win a ball from Bowling.com

Author Topic: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~  (Read 2452 times)

VideoBallReviews

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
Hi all,

Its been a little while since i have done some videos but for good reason, i have found a new house to film at. Not only is there better lighting but i also have a multitude of oil patterns to test on. ALL of my videos will now be featured on a typical house shot and on some type of sport shot.

So you can compare, this house shot may not have alot of length (It's 38') BUT there is quite a bit more volume than the last house i filmed at.

ALSO as you can see in the videos i now will have a Second Tester in my videos.  TJ is going to be featured in most of my videos from now on to give you guys a second look at the ball from a higher speed higher rev bowler.  He is also a much more versatile bowler than me so he will be able to show you multiple angles with each ball.  Hopefully this will help in my continuing effort to provide you with the most complete video reviews available.  Hopefully TJ will jump in and provide a written review to go along with the visual.

I drilled my mutant pretty weak, and it still hooks a bunch...a couple boards stronger than an original cell with an earlier read and still a strong move downlane...full review coming soon but here are the videos for your viewing pleasure...

http://www.videoballreviews.com/mutantcell.html

Typical House Shot Review
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36GsPBMdXjw

Sport Shot Review
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCFRZAu0Fx8

Surface Change
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMkQWf30zzM

Enjoy - As always all comments and questions are welcomed.
--------------------
Britton
Owner/Operator of Videoballreviews.com
Multi Media Consultant
Storm Products, Inc.
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

 

freak761

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2009, 12:24:10 AM »
Nice vids Brit, but you have the Invasion comparison vid in with the Mutant on the site. Wanted to watch that one too anyway, lol. Just a heads up for you.

VideoBallReviews

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2009, 04:01:09 AM »
Whoops, thanks Freak, all fixed
--------------------
Britton
Owner/Operator of Videoballreviews.com
Multi Media Consultant
Storm Products, Inc.
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

lil League Coach

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1701
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2009, 06:34:06 PM »
Hey guys,
  First off Britton great job with the video!! It really shows a nice comparison between the Cell and Mutant Cell.

Mutant Cell Review:
16lbs
PAP  5  1/4  x  1  3/8 up
High Speed
Med- High Revs

Driling: 5" pin to PAP
         5" pin to MB
         3" pin buffer
 
     From my experience throwing both the Mutant and Original Cell, the mutant is about 5-7 boards stronger then the original Cell. The Mutant Cell gives me a great look on heavier fresh patterns and still some strong pop on the backend. This ball is also extremely versatile as you can play a little deeper on some volume of oil and also take a little off the ball and it can allow you to square up and go more direct up the lane which is very rare that you can find a ball with that kind of versatility.
 
SURFACE: I have tried this ball with the original box finish 2000 Abralon, the ball reads the fronts and mid-lane great with a strong motion to the pocket. I also rolled this ball with 1000 grit abralon. This is great for fresh shots with ALOT of volume (ex. Scorpion - as seen in the video). This will get the ball reading very early with a smooth arcing motion on the backend. Finally I went with 4000 abralon no polish with this I can get the ball through the heads with ease and has a very strong backend movement. This would work best on 2nd shift shots and carrydown.
     
With all that set I hope this helps, I will be glad to answer any questions concerning the the Mutant Cell. You can email me or message me on the site.
--------------------
TJ TROUT
 PBA EAST REGIONAL MEMBER
 Vise Grip Staff "choice of champions"
 thomasjtrout@yahoo.com
Keglers Pro Shop - Owner (www.keglersproshop.com)



Edited on 12/8/2009 7:36 PM

VideoBallReviews

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2009, 08:09:12 PM »
Thanks for the review TJ, as he said guys feel free to ask us any questions or leave any comments.
--------------------
Britton
Owner/Operator of Videoballreviews.com
Multi Media Consultant
Storm Products, Inc.
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

TheDude

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2009, 10:18:04 PM »
nice vid

am i the first to see the invasion and saw how strong it is? i dare to say the invasion is stronger than mutant?
--------------------
Timothy @Juniors Pro-Shops
LaSalle, Quebec-Located inside Pont Mercier Lanes.
Edmonton, Alberta. -Located inside Ed's Rec Room.(WEST ED MALL)
Keep them honest!

Ebay store updated very often: http://stores.ebay.com/gumby3170?refid+store
Timothy @Juniors Pro-Shops
LaSalle, Quebec-Located inside Pont Mercier Lanes.
Keep them honest!

Ebay store updated very often: http://stores.ebay.com/gumby3170?refid+store

TheDude

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3170
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2009, 10:26:49 PM »
nvm just read the thread on the storm forum.... going alphabetical here so R before S.
--------------------
Timothy @Juniors Pro-Shops
LaSalle, Quebec-Located inside Pont Mercier Lanes.
Edmonton, Alberta. -Located inside Ed's Rec Room.(WEST ED MALL)
Keep them honest!

Ebay store updated very often: http://stores.ebay.com/gumby3170?refid+store
Timothy @Juniors Pro-Shops
LaSalle, Quebec-Located inside Pont Mercier Lanes.
Keep them honest!

Ebay store updated very often: http://stores.ebay.com/gumby3170?refid+store

jjyokomizo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2009, 09:11:29 AM »
Great videos!

On the shorter THS pattern, it seemed as though the Mutant accelerates at the tail end as it makes it move toward the pocket where on the Sport pattern, it had a smoother move. Is that an optical illusion or is that what you experienced as well?

I want to also add that I liked your format and TJ's ability to use different lines. Most videos only show bowlers playing that deeper shot and I'm rev challenged so I really enjoyed seeing how the ball looks from an inside line.

Thank the house for me for supporting you, especially with the different patterns because for me it shows more of the balls capability/potential.

VideoBallReviews

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
Re: ~*Roto Grip Mutant Cell videos presented by Videoballreviews.com*~
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2009, 04:53:15 PM »
quote:
Great videos!

On the shorter THS pattern, it seemed as though the Mutant accelerates at the tail end as it makes it move toward the pocket where on the Sport pattern, it had a smoother move. Is that an optical illusion or is that what you experienced as well?

I want to also add that I liked your format and TJ''s ability to use different lines. Most videos only show bowlers playing that deeper shot and I''m rev challenged so I really enjoyed seeing how the ball looks from an inside line.

Thank the house for me for supporting you, especially with the different patterns because for me it shows more of the balls capability/potential.


JJ,

You are exactly right.  TJ and i both noticed that for the invasions i threw and the mutants we both threw.  The total volume in the middle of the lane is real close on both patterns.  But that extra 3 feet of oil softened up the reaction downlane for the scorpion pattern.  Thanks for the kind words, we will pass it on to the house we film at!

Britton
--------------------
Britton
Owner/Operator of Videoballreviews.com
Multi Media Consultant
Storm Products, Inc.
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com

Edited on 12/10/2009 5:53 PM