I start with in league play.

Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: TheDude on March 17, 2003, 09:11:42 AM
I've had two of these balls, and loved it.

My first one was drilled 5x4 with my pin above and between my fingers and CG in the center of my grip. The break point was very sharp and late, sometimes too late and a bit uncontrolable for me.

So i gave that one to a friend that loves visionary equipment and we drilled the ball for him 3 3/8x 3 3/8 stacked and he uses it in his second shift league were he has half half synthetics and wood. He uses it dull at 400 taking all the polish off it and it just loves to roll to the pocket carrying everything.
He shot 300 with it and were very proud of him as well.(Adam Kouri, he's on visionary's website). Adam is a high rev low tracker with a PAP of 4 over and zero up or down. he plays a deep 4th arrow line to a break point about 8 and about 45 ft down the lane.

My new GG is awesome. This time i drilled it just as i had all my original first set of Visionary stuff, 3 3/8 x 5. ball works very well. Left the cover in the factory surface. I used it on wood lanes with guardian head surface and everyone else was complaining how bad the lanes had broken down from the first tournament squad to the next. At this house, carrydown is almost non-existant.
I attacked the lanes first with my Crimson Exe for the first squad and then later switching to my GG. i moved maybe a total of 5 boards for a 6 game tournament. while everyone else was switching from shiney pearls to dull solids or just making multiple ball changes i stuck with what was working very well.

This ball carried far better than anyone else's gear and i was playing against guys with too hots and hot rods and everything else imaginable and no one could control there reaction or carry.

The oil pattern was easy for me to read. the only way to attack it was to swing the ball into the lane long. I was standing 20 out to 4 and back and if you got any farther the ball slides out. So i saw everyone else, try to play down and in over second and then almost taking out the 7 pin, and then trying to move left and swing it and having the ball squirt down the lanes taking out the 6-10. this ball's ability to go long and save it's energy for the break point is incredible. nothing works as well as this ball does on wood lanes/backends.

Good luck and bonne bowling.
--------------------
Visionary bowler, I see the future!
Tim Thompson, Visionary Bowling Products Prostaffer For Canada.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Lane1fanatic on March 25, 2003, 04:27:03 PM
BEST BALL EVER!!!! That's what the Green Gargoyle is. It's smooth through the heads and destorys the pocket sending pins everywhere!!!! Great for medium to dry lanes. Good for swinging or playing straight up the boards. Don't pull it because its not that forgiving. If you would have to choose between this ball and anything else? THIS IS THE BALL!!!!!
~LANE1Fanatic
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: PJM300 on March 30, 2003, 02:19:13 PM
When there is medium to dry conditions this ball rocks the house. Drilled pin over middle finger cg center grip. Ball goes long and turn toward the pocket with a vengeance. Carry's very well except an occasional 9 pin. Can be used to pick your corner pins just as well. If you need a ball for a medium or dry condition give this ball a serious look. For the price you get a ton of ball. Medium shots play up the outside when they dry out a bit you can swing it and still bring it. Great job visionary

Test Staff Member
Pete M.


Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: kingpin299 on April 06, 2003, 06:57:08 PM

This is a great ball. I have had it for a few months and I just shot my first 800 series! The lane conditions were as follows:  plenty of head oil, medium backend (snap),  up the boards type shot. My scores were 257, 279, 280.  Each game had one ten pin, and the 257 had a near washout with a saved 8 count spare.
This ball goes long and snaps well.  It does great on Christmas type oil patterns.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: WARRIOR on May 13, 2003, 08:27:10 PM
I wanted a ball with a lot of punch and my other balls were not giving it to me so i talked to my friend and he just got these new balls and he has shot like 3 300's sence he got it and he said that they carry like crazy so I looked at the information that the internet had on the  ball and then the next day I ordered the GREEN GARGOYLE ever sence I have had it my averaged raised like 13 pins and now I never have trouble caring and and ever sence I got that GREEN GARGOYLE I have not had to get my spare ball out to shoot the 10 pins think it is a great ball for mostly all lane conditions. So if you want your average to go up suggest you buy the Green Gargoyle.


VISIONARY TEST STAFF
CHRISTIAN JENSEN
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: beeker on July 08, 2003, 12:47:22 PM
This is my fourth ball from visionary since I became a test staff member.  My pro-shop drilled it almost identical to my Blue Gryphon.  Its 16 pounds, the pin is in-between and above the fingers and the cg is to the right of the palm.  It goes long and has a good move in the backend.  I feel this ball compliments the Blue Gryphon very well.  It goes a little longer and turns the corner harder.  The Gargoyle has a stronger back end.  When the back ends are oilly the Gargoyle works great.  When they dry up its time to switch because it will snap too hard and leave a lot of splits.  
I feel the Green Gargoyle and the Granite Gargoyle are completely different balls.  I do have them drilled differently but I believe even if they were drilled the same they still wouldn't react the same.  The Green goes long and has tons of backend.  The Granite makes its move much earlier and is not as strong in the back.  The Granite is great on a variety of conditions.  When it is light to medium oil you can swing it and when it is oilly you can play down and in.  The Green is more condition specific.  Head oil doesn't matter too much but the back end oil needs to be just right.  You can either play straight up or swing it depending on condition but there is much less room for error with the Green.  The Granite is more forgiving.  But I must say when the lanes are right and I throw it correctly the Green is devastating!  I almost threw a 300 last night with it. Hit high in the 9th and left a 4 pin.  I have only thrown about 4 games with this ball so far and I almost hit a 300 already!!  I think once I use it for a little while this may become my new favorite ball.  As of right now the Blue Gryphon is the first ball out of my bag but the Green Gargoyle could be taken over that position.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: TWOHAND834 on July 10, 2003, 05:01:24 PM
Profile:  17-18 mph, high track, 500 rpm
Ball:  16 pounds, 3 inch pin, ??? top weight

I have actually had this ball for about 2 years now.  It still packs a punch the same way it did back then.  If anything, the ball reaction has evened out a little.  I have this ball drilled with the pin at the 1:30 position about 1/4 inch from the ring finger and the cg kicked just outside the grip.  This ball does not like heavy oil or dry heads.  On a standard house shot, 37 feet, heavy oil from 12 to 12, lighter oil from 5 to 12 on both sides, with clean back ends, the Gargoyle is made for this condition.  I have been able to score from anywhere on the lane, whether playing up the boards, or swinging the lane.  The ball will get through the heads really well and have a booming backend reaction.  BEWARE!!  If the heads start to go, so will the ball.  If the oil pattern is long and/or heavy, it won't hook unless you can throw it 12 miles an hour.  I also have a Threat and the 2 balls are very similar in length and reaction.  My Gargoyle has a little more backend than the Threat.  The Gargoyle is a medium oil to medium dry lane ball.  Hit and carry is not something to worry about.
--------------------
If anyone out there is worried about the scores being too high, try duckpin!!
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: slammin60123 on August 15, 2003, 12:28:55 AM
This is my first from this small ball company was a tuff decision to make because I have 3 bags full of others from Ebonite to Lane1 all seem to be pleasing and the fact that they have created some unique but well liked equipment.So here is what I think ; AWESOME!!!!!! whatever your specs or style this is a great ball for med and short oil patterns,you may play med to heavy but you must slow up the ball speed.In my first tournament I averaged 205 for 6 games which is 26 pins higher than my tourney average so I was immpressed.The ball rolls smooth to the break point then revs up like a dragster spinning its wheels then bang to the pocket like a magnet to a refrigerater.Love isn't the word addiction is more like it I will definitly get one or two more balls depending on my needs and conditions.I also want to say thanks to my pro shop because with out you I might as well throw rocks.
--------------------
A Bowling Ball A Day Keeps The Doctor Away
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: FutureHallOFamer on August 18, 2003, 06:28:16 PM
Awesome Ball!!! The very first thing I noticed about my two Visionary balls (Blue Gargoyle) was the absolutely incredible hitting power! (not to be confused with carry)  I leave more solid nines and eights than solid tens, with these balls! I have had these balls almost two months and the performance is still incredible. As with all balls, as long as you keep it cleaned it works just as well as the day you first bought it! This ball also does exactly as I had heard, goes long turns the corner HARD and PUNISHES the pins.  This ball is definitely for medium to lighter conditions but that's exactly what I got it for so it's great! As long as it's lighter oil you are playing on you can throw this ball anywhere. 25 to 7? 5 to 2? it doesn't matter! Buy this ball for lighter conditions and watch as you crush the pocket over and over and over and over and...
--------------------
Bill Grant
Visionary Test Staff Member


Happy Birthday To Me!!!
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Aud21946 on October 06, 2003, 03:42:56 AM
First, I would say this ball matched the numbers on the ball. And secondly this ball works well on burned heads and tight backend. I cannot belive the backend in this ball. I drilled this ball with a Rev. Leverage pattern in this ball to compliment my Burgundy Particle Gryphon. Visionary is on the right path even if this is one of their older balls in their lineup it works well on tougher, broken down house patterns.

GOOD JOB VISIONARY !
--------------------
Visionary Test Member
P.b.a. Southwest Regional Member
Don Jonietz Pro Shop
San Antonio, Texas
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: A_P_K on December 01, 2003, 03:28:42 PM
I was in need of a replacement lighter oil ball since my AZO Red Fire was pretty beat up, and ended up picking up one of these Green Monsters from a friend.

Balls specs:  My Gargoyle is 16lbs with a 3-4" pin out and it is drilled pin over and slightly right of the ring finger, stacked over the CG with the MB ending up in the strong position.  (No numbers, only cared for the MB in the strong position)

I've thrown my Gargoyle on both lane surfaces with success and failure.

On the synthetic lanes, oiled 40 ft flat no buff...walled out, I played straight up five with a high track release in order to avoid the oil.  If you can raise your speed effectively once what oil is out there dries up this line works well with the Gargoyle.  For me I couldn't get the speed high enough to stay straight the rest of the night.

For the most part I've used the Green Gargoyle on wood lanes, second or third shift patterns at the most.  I believe the oil pattern that's laid out is a crown (not positive).  On the second shift pattern my line of choice was slide foot over 30, throwing either high or low track release, sending the ball out to the 15.  A slight hold develops outside ten so if I get the Gargoyle out too soon the pearl won't recover strong enough to make it back to the pocket.  If it stays in any sort of dry for too long the ball will over react and hook into the beak most of the time.  If you move in deeper and use some of the oil, the ball will also skid too long to recover back to the pocket. (my failures)

When I use the Green Gargoyle on the third shift shot, with very little oil left anywhere on the lane, I start my slide foot on 35 and send the ball out, using either a high track or a low track release, to the 10 board as a breakpoint.  On this condition the Green really works it's magic.  Without alot of oil to hinder the coverstock, the ball rolls nicely...relatively smooth down the lane.  It won't make much of a move until it gets to the backend, but with my layout the backend isn't out of control either. (My success)

I've recently learned the Green is speed sensitive even on dry, it's pretty forgiving with hand release mistakes, but it's not target forgiving.  If you miss a few boards either way you'll probably hate what you're looking at.  I also found this ball works best if you throw it naturally, try not to over hit or over throw the ball.  It will reward you greatly...as every Visionary ball I've ever thrown has.


--------------------
"It is Origin...the pure embodiment of power!"

Pin_Krusher IS a serious threat to modern day bowling wood as we know it today.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: amish_ashaman on December 06, 2003, 03:25:24 AM
Mine is 15#, 3-4" pin. I put the pin over my middle finger, 5 1/2" from my PAP. CG is kicked out a bit.

This ball is very flippy. It gets through the heads very well, and hooks really hard on the dry. Doesn't handle carrydown well at all. It's been hard for me to control with this layout.

The hit is very strong, even from deep inside.

I wish I could say more, but mine has been so inconsistent. I guess that says something. I plan to try another with a more predictable layout, as this is not the first time I've had trouble with pins above the fingers.

I went back and drilled a weight hole just above my PAP. This got it under control and now I love it. Still gets down the lane very clean, but the hook is now very predictable.
--------------------
The truth is out there somewhere. And it looks a lot better through the bottom of an empty pint glass.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: proform on April 23, 2004, 08:27:54 PM
I have had this ball for a couple months and have been very pleased. Mine is drilled 5x5 box condition and have been able to use this ball on almost everything. On THS the Gargoyle is a monster, but when the heads start to go and there is carrydown put this ball away. I would recommend simple drill patterns for this ball because it may get too over-under with overly aggressive drill patterns. The cover/block combination makes for controlled aggression, and gives excellent read of mids and backends while taking the heads out of play. Even had success on 43ft heavy sport condition due to the midlane read and backend recovery. if there is any backend the pattern length may not matter.

VISSIONARY TEST STAFF
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: roystriker on May 16, 2004, 07:33:29 PM
Ball Specs
Weight: 15.10#
Top Wt: 2.48 oz.
Pin: 3-4"

Lane condition:  League shot--38 to 40ft dry outside of 7th board

Left ball in out-of-box condition, treated only with Doc's Elixir.  Had this ball drilled 4 X 3--pin over the bridge, CG kicked out 1" on the midline (no weight hole required).  This ball gives me a strong skid/snap reaction on a league shot.  Typically lined up on 25, playing 20 out to 5.  This ball would play through the heads without losing energy in the midlane, reading the backend and making a strong snap at the breakpoint.  This ball would hit the pocket with little to no deflection.  In my experience in using this ball, I have found that it is only susceptible to deflection when it hits carrydown.  Of all the Visionary balls I've thrown, I find this to be the strongest backend reacting ball of them all.  This is an excellent league shot ball when the backends are fresh.  I give this ball a 9 out of 10.  Visionary should NOT be overlooked when choosing a ball for your game.
--------------------
Leroy H.
roystriker@verizon.net
Visionary Test Staff Member
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: manofvision on August 12, 2004, 06:56:21 PM
Specs: 15#, Top wt. 2.98,  pin: 2-3", box 1500 polish surface

I had this ball drilled with a standard house drill layout, pin next to the ring finger, CG under the palm on the centerline of my grip. Nothing exotic at all.

Carry:
I was practicing just last night with it and threw 11 in a row playing fourth arrow to about 7 at the breakpoint, watching it get down the lane and turn left and leave nothing to deal with.  This ball will go longer than the G3 Gryphon with a more sudden move.  This ball carries very well for me due to it's strong reaction and good angle into the pocket.

This is the 2nd Green Gargoyle i have owned and have been pleased with both of them.  If you're looking for a length-flip ball, buy one. Rolls true and will give you a great look without having to sacrifice consistency as it really does not seem to present much over/under in any conditions I have put it through yet. I've used it on a league house shot and PBA pattern B.

--------------------
Visionary Test Staff
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Spike2112 on January 29, 2005, 10:49:00 AM
First off, thanks to Audric Bent for hooking me up with this one!
Received ball in trade for my Blade solid (which FEDEX lost; sorry Aud), ball was used, but in nice shape. Span was very close, so kept drill, moved thumb up slightly. 3" pin under ring, cg kicked out with small wt. hole. Ball was polished up to 1500, but found that it didn't move enough on the heavier oiled shot put out by my house so took it down to 800. Wow, what a difference! Have used it on a heavy first shift shot playing up the 5 board. Not a hook monster by any means, but not what ball is made for. Still, have used it on this shot as the control and carry of the ball are great. Have had better results on second shift league where I can move into the lane a bit around 15 board. Ball swings nicely and has a controllable snap back to the hole.
This is my first Visionary ball and I'm very happy with it so far. I can see me trying others in the future. Good job Visionary!
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Androooo on July 31, 2005, 08:26:30 AM
Drilled 5.5" at 75 degrees (no balance hole) and left in box finish.

This thing sails through the heads, with only a little oil needed. Not a ball for heavy oil, or a severe wet-dry condition as it can be very over-under.

In comparison to the Violet, the Green Pearl would be about 5 feet longer in the oil, with the same backend reaction. It is a great compliment to any arsenal if you need a go long, flip hard ball. During practise I played around with both of them, and after drying up the track enough so the Violet wanted to stand up early, playing the same line with the Green got the length back down the lane and saved some pop for the pins.

Extremely good looking ball too.... Brought back memories of my old Turbo/C

--------------------
Visionary - They're not imaginary!
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: fbila35 on October 30, 2005, 01:03:31 AM
The Green Gargoyle I drilled is 16lbs 0oz, 3-4" pin out, with 3 oz top. I  drilled it with the pin just under the ring finger, slightly to the right...with the leverage variation on drill specs with the pin selected (hard arc leverage selection).

I wanted to have a go long and flip ball for dry lanes and that is exactly what I got with the Green Gargoyle. I needed something with a polished surface to combat lane conditions I typically face in 2nd set action (especially the third game). I have liked it so much it forced me to drill a Burgundy Gryphon with the same drill pattern. Lets get to the details. I am a tweener with about 15-16 revs and high ball speed (17-18 mph).

I have used it on many conditions - synthetic typical house shots, walled up patterns on synthetic and wood, and sport conditions. As long as I can find some dry this ball will find the pocket and rolls so true and smooth until it reaches its breakpoint. The breakpoint really depends on the condition but typically for me it bellies out at about 34-38 feet and once it makes the turn and rolls over to make its move to the 1-3 pocket....look out because it comes screaming back from wherever it is (especially on medium-dry). This ball is just fantastic when you throw it correctly. When operator error occurs (especially when you pull one inside your target), this ball like nearly all others will leave splits. I notice it more with this ball because I predominately use this ball on dry lanes but the backend creates a vicious strong arc. Based on my observations, I would recommend the Green Gargoyle to virtually anyone looking for a great dry lane ball at a reasonable price.  

As for finish and hit, I continue to polish this baby at least once per month. This ball finishes stronger than balls I have paid a lot more money for and I purchased mine NIB for $60. The Green Gargoyle by Visionary hits extremely hard when you put the ball where it needs to be. Like the other Visionary products I have tried, this ball is a keeper and I have purchased a few of them to keep in storage.

In closing, this is a terrific light oil ball that has major backend, that when complimented with the Blue Gryphon and Burgundy Gryphon creates a very effective three ball arsenal to cover almost everything but the completely bone dry condition you might come across every now and then. For that, consider a Slate Gargoyle, Red Pin Zone Classic, Columbia Super Trooper or Powergroove Dry-R.
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: sully444 on November 03, 2005, 10:44:14 AM
Well, I went into the 2 ball tote and pulled out old faithful.   After struggling with this short pattern on my Tuesday night shot, heavy up front, crowned in the middle, then a flood.   For example, shoot 181 first game with the Kong, Go to the New Standard, with a nice smooth action, playing 15 out to 10, would come in light, and if I moved to far I would come in on the nose.  Masterpiece, just did not like the heavy volume up front, skated to far!      Playing right up 10, Greenie would skid and flip!   Beautfiul sight!  10:30 drilling, no leverage hole. Shot 269 3rd Game, moving 2 boards the whole game.  Tugged one into the nose in the 9th.  Never really no why I went away from this ball!   Really got me to rethinking the arsenal!   I have a sneaky feeling that my RS-1 sitting next to it might be calling my name!
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: Jturley46 on January 21, 2006, 01:40:52 AM
Alright, I think I have tested this ball out enough for a review. Specs are in profile. Well first off I bought this ball because so many of you guys like it, and I havent seen any negative feedback for this ball either. Ball came with a 3" pin, and 2.8 oz of top weight. I wanted a ball for dry conditions, but still wanted a big backend, so i drilled it with pin directly above ring finger, with the CG stacked below, well it is too strong for light, but on medium conditions it is a gem, I drilled it leverage thinking thats what I needed do with the low differential, but i guess the cover is extremely strong, because this baby has almost as much backend as my Centaur AMB pearl. I was playing on synthetic lanes, THS, 38 foot, started playing about 20 to 7 at the breakpoint, and the ball stores just enough energy to pop right in the 1-3, not to high, and not to light, thats what I like about it, its very forgiving for me. another masterpiece from visionary, as a matter of fact, i havent tryed one ball i didnt like from visionary. If you dont have a visionary ball I highly suggest you get one, great price, great service.
--------------------
Visionary Test Staff 2005-06
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: dukeofearl on March 14, 2007, 09:49:58 PM
5" pin, above and right of ring finger, CG in center of hand. Used this ball in last game when shot had dried up. Went so long it scared me! Turned left and sent pins flying everywhere. Carries light hits, flush and even gets the 4 to trip out on hits that I never carried before. This ball replaces my Columbia Pro Hook which was a great ball for burnt conditions. This is even better! I'm loving my Visionary equipment.
--------------------
there are no magic balls, only MAGIC bowlers!
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: armswing on July 13, 2008, 04:10:28 PM
BALL SPEED 15-16 MPH
STYLE STROKER
MED SPEED MED REVS
LANES THS, HEAVY MIDDLES DRYER OUTSIDE
TOURNAMENT 8 GAME TRIOS
PIN 3IN PLACED RT OF RING FINGER CG DOWN LEFT OF CENTER

     O O*
   
     *
   
       O     LOOKS LIKE THIS

BALL PROVIDES REALLY EASY LENGTH. IN ALL MY YEARS BOWLING IVE NEVER THROWN ANY THING FROM VISIONARY. THIS BALL REALLY SMOOTHED OUT THE OVER UNDER THAT OTHERS WERE HAVING TROUBLE WITH. STANDING 24 LOOKING 15 TO 8 I HAD AN INCREDIBLE LOOK. I NEVER MOVED MY FEET FOR THE FIRST 6 GAMES. THIS BALL WAS JUST FLAT OUT A JOY TO USE ON THIS DAY. THESE WERE MY SCORE 238,248,215,222,235,225,243,289.  CHASED THE OIL IN GAME 7 AND THIS BALL WAS STILL VERY EFFECTIVE. FRONT TEN SOLID 9 IN THE 11TH FRAME IN GAME 8.  BY THE WAY I WAS UP THE BACK OF THE BALL WITH THE PINKY TUCKED. WHAT A BALL FOR DRY TO MEDIUMS. ANY SUGGESTIONS ON OTHER VISIONARY PRODUCTS FOR MEDIUMS AND HEAY OIL PLEASE LET ME KNOW. THANKS GO OUT TO FRANKIE MAY WHO DRILLED THIS BALL FOR ME OVER THE PHONE WHILE HE WAS AT THE NATIONALS. TOLD HIM WHAT I NEEDED AND HE DELIVERED THIS BALL AND IM HAPPY WITH  THIS VISIONARY BALL THE GREEN GARGOYLE IS MONEY.
--------------------
ARMSWING
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: lenstanles703 on July 27, 2008, 11:37:06 AM
Found this on the house ball rack at our local house. Had it plugged and redrilled and it has been my go to ball when lane conditions get tricky. Goes long with great controlled reaction. It was beat up so I refinished it with a high gloss polish. Reminds me of the old Dynothane red Vendetta.
--------------------
"We are all one"
Visionary test staff member
Title: Re: Gargoyle
Post by: robuster on April 14, 2009, 03:59:32 PM
Ball hits like a train and carries the corner pins when everything else is sticking corner pins.I use mine on short TO med oil.Love to enter the center late and find Pot bowlers on fried lanes. AS they try and find a shot with their high priced toys I just move in and play off the corner with little or no effort and 75 percent of the time end up taking their money.They can not believe the carry that this ball delivers. I am the only one in my center to use this equipment and hope it stays that way.I use a lot of Visionary equipment and think its the best in the marketplace.I all so use a lot of older Columbia equipment on THS.If you have never bowled Visionary pick up a ball or two from this site and find out what you have been missing.