win a ball from Bowling.com

Author Topic: Storm Summit Review  (Read 23163 times)

myers007

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
Storm Summit Review
« on: June 21, 2023, 09:50:34 AM »
The new Storm Summit comes with TX-23 Hybrid Reactive cover, Centripetal HD -A.I. Core, and comes at 3000-grit surface. The Summit is going to be a great benchmark ball. The Summit reads the lane early, is round, and continuous going down the lane. I got Axiom vibes from the motion of the ball. It was not as early as the original Axiom but they shaped similar. Compared to the Phaze2, the Summit is earlier and smoother. The Phaze2 was similar in strength but was a bit longer and more shape down lane. I heard a couple people say it is a stronger Zen from how it shapes on the lane and I can also see that. The Summit also shined when the lanes were over/under and was able to help blend the lanes out. This ball will be a step down from your big solids when they are reading the lanes too early. Another home run from Storm!

Release date: 6/23/2023

Summit Review Video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ktsZ6Mgd90

Tobias Myers
#StormNation

 

rotogrip_rick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 698
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2023, 12:03:59 PM »
Storm Summit
Tech Specs: TX-23 Hybrid Reactive Coverstock with the Centripetal HD - A.I and finished at 3000ab.
Layout and Lane Specs: 75 x 4 3/4 x 35 - video and ball review done on ProLane on a THS with a slight out of boards on the outside of the track area on the left hand side.
My thoughts: Knowing that the TX-23 is an updated version of the TX-16 that is on the very popular and still selling at a record pace, the Phaze II, I learned from my lesson to make sure to have a long front number and a strong pin to pap layout, and that is where we came up with the layout of 75 x 4 3/4 x 35, left it a "box" surface to see how it would fair. Normally, I would have done some surface adjustment down to 2000ab on this type of hybrid cover. Well, officially it now is the Strongest symmetric ball Storm has made to date. Well, the ball flat out hooks and rolls like nothing else I have seen, when watching a few of my videos of the ball reaction midlane and down lane, the stength is unparallelled to anything I rolled and used in the past 17 years I have been with Roto Grip and the SPI family. Crossing the arrows at 17 board, then passing the outside tracer board, around 3rd/4th board then in the last few feet on the lane the Summit makes a HUGE move to the pocket, and keeps the pins low and dancing across the pin deck. I really said at loud several times while practicing, filming and league the word "WOW" and shook my head because I thought there waas NO CHANCE of the ball recovering and it did. Overall I feel in love with the Summit, my league bags now have the Summit, Duo, TNT, Hustle RIP, Hyped Hybrid - my favorite ball since the Hustle INK, and the new RG Spare ball. I don't seeing anything replacing any of these balls for awhile.
Now, rise to the SUMMIT and see your local pro shop to expereince of the best strongest symmetric ball Storm has to offer.

Michael Slatky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2023, 02:03:38 PM »
Storm
Summit
Cover Stock:  TX-23 Hybrid Reactive
Finish:  3000 Grit Abralon
Core:  Centripetal HD A.I.
(14pd)
RG:  2.46
Differential:  0.056

Layout: 5 x 4 x 4 - 2LS
Layout Extras:  2 1/8 Finger Depth, "X" - 4 1/2 D and 1 Inch Left
Tester: PAP 6 1/2 R, 1 1/4 D

Review:
The Storm Summit features the Centripetal HD weight block and is paired with the all new Amplified Inertia outer core. Essentially, this means to the bowler is slightly more length and more motion off the spot compared to one of the all time greats, the Phaze II. Also, something that folks may not be aware of yet is the RG and Differential values are the same for 14 to 16 pounds in the Summit.

For my review I rolled the Summit at the factory 3K finish and also bowled with the Summit at a 3K finish that I prepped four sides with a new Abralon pad. Also, I prepped a Phaze II the same as ^ for comparison purposes. In addition, both the Summit and Phaze II have a 5 x 4 x 4 - 2LS layout.

In comparing the Summit to the Phaze II I was pleasantly surprised the Summit went through the front part of the lane slightly more than I initially thought before rolling this ball. Also, being a hybrid versus a solid it makes sense the hybrid would pick up on the lane a little later than the Phaze II which has a solid coverstock. Therefore, downlane the Summit shows a more angular and stronger shape than the Phaze II. It is easy to see the Phaze II picks up earlier and more rounded compared to the Summit. Both balls will thrive where more volume is present in the front part of the lane. The Summit will have you playing deeper on the lane than the Phaze II.

Is the Summit strong? Yes, it sure is, but I did feel even when I got steep with my angles the Summit did not roll forward as quickly as some strong symetrical balls tend to do. A definite plus for the Summit.  Be sure to try out a Storm Summit and fill that gap for fresh league and heavier volume tournament patterns. I'm definitely excited to use the Summit more in tournament competion. Please be sure to visit your favorite pro shop today!

Michael Slatky
900 Global Staff Member
York, PA

sportshot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Storm Summit Review
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2023, 04:10:59 PM »
Storm Summit Ball Specs:
Cover stock  TX-23 Hybrid Reactive
Core  Centripetalâ„¢ HD-AI Core (Symmetrical)
Finish 3000 Abralon Sanded
Layout 4 x 4.5 x 2” Pin Buffer

Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5” Over 1/2 up
Rev Rate 300. Tilt 20. Rotation 50.
Speed at cameras 15.5


Review:
The new Storm Summit is the  strongest Symmetric ball in the line. The Summit reads the lane early but does not give anything up in back end motion. The Summit has a good break point move but less I feel than the Phase two. The Summit does cross more boards than the Phase 2 with the Phase 2 having more shape down lane. The Summit reminds me of a much better original Axiom. I was really surprised how versatile the Summit was. I could move to the dry and roll up the back of the ball or move in and get around the side of the ball for more hook and entry angle. The carry was excellent from all lines and we used my regular release for the video. I had a good look with this ball when I started it in the oil and let it find a break point down lane. The Summit will be a great addition to an arsenal because it has a high hook potential but provides more back end than an Asymmetrical ball typically does. I also find I don’t have to adjust as quick or as big with a Symmetric. I would put this ball between the IQ Tour Navy and Gem in total hook. I like this ball the more I roll it and I purposely let it lane shine and I like the way it reacts even better with the lane shine. Of course this ball takes surface adjustments easily. This ball should sell well to those needing more hook potential in a Symmetric ball. If you are looking for a nice strong predicable ball that hits hard this could be the ticket. I see this ball staying around for a while.

Summary:
The Storm Summit is a big hooking Symmetric ball.
The Summit has great hit and drives through the pocket hard.
The Summit has a nice back end for an early rolling ball.

Video Link: https://youtu.be/jGF4wWOnO3c

Glenn Wendel
Sidewinders Pro Shop
Storm Pro Shop Staff
gwendel@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com
Sportshot64@comcast.net
www.stormbowling.com

PBA Member
Storm Staff Member
Turbo Staff Member

Rick K

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2023, 02:24:26 PM »
Summit • Storm •Master Series
Core • Centripetal HD –A.I.
Coverstock • TX-23 Hybrid Reactive • Finish 3000-grit Abralon
Weight • 15 lbs. RG • 2.46 Differential • .056
Layout •4 ½ x 5 x 2 ¼
Tester PAP • 5” R, 5/8” D Tester Axis Tilt • 11° Testers Rev Rate • 300
Test Pattern • 42' THS (Typical House Shot) • Modified, Kegel Stone Street

When Storm claimed the Summit was their strongest symmetrical ball to date, and being a down-and-in player,  I was skeptical at best. That is until I drilled up my Summit and took it for a test drive. And the results were explosive! The Summit is everything Storm claims it to be and then some. So, let's break it down and see what is behind the Summit's success.

The Centripetal HD weight block surrounds the A.I. (Amplified Inertia) outer core. OK? Like most bowlers, I have no idea what that means or the physics behind what Storm is talking about. However, what I can tell you is I loved how the Centripetal HD –A.I. core rev'd briskly and early in the mid-lane while building an incredible amount of inertia as it headed down the lane. I found the Centripetal HD –A.I. core provided a smooth and stable motion but - with a hard rolling intensity that I can depend on as a straighter player. And what I found most intriguing about the Centripetal HD-A.I. core was the amount of power it unleashes at the pins for a symmetric core. The Summit becomes a wrecking machine when it gets into the roll phase. It becomes explosive through the pins and continues with authority until it falls off the deck. So, suppose you are a straighter player like me. In that case, the Centripetal HD A.I. found in the Summit will give a whole new perspective to adding strong symmetric cores to your arsenal!

As a straighter and higher-speed player, the TX-23 Hybrid coverstock was a much-welcomed choice on the Summit. Being a more down-and-in and low-rev player, the surface on the coverstock plays a big part in ball motion for me. And I found the TX-23 to be the type of cover I could tweak to my liking for whatever conditions I wanted to roll in. And this makes the Summit an excellent choice for not only THS bowlers but also for pattern bowlers as well. For a THS league night, I tweaked my Summit to 2000-grit Abralon, and I loved how the TX-23 coverstock reads the mid-section of the lane. It grips well, without being overbearing, and has a smooth transition between the hook and roll phases throughout the night. And whether I was playing straight-up second arrow early in game one or opening my angles by game three, I loved how the TX-23 blends the pattern effortlessly through the night. Even as the pattern became spotty and squirrely, I could count on the TX-23 coverstock to keep my Summit in play all night. So, if you are a straighter player like me, you can count on the TX-23 coverstock to bring results.

In closing my review, the Summit is Storm's new, cleverly crafted, pin-crushing bowling ball. And it is a fantastic new release! Down-and-in players like me will significantly benefit from the combination of core and coverstock that make up the Summit. And with the Centripetal HD-A.I core and TX- 23 coverstock, the Summit will be an excellent ball choice for many styles of bowlers. And because of its core strength and coverstock flexibility, I highly recommend the Summit to any Youth Junior Gold bowler or those looking into the world of pattern bowling! So, stop into your local Strom V.I.P. Pro shop today and see where the new Storm Summit will fit into your arsenal! Because The Summit is a great new choice!

Rick Klimowicz
Storm Products Pro Shop Staff
Roll the Ball Pro Shop
Penndel, PA

bowlstorm3

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2023, 10:10:24 PM »
Storm Summit
Coverstock: TX-23 Hybrid Reactive
Core: Centripetal HG - AI
Factory Finish: 3000
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2

These days it’s seems everything is always the strongest ever (golf clubs, bowling balls, etc). So, naturally this advertising angle is normally met with some skepticism. Fortunately, I think we really do have one of, if not the strongest, symmetrical balls in Storm’s line in the Summit with its beefed up/modernized Phaze 2 cover wrapped around a core with lower RG and higher differential. I put my standard 4 inch pin up layout on the Summit and it wowed almost immediately with how well it digs in the midlane while still having a fair amount of get up on the back part of the lane. It definitely fits the stronger Phaze 2 characterization or even a super strong IQ Tour. So far it’s looked great on tighter house patterns and longer sport patterns this summer.

Anyone looking for a ball on the stronger side of benchmark should give this one a serious look.

peterdohanjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2023, 09:29:08 PM »
Storm Summit Ball Review

Bowler Stats:
Speed: 15.5 MPH
Rev Rate: 300 RPM
Tilt: 3-5 degrees
Axis Rotation: 60 degrees
PAP: 5 ⅜ over 1 ¼ up

Layout: 4 ½ X 4 ¾ X 3¾ VLS

Video Ball Review: https://youtu.be/Jp8NznwET34

As I am bowling on the PBA 50 National Tour this summer I needed to try a different layout and ball motion to help me with lane transitions that we face. I can’t do a true pin down layout because the ball becomes too delayed as it goes down the lane and if there is not enough friction the ball becomes too slow. With the ball shape of the Summit, with its Centripetal HD  core where it revs up in the midlane and is continuous on the back end, and a weaker layout, it gives me a stronger symmetrical piece with more length for when the heads start to break down, but the continuous motion off the end of the pattern without the use of polish.

The TX-23 cover makes this ball stronger than the Phaze II and TNT for me. I was able to test out the ball motion on two of the PBA 50 patterns so far since drilling this ball. The 42’ Mark Roth pattern hooked more than usual since the oil volume was lower and the lane surface was older and on the 36’ Del Ballard pattern at the PBA 50 World Series where I should have added polish or 2000 abralon to help with the over/ under reaction I had. This ball may be more geared for the 39’ Mike Aulby or 38’ Marshall Holman patterns.

On the house shot this ball rolls fantastic. If you watch my ball review with the out of box surface on the Summit it was a little too slow but after scratching the ball with a 1000 abralon by hand the ball reaction got better with a noticeable stronger motion off the dry.

Pete Dohan
Storm Bowling Amateur Staff
#StormNation

Johnquack

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2023, 03:03:35 PM »
Storm says its the biggest symmetric ball theyve ever made and I agree 100%! I think before it was the Axiom and the Summit definitely shapes very similar to that. Its just a very strong, rolly, early hooking ball that shines the more oil there is. It works well on the oily houses, slick houses, or both. Ive used this to control the cliff on house shots, to play up 10 on 45' Dragon, and to hook the lane on various animal patterns like 37' Viper, 39' chameleon, and 48' shark. Its one of the few balls i know will work well especially early in the block,no matter what area im playing. As far as places in the bag, itll be in the big asym solid territory like Reality and Gem, but just a touch weaker. Definitely stronger than Phaze 2, TNT, XPonent and balls of that nature. A perfect fit right in between the phaze 2 and any of the big asyms, for when the phaze 2 isnt quite enough to get up the hill but the asyms are a little too early and rolly or dont go through the pins quite the right way. An overall great ball if youre looking for hook and control.

Ball review video: https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZT88F9eGW/

StanleyW

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2023, 09:46:59 PM »
Summit - Ball Specs
Cover Stock: TX-23 Hybrid Reactive Cover Stock
Finish: 3000 Grit
Core: Centripetal HD
Layout: 50 x 5 x 40
RG: 2.46
Differential: 0.056


Review
The Summit is the latest addition to Storm’s Master line. Storm has combined the Centripetal HD core with TX-23 Hybrid Reactive cover stock. This combination allows for this big ball to be versatile of house and tournament lane conditions. I tested the Summit on a 46 feet tournament pattern, I was able to play track area with great success. The Summit  read early in the midlane and had a lot of energy on the backend for a continuous motion with great pin carry. This is a great ball for all levels of bowlers. Order one from your local pro shop today! My ball review videos are posted on YouTube channel Stanley Waite.

Stanley Waite
900 Global Staff Member
Dover, DE

hammermike2000

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 765
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2023, 02:40:58 PM »
Layout: 45 x 4 3/4” x 35

The Summit, even though it is technically a hybrid, rolls just like a solid for me.  Compared side-by-side to a recently drilled Phaze 2, the Summit is slightly cleaner in the front part of the lane and has slightly more backend, but it can handle the same amount of oil. The difference for me is that the Summit rolls better when I need to move left and circle the lane more.  Right now I have it as the strongest ball in my house shot bag after hitting it with 4000, though I will bring it back down to 3000 for sport shots.  It is squarely in that medium-heavy to heavy oil lane condition range - not as strong as the asymmetric balls such as the Gem or Reality, but still can handle a lot of oil.  I would put the overall strength and shape of the Summit as similar to the DNA.

Mike LeViner

william.tefft

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2023, 10:59:22 AM »
Ball Specs:
Storm Summit
3000 Grit TX-23â„¢ Hybrid Reactive
Weight Block: Centripetalâ„¢ HD -A.I. (Symmetrical)
Color: Blue/Gold/Silver

Review:
If you are looking for a strong symmetric bowling ball look no further. The Summit takes pieces from both the Phaze II and the IQ Tour to create a new ball that fits perfectly in that line. This ball overall is a very strong shape while maintaining that smooth roll that people are looking for in a symmetric ball. IF you are looking for a strong ball but are wanting to stay away from the asymmetric price point take a good look at the Sumit. If the overall reaction isn’t something that catches your eyes the color combo surely will stand out on the lanes for you.
Will Tefft
Storm Staff Member
will@parklanes.net
www.strombowling.com
#Stromnation

Kevin Duncan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2023, 09:20:35 PM »
Storm Summit
Layout: 4.5 x 5 x 2 Storm Pin Buffer Layout
Rev Rate: 325 rpm, 7 degree of axis tilt, 40 degree of axis rotation
Testing information: 41 foot THS (medium to light volume)
Bowling Center: Fulton Bowling Center
Kegel Machine – Brunswick Anvilane

The Storm Summit utilizes the new TX-23 hybrid coverstock and Centripetal weight block. We tested the Summit alongside the Roto Grip Clone on a house shot. The Summit has a RG of 2.46, which is one of the lowest in recent memories.  The low RG is paired with a 0.056 Diff.  What does this combination produce?  Well, the Summit is a very useable ball.  I threw it at the PBA50 World Series of Bowling on the Weber pattern and had a good look from around 4th arrow late in the squad.  I would not have thought a ball with that low of an RG would be good from that deep but it looked really good.  I think the Summit will be more versatile than people expect.  The Summit hooked about 1-2 foot sooner than the Roto Grip Clone.

Visit your local Storm VIP Pro Shop!
#Stormnation
#SquadRG 

Dadams

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2023, 07:43:21 PM »
Storm Summit ball review
VLS 5 x 4 3/8 x 1 3/8

The Summit was a ball I wasn't sure where it would fit in for me. TX-23 Hybrid cover over the Centripetal HD weight block surrounded by the AI outer core. This is definitely a strong symmetrical ball. Right away it has been a great addition to my bag on a variety of conditions. It is also a different look than anything else I have.

For me, it fits right between the TNT and Fate as far as the symmetrical pieces I use often. The Summit is much cleaner than the TNT but not as clean as the Fate. It gets through the front but still has the shape in the midlane to go through the pins. It gives me a good bridge between the big early rolling balls I like and the cleaner ones. Often with my Rev rate I get stuck in transition where I need to change but something like the Fate isn't giving me enough yet. It has also been really useful on the medium volume house patterns with a lot of wet-dry. It will roll in the oil but not go too crazy if I get it right. The Summit has also been good when I'm not really sure what I want to throw as it gives me a good, predictable read on the lanes. This is a ball I have seen a wide variety of styles and bowlers have success with. It's for sure a ball that should be in everyone's bag.

Dave Adams
Storm staff

jshoe97

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Storm Summit Review
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2023, 10:18:09 AM »
The Summit features the brand new TX-23 hybrid cover wrapped around the modified Centripetal HD core. This combo produces the lowest RG and highest differential Storm ball to date. Ever since I’ve drilled the Summit, I haven’t been able to put it down. It’s giving me the Phaze ll shape that everyone has come to love on higher volumes of oil. The Summit isn’t just a one trick pony, I’ve been able to go very straight with it on higher volume longer patterns as well as being able to shape it on medium conditions. The Summit is now available at any Storm VIP Pro Shop!

Review Video: https://youtu.be/JOeU0jYDlJs

StormRoto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1081
Storm Summit Review
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2023, 09:56:50 PM »
The new ball in the Storm family is the Summit.  The Summit has the TX-23 hybrid cover wrapped around the modified Centripetal HD core.  Centripetal HD weight block is surrounded by the ALL-NEW A.I. (Amplified Inertia) outer core.
Shout out to Hank Boomershine, Alex Hoskins and R/D team at Storm for raising the bar in bowling ball technology.  I drilled my Summit 4 3/4 x 4 1/2 x 1.  I went with a shorter pin buffer to help the response down lane.  Lets just say this ball is very strong for a symmetrical. I put a little step 2 on mine and bowled on 45ft Dick Weber pattern, The summit allowed me to control the pocket, and carry well.  Its very hard to throw the Summit through the breakpoint which is a good feeling. The Summit is just different especially on off hits.  Even since I switched to 14lb because of a bad knee, usually I like to throw the bigger asymmetricals but the Summit is plenty strong enough to go through the pins.  I have the summit stronger than the Phaze 2 and below the bigger balls like a RG Gem, Global Reality.  If your looking for a strong rolling symmetrical that carries real well the Summit is your ball!


Brian Watson
Storm Pro Shop Staff

PAP  3 7/8 up 1 1/4
RPM  -400
MPH  - 16-17
TILT -  17